Rent The Last of Us for PS3
view large frontback

The Last of Us

Rent

Keep for: $21.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $21.99

GF Rating
9.1

6418 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is survival at it's finest.

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2004

63 out of 68 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying that it is absolutely mind boggling what Naughty Dog is capable of accomplishing with the PS3. From the moment I started playing the Last of Us I couldn't step away from it and for me that means a game truly has my attention. It's a true piece of art and it's one of the few survival games out there that does survival right. I could write a whole essay about why The Last of Us is such a high achievement for ND and Sony but instead I will just highlight a few of the things that truly make this game great.

Joel and Ellie - The development of their bond is what really drives this game in my opinion. As to be expected, Joel isn't to thrilled about escorting 14 year old Ellie to her destination but it's really fun to see their bond be forged overtime with each experience they go through.

Audio - Do yourself a favor and play this game with a headset. It's not mandatory that you play with one but you won't believe how much it enhances the experience. The ambient noise in some of the buildings you go into will freak you out.

Atmosphere - Believe it or not this game feels like more of horror game at time than most other so-called horror games do. There will be a ton of moments where you will have a genuine moment of panic. The atmosphere plus the ambient noise I talked about really raises the game's creepiness factor at certain moments.

True Survival - Buyer be warned. DO NOT expect a "shoot em up" kind of game. Resources are scarce so you always have to be sure you're looking around for whatever you can scrounge up and use. And you always have to decide how to approach a combat situation. You won't ever have a ton of ammo so you either have to make every shot count or find another way of getting things done.

Visuals - Lastly, the visuals of this game really have a kind of somber look to them. I guess you can say it's a beautiful kind of sadness. I'm sure we have all come to expect that kind of visual quality from Naughty Dog

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest game the PS3 has ever produced.

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

46 out of 51 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Get immersed! Intense story, great realistic gameplay, emotionally impactful, challenging, deep and visually stunning. There's so much to like here. The game just excels in every area it tries its hand at. Aspects of this game will make you think you're playing on a 4th generation console. This is not for guns a blazing Call of Duty heads. This is for people who want a realistic experience, who want to literally feel a part of a story and get taken away on a long adventure. There's is nothing to dislike about this game. I can't think of any game that has gone to the level of perfecting a true gameplay experience like this has. This is a no-brainer for best game of 2013. And probably best game of the PS3 generation. Naughty Dog has impressed for years with its Uncharted series of games. But, the experience from The Last of Us surpasses any of their previous efforts on every front. Forget renting, This game merits a full purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game I actually wanted to finish

posted by Toast4Twenty (PARK CITY, KS) Sep 29, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Last of Us is a survival game, and a well done one at that. It takes place 20 years after an infection has taken over two thirds of the world. The main character, Joel, is man trying to cope with loss, love, and a life that was ripped from under him. The story itself is enough to make me want to finish the game. I think this is the first game I have beaten in years. The gameplay is smooth and the controls are easy. I played on hard difficulty the first time through and it took me about 20 hours to complete. This game is addicting and with all the variable in game play and technique it is easily repayable. It also has a multiplayer mode that places you within a faction and you help that group survive by collecting food and supplies while defending your territory. The multiplayer requires and online pass that comes when you buy a copy, but you can buy a pass for 10 dollars. This game is brutal in violence and drama. The twists and turns the story takes will surprise you and disappoint. You will grow attached to characters of the game and if they die you will feel responsible. Playing on hard mode there were some times when I felt angered by how many retries I had to do. In hard difficulty supplies and ammo are scarce and I felt like I was always running low and health, ammo, and supplies. My friend played normal difficulty and there was a huge difference in the amount of supplies you find. Normal is for those who wish to play more for the story but with a little bit of a challenge. I did not give this game a ten because of two reasons.

1. The multiplayer is not included with a rented copy.
2. There were a few noticeable glitches with the graphics and occasionally my melee weapon would miss when it clearly should not have.

This game is a must rent, it is a dramatic thriller with lots of action and plot twists. My wife enjoyed watching me play this game and she never allows me to play games while she's around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Last of Greatness

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jun 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

52 out of 60 gamers (87%) found this review helpful


Seriously, why are you even reading this? Have you not already been convinced to play this game. Rather, you should own it.

This game is the last and most pure testament to just how powerful this generation, and specifically the PS3 is and what it's capable of. Graphics, animations, story are all flawless across the board.
From the very beginning, you're hooked. Not long after, goosebumps, everywhere and before you even get to the title screen, you're probably holding back tears.
This game will throw you around like you wouldn't believe. From hair raises nervousness as you try to avoid an impeding confrontation to enduring the emotions of a savage world where things are continuously getting worse and worse as hope and luck plummet to further into lower and lower depths. It's absolutely grueling and the game is masterful at conveying it onto the player like no other.

If you even remotely "like" video games, even a little bit. You are required to play this game. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Never left a review . . .

posted by Viper8209 (CLERMONT, FL) Jan 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never left a review on a game and I'm 31 years old however this game deserves a review and I don't even know where to start. This is the best "game" I've ever played and I'm a sports gamer. The story line grips you from beginning to end and the AI is out of this world. This is worth a rent to all of you Gamefly folks and its worth a buy if you want to get a game that's repeatable and not repeatable if you know what I mean? . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year

posted by giuseppesc (WARREN, MI) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game did well what any good movie would do, and that is that it sucks you in early through acting and story.

While The Last of Us does have all the expected trappings of a zombie apocalypse story, Joel's character is better developed and believable (from a writing standpoint) as a survivor of Dystopia than most characters of this genre tend to be; I would want to be Joel in this setting as opposed to a Rick Grimes.

The voice acting is stellar in the game. For example, Ashley Johnson, as Ellie, hits all the right notes as a teenage girl who is made to grown up much more quickly than she'd like, while still having that typical rebellious teen angst.

The game play is the pretty little bow that ties all of the above compliments together into this fabulous game. The first ten minutes of the game alone gave me so much anxiety. The ending of the first act hits you like a hammer, and I found myself thinking, holy @#$%, I just got here! Can you slow down!? You have just enough time to get your bearings back before everything seems to hit the fan; and whoever is throwing it at that point, be it fate or consequence, has a shoulder that never seems to get tired throughout the rest of the game. It's also great to note that, of the various groups of antagonists in this game, none of those groups can be approached the same way. This keeps the game from getting repetitive and makes you have to turn the switch, depending on your opponent(s). What works as a viable tactic against the thoughtless, enraged, infected humans does not work against necessarily well against the bandits and thugs who cooperate with one another to box you in or smoke you out of your hiding spot.

There is a lot to say in praise of this game that would also act to spoil the surprises that are vital to the arc of the story, so I will relent. Play this game and go along for the ride. The treat is not that you get to pick where you are going, but, you do get to pick exactly how you get there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by s1Las13 (HALEYVILLE, AL) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played through this game bout 3 times so far & it's just as fun each time.. Since the price drop thinking about just buying it cause it is hands down one of the best games ever.. I just hope Naughty Dog decides to make a sequel, but doesn't mess with the controls.. Don't fix what ain't broke.. Just a few new weapons, take downs & were good to go..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nice

posted by crackkillz1 (PROSPECT PARK, NJ) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game could have had a better ending

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by Kamelredman85 (SAN PEDRO, CA) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From when you start the game till the moment the credits roll up, it keeps you wanting to keep playing. The storyline is great and it feels more like a movie than some game. If you're into puzzles and a challenge this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever!

posted by lucki1122 (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Sep 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldn't even play a game for like 2 months after I played this game. Everything was right about this game, the only thing I didn't like was it ended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TO BE OR NOT TO BE IS THE QUESTION?

posted by TheEnd8908 (STANDISH, MI) Oct 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Last of Us is an action-adventure survival horror video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. The player takes control of Joel who is trekking across a post-apocalyptic United States in 2033, in order to escort the young Ellie to a resistance group, the Fireflies, who believe Ellie may be the key to curing an infection that has ravaged the world. The player defends the characters against zombie-like creatures infected by a mutated strain of the Cordyceps fungus, as well as hostile humans such as bandits and cannibals, employing the use of firearms and stealth aided by capabilities such as a visual representation of sound in order to listen for locations of enemies. The player can also craft weapons or medical items by combining items scavenged in the world.

Pros:
A true survival game. (Kill or be killed)
Excellent story line that keeps you on the edge of your seat.
The feelings and bonds you make with Joe and Ellie.
Excellent graphics

Cons:
The online game play has a little bit of glitches but can be fixed with a patch.

Thank you for reading,
TheEnd89-08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Last of Us

posted by Folklore (EL PASO, TX) Aug 11, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So this review is probably very late in being posted as this game has received high praise while few others bash on it for the violence (See that “M” on the game cover, right next to it says blood and gore as well as violence) and difficulty (There is an easy mode!) The gameplay is awesome as it gives you a choice of how to play through most areas (Sneak on by or throw caution to the wind and fight Rambo style) as well as scavenging for items (It is a SURVIVOR game after all) to make the stuff you need. The character designs, voice acting, and story are some of the best I have seen in years.

As for the violence, you need to understand that there are no rules, no morals, and no good guy vs. bad guy. It is a game of surviving in a post-apocalyptic wasteland; to show the true face of humanity when faced with the possibility of death on a day to day basis. It shows what people could be capable of when faced with a situation like this. It is every last man for himself. This is not your typical linear game where everything gets handed to you in a treasure chest or dropped from some big baddie. To survive, you need to search for stuff; otherwise it’s not a survivor game. As for myself, I have nothing but high praise for the game, only thing I criticize is the swimming controls. I even know a friend who bought a PS3 just to buy and play The Last of Us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naughty Dog Does it AGAIN!

posted by Rilla313 (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Jun 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

By now, every proud owner of a PS3 is fully aware of this EPIC dev teams ability to pull u rite into the game story. Uncharted changed the game with its action packed deep and intriguing storyline. Making you feel connected to the characters and their struggles through an amazing script, thrilling action sequences and the best voice over actors in the gaming biz. The Last Of Us is no exception.

Once again Naughty Dog has gone the extra mile and then some with this new property. Grabbing you rite from the prologue with an intense emotional connection that will break your heart and have you salivating for answers and vengeance. An emotional roller coaster and action thrill ride with the one of a kind voice over perfection we've all come to expect from this studio. This is a must play and replay, lol. This game is so well done, that it will leave even the most die hard XBox gamers looking to get their hands on a PS3. I always have high expectations of Naughty Dog, an they have yet to disappoint. In fact, The Last Of Us not just compairs to Uncharterd, but it even takes a step further in the direction of greatness. I can't say to much about this game without spoiling its fantastically twisted plot line. What are you still reading this for?! Click that Rent button NOW and treat yourself to a breathtaking adventure!

Endure & Survive
Rilla313

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Brilliant" Is an Understatement

posted by steph_04 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is a masterpiece. Fair warning, it ruins all other video games that you'll ever play.

The AI is absolutely brilliant; if you're reloading or switching weapons, you'll hear enemies planning to get closer to take advantage. Ally AI is fantastic: you'll think that you're done for when grappling with a zombie, and all of a sudden one of your allies will pull it off of you, and if an ally is ever in the same position, he'll call out your name for help. It's all the fun of co-op play without wanting to punch your younger sibling because he got you killed.

I won't give any plot points away, but you'll find yourself beginning to empathize with the main characters the farther you get into the game. The story is riveting, cleverly avoiding cliches and keeping the player guessing. Don't read any spoilers, seriously; just enjoy it. You'll also get to follow a side-plot or two if you're good enough to find "relics" in the form of notes left by others.

I don't even think that I need to comment on the gorgeous, immersive environments and visuals. Rent it, and you'll probably end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily One of the Best Games Ever

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 15, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for this game for a long time, and I really hoped that it would be great. I was not disappointed one bit. Sony really hit a home run with The Last Of Us. The graphics are the best graphics I've ever seen in a game. The surroundings and the atmosphere is amazing. I was immediately hooked as well. The story is one of the best stories I've been a part of. I felt immediately connected to the characters, which is a huge plus for me. I have nothing bad to say about this game. This game gets an A++. One of the best games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Your face is overrated!

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I don't know why but some people are not happy with this game. I on the other hand think its the best in the last decade. Go Naughty Dog!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful game that brought me to tears.

posted by joepowns (MANSFIELD, TX) Jul 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

"The Last of Us" is a title that will forever go down in history as the best game that Naughty Dog has ever produced. Whether it be for the story, controls, graphics or just the way the game looks and feels makes this the best title to date over any console this, or any, generation so far.

The story line managed to jerk a tear out of me. But not one of the cheap grabs at the heart. It connected me with the characters just to ave my hopes of everything being okay dashed creating a very sad atmosphere.

I haven't seen information displayed this well on screen since Dead Space. Down in the corner of your screen is a little indicator that represents your health, shows your weapon and the remaining ammo as well as g=jury rigged knives and health kits.

This is very different from many zombies shooters in the sense that you aren't a tank running around blindly shooting the undead. Because if that is your tactic, then you will fail. This game requires skill, cunning and strategy all mixed in with a little bit of luck.

All in all, this is a title that deserved the rating but to be honest, I don't want to see another installment. Sequels always leave a bad taste in my mouth and I don't want to see this good name be tarnished. I would recommend this to all my friends(If I had any) and wont be forgetting this title any time soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Game of the Generation!

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Jul 4, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Naughty Dog has done it again and this time better than ever, This game has everything, a great story, good characters, compelling moments and a great personal arc for everyone involved. If that is not enough the game play is awesome, the graphics are beautiful, the music is amazing, and the multiplayer is some of the best out their. I can literally think of no reason not to try this game, as a matter of fact if you have a ps3 have not played this game you are doing yourself and your PlayStation an injustice. Please Naughty Dog keep up the quality, between Uncharted and now this you have become my favorite developer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

goty

posted by rhettblake (TAYLORS, SC) Jun 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Best Game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PS3 game yet

posted by gearsofnavarome (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Do yourself the favor, if you own a PS3 get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME !!

posted by Jimmy12_34 (PATERSON, NJ) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Best Game Ever .. No Words Just Play It !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Astonishing!

posted by TMGGIZMO (ROME, GA) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is simply amazing. If you have a PS3, this is a must get title. The MP isn't that bad I mean it's not the best but its not the worst. The game is worth the $60 for the story alone. Games that have such detailed stories should be produced more. Hopefully they see this game as an example of what games should be like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Believable story, believable characters

posted by Fluffy (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Last Of Us is a fun post-apocalyptic zombie game, few of which exist. Naughty Dog has managed to make a somewhat depressing, post-apocalyptic, gritty futuristic world, yet made it fun and enjoyable to play through.

Now, before I go any further, I'd like to state that I'm not typically a fan of "zombie" games, or the horror genre in general. However, this game has many things going for it to make me like it. It has a deep story-line that should strike some sort of emotion in anyone who isn't emotionally dead; it makes characters that are very believable, and it creates a world that seems more open than it actually is, a definite bonus for games where the story is so scripted and things have to be fairly linear. The game isn't perfect, however, but it's not far from it. There doesn't seem to be a genuine "antagonist" in this game aside from the Infected, and while it's difficult to pull off a good story without a strong villain, The Last Of Us manages to do just that.

Pros:
Gripping story
Believable, flawed characters
Stealth mechanics
Sufficient variety of weapons
Solid graphics
Weapons that can be upgraded/modified
Very good music score
Solid voice acting.

Cons:
Extreme amount of profanity (some of which is necessary, some of which isn't)
Lack of a strong nemesis to the main characters
Somewhat linear (though with a feeling of openness) making replaying it a bit repetitive.
That's it.

The game is definitely worth a play through and has just enough working for it that it's worth playing through again. It also has a multiplayer aspect to it (which I never used, thus I have no comment on that part of the game). It's creepy enough that it will keep you on edge, but fun enough that it doesn't feel like a chore to finish... It also gives a glimpse of what humanity might realistically resemble, if the events of that world actually came to pass in the real world.

Overall I'd give this an 8 or 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interesting...

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

...to say the least.

One thing people need to understand about this game is that it is a true survival/horror experience, where ammo is scarce, and in most situations stealth and/or running for your life are the best courses of action. May seem a bit boring at first to those expecting a more guns a blazin' romp like Uncharted, but give it a little time and it'll start to grow on you.

Graphically impressive but you can tell that ND has pretty much reached the limits of what they can get out of the PS3, because the graphic are very similar to what we saw in Uncharted 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I am on the over rated bandwagon here

posted by ocdgamer (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I keep fighting sending this back because of all the great reviews. I keep telling myself I want to play this awesome game. It's so awesome keep going. But I just don't like it. I am about 2 hours into the game with 3 playing sessions which means this "awesome" game is keeping my attention span at an average of around 40 minutes before I can't take playing it anymore. The opening is awesome then it all goes downhill. The stealth ruined it for me. You can't just crouch and move around, you have to crouch and inch forward. If you haven't played the game yet take that warning very seriously. When I say inch forward I mean it. Barely touching the stick and if you make a sound it's one bite and game over. Meanwhile the other 2 AIs are just running around. Just all around painful game play. The graphics are nice but this one is not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse