Rent The Last Story for Wii
view large frontback

The Last Story

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

831 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Last Story - A great farewell to the wii

posted by LeeringDog (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was pleasantly surprised by this game. If you've found yourself unable to find jrpgs that live up to the no doubt lofty standards set by many older classics, this game may just scratch that itch. I was dissapointed in final fantasy XIII, and had mixed results with mistwalkers previous work (Lost Odyssey = good, Blue Dragon = not so much).

The Last Story provides a relatively quick and extremely exciting JRPG romp. Its relatively linear (there is no overworld, only a large map where you can select destinations). The action is fast paced and takes many cues from todays action blockbusters without sacrificing its spirit. The graphics are fantastic. The wii's age and lack of power are abundantly clear, as The Last Story often causes a bit of slowdown. The art direction and presentation are fantastic, however, and I was consistently impressed with how the game works.

The action is fast paced and there's no grinding to speak of (unless you really want to). Overall, I'd highly recommend the last story to any JRPG fan, especially if (like me) you don't have time to devote to the much longer Xenoblade: Chronicles.

Its not perfect, however. The game has a tendency to force you into story missions which cut off certain parts of the game without much warning. Additionally, while the streamlined interface is nice, a few additional spells and attacks per character would have been welcome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Story that’s worth playing

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If they make a sequel to this game, what will they call it? The Last Story: The Next Chapter?
The Last Story is an action oriented RPG that follows the story of a group of mercenaries out for money – and maybe for love – in a world with a war between two kingdoms.
The main character has a great power that he can use to diffuse enemies’ magical spheres, or use his friends magic spheres to upgrade their weapons or heal hit points.
Combat here is not like you find in a usual RPG. Most of the time I just ran up to the enemy, and my guy automatically swings his sword, beating up the enemy. There’s also an option to use a bow with the Wiimote (you aim it where you want to fire and press the A button to fire.)
But you get a whole lot of weapons, armor, and other goodies which you can use to improve your party’s fighting ability – like in an RPG.
And just like many RPGs out there, this game has a lot of content in it. It may take about twelve hours to get through the story mode (more if you want to take on side quests and challenges)
But the one thing this game needs badly is a better map system. I like exploring as much as the next guy, but sometimes it was tough to find the place I needed to go to in order to move on to the next story mission. The game makers needed to put in an arrow pointing to that location to avoid needless meandering.
And those of us looking for a pure RPG might get turned off by all the action in the combat scenarios.
Still, I really liked this RPG – it’s fun, the story is great, and it will take a while to get through the game. The Last Story is one of a few games out now that may actually be worth the $50 price tag. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Last Story, What a game!

posted by JeanLucAwesome (RAPID CITY, SD) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To my surprise I wasn't expecting to like this game as much as I did. I just finished the game and set everything up for a future new game plus. First off, the music in the game is absolutely phenomenal and hits on every note, expected no less from Nobuo Uematsu. It's definitely a soundtrack I want to pick up.

The story which some say is predictable, I don't get at all..I've been completely enthralled in every twist and turn, there's been probably only one moment so far that I eventually saw coming. It does do a couple of cliche things that you'd expect of the genre but they still managed to bring a trickle to my eye and besides those the whole thing was pretty original throughout and went in a lot of interesting directions.

It is around a 25-30 hour game, however that's a good thing imo. Instead of it being drawn out with a bunch of filler none sense, the story that's being told is much more focused and engrossing moment to moment but that's not to say there isn't any side quests. There's plenty of stuff to go around doing in town and items to collect.

I love the simplified weapon and armor system. Instead of having hundreds of different armors and worrying about which one will give you the best stats or whether you missed one. There's more like eight in which you simply upgrade along the way and once you get things leveled up to the higher levels, your gear starts looking pretty awesome. Also, the customization is a neat little feature, mixing and matching different armors and coloring them using the dyes that you've collected is nifty.

The voice acting is sublime too, theres lots of clever and funny dialogue. BTW, can we have more games voice acted in the UK? A lot of the times when it's done stateside for RPGs, the english vo is generally awful and often overacted…or not acted enough.

My only real gripes with the game are that by having your attack be forward

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best!

posted by EternalDream87 (Washington, DC) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the Best game i had ever played! I'm an Final Fantasy person and this is truly amazing game. This game is the complete storyline which you are the character in the story and what is even more you're responsible for the team to make sure they're in part of the story as well. Love this and would love to purchase this if i have the money to do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid JRPG with some interesting features

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Dust off your Wii one last time, the Last Story is the last great game for the Wii. From the original creator of Final Fantasy, its got a lot of what you expect in a JRPG, but with also some new interesting features. Not everything works perfectly, the combat can be annoying, but the story and the characters will keep you interested until the end. Visually, this is about the best the Wii can do. Its not high def, and the colors can get muddy, but there are lot of little touches that you will notice in the environment and the models look good. Music is well done (original Final Fantasy composer too) and the British voice actors are charming. Its nice to hear a different set of voice actors from the usual ones we get in the US. There are alot of little complaints, but not enough to make it a big deal. Get the game if you love JRPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really good!

posted by Arielle08 (VALLEY SPRINGS, CA) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first JRPG that I have played and its so good! I havent finished it yet, but so far, I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth Checking out

posted by TheDamonsaya (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im new to jrpgs. But the lost story gameplay is pretty nice. I think the graphics are pretty bad at times even for a wii game, I highly recommend 480p. The plot is actually pretty long but yet is still predictable. Overall, if you enjoy jrpgs i would definitely check it out. I give it an 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Someone please hold me, this game is too awesome!!

posted by TheAmazingFox17 (GLENSIDE, PA) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Gameplay-Amazing

Music- made me feel weak at the knees

Characters- Funny, Likeable, and HOT HOT HOT!!!!!

Story- Could've been better, but it's all been done before so this game gets as creative as it can get with the same tried and true formula.

Graphics- OMG is this game playing on a wii.........you're sure.........So this isn't a 360 game.......HOLY ####.

Over all this is my favorite game of all time and even if you don't like the wii, or Role playong games, or Just gaming in general, you NEED TO BUY THIS GAME!!!!

Plus, I'm a level 24 mage, so you're really in no position to refuse. Don't make me summon a dragon to come and eat your new car, cause I will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just WOW

posted by Iggymud (KLAMATH FALLS, OR) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Simply one of the best rpgs I've played. On par with FF X

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Last Story Is A Real Sleeper...

posted by CriticalPunch (ATHENS, GA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 27 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I tell you what, I put this game in my Wii drive, and it put me to sleep no longer than 2 hours of gameplay. Where did it go wrong? Let's start with the boring controls. You don't attack, you just run up to an enemy and it attacks for you. Simple enough, right? Well each character gets five lives, so if you have been playing RPGs these past 10 years, you will not die, ever.

Gameplay:

Boring, but better gameplay than NMH 1 & 2.

Voice Acting:

Atrocious. XSEED didn't take the time to change the PAL voices to USA voices. What this means is that when it was localized, they pretty much just ported it over from the UK version, doing absolutely nothing different. This game came out six months ago in the UK, they've had six months to make changes to this game to localize it in the US.

The voices don't follow the lips. It's like watching the old Godzilla movies in English. What's worse? It's poorly translated. Japanese people don't call their moms 'Mummy'. The acting is terrible in general, not just the voices, but the characters.

The fact that you can speed through the annoying cutscenes of everyone by holding A (A does everything in this game) is great, because even after doing so, the game is still utterly boring.

BGM Arrangement:

The only thing this game has going for it, the music.

Multiplayer:

Pretty boring. I can think of a few other wii games that have more interesting multiplayer than this one. Honestly, I'd rather spend my time playing those games instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame. Just lame.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

First off, my attack is automatic? That ruins a lot of the fun. Second, the controls. Third, boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I never thought much of wii games

posted by Admittedknight6 (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Aside from The Last Story I had only played Skyward Sword on the Wii. I had read some mixed reviews of the game early on and when I got a Game fly account this was actually the first game I rented.
It did not disappoint. Sure the visuals were a little fuzzy but the action was fast paced and the story kept me entertained the whole way through. I hope to see more games similar to this one in the future. Probably won't be seeing any sequels, but then again look at Final Fantasy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Underrated Hit

posted by Lowenberg2013 (CARMEL, IN) Sep 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

I found this game while just looking through the list of games, renting it for the heck of it and not expecting much out of it. Days later, I was asking my parents if I can purchase it. This game was different from most RPGs in the way it cleverly blends the dungeons and battlefields into each level, giving you near-complete freedom to roam around even during a battle. The game featured an auto-attack function, but it is possible to switch it to manual if it doesn't suit your liking. The characters featured in the game were very well developed in terms of personality and backstory, and the storyline was brilliant and naturally flowed with little gaps or overlaps. That's what I personally look for in a game. The overall story and gameplay was enjoyable, so I was disappointed when it ended, but [spoiler] was pleased to find you can replay the story on a different file with everything you had gained from the last play through, including weapons, powers, and level gains, and the difficulty being increased. [spoiler end.] Of course, this game, like all games, has notable flaws. The animations were a little stag, with both movements and character mouth movement poorly done. Also, the game could have had more open world capability and more warning before a new mission starts. Also, there could have been an optional feature of replaying specific chapters, escalating from simply revisiting dungeons. The multiplayer was good, giving you the option to even play as NPCs, which was fun. Overall, the game was a great variation for its genre and highly recommended by me. I also recommend Xseed to make a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by dpilchard (TUOLUMNE, CA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game was wonderful. I really liked the graphics and the characters. Each character has a great personality and story behind them. The only fault I have with the game is the camera angles and movements when fighting. Other than that it's a great game, and I definitely recommend getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Combat, Generic Story

posted by TheFa1thful (MANSFIELD, OH) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

The title sums it up perfectly. I will say this though, your party can pretty much fight through the game on autopilot. Characters are only one dimensional and have very obvious personality hooks (ie. the girl who drinks a lot and dresses risque, the ladies man, the emotionally distant captain with a shady past, naive princess, etc.). That being said, the story is told in some variety with several mediums of gameplay. This is a plus and a minus. It does change things up (good) but little to no introduction to what the heck your supposed to be doing at the time kind of makes it fail (bad). The pacing of the story is also poor. First hour or so of the game you have little involvement with any of the players except action. Then the next hour and a half you see almost no action at all. The biggest issue I have with the story is actually not pacing, but the lack of consistency. (spoiler alert) One instance in the game has you questing out in the market for ale, then you happen onto the princess, and forget completely about the alcohol you were out to get. Everyone else does to. No one cares about the tavern being out of alcohol anymore, and its on to the next plot device. Lets just say the next few plot points equally don't connect to the previous ones as well. All in all, innovative but not intuitive combat (mainly due to pretty.... awkward controller set-up). I would recommend if you need an RPG fix but don't want to grind through a turn-based game. Other than that, I would say your time is better spent elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word. WOW!

posted by Trekker3994 (OGDEN, UT) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

When I first saw this game I thought that it might be interesting. But when I received it I was mind boggled. I couldn't pull myself away from it. The graphics are exuberant. The game style is fantastic. There were a couple parts that reminded me of the Microsoft game Fable but they were few and far between. The game was unexpectedly, happily long. I'll admit that it was predictable but even though it was I still immensely enjoyed it.

I did consider the Zelda series to be my #1 game out there, but The Last Story surpasses all but their most recent. And even there it is tight. I would definitely suggest this to anyone who enjoys games with good character development and brilliant graphics. Even the accents don't bug me, and I hate the British accent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great, unique RPG

posted by SSJGohan3972 (WAXHAW, NC) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The Last Story has many strengths. The story - although starting out slowly - pulled me in and made me care, however the mostly linear style made me miss the open-world style of most newer RPGs. The battle system, while on the surface being simplistic, turned out to be quite engaging and at times satisfyingly challenging. Its downside is that it can get a little repetitive.

I gave The Last Story an 8 but most likely would have done 8.5 had that been available (unfortunately I don't think 9 is warranted).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My rating is differnet from the others

posted by Spongegodd (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

So I got it today... also sending it back today. I just didn't get into it... The graphics weren't that great from what I've played before. The voices in the game could have been a lot better then what they were( like for example made sure the voices were unique and not so easy to confuse with the others). Mind you I did play this for only 20 minutes... but, it reminded me of a cheap final fantasy XIII a repetitive battle run through. Blah is all I have to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Basic does not mean Bad

posted by RedKitten (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2007

This is a game that harkens back to the classic days of the SNES and original PlayStation. It is not fancy, it does not break new ground or thrill you with sparkly graphics. What it does do is tell a solidly written story with an intuitive and easy to use combat system. In these days of games with more flash and sizzle than substance this game is a polished, workmanlike affair. If you want an exotic feast of a game this is not for you, but if you are looking for a comfortable meat and potatoes game that satisfies without overwhelming please give Mistwalker Studios a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool storyline

posted by Erodrel (CANTON, IL) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I liked the combat system and the story line was pretty good, but it was mostly cutscenes which drove me crazy! I loved the characters! Except for Calysta whom I wanted to push off of any hights that we found ourselves on :P All in all, I'm glad I ordered it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Last Story

posted by ohiostate1950 (STARKE, FL) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

All the other games from Gamefly have operated without any problems. This game ,The Last Story, doesn't play. I have consultated my WII manual and could not find a problem with my machine. I have no idea what the problem is, but it is not my machine. I had just finished playing Harry Potter Leggo and it gave me no problems. I really enjoy the service provided by Gamefly and look forward to many more games in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game i played in a while

posted by zal (GREER, SC) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i got to say this game was awsome on everything it feels like your getting to know the thing the story is 8/10 the ending i got too say is sad becuse you beat it i thinking about buying it and there anthoer but your going to have to rent or buy it to firgue out why

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great game

posted by Trafalgar (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

At first I didn't this game could give me a the rpg experience I'd get from like "tales of", "final fantasy" but this game pulled though with some smooth game easy to us controls and alright graphics but its on the wii so you cant expect to much from the wii but going though the story the characters make you want to keep play and to finish the game post games now don't do that from me now. The multiplayer is pretty fun too not difficult to connect to others the only problem I had with the game was some of the running around looking for side quests to do and no help on keeping track on them or where to go next but beside that this was a great game to say goodbye too the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

review

posted by tristanoo7 (CEDAR CITY, UT) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this game is fun but raly hard. i dont like it the werds dont mach ther mouth and it is con fusing i cont even get past the 4th levle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fun at all for me

posted by musicdevine (VALLEJO, CA) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I simply didnt like it. I couldnt tell most times what I was doing to move forward in the game, how I was accumulating currency or much else for that matter. It was rated pretty high, so maybe I just didn't know what I was doing. Had it one day and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse