Rent The History Channel: Great Battles - Medieval for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The History Channel: Great Battles - Medieval

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

1079 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good strategy game!

posted by JonDavid1210 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for strategy fans. It's similar to games like Rome: Total Conquest, but it has a more campaign oriented gameplay mode. I originally rented it for me, but later had my little sister play it. It is not only entertaining, but educational. The cut scenes between each campaign cover the basics of The Hundred Years War. The downside is you can only play as the British or French. I'd like to see a follow up that covers the the Norman Conquest & the Crusades. To be able to play as William the Conquor or Richard I or The Templars/Hospitalars or Saladin would be very cool. All in all a very entertaining game. Also by chapter 6 of t he campaign (as either side) you can basically unlock 300-450 achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I really enjoyed this game

posted by sfcook (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know why this game has such low reviews. As a person who enjoys strategy games, I really enjoyed this game. You get to train and equip armor and weapons to your different squads and then deploy them in realistic formation type battles. It definitely takes a good bit of strategy to be successful at each level, especially early on when your troops are minimally equipped. If you enjoy knights and armor type games, with strategy, this is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Battles Medieval

posted by Elusive (DELAVAN, WI) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

60 out of 69 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

For people who like real time strategy games this is very fun. The gameplay is pretty good overall. I did not expect much out of this game when I first got it, I thought I was going to play for a day and ship it back, but it was way better than I expected.
The controls take a little while to get used to, but after playing for awhile they are easy. The graphics are good enough, the game is challenging, but the reason this game does not get higher than a 7 is because of technical glitches. The game plays like an unfinished product at times. Over a half dozen times while I was playing the game it froze. The game would be worth a purchase, but after winning a battle, and then objective complete popping up on the screen, then all of sudden the game freezes. This stopped me from playing on several occasions.
Overall the game is worth a rent for people who enjoy strategy games, it would be worth a purchase if it did not freeze all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by Zachzman (BUFFALO, MO) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the title explains it all... its EPIC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Battles midieval

posted by Grid86 (WILMINGTON, DE) May 19, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i say if u like strategy games then i would try this out i mean your not buying the game its just renting try it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great battles medieval

posted by serranicus (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not bad. camera angles need work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by Darkanis (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun in it's own way. It is different and in my opinion that is good. Graphics are ok and the gameplay makes you think about what you want to do before you do it. Now would I buy it for $60, no I wouldn't it is a great rent to try and I'd pick it up used for $15 or less as I have enjoyed playing it. I give it 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 to counteract ignorant ratings.

posted by Artisgr8 (KENMORE, NY) May 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

67 out of 87 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I would really give this about a 7.5 to be honest but the other guy was being a outright moron no offense but really this game isn't that bad as the other review suggests. The controls take getting used to just like the gameplay mechanics.
It takes being an RTS fan to really come to appreciate games like this and typically I like games where you get to make a base then build an army like my favorite RTS of all time is Lord of the Rings Battle For Middle Earth 2 and it sucks when they took the multiplayer down ( thanks EA) But anyway this isn't that game. Its the games I typically don't like which are the games where you make up your armies composition before the battle and battle army vs army from the start to end of the match. But that is the odd thing about this game I actually like this. It isn't just the fact that this game is based on real historic battles but most games like this make the controls to complicated for a keyboard, you have to adjust army unit tactics morale and other systems within the game get to complicated but this game seems to have simplified it enough that it doesn't get bogged down by all of that, yes it is in here but it doesn't over complicate the game.
You can still upgrade your unit's weapons and costumes skills and other things.
I haven't played this a lot but I what I have played this game is really good. You can either play as France or England because the game is based on the period known as the !00 year war.
But it doesn't seem like either faction has an advantage or a differentiated unit set up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really not that bad

posted by Ripster (NORTH CHILI, NY) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game has some issues to say the least. Controls and some aspects seem to make little sense or have no impact on game play. But that said I really did have a fun time playing this once I got into the game a little more. The video clips before the battle are cool and the provide some hints on how to be succesful in the battle. Give it a chance ..its a rental for sure but worth a few days of play if you like this type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different in a good way, but not great

posted by GeorgioP (NORTH CANTON, OH) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you know or care anything about the Hundred Year's War between England and France in the 1400's, then you'll enjoy this game for it's accuracy to history.

This is no fast action sword battle, but more like playing a huge game of chess in slow motion.

You move whole squads around a battlefield and match up troops and weapons based on your opposing squad's resources. The graphics are good and the game takes a long time to get used to, honestly.

It is a neat game if you enjoy Medieval Dark Ages history, but for the masses of kiddies out there today - those who could not care less about real history and the world we live in, where we came from, or just want to see fast action jousting, quick gratification, sword fights or dragon slaying, look somewhere else.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Graphics

posted by st0pdontshoot (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The graphics to this game are great - I ordered this for my step son (14) and to be totally up front - he never got past the training mode - the game commands are very tedious. I was able to finish the training mode and get him into the actual game - but once again - he was not able to manuver in the campaign.
If you are into mid evil era history and are an experienced gamer - go for it you will really enjoy it. If your not an experienced gamer, you will spend a lot of time learning the controls and commands, and that might take away some of the enjoyment for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hoping it would be better

posted by Dee_Dubya_89 (PALMETTO, FL) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I like the History Channel. I like strategy games. The History Channel: Great Battles - Medieval, not so much.

First off, the graphics look as if I'm playing a game created in 1992. These graphics do not belong on a next gen console especially after seeing what they can do at E3 with games like Mass Effect 3, Batman Arkham City, and MW3.

The controls are extremely cumbersome. You have to select each unit individually to give them a command, no select all units button in this game, which really slows down the game play and prolongs the battles unnecessarily. Not only that but commands can only be given when the battle is paused. It would be great to tell one of my units to flank an enemy unit with out having to pause the action every time. Again, it prolongs he battle further.

The battle animations are pretty bland. Hardly any variation to the moves a particular unit does, even after giving them new skills. I'd love to see a game similar to the way Halo Wars does their battle animations. I don't understand why they don't make another one. Halo has such a huge fan base, Halo Wars 2 would sell whether it was good or not. But I digress.

Finally, the in-game text is so small, it is barely readable. I have a 30" screen TV an I had to sit about 2 feet away from the screen to read it. Just ridiculous. Of all the things that they could have fixed I would think that font size would have been the easiest. I almost couldn't make it through the tutorial because of this nonsense.

Overall, this game has a lot of problems. The reason I gave it a 3 and not a 2 or 1 is because despite all the problems I still managed to have a little fun with the game. It could have been a much better game, but it is just too bogged down with these problems and you are continuously exposed to them throughout the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game!!!!

posted by Adiozerg (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!! Once you get used to the controls and how to upgrade your units properly, you will have a blast.

This game does take some getting used to.

Not for children or for anyone who does not like RTS.

If you like RTS and are patient and willing to learn the controls then you will have a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eeeeh

posted by loganator57 (CHARLESTON, WV) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like how this game is made, but not that good. Fun stradegy game, fun and enjoyable. Rent, not buy. Add me. My gamertag on Xbox Live is LOGANATOR 57. See you in the games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OMG...this was awful

posted by Jimmy69 (LEVITTOWN, NY) May 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

22 out of 73 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Let me say this..I am a big fan of RTS but this was awful..Graphics and controls were horrible..The tutorial was horrible..I swear some of the controls just didnt work..Save your time do not rent or buy..I really wanted to like this game, but there was nothing to like...:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not impressed

posted by Dnc720 (MIRAMAR, FL) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I the biggest fan of military strategy games and this one didn't cut it.
Not impressed with graphics or game play. Cant wait for x-box to come out with a good battle strategy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

okay

posted by aerosmith104 (LOWELL, MA) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

It was an okay strategy game but is nothing compared to the total war games. Strategy games are just hard to make well on a console unfortunately!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh

posted by MUSTURDLUBE (MURFREESBORO, TN) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was fun for about an hour and than became super repetitive. The history segments were enjoyable but other than that this isnt really worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An ok game, if you don't mind annoying controls.

posted by EvilFluffyWolf (LE MARS, IA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Good game, though hard to get the hang of. Once you do, it's quite fun. Everything is underpowered, except for the knights armour. That's majorly OP. Eventually, as you progress through either the French or English campains, it gets way to hard and you never get past it, and the limit on squads you can get is stupid. And the many side battles eventually become 1 or 2, and then those get so hard and frustrating, you start to hate the game. Most battles won't even let you have your full army on the battle field. Commanding is also annoying. You select a squad, command them to move somewhere, and instead of retreating, they jump into annother battle. Even if you have the squad on defensive mode. Archers are a big help. They can usually weaken or even route all of the enemy before the battle even starts, if you have enough of them. Calvary is also a pain, almost useless once the enemy reaches your frontline, or if the enemy has either artillery or archers. Use them to lure the enemy towards your arches, and use them as decoys, but I recommend infantry since they have high defence and are great for keeping the enemy occupied while your archers pick off the enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No

posted by Spartyon (GROSSE POINTE FARMS, MI) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I am a huge fan of strategy games and I have to say this is absolutely the worst strategy game I have ever played, the gameplay is boring unit upgrades are confusing and it is all around not a very good game. I would personally recommend Halo Wars it is one of my favorite strategy and this game, well sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Controls hurt this game

posted by lemieux (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

I enjoy RTS style games and was eagar to give this one a try. Wow! Sad game.

Overall the game could be entertaining but the controls are just too clunky and not have a natural feel to them. And for an RTS game bad controls would be like worthless guns in an FPS shooter. So it is the death of this game.

Maybe being on a console is what hurt it. I'm not 100% sure. But very few RTS have pulled of being awesome on the console. Only 2 I can think of right now are Halo Wars and Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution. Both games I played for hours upon hours and enjoyed every moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stop read this it will save moments of your life

posted by joshua_swole (WESTON, FL) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game sucks the graphics are horrible the game it self is horrible rent halo wars instead save some time i tried giving the game a chance it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dont even bother renting this game

posted by mankin (FRANKLIN, IN) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

goods

you can coustimize your army and its weapons and armor and the skills. thats about it for those.

the bads
it was low quality and low budget so dont be counting on a great game.
horrible graphics and you cant cycle your units very well. its like age of empires only worse. its made by history channel and they arent known for great games. it is also very complicated game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever made

posted by Scottnangi (DORA, AL) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is a PS2 era game, not worth the wasted time to even rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by menacorp71 (FAIRMONT, WV) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is boring and the graphics could have been alot better to make-up for the boring game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse