Rent The Gunstringer for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Gunstringer

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

818 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cute, entertaining, all around fun game

posted by sizzle (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We really enjoyed this. Sometimes I even think we should go back and buy it, but it is a very short game. It does work as a great way to show off the Kinect when you have friends over.

It's not totally accurate all the time (as most Kinect games aren't) so that can be a bit frustrating, but overall it's very enjoyable and a fun use of the Kinect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun To Play, and Funny As Well. Rent Don't Bu

posted by kencushing (VALENCIA, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game based on the say-so of reviewers, but I was a bit leary of doing so, after being disappointed in Child of Eden. I have to say, however, that this game as a shooter is simply more fun than Child of Eden, and has a lot more depth and variety to it as well.

You (usually) control your puppet with one arm and your side arm with the other. You paint targets first, then raise your arm as if you had recoil from your pistol, and it releases the shots. If the entire game were like this, it would get stale fast, each Act consists of various elements of running along avoiding obstacles while painting targets and firing, sometimes it becomes a platformer, either in 3D or from the side, where you have to jump and/or shoot at the appropriate times.
Sometimes you have six-shooters in both hands and need to aim both of them simulataneously.

As far as the plot goes, it's pretty basic. Cowboy wants revenge. However, the game makes him into an undead cowboy marionette, and it's like you're playing out a puppet show "movie" that is being viewed by a live audience. They laugh when something funny happens (and trust me, there are plenty of these moments), they do startled gasps whenever you get shot or hit (and sometimes they boo at you).

I haven't seen anything quite like this. Ever. My wife didn't really love the type of humor that is presented, which is sort of like a cross between Mad Magazine/Monty Python mixed with southerner cowboy-style dialogue. These things are all amusing to me, so I found the game's plot and delivery simply brilliant. Your mileage may vary, however.
My only complaints are that you can't really play for extended periods of time. Holding your arms up for more than a couple of Acts at a time can be tiring for somebody who is out of shape like me. :-)
The game is quite short as well, at around 4 hours, but your poor arm and shoulder muscles may make you grateful it's over.
This is a great rental, but not good for buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Kinect game, but...

posted by JustAbussiness (GEORGETOWN, SC) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best Kinect game, but... the controls aren't perfect. They're some parts where its just almost impossible to move out of the way. I have unlocked almost 900 gamerscore from this game. Love it! you get free xbox theme, Xbox emblem for your profile, anddd the best you get the Gunstringer's outfit for your avatar, also! don't forget to download the free content :) hope this was helpful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Gunstringer

posted by hawkm69 (BUFFALO, MO) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big fan of Kinect, we rarely use it. This game however changed my feelings toward Kinect. This game is addicting fun for the whole family - a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty awsome kinect game!

posted by wawaa007 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When i first saw this game i was interested. It looked like a cross between Toy Story's toy box mode and Rango. I was expecting a open world western game, turns out to be a on rails shooter but it still reached my expectations. I gave it a nine because it was overall a well made game with flaws.

The game makes you feel like your the star in this puppet show. You move the gunstringer with your left hand and shoot with your right. Ill start off with moving your character. He runs automatically you control if he goes left or right, its not a bad thing. There is a variety of level types like running and shooting while avoiding objects, hiding behind cover and shooting enemies, and the ending boss battles which are just dodge there attacks till you can shoot then slam into them.

Now the shooting. With your right hand you aim over a target there turn red then you aim over another target then they turn red, once you get 6 targets you fling your hand back to your shoulder and he fires his gun at the targets. Its not what i thought it would be. There is points where your gun rapidly fires and you have to aim over anything that comes at you. You mainly use our pistol but you get to use guns like shotguns, flamethrowers, and swords.

I thought the game was pretty short, 6 levels with 4 stages in each level. Overall the game rocks just a little short and the narrator can get annoying with the same lame jokes over and over. You can purchase modifiers to enhance the game like no-fail mode, ghoststringer mode, and sepia mode. Starting to see a lot of good kinect games hope there is more like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

gunstringer gets it right

posted by no24dupontgirl (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Twisted Pixel has a great reputation for making games outside the norm and the Gunstringer doesn't change that. Most important for a Kinect game is the recognition of your movements, Gunstringer is spot on. Sometimes moving with one hand and shooting with the other gets a little hectic but the game shines in two player mode. A great family game with lots of bonus material, but the story mode is really, really short, like marketplace games short.
With games like this the Kinect is finally hitting its stride

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and short

posted by ranmcc (WALDORF, MD) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a fun fun fun... short short short game... that's all... the story is hilarious and the game play is decent. There's nothing spectacular but if you enjoyed Maw and Comic Jumper then you won't be disappointed with this Twisted Pixel title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent game for the Kinect!

posted by DavidBankson (HENDERSON, TX) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

This game is hilarious, first off. Play it for that alone if nothing else. The premise is excellent -- a gunslinger getting revenge, the classic trope in Westerns...except this one is a skeleton. And a marionette. Seeing strings, human hands, and audience members is a very common occurence, and brilliantly executed. They did a great job keeping it interesting, always with some new task or weapon being thrown at you. It's a decent challenge, but not too difficult. Seems to work very well with the Kinect, I had very little problems with it reading my movements like in many of the Kinect games. You won't be disappointed by The Gunstringer, though you probably wouldn't want it for more than a rental. I was tired of it after a couple of days, despite that I wanted to stay interested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marionette Funfighter

posted by Faerie_Knight (DUBUQUE, IA) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Man this game is fun! Controls are sometimes awkward, but that's more a case of needing good spacial awareness then anything else in my opinion. Have to say though, your arms get tired fairly quickly. Overall a good game. I'd recommend renting it, at least.

The humor is rather tongue in cheek, and sometimes rather British in flavor. If you enjoy Monty Python and Red Dwarf then you'll probably find the humor great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is what KINECT should be...

posted by desolate23 (LAWTON, OK) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Gunstringer is exactly what the kinect should be this game is always a chuckle and a worthy rental. If not only that the controls actually worked but the game is enticingly entertaining worth a good 2 or even 3 playthroughs and hopefully this game becomes a series of actually good kinect games so that way we could forget all the bad ones. An 8 does this game justice but I wouldn't purchase this game if you're a hardcore shooter, and more or less despite the rating which is "T" it's a good child friendly game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointed

posted by txsquirt (HUNTSVILLE, TX) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I was hoping for something a little more realistic. I thought it was called gunslinger...I thought it was a western shoot'em up game. I will definitely read the title a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by DaniDecker (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by frydaze1 (YUCAIPA, CA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Fiance likes this game more than I do. I find it a bit hard on my shoulder. And while there is a 2-player option, it's difficult to be in charge of a gun when you don't have control over the body. But it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun for a minute

posted by gameflyguy1 (MAMARONECK, NY) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

boooooring!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but some control issues.

posted by Awesomeness2day (DECATUR, GA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the game is fun but some times in the cover shoot outs it donsen't quiet work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ehhh not nearly as cool as I was hoping...

posted by str8laggers (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Overall this game would be great for like an 8 year old, but the game controls are sloppy as best the story isn't that great and personally I cant stand the constant commentary from the narrator it totally ruins the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gunstringer is boring

posted by Maverickrap (PARIS, AR) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Too long a story line where all you do is watch. Hard to control the aim and just over all boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Play Screen shooter!!!!

posted by RebelTaz (SOUTH BEND, IN) Oct 14, 2011

Member since May 2009

This game is a great game only reason i didn't give it a ten is because the game is little slow to pick up your movement that all.Otherwise one great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »