Rent The Godfather: The Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Godfather: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
7.7

4897 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA for the sophisticated crowd

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

128 out of 143 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The Godfather, originally released a few months ago for the current-gen systems, IS better on the 360. A lot of stuff has been added to make the game a little more "next-gen". While I wouldn't really say that the visuals are quite what I would expect from a true next-gen game, they ARE better than the current-gen version. The flame effects, however, are really impressive. In fact, I might go as far as to say that the flame effects in the 360 version are the best I've seen in any game.

Anyhow, the gameplay has also been improved. EA has basically taken the GameFace tool from Tiger Woods and applied it to this game (called MobFace). While not quite as robust as the Tiger Woods version, you CAN make a fairly passable version of yourself... if you're white, that is (your character is Sicilian, and therefore, must be a white guy). So you take yourself around and basically follow the storyline of the Godfather movie. In addition to the story missions, however, are various side missions, including boxing, hitman missions, taking over business, etc. EA added a lot more of the side missions to the 360 version to flesh it out and give you more stuff to do in your spare time. Extorting people and taking over businesses is probably one of the funnest parts of the game.

Now, some bad stuff. One of my major gripes is with the controls. They aren't bad, per se, but they do take some getting used to. Switching between melee weapons and guns can often be cumbersome, even to the point that it gets you killed. Very frustrating... Aiming is better, in my opinion, than GTA, but still not as good as it is in Saints Row, which lets you free target at all times. You can even do special shots like blowing out a guy's kneecaps, which was surprising the first time I did it (it never really tells you how to do it, you just have to "discover" some stuff on your own).

Overall, this game is good fun, although very graphic. It's nice to see an "urban mayhem" game that doesn't live in the ghetto

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by GamerDad (RICHMOND, VA) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could not put this game down once I started playing it. It is a little easy to complete the missions as compared to GTA, but who cares... when you have Godfather theme music playing in the bakground and you are busy taking over neighborhoods for the Coreleone family, you fail to notice!

A must play for any GTA fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blows away GTA

posted by infp76 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

IMO this blows away the adolescent "gangsta" motif of the GTA titles. This one has deeper culture and history, and is probably better suited for an "older" audience (not the young, jiggy, gangsta rap audience).

While most movies don't transfer well to gaming (and vice versa), this one is an exception. The developers did a great job of integrating the actual happenings of the movie while leaving a large chunk open for a unique gaming and story experience. The character you play actually fulfills certain aspects of the film that weren't actually shot. For example the part in the movie where a gun is stashed above a toilet for Michael, you don't actually see in the movie who did it. In the game, you do it! Ditto that for the horse head scene.

So all in all the game stays true to the movie while at the same time allowing you to freely explore, take over businesses, add to the story, etc.

The graphics are nothing to write home about, which is true for every 360 game I've played that was originally designed for the original xbox (such as COD 2 and 3). But they're not horrible and I never really experienced any camera angle issues.

It's fun and addictive game that has decent replay value. I wish they'd make corresponding sequels for parts 2 and 3 of the movie...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Godfather

posted by AutoBlast (MEDFORD, WI) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

41 out of 49 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I played the PS2 version, liked it and bought the game. I played the 360 version and wished I saved my money. The 360 is way better and way cooler. There are many extra's in the 360 version that you don't get in the PS2. You can hire people from the Corleone compounds to help you out. The bribes that you pay are all different, not a constant same rate, and you can also do favors for the companies you are trying to take control of. All in all, it is a really GREAT game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So So So close to perfect...

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2003

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

A GTA for sofisticated crowd is a good explaination, i like that. This game is less smack the blanks, and blankin' the hoes. and more a crime for business type of game. the way it ties into the movie is cool and fun. It's difficult at times but never too difficult and never monotonous like so often GTA can be.
I have never been a patient gamer, if the game doesn't rock right off the bat, i send it back. If the game is too difficult i cheat (but then am bored of it within hours because it's too easy) this game rides the lines perfect.
The only reason i didn't give it a ten? toward the end (taking over all the rackets and getting all the favors and hits done) a lot of the character dialogue no longer applies. Like a lot of the hits say "the don wants this..." well, i am the don, so why didn't i know that. and for gods sake why do i sound like i have been dying to do something for the don, when i have been a made man for a long time now? thats the only thing wrong with this game... one of few that i played 100% done without cheating... i love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gangster game for the over 15 crowd

posted by Faroutman (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

This is the best thing I've played in a while. much more compelling than GTA or Saints row in my opinion. Nice selection of new weapons and the addition of crew members makes this worth getting even if you have the Godfather for the old Xbox.
Possibly the best game I have played on the 360 so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining but Flawed

posted by TheITGuy (SWANSEA, IL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Obviously has a great story potential coming from one of the greatest movies of all time, but this game is far from perfect. Overall, the control system needs some work. For example, it wont be uncommon for you to be using wall cover and an enemy runs around the corner and starts shooting you and the controls basically lock and you are stuck against the wall unable to defend yourself for multiple seconds. While the fighting and action can be extremely fun, it can also be extremely aggravating. The targeting system is by far the worst of any game I have ever seen. Further any time you are in combat and you have a "family" member with you, they typically just get in the way and block your view instead of actually being helpful. Also, the map and navigation system in The Godfather is sub par compared to other sand box style games.

Don't get me wrong, this game is fun to play, but definitely not worth the money to buy. Rent it, play it, return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by ninja1818 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Godfather is a great game. First of all, the graphics. The graphics in this game aren't exactly amazing. The character models are pretty good, the environments are ok, but the fire graphics are insane. The game is very fun. It gets boring after a while and a little repetitive, but what game doesn't? Extorting businesses is fun, and the missions are great. The character creation is great also. It isn't quite as in-depth as the Saints Row's but it is good. One of my favorite things in this game is the fighting and shooting. When you are having a melee fight you don't just stand there and punch or kick. You can grab on to an enemy and beat them to death with flicks of the right thumbstick. To me, one of the funnest things to do is to grab random people and throw them into the garbage cans of fire and watching flames and debris explode and light him on fire. The shooting mechanics are also a very good addition to the game. There is a similar targeting to Grand Theft Auto which has the same problems. You will be trying to aim and it will aim at someone that is far away when there is someone close to you. This isn't a major problem but it happens. Flaws aside, the shooting in this game is some of the best I've used in a third person action game. You lock on to an enemy and then you can move the cross hair to different parts of their bodies to take them down in different ways. Hit them in the arms to disarm them, or hit them in the knees to knock them down which leaves you open to execute them, or you could just aim up at their heads and take them out quick. The executions in this game are very cool. You can knock an enemy on his knees and then come up with your weapon and hit a button to take them out in a super cool way. For example hitting them in the stomach so that they bend over and then putting your pistol to the back of their head and blowing their brains out.Overall, this is a great game with very fun gameplay. I highly recommend you buy or rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for the role players

posted by meosales (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is not a bad selection if you've got time to spare. Just don't spend all day like I did. I had fun with this one and afterward I kind of wanted to go out and start my own gang... JUST KIDDING FOLKS/PARENTS. This is a good game for the role playing crowd and has some great graphics. Rent it. Buy it. You will not be sorry...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Godfather game is one of the better Movie to game ones around. The main problem with the game though is its poor graphics, the only thing that looks real good is the fire. The open game play is a great way to have this type of game, sort of like GTA but in the Godfather world. Taking over businesses for the mob is cool and one of the things done the best in the game. There is lots of hours to be had in this game and it is worth the asking price if you like open world type games, IE GTA or even the movie. The car physics is a little off, ok a lot, but it really doesn't take too much away from the game. The auto lock on system is cool, but I find that manual aiming system to work much better, can usually drop someone in 1 to 2 shots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!!!!!!!!!!AWESOME!!!!!!!- !!!!!!

posted by Fatman (HIGHLAND, CA) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my PS2 and I really liked it but didn't meet my expectations, but earlier in the year (January) I preordered this game for my 360. Since I waited soooo long I decided to test the game out before I waited any longer....... I waited. The day I got the game my power went out so I thought it was a sign to not play the game but 2 hours of waiting the power kicked back in. I popped the game into my 360 immediately and I played it for 5 and a half hours straight. the game has more cars, missions, weapons, and more BLOOD!!!!!!!!! I suggest for an immediate buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much better than GTA-SA, it's alarming.

posted by Ghengiz (FOSTER CITY, CA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of open city. I am a fan of Mario Puzo. Being able to play a character that is close to Vito, Michael, Tom, and Sonny... that's awesome. Seeing my character in scenes from the movie... that's fantastic! Doing so in a game with excellent controls, well balanced enemies, and a fun driving engine... that's beyond words.

This is an excellent port to the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I give a gift, not a great one but it suffices

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Jun 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The Godfather movies have been hailed as the best films of all time, but does the incredible film lead to a AAA video game title?

The Godfather The Game starts out very fresh and fun, but towards the end of the game it just feels repetitive and anticlimactic.

The story is done in a way that takes mostly from the film, but adds on to the existent story formula with some personal liberties. But even with this the story seems very nonexistent.

The gameplay is where this game truly shines, the fighting is far deeper than the likes of GTA and Saints Row. And the gunplay is very "real" and in your face, but a little to real for my liking. You may be trying to run to dodge a few bullets, but one may snag your skull sending you to the floor and fast! The targeting system needed to be fleshed out some more and sometimes you just can't lock onto the enemy that you want.

This game has a lot of content in terms of side missions and things to do along with collect. But with a city as big a different as NYC, this game sure makes it feel like your character is in the same place no matter where he goes. All the areas and textures and building's along with cars look very similar if not exactly the same, can get annoying from time to time.

But this game still is a worth while rent in my book, and if you get around the frustration and endless driving to your next objective than there is a lot of fun to be had in this game. Oh and not to mention plenty of achievements to unlock as well!

The music kind a gets on the nerves though after hearing it millions of times. But fire and explosions sure have never looked and felt so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the godfather

posted by djchill06 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is really a good looking game.Plays like the reg xbox version but looks a whole lot better.Too bad they waited too long to bring the game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Magnificent Godfather Game

posted by MrBlonde (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

AWESOME!!! This is as magnificent as the movie.
(u might wanna watch the move 1st.) u play as a character who does favors for the corleone family, and while ur accomplish these favors u gain respect,which will raise u from an accosiate to a don of nyc. have fun :.)!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

O.G.(Original Gangster) for sure!!!

posted by shoupdogg (WINCHESTER, VA) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ever heard the term O.G.? Well it stands for original gangster. The godfather is is as gangster as they come. This is a great game with a ton of stuff to do. Way better on this next-gen system. As the other reviews state the graphics could be better, but they really aren't that bad. I think i would have given this game a better score if the driving wasn't so bad. Its a little choppy at times and hard to control, but i really love all the other aspects of the game. I must play in my book especially if you want to keep it gangster!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont buy it!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Avery2300 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

worst game ever, bad controlls when your driving incredibly glitchy, and combat is horrible!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

achievement stantpoint

posted by ownerof (ATTLEBORO, MA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

If your looking for gamer points this isn't the game. It's hard to get the points and it seems kind of dragged out. If you want to sit back enjoy the story part of it and not worry about points then give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Godfather

posted by BrandonM (GULFPORT, MS) Sep 23, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 72 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

The game sucks because you cant fight back if you get shot once, or twice you die. It a terrible game that tries to copy Saints Row. Saints Row kills Godfather because you can have fun. Oh and the driving in Godfather is stupid you cant drive anywhere with out hitting something it not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I like this game

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) May 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

This game is really cool and fun. i couldn't play it long cause of the shipping to me took to long..but i really enjoy it i am thinking about buying the game at a game store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A movie game worth playing

posted by Dopey5656 (REDDING, CA) Nov 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2004

With so many movie games not quite living up to the movie its self. This one did. If your a fan of the God father movies you will love this. From"Luke" sleeping with the fishes to leaving a horse head in your rivals bed, the game follows the movie almost exactly. Of coures they have plenty of side missons that are't in the movie. But You'll have a blast in this GTA style game, runnig rackets, paying off cops, and taking out the other families as you take control of New Yoirk for the Don

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 times better the gta

posted by vadic06 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

dude in this game u can like have the most bad azz weapons ever, and second of all the close hand to hand combat is awesome, im glad i got this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GD1 vs GD2

posted by zstander24 (DAVIE, FL) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i first played GF2 THEN played GF1. i was thoroughly disappointed. if it had been the other way around maybe i might have thought differently. but GF2 has ALOT better graphics and better game play. to me it seems BETTER ALL AROUND! GF1 seems more along the lines graphically of an xbox game RATHER than an xbox360. so try GF1 first before trying GF2!!
best of luck and good gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

God Freaking Fantastic!!!!!

posted by djcyclone (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

This game is awesome. If you wanna feel right in the middle of a mafia war in Old New York City G.T.A. style, this is the game for you. The streets are modeled after real streets. The game is very challenging. It should keep you entertained for a long time. No Disappointments at all! A must rent and a definite candidate for keeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'd rather eat toothpaste....

posted by Keyser (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is just BAD. I've played the Wii version and the 2nd Godfather on the 360...

I just had the urge to go back and play the 360 version...

ITS HORRIBLE. It wouldn't even qualify as a bad port from the orig XBox. The game wouldn't even respond to my controls in a decent manner..... (And thats after playing the Wii Version)

Two words sum up the quality of this game "Electronic Arts"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse