Rent The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks for DS
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2058 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally Nintendo comes out with a real challenge

posted by DarkPhoeni (GREENVILLE, TX) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For me I was getting kinda tired of the boat travel in the previous games like wind waker and phantom hourglass so that's a plus side for this game. And unlike wind waker, spirit tracks makes an honest attempt to get back to the roots of the series. Unfortunately it has you moving via train all the time and if your just starting out on the series and in particular the animated version of the games like spirit tracks you might be a little confused when you find out its only been a century since hyrule was founded in phantom hourglass and you'll be confused on all the things that Niko tells you. Believe it or not Niko's been alive well over 100 years. But in the end if you ignore all the problems and can solve all the dungeons and the tower of spirits mazes its hours of traditional, legend of zelda, fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

On the Right Track

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though I rented it for only so long I recently bought the game. I loved it but still haven't finished it. The game has a variety of Enemies like most Zelda games and an awesome storyline. It's to bad I lost it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

logan123456789

posted by logansex1234567 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it cool it fun and i beat it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

yeah for Zelda!

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is lots of fun unless you are traveling by train some place. It takes forever, even with the "warp" feature. But game play is awesome and link is a cutie poototie as always!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very fun!

posted by Lawruh (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As is to be expected from a Zelda game, Spirit Tracks provides fun puzzles and challenging temples. Some "mini games" or "sidequests" can prove frustrating to try and complete but all are doable. The main quest is long enough and fits the same structure as most other Zelda games. I spent time trying to get every heart container and rabbit and piece of treasure I could, etcetc and I put a good amount of hours into the game (at least 20-30) which is great for a handheld game.

I definately recommend Spirit Tracks for those that want a full-length Zelda adventure in a handheld console. Very fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendo kept what worked with "Phantom Hourglass", but improved upon it in just about every conceivable way. The rolling attack is much easier to execute, and some of the new items (like the Whip and the Sand Wand) are pretty cool. Best of all, Nintendo doesn't force another Temple of the Ocean King upon us; there is one, large, central dungeon that you have to keep revisiting throughout the game, but you don't have to slog through the same rooms and the same puzzles each time. You can just go right on ahead to the next level. Also, Princess Zelda is absolutely adorable. Driving the train around is fun for the most part, though it can get tedious late in the game. And the final leg of the quest can be a little annoying, thanks to a long and complicated dungeon that seems to go on forever, and a couple of irritating boss battles.

Overall, if you're a fan of Zelda in general and "Phantom Hourglass" in particular, you should definitely check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ahhh... A New Zelda Has Arrived...

posted by johnson25 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Zelda and the spirit tracks is the 2nd released Zelda for the DS, although it was a great game, I personally thought it lacked originality, as it was pretty much Phantom Hourglass, except instead of a boat you control, it's a train with even less mobility.

Now that doesn't mean the game is bad, I still enjoyed myself playing this game, but only two things pulled me away from it... which was climbing the tower to collect the map peices. In this miserable part of the game you must sneak past phantoms (who will strike you and make you start at the beggining), with certain areas being "safe zones" where they can't see you, while also solving puzzles along the way. An addition to that you then have to control zelda who possesses one of them, who you then have to control yourself too, what a pain! I would have probably given this game a 8 or 9 if it wasn't for this stupid part, which is exactly the same as Phantom Hourglass except they took away that misserable time limit (thank god!). The other thing is the annoying ghotst trains (or what ever they're called) that just blow up your train if you just touch them... Meh!

The dungeons were the key part of this game, as with all zelda games. Although I thought they were a little to easy, with the hardest one only taking me about 10 minutes to figure out. But if you don't like a really hard puzzle then you will be happy with how it is set up. But beside that they were still well set up with fun new items, and some sweet bosses!

As for the controls I thought they were set up about as good as they could be on the DS, but i just wish you could somehow have more mobility with the train.

This game is a must rent for zelda fans, but if you are contimplating on having this be your first one, try out twilight princess first, or Ocarina of time. Hopefully on their next zelda ds release they will take away the stupid phantom parts..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda? In my pocket? Again?! Sure why not...

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let's get to the basics:

The good:
1. Art style- I guess that I'm one of the few that fell in love with the art style of WW and PH the second it came out, and this game does not dissapoint.

2. Fixed " controller"- The developers took their time to listen to the fans about their complaints of the all-touchscreen zelda title. Rolling on the floor was changed from having to do small circles on the screen [a huge pain] to double tapping the screen. Trust me, it does a HUGE difference.

3. Story- I'm a sucker for all the LoZ stories and this one was no different. Well except for one itsy bitsy change... Zelda actually accompanies you throughout the game, which is my next point.

4. Zelda- I'm not a huge fan of "strong, independent" women on video games since it usually leads to the main hero barely being needed. But I did enjoy having Zelda as my "fairy" of sorts to accompany me. It was nice to see a side of her besides the whole "I'm a princess, oh please save me!" And no, pirate zelda was not appealing at all in my opinion.

5. The gameplay- I enjoyed the gadgets and the temples. Some were more challenging than others in any of the previous Zelda games, and I even found myself searching through the internet for help in a couple of them. And the spirit flute is awesome if a little bit annoying to use [since the microphone will recognize even the most minimal wind as you blowing into it]. The game length was also ok for a DS game. It took me anywhere from 10 to 12 hours [with exploration].

The bad:
1.A.I.- You'll need the help of Zelda in Phantom form [like in the cover of the game] in the Spirit Tower. Once in a while she'll do something you don't want her to [like fall or attack an enemy that you want alive] so just try and keep her away.

2. The romance- Zelda is still a tease to poor, poor Link.

The meh:
1. Zoras- They are still missing from these recent games.

Conclusion: It's a really fun game, but definitely a rent in my opinion.
8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for what it is, but gets old too soon

posted by adpace (MIDLOTHIAN, TX) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I haven't played a Zelda game since the very first one on the original NES, so it's difficult to comment on how this game may be in comparison to others. But I have to say it was enjoyable. It was nice to be able to "unlock" and explore new areas. If you like collections, there is plenty of that to do as well as you collect items to upgrade your train.

The story line is very simple, and there's not much to it, but I enjoyed it overall. However, there are several things that annoyed me:

1. The game is pretty much entirely on the touchscreen. This makes it seem kind of gimmicky to me. I didn't really appreciate having to wear out my touchscreen soley for the purpose of playing this game when it's not really necessary and really is much less accurate than using the D-Pad. It would have made a huge difference if they had at least included an option to use the D-pad.

2. You get a flute to play during the game and it's necessary to be able to use it to complete the game. It's very finicky, though, and there were some parts that I had a really difficult time completing because of this. This was simply poor design as it was hit or miss as to whether it would work.

3. It just gets old driving the train around after a while - especially if you complete all the side missions. I finally gave up and didn't complete the entire game because I just got bored to death of driving around. It's OK for a while, but I wish there would have been less of a focus on that part.

Overall, enjoyable enough that it's definitely worth renting, but I can't say I would buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game was fun but can be annoying

posted by MasterDragoon (HADDAM, CT) Jun 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Zelda Spirit tracks was a great game, at some points annoying like at the lokomo songs, especially the last one (u and Zelda), then there's the final boss: Cole. Jk its Malladus, or the Demon King. He is annoying as stale cheese!! the first phase you have to protect zelda (he shoots fireballs at you) then you have to perform the final song, which goes, orange, purple, orange, turquoise if I remember right. Overall Spirit tracks was an excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda getting bored with Zelda

posted by Donis187 (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I never thought I'd say this because Zelda is by far my ALL time favorite franchise in gaming, PERIOD! But to be honest every Zelda game is the same formula of finding some artifact, collecting, etc,. etc. You already rode a boat last game so what now...a train! A demon is destroying the kingdom but wait, wait...first you must become a musician and play a flute. Nothing like being in public blowing into the microphone on the DS like a flaming idiot. Because Nintendo LOVES to force its gimmicks on you. There's a touch screen so make the game entirely controlled ONLY by touch screen and stylus. Not because it betters the gameplay but the touch screen is there so as usual Nintendo forces it on you, no options.

Oh but yes its a magic flute you're using...kind of like the Ocarina...which is sort of like the wind waker wand which...yeah you get the point. I've been playing the same game for ten years or more. Time for something new. Bye-bye Zelda. Next game Link will be in an airplane playing drums and Zelda would be captured..AGAIN! And I'll be spending more than half the game reading endless texts that honestly have nothing to do with the actual game itself. Just "charming" banter about bugs and...ug, I've so outgrown this franchise!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its fun until

posted by Zoshnell (UPLAND, CA) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

you realize that you can't bypass the flute puzzles to go on. And the flute puzzles are pretty specific. And even if you fail eleventy billion times, it won't say here you go and let you on through. No sir.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

1 of the better games Nintendo's made since Brawl

posted by laveri (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was one of my 2 christmas presents (other being a Ipod Touch), and I didn't really have much concern about it. I dislked Phantom Hourglass a bit, and I thought this game would be the same, but I WAS PROVED WRONG!!! Its a little bit too easy, but I pretty much suck badly at Zelda games, so this might be at the right level for me! So I would reccomend this game to any new Zelda fan as well as any hardcore or regular Zelda fans, or anyone in General. This game gets a A-! Nice job, Miyamoto!! >=D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Link's still got it.

posted by ndbriggs (HERNDON, VA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be quite good. It fun to see how the characters from the last few games have aged as well as a wider variety of new characters introduced. The combat system could still use some work- perhaps they should include a button to indicate whether you meant to run or slash, this has gotten me hurt more than a few times. Overall, I'd say it was rather easy for a zelda game, but fun none the less. The controls could definitely use a little tweaking and zelda could be a little less moronic when following the paths you drew, but other than that it is most certainly a good play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Story Concept, Annoying Train Mechanic

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+Tower Puzzles
-The Train (You drive it a lot)
-Running Errands

I really miss the classic Zelda gameplay, the kind that made you feel like you were actually on an adventure rather than following instructions and running errands for wacky NPCs. The tower quests are puzzle sessions are nice, but between them is hours of boring rides on the train talking to this person or that, hating the bad 3D graphics and effortlessly defeating a painfully unintimidating bad guy here and there.

And what's with the story concept?! The world is covered with magical train tracks, placed there by the Gods, and you conduct a magical train to restore the tracks and save the world? Mixing swords, magic, and trains in a Zelda game just feels way off base to me.

I'd pay a pile of money for Link to the Past or original Zelda gameplay. I hope somebody comes out with a game along those lines again sometime soon (I doubt it will be Nintendo!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks

posted by Zeak6577 (SALEM, AR) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Legend of Zelda series is my favorite game series were Link, our hero, has to save the world, and\or Zelda. The latest game in the series is The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks, were Link, our humble hero of so many adventures has just finished his training as a train engineer, and is headed of to the castle of Huryle. But little did he know there was a great evil brewing and he would have to save the world once again. In this action packed adventure, you command a train on the ancient spirit tracks trying to save the world. By far this one of the best Zelda games i have played by far. i recommend it to anyone familiar to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lacking enough to be an original

posted by RyuMithril (PELL CITY, AL) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played this game for 2 hours then returned it for two reasons: it has the same controls as Phantom Hourglass and its boring! Too much tutorials and dumbed down game play shows that the bar to beat a Zelda title has been lowered down quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A lot like Wind Waker but with a train....

posted by AliCat4 (ROCKY COMFORT, MO) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I already played Phantom Hourglass but I thought I would give this a try. I played it for about 2 hours before I returned it. I love Zelda games but I don't think it does so well on the DS. I am not big on heavy stylus action. The graphics are good. Very similar to Wind Waker. The control can be annoying sometimes. I recommend renting first before buying unless you really enjoy the stylus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst zelda game ever

posted by last1ninja (CONCORD, MI) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i am a zelda fan but this game makes me ashamed to admit it. i went in glad to see a new game but was dissaponited you will find yourself dying because you didnt tap on the right ledge or you went to far even with a calibrated styles. It took me 15 minutes to open a door because i didnt draw it completly right, the story line doesnt relate to anyu of the other games and its not that great. buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD GAME

posted by Kenta9905 (BRONX, NY) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Very interesting will the end the graffics are wack but the gameplay is real good in time u will forget about the graffics just like i did overall a very good game will recommend to all.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too easy and no motivation

posted by barp123 (ROSWELL, GA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was not that great. My main problem was that it was too easy.

The good: the music was great just like most Zelda games(besides Phantom Hourglass).

The Bad: Train Rides were very boring and the train can only go as fast as a golf cart(exageration). The side quests were not unique at all, it was just taking people around to different places on your train. I didnt do most of them because i didnt feel like waiting 30 minutes for my train to get somewhere. The items were pretty lame especially the sand wand! All it does is raise sand and you use it in one temple. I was never at a moment when i said "hmm what item do i have to use.." because if you did have to use an item, it would be completely obvious, like a eye to shoot an arrow into, or a big log sticking out of the wall to use your grapple. Another downside is that the environments while your riding the train are very plain and dull. Since they make you ride a train for 45 minutes all the time, they might as well make the environments pretty to look at! The final boss was not epic at all, considering all he does is slowly walk towards you and swat at you and shoot fireballs (ya i've never seen a Zelda boss do that before!)

This game was way to easy and just a way to pass time.

I think the only reason its getting all these good reviews is just because it is a Zelda game. And the fanboys have a section in their brain that prevents them from thinking anything negative about the game. To be honest, i think i might have enjoyed Phantom hourglass more than this.

Oh and another thing.....the rabbit catching feature was SO stupid!!! Oh yay i caught an ocean bunny!!! Now i can go "frolic" with the bunnies!!!!!
If you're under the age of 13, you don't want to play something that is a challenge, or you need a way to waste some time, this is the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bleh

posted by shinransho (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was more annoying that it was entertaining.

The whole game uses the touch pad which bothered me. There are some bugs where Link sometimes doesn't register taps and was really frustrated with the controls as link always seemed to jump off into the wrong places.

The train was the most annoying thing of all. The only way of getting from one place to the other was via train which was just a boring attempt and reflection of wind waker with the boat. Not only is the train slow, you cannot upgrade the train at all in order for it to go faster which would ease the pain of traveling from one town to the next in order to do the side quests.

Compared to the other zelda games in the past, I was highly disappointed with Spirit Tracks. Very little zelda nostalgia with the game and the dungeon items you get were mostly all lame (Whip, boomerang, whirlwind, sand wand, and a bow) and very little item selection.

Finally got fed up and decided just to beat the game and get it over with. The game wasn't that long and it really only took me 5 days to beat, so it was a plus only to rent this and not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Had potential, but one giant flaw

posted by 2Slick (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that you love certain parts of it, but then has one aspect that completely ruins the game. Taken straight from Wind Waker, you have a large world that takes a lot of time to travel from one area to another. Unlike Wind Waker, you are restricted to a track with no side exploration and mechanics that are ultimately boring. Halfway through the game I wished that I could just set my route and walk away for 15 minutes while I got to my destination. But, alas, the game sends just enough enemies to ensure you are there without actually being interesting enough to keep the boredom away. I dreaded having to actually leave an area and travel to the other side of the map, which you have to do constantly.

The good aspects are the dungeons, which should be the key to any Zelda game. They are creative, interesting, and have good mechanics and decent bosses. It's just a shame that getting to them is a long and annoying process.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda is dead?

posted by TheNGam3r (DUNKIRK, MD) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You heard me right, Zelda is dead. At least, Zelda's body is dead, her happy-go lucky spirit is alive and kicking. But if she doesn't return to her body in a few days, everyone will be dead. So as usual, the task of saving the world is thrust upon an apprentice train engineer named (you guessed it) Link! No small task, but throw the ghost of princess Zelda (who, unaware she is impervious to pretty much everything, is deathly terrified of mice) a demented royal adviser, a shadow-infused assasin, dissapearing train tracks (which serve as shackles to bind the main bad dude) and an escaping demon king and you've got a pretty impossible task. But if you've played any Zelda game before, you know that Link (with some help from a few quirky characters) will save the day! How he saves the day this time around, is a little different.

After an hour or so of the opening you will discover the first new gameplay mechanic that really gives the Zelda franchise a new twist: Zelda can play alongside Link as a Phantom! The way this mechanic is used provides lots of fun, especally if you played Phantom Hourglass. If you did, you remember how hard some puzzles were with the huge Phantoms lumbering around. This is completely eliminated as you can have Zelda's spirit take over the Phantom to solve puzzles in (insane) new ways! To add to the mix, there are now 5 Phantom types that Zelda can possess. This mechanic alone sets the game apart.

Controlling the train is also a blast! All train controls are minipulated on the touch screen, and it couldn't be easier. It's quite fun to blast the train horn by tugging on the rope that's dangling invitingly at the top of the touch screen! Another cool feature is being able to take passengers across Hyrule while fighting off enemies!

I have only conducted a brief summary of the game and have not even mentioned the awesome multiplayer (not wi-fi sadly)! put this game at the top of your gameQ. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The DS Hit

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Spirit Tracks brings the Zelda experience back to DS! Similar to Wind Waker, and Phantom Hourglass, this brings a twist... Zelda is a spirit! Which means, she can go into Phantoms!!!!! How awsome is that?
(P.S. Phantoms are armored enemies, for the newcomers)
And Link is a Train Driver, so you go through the game in the Spirit Train. (OMG That made me sing the song.)
So, if you're up the Zelda challange, Bring it on!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse