Rent The Godfather: The Don's Edition for PS3
view large frontback

The Godfather: The Don's Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2670 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost 700 Reviewers Can't Be Wrong ...

posted by FUHNAHTIK (SHERWOOD, AR) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

37 out of 37 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the GTA franchise, and for that reasons I never bought or rented Godfather until now. Nothing else was out for PS3 and I took a chance. I am glad I did, because this is an awesome game!

There are a lot of elements from GTA here (free roam environment, mission based activities with rewards/cash etc ... a great arsenal & cars you can steal) ... but what separates this game is what GTA has yet to do - realism.

You can't just start a shootout in the streets, you'll be killed rather quickly depending on where you are - they have backup, but it doesn't come in waves like GTA and people don't randomly appear to come and kill you either.

You can buy guns/clothes etc from black market distributors (each one has a different item to sell), you can extort business' and blow their safe if you have dynamite.

You feel like a part of the family, unlike recent GTA titles, where you complete generic missions and gain momentum in the world. Godfather does a very good job of bringing aspects of the Mob to your video game world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Don's Edition?

posted by Muchenik (PASADENA, MD) May 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

47 out of 49 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When the Don's edition arrived I was conflicted. Not too long ago I had received, played and returned The Godfather on the 360 and was not sure I wanted to play the same game over again.

Good thing I did.

The lower load times and graphic updates were refreshing. I was surprised the first time the motion sensor controller was actually used in the fighting. It got a good laugh out of my wife as from her perspective it looked like I was fighting with the controller. After catching me "fighting" with the controller she ended up sitting next to me and got drawn into the story, which is something that the Grand theft auto series never did.

Now the Godfather does not have the bright colors and tolerant police force that GTA and Saint's Row has, but that is something I approve. The heat system is nice since you will be able see if you need to be a little more careful or if you have the cash available you can swing the police to your side.

The cut scenes are excellent and help remind you that this is an RPG and not another sandbox. The audio helps enforce whatever action you are doing but is not a big player.

Overall I would say, if you played the 360 and liked it; give this version a chance. If you have stayed away from this game because it is just another sandbox I would say give it an hour and see if it can draw your interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Godfather Dons Edition

posted by babyjoker (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 10, 2007

Member since May 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best three games I have played for playstation 3. If you like Grand theft Auto this is another game you will love. Please check it out. The games got me hooked for three straight weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step up

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) May 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the same game on PS2, and this is an upgrade. From mission layout to being able to hire help. The PS3 version is worth playing even if you played the PS2 version.
So other tweeks would have been nice. Borrowing from SCARFACE, a limo you be able to pick you up and take you back to manison.
Once you make CAPO you should be able to hire more than one goon at a time.
But other than that the game play, the gun fights are all fun. And most are very hard to pull off the first time you attempt them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very pleased!!!

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) May 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game i was not expecting much. i was extremely surprised how much fun it is to play. the game style is very similar to GTA. You steal cars and complete jobs that your "boss" gives you. The controls are fairly easy to control, and the look and animation of the game are impressive. Since i have been a member of Game fly i usually will play a game for a few hours and then send it back, but this one has definitely caught my interest and i enjoy playing. I would recommend this one, but not suitable for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Potential graphics great gameplay!

posted by davidj1506 (FRANKFORT, OH) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the graphics in this game are just bad for a next gen console. the gameplay is amazing ecspiecally if u r into the back in the day gangster era. lots a variety which i notice are fading with next gen games but not with this. i love how you can choose close facial look hair i mean it really lets you open your thoughts. please keep the game play the same on GF2 just better grapihcs! other than that VERY easy to get into ecspecially if you liked the movie :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best godfather ever. Or until #2 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by jkb315 (HURRICANE, WV) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am amazed at some of the bad reviews on here. Then I notice that these same people review some really awful games high. So everyone has different tastes. I am very picky about games myself. I didn't expect much from this game. Yet I am addicted to it. It's very fun to play. The one thing that I didn't like is the controls when slamming people. They said they improved it for the newer version coming out. So we'll see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect 10

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love it. Perfect 10. If I was asked what kind of game to design and how it should be designed, This is IT. wish they had a keep it button on this, I'd buy it right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet!

posted by slapshot21 (HERMANTOWN, MN) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Godfather brings to the table truly one of the most addicting storylines ever created in an Action Adventure game. The gameplay rivals that of the infamous Grand Theft Auto series, and the game itself plays out just as entertaining.

Right from the beginning, the original voices and identical looking characters draw you straight into the movie. The calm, slow muttering of that ever-so-recognizeable accent coming from Don Corleone infatuates you and surrounds you with the gangster atmosphere, turning your living room into mid century New York.

There really is no comparison to the exciting "Blackhand" fighting style that is featured in The Godfather. The unique punches, headbutts, and knees to the face actually cause visual contusions that you can virtually see! A nice little feature that really brings more life and reality to the game.

Simply overall gameplay is a jewel in this game. The ability to "hire" associates and calling in the "hit squad" really adds to the overall feeling of the game. Interestingly, as your respect increases, the ability to extort local businesses also increases. By the end of the game, extorting is as easy as talking to them, which really makes the game fly by in the later stages.

Unfortunately, this game isn't all good. The driving aspect of the game is lackluster, and average at best. The cars are just plain boring, with not too much variety in-between. At times, the driving is so dull that you buy safehouses just so you can use the phone and warp somewhere else!

The graphics are not amazing. Ok, but not great.

At times, the game seems to get a bit unreal. Constantly facing swarms of upwards of 75 enemies with only you and a limited supply of ammunition draws away some of the reality factor. The chase scenes get a little out of control as well. The die-hard police officers frequently end up killing themselves rather than stopping you! And boy are they intense!

Overall, the game is definitely a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by ncsurules7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite ps3 games. It was fun and not too hard. I recommend renting it. The missions where overall pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Redrum (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great sandbox game I loved it ont he xbox and then it got better on the PS3. This game is fun it really brings out the movie all the characters and plot along with stuff inbetween. It's fun to extort buissiness owners and the aiming is good for headshots. Overall I give it a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

1st PS3 sandbox game, and hopefully not the best.

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

18 out of 26 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

All Godfather movie loving aside, this game is worth playing, beating and then returning. No looking back. Do not purchase it! The graphics are not what I expected from the PS3 (especially right after Oblivion's release) and the fighting can get quite repetitive. The controls are not responsive enough so there are times you just want to shut it off.

About the only good things here are the clips done with the Don himself, the sounds are fairly decent and the RPG aspect of leveling your character.

If you are looking for a breakthrough sandbox environment game, wait for Rockstar to release Grand Theft Auto 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA 1936

posted by feeblenewt (BAY SHORE, NY) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, it's GTA in 1936...get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Godfather: The Don's Edition for Playstation 3

posted by Mgs4fan1 (ELKHART, IN) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think it's very good because the action sequence, Character-Appearance option, and all of the cities are well organized. My favorite part in the game is The Horse Play where they attack the horse and put it on that boss gang's bed. What do you think the rating should be and what's your favorite part of the game? Let me know and I will write another review again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definately a MUST play!!!

posted by Mikey76 (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's nothing better than The Godfather. I had it on PS2 and all it did is get better with on the PS3. From the HD graphics to the shoot-em-up mob wars, you can't ask for a better game. I give it an A+++. If you haven't played it...get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Power, respect, money. What more can a guy ask for

posted by JMan1992 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of the Godfather movies and the games. I've played the game on the PS2 and it was pretty cool, almost like a 1920's Grand Theft Auto. Anyways, I played the PS3 version and it was basically the same except for better graphics, faster load times, and more missions. I recommend this game for die hard Godfather fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Godfather

posted by Wowpwnt (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Well theres no real introduction needed to this title. But this game takes a a big turn from the original movie. The game put you in the shoes of your own custamizable character. Unfortunatly the custumizations are not as good as we would expect them to be on a next generation consle. There is a huge constriction on clothing, and all those trench coats that makes the mob look all that appealing arnt in this version of the game :( . The gameplay is pretty complicated, and will probobly take the casual gamer about a day to figure out. The graphics in this game are from the orginal ps2 version wich would make this a huge turn off compared to the 360 version. The gameplay style can get very old after about three days of playing; at a pace of about three hours per day. It's the same old do a mission then go extort some buisnesses, rob a bank, and back to the main story. The acting side is fairly good as it casts some of the orginal characters from the movie. The aiming system is pretty hard to get used to, and stats the you have to upgrade make it kind of those things that you dread doing as you will say to yourself " What should I waste my xp on this time?" Still the game does have some neat features that will get a little chuckle or laugh out of you from time to time, and with the controles of the six axsis controller being use as a main key in brawling you'll mainly want to just beat up on your foes as a pose to shooting them. At first this game will make you want to go out and extort some businesses of you own but as you keep doing the same thing over and over you'll probobly want to just return the game and move on. Over all the game is more or less a novelty to the movie and your better off just renting another awsome game like tekken or god of war. But if you really liked the movie and you just have to try this game out you might get a rise out of it. I give it a 6.5 as it lacks in alot of areas but a later remake would make it awsome. hope you like my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

familiga de corlione

posted by ninjamon (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game finaly played it little time consuming but better than gta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's sorta fun for awhile

posted by RJA1978 (GOODLETTSVILLE, TN) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I decided to try this game out before playing the Godfather 2. I have to say that the game is pretty cool at first, and there are some unique things you have to do to be promoted and to earn money, but it just goes on and on, gets really boring after awhile. The idea behind the game is good, but they didnt deliver in the way the game is played.

The major thing I didnt like about this game was the amount of driving you have to do to get around, and the "waypoint" you can use on your map to get to your destination is just a stupid red flag. It's not like GTA 4 where it gives you a yellow line to follow...and there is alot of driving!!

The movie clips were cool to watch and the character voices were dead on... except for Michael.

I'd skip this one unless you dont mind a VERY long game of doing mostly the same stuff over and over...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Become The Best Godfather Ever!!!

posted by canadaguy (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game because it is so free...you can do pretty much anything you want. You can rob banks, get hit contracts, go to bars, take over businesses, kill innocent people if you want too.
This game has way better graphics than it's predecessor on the PS2. So if you are a fan of free roaming games and want the latest one?... than you should pick this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i u played this for the ps2 dont even bother

posted by hearMEnow (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

i played this game for the ps2 before. only maybe like 3 different missions. everything else is the same. dont even bother renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Codes!!!!!!

posted by tat2dskull (SANFORD, ME) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Here's a helpful hint for you, the codes for the PS2 version of The Godfather work on this game if you sustitute "triangle" for "circle"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I played this on the PS2, is it better?

posted by billys202 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is basically the same. Graphics still look like good PS2 graphics. Game control has changed and is a little more tricky with the tilt sense, you're never really sure what's going to happen when you shake the controller. I like the fact that you can take hitmen with you now, that helps on compounds and warehouses. Worth playing at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a good game

posted by ApSion (ROSAMOND, CA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

From the moment I first started actually controlling the character my hopes of a great game diminished. The mechanics and environments of the game are not that good. Textures are awful. Driving is unrealistic. The game does not seem to challenge the graphic capabilities of the PS3. But this is just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse