Rent The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky for PSP Games
view large frontback

The Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

233 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great JRPG

posted by danmo1999 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game did a great job satisfying that need for a good RPG. Much better than the prior titles. Great graphics, good storyline and the battle system is intuitive and smart. Spend hours grinding to build my characters. Great play for a time with a lack of great portable RPG games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great PSP RPG

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This Game is really fun. It follows two young bracers (traveling warriors who do odd jobs for money) on their quest to becone master bracers. The combat in this game is very simple and easy to use. You have you basic normal attacks, special attacks, and magic. Each character also has a super-powered Special attack as well. The combat feels very rewarding with plenty of different characters to play as.

Costomizing your character is simple, but not as deep as some might like. Each character has an orbment which you can put diferent crystals in to anhance your caracter( HP up, Defence up, etc) each character only gets 6 crystals though so after a few hours you character fills in all their crystals and you can't do much else besides upgradeing them. You have your basic weopen and armor upgrades but there isn't a lot of hidden caves with chests in this game.

The story is split between four chapters and a prologue. the prologue takes about 3 hours and each chapter is 10-12 hours depending on how much extra quests you want to do. a good thing about this game is that all sidequests are easily found in towns but some expire before your evan aware of them.

Your characters meet several allies on their journey and each has a unique combat style and all are usefull.

The only thing thats really bad about this game is the stoty isn't very easy to get into. Instead of one long narrative running throughout the whole game, each chapter has a totally different cast and story. With the exception of the last chapter none of the chapters relate to each other. A more streamlined story that ran through all the chapters would have been nice.

In conclusion this game is very fun. The script is well written with interesting character relationships. The combat is simple enough for a newbie but with lots of different abilities and tactics to use. This is also a long game the discription says 50 hours and that is no exageration. Plan on staying in this world for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i am obsesed with this game!!!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

i played this game for 40 minutes first day then fell in love with it once i saw my favorite ability regenerate hp in it.
what you do in the game:
be a hero in a guild and help people
you play as two kids who are trying to be like thier dad.
when i saw the combat i thought it was nice. the combat is turned based and fast paced. the game does NOT have slow load times. the beginning is nice and has a nice introduction of the characters. this game is keepable and i definitly would keep it once i get my favorite rpg ability. oooooooooo yaaa!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

???????????????????????????

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2010

I really don't know about this one.... It has some tactical variety, but it comes across a bit bland... I spent the majority of my time reading text, but there is some combat to be had... Nothing really stands out in this game... It is tactical and it has some value, but the story seems a little on the dry side... I may be a bit harsher then I need to be... The game has something of a "yeah, so what?"feel to it.. Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Gem to be Ignored

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

Were you one of those people who was fascinated by the Final Fantasy 8 Junction System? Was the combat grid & turn order list of Radiant Historia a compelling take on RPG combat? Was the tale woven by childhood friends Sora, Riku, and Kairi a tearjerker in your mind?
A yes to any of the above means that this is the next end-of-life PSP game that is going to fly under your radar. This import is a story-driven, character focused, somewhat steampunk fantasy romp that, get this, stars a flawed-but-likeable female protagonist.
I could waste the next 1000 characters with flowery words on how this game is great and it's a shame so many are going to miss it, but I will instead shoot as straight as possible. If any of the above has even remotely piqued your interest, put this in your Q now. If you hate well-translated JRPGs, true strategic turn-based combat, or do not own or already traded in your PSP, go ahead and join everyone else who will overlook this solid gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trails in the Sky: Pretty good

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This might not be a great review, just wanted to let everybody know that this game is pretty good. It's a turn-based RPG, but instead of random encounters you enter battle whenever you touch an enemy. There could have been more options for magic use, but what they have is good enough.

I gave this game a 6, because it's good not great. I've played over 70 hours on this title, and never got bored. The dialogue is interesting enough and there is enough to do as you travel the kingdom uncovering mysteries & plot twists while at the same time searching for your father.

You encounter various colorful characters who temporarily join your team in each section of the country, but the main characters are Estelle & her (adopted) brother Josh.
Rent the game, there is enough to keep you entertained and busy for a while!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Xseed brings us another average game

posted by RPG_FPS_GOD (TOPEKA, KS) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this is the first Legend of Heroes game ive played and i wasnt impressed. i played 103 hours just to get to the home stretch and i just couldnt take it anymore

CONS:
its a overly simplified turn-based "tactics" style game. the magic system is stupid and mostly useless unless the enemy is particularly weak against the type of magic your using not to mention that the magic selection is pretty small and some do basically the same thing. you cant move and attack but you do move when you attack. theres FAR too much talking in this game your gunna spend over 50% of the game reading a story that doesnt even get that entertaining til the end when everything start falling into place and its a pretty long game for having so few locations to visit. some of the story concepts are total BS my favorite being how you spend most of the game chasing a fairly well known group of military personnel - THEY DONT EVEN USE A DISGUISE!!! - and still nobody knows who they are.

PROS:
the enemies never get too difficult and they get easier if they defeat you. some of the characters are very entertaining. you have a notebook that will pretty much walk you through anything you wanna know about the game. you can cook items that will heal you and sometimes have other effects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG

posted by Guppyfish (PLAINSBORO, NJ) May 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Not too difficult, and great magic system. I'm 30 hours in so far and having fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Duzzel (APEX, NC) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Very easy and fun game. Can't wait for 2nd chapter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »