Rent The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds for 3DS
view large frontback

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $32.99

GF Rating
9.0

663 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9.6/10 An masterful sequel

posted by GreenCupcake (LAYTON, UT) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A Link to the Past is one of my favorite games of all time, as well as my introduction to the Zelda series, so A Link Between Worlds was a game I had dreamed of for a very long time. Though it has some very large shoes to fill, it gracefully and seemingly effortlessly creates an incredible new adventure that tugs at my nostalgic heartstrings while distinguishing itself as an inventive game in the series. While sharing quite a lot with A Link to the Past, it really becomes its own game with clever use of 3D in puzzles and an incredible new item system. Link Between Worlds stunned me by becoming one of my favorite Zelda's, and one of my favorite 3DS games to date. Good job, Nintendo. You've created another masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

been waiting for ever

posted by copperremy Nov 22, 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an incredible game. The one thing I disliked is renting items they should have never messed with the finding, using items in dungeons but still well worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nintendo isn't trying hard enough

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

rehashing old games is fine for lining their pocket books but it's not going to make the big push they need to get back in the video gaming limelight. they need to come out with NEW content to compete with the dominant FPS games on playstation.

i made it all the way to Lorule but quickly got bored. i'd much rather play the REAL version of this game that game out on SNES years ago. I am a huge zelda fan but this franchise needs NEW content not more remakes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Return to the classic Zelda adventure!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Aug 18, 2014

Member since May 2010

The Zelda Franchise is a big named game series that ha done a lot of gimmicky stuff over the years.. And this game proves that the older formula of exploration is still timeless in and of itself... The game adapted something almost new by allowing players to gain access to the various tools early on, but something like it has been tried before but that was back in the 8 bit Zelda game.. The stamina gauge is a new take on tools that lends a new look on how the tools can be more efficiently used both in combat and in exploration.. This game is an alright sort of game but it is rather short, though I only got it a couple of days ago and I already beat it.. It is still worth owning, but i think i will wait for the price to drop since I already finished it.. Try Before you buy..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my review

posted by xxxREEDAZAxxx (CARROLLTON, GA) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Great Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by ehunt564 (BERGEN, NY) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

This game was WAY better than I expected. I saw that it got good reviews, but I was reluctant to spend my time with a Zelda game because I usually get bored and don't finish them. This never happened with this game.

The story is really well-written and very interesting, the controls and combat are fluid as I would expect with a Zelda game, there is a wide range of items you can acquire, and the dungeons are fun, well-crafted, and have the exact right amount of challenge (for me anyways). Some avid Zelda players may find them boring or too easy, but for me, they weren't too hard, but not too easy.

I beat this game in probably about 15-20 hours over the span of a week, so it's relatively short, but unlocking 'hero' mode once you beat it on 'normal' provides some replayability if you're considering buying the game. I did not run through hero mode, but I'm definitely considering buying it because it was so great.

This is certainly the best game I've played on my 3DS so far and is worth at least a rent for any Zelda fan. There are really no flaws that I saw in this game and being the best game on the 3DS that I've played, I give it a perfect 10.

All in all, it is a fairly short game, but you will love every minute that you're playing and is certainly worth the time that you spend on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!

posted by lukesawyer985 Jul 28, 2014

I LOVE IT!!!! The game play is AWESOME and I am happy that there are some new charicters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good, but really long

posted by missd420 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I love the gameplay and the graphics are amazing. The story is a tad hard to follow, even by LoZ standards. I didn't beat it, because it felt like the kind of game you own, not rent, if that makes any sense. Will definitely be looking into buying this game, though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Lucky9 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I loved playing this game. Upset that it was the first zelda game i played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kind of a letdown.

posted by Icy3 (MIDDLETOWN, DE) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a really good game. I liked how you get to choose what dungeon you want to go to (Take notes Pokemon), I liked the energy meter mechanic, I had a lot of fun moving through the walls, The side quests were fun, and the story was really good. However, from all the hype that this game got, I really expected more. Most of the dungeons in the game just weren't that good (especially the lava dungeon >_<). I still had fun with most of them, but they just weren't as innovative as dungeons in previous games, and the same could be said for most of the bosses as well. And speaking of bosses, the final phase against Yuga Gannon was a HUGE letdown for me.
Don't get me wrong, I do like this game and I encourage fans of the series to try it out, but it was just disapointing for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An absolutely beautiful experience

posted by Ahiam94 (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

One of my all time favorite games ever was A Link to the Past on the Super Nintendo, so when I found out that it was getting a sequel I was ecstatic. Because I held A Link to the Past in such high regard, I had some pretty high hopes for this game. I was actually a little worried that it wouldn't hold up to what I wanted from it. Thankfully, Nintendo was able to not only meet my expectations, but they went flying past them.

The game feels so familiar in the way that it plays, but at the same time, it feels so new and fresh. It took everything bad about A Link to the past and made it amazing, it took everything great about A Link to the Past and made it better.

Regardless of whether you are a long time fan, or a newbie looking for a good way to start the Zelda series, I highly recommend this game. You will NOT be disappointed, of that, I am certain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by jacknight10 (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

One of the best zelda games I have ever play this is not my first one so I know how zelda games are but this one was great you can get all of the weapons within the first hour or so and the story is one of the best they have ever do I will not tell you to do this as your first if you have never played a zelda game but it will not be a bad idea the one that is my all time favorite of the zelda series is Ocarina of time and that story and this one are the two best I have played but I only have play four with Twilight princess being my first. Over all one of the best zelda out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a link to the past 2

posted by trickflowing (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

when i first saw this game i like it love it and buy it the only thing is yes is easy but the story well pull you in i love playing link to the past when i was a kid and the game feel like old school you go what ever you what i think you like it if you like the link to the past rent it and like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just like old times and that the way i like it!!!

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Zelda/Link are Beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 2D Zelda game

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

My favorite 2D Zelda game. I recommend the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game was fun but too easy still earns a 10

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

this zelda was very detailed and had a nice story/plot to it and i loved the gameplay but got stuck getting the second and third dungeon, i still enjoyed it however but i had to let it go cuz the first boss took a minute to beat. and i did like the charm bracelet ability where u can go through walls and the bow and arrows.

rent this game but i warn u it might b to easy for u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Link Between Worlds is out of this world!

posted by SonyKL (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I've always been a fan of The Legend of Zelda. I've beaten OoT dozens of times, and have played and beaten Link's Awakening and a Link to the Past. When I heard about this game, I was expecting it to be another masterpiece by Nintendo, and I was not disappointed.

The nostalgia of the game itself as well as all of its' new and very interesting features kept me entertained from start to finish. Do not even hesitate to buy this game. I bought it at launch, and while it did take me a few months to get around to beating it, it was worth every penny that I spent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome addition to the Zelda series.

posted by ShirosakiIkara (PLYMOUTH, PA) Jan 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

When I saw trailers for this game I first thought "Chibi Link? Really? Making Link all cute doesn't really mix well with the games for me, like Toon link did for WindWaker, Phantom Hourglass, Spirit Tracks, and Minish Cap" But since like always Zelda always has a Limited Edition bundle and I wanted the last bundle that came with Ocarina of Time 3D and I never got it. So I took the chance to buy the bundle and of course A Link Between Worlds came with it as a Digital Download. I instantly got hooked and could barely put the handheld system down. The graphics which bring you into a bright vivid world of Hyrule, The fighting system and weapons that you use to defeat enemies and enter dungeons, and the levels were a blast to play. The story was amazing and it made clear what part of the Zelda timeline is represents. As you get deeper and deeper into the game the story gives you that something that you're looking for in a great game as it unfolds. As you get through the Dungeons in the Dark World that is now named Lorule you can get special items to upgrade your weapons and armor. All and all if you're new to the Zelda series this is a good game to get yourself introduced into the world of Hyrule!

Game On Fellow Gamers, and Happy Gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game but a bit too easy.

posted by tyrial (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

If you are looking for an adventure in the world of 'The legend of Zelda" you are in for a ride. Its a great little game on the 3DS! This game has all of the old elements like puzzles and bosses but unfortunately you have access to all of the items to get you through the various dungeons. I wished it was a bit harder and had better rewards for explorations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Something beyond two worlds

posted by JeraiyaSama (LIVE OAK, FL) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Being the huge LoZ Fan that I am, I had mixed feelings about a new title that had something to do with a previous one, especially something really classic. I made it half way through, assuming I had reached its end and the game threw so much more at me. Excited and more than pleased with the content I had already passed, I dove into more. If you love Legend of Zelda, you will be pleased with this title, I promise you. No spoilers of course, but the ending will leave you breath taken. (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The epitome of the Zelda experience

posted by rshadix86 (DAYTON, OH) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The mobile Zelda franchise has been in something of a slump lately, with a mediocre game (Spirit Tracks) coming hot on the heels of the absolute (pardon the expression) train wreck that was Phantom Hourglass. Consequently, when a direct sequel was announced for A Link to the Past, I was hesitant, to say the least.

However, it seems that Nintendo has opted for a more old-school, dungeon-focused experience that the previous two titles ignored, instead going for often literal bells and whistles.

The freedom in this game is astonishing: You can complete the dungeons in virtually any order you want. Also, the "explore, find item, use item to complete dungeon" mechanic has been done away with, allowing you access to all the items necessary to complete your adventure almost from the outset. The only downside to this is that the puzzles are not nearly as flexible as the dungeon order, and you need to plan in advance which items you'll need to access which areas. This leads to some annoying backtracking. However, not long into the game you'll have enough rupees to obtain all the items permanently, and that won't be an issue anymore. A neat upgrade system complements the "free-for-all" gameplay.

The plot has always been secondary to the dungeon exploration aspect in all Zelda games, and A Link Between Worlds is no exception. With that in mind, however, I was genuinely surprised by a few last minute plot twists that in retrospect I should have seen coming a mile away.

To summarize: If you love old-school Zelda, with it's metric ton of dungeons and side quests, then pick up this title and forget the DS Zeldas ever existed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by neeven2 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

Great game, as Zelda's always are. As usual you have to run everywhere multiple times, but at least this time you can fly across the maps using the broom. LOVE the puzzles. Would have been better on a 60 inch HDTV than a 3DS though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The perfect sequel.

posted by Orphantine (HILLSBORO, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The Title of A Link Between Worlds alone is just enough to send chills down any Zelda fans spine; A new look at a classic world, with some twists.

In my personal opinion, this is the best title in the series since Wind Waker. A vintage feel in a new game, nothing gets better than that. Graphics are amazing, love the art style, the story will absolutely have you drawn in, and making you want to play it again and again! Definitely worth every minute of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best Zelda game in a long time

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Dec 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Even as a longtime Zelda devotee, I've been less than blown away by the Zelda games of recent years. "Skyward Sword", "Twilight Princess", and "The Minish Cap" all struck me as rather bland and formulaic, as if Nintendo were simply phoning it in. "A Link Between Worlds", however, gives me hope for the eventual Wii U installment of the series, as this spiritual successor to "A Link to the Past" is a fresh, fun throwback to a less jaded time. It's a bouncy, fast-paced, yet deep adventure with lots of stuff to find and explore, and it's blessedly light on exposition and dialogue. The dungeons - which had become a slow, confusing slog in recent games - are quick, well-designed, and actually fun! And the "rent any item you want at any time" system proves to be a marvelous break from the traditional Zelda formula.

All in all, I haven't had this much fun with a Zelda game in at least a decade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointing

posted by Braun747 (REDFIELD, SD) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

i spent maybe 6 hours playing this game. its by far the easiest zelda game ive ever played. dungeons were too simple and boss fights took less than a minute to fight even on a first try. i personally only died once and it was at the end of the game and i had already purchased every item. the puzzles in this game were simple not hard to follow and the "twist" ending could be seen from miles away by anyone. m night shymalan could do better honestly. i give the game a 5 and thats for its art design and quick responding controls. not worth buying but worth renting if its shipping time is short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse