Rent The Godfather: Blackhand Edition for Wii
view large frontback

The Godfather: Blackhand Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

1854 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is the new generation of the Colognes

posted by Oneahoka (MESQUITE, TX) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You know I've played almost all Godfather games that are out and all i can say is it just keeps getting better. The one for the PS2 got me hooked and the Xbox was not to bad but I gotta say the is DEFINETLY the best out of them all. Like most have said the controls give the game new life. with the other console versions you had to really button mash to get anything done with multiple foes, were as in this with the persion aim and handling its definetly eaiser to handle gang wasrs or extorting racket owners for that extra cut. And as for the graphics haha well lets say they're friggen' awesome! Gameplay....is.......the best! honestly I love to have the ability to roam around New York and do what i please. Thats probably the best part about this game. Everything about this games is just about flawless i mean sure it has room for improvment but hey, doesn't evey game? So I'm not one to complain. The hit squad, The cut scenes, the contols. everything fits perfectly. This is probably THE best Wii game out so far. This is a MUST buy if you owm a Wii. All i have left to say is.....ENJOY! I know i did

Overall Ratings:

Graphics: 8.9/10
Gameplay: 9.5/10
Replay Value: 8.1/10
Contols: 9/10
Total: 35.5/40

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Wii Game To Date

posted by jfisher446 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am not a Godfather movie fan. I don't even think I've ever watched them. Despite that fact I fell in love with this game from the moment I turned it on.

First thing I had to do was get jumped and bash some heads. Right into the action, it was a wonderful start. Second came the character creation which is just out of this world. Facial transformations of every kind that you can imagine, accessories galore, change this, change that...change anything. By the time I had created my mobster I was definitely feeling the Godfather love.

Then the game progresses into a GTA, but only with a point. There is purpose, a sense of feeling here in Godfather. I loved GTA and the freedom that it gave. But the Godfather makes me feel like a mobster on a mission. I love pretty much everything about this game. The graphics are wonderful...no HD spectacle but very nice for what it is...a Wii game. Music/sound is great. Game play is some of the most open ever (I loved extorting all the businesses in town), yet it still keeps you hooked and addicted by giving you huge variety of storyline or optional side missions that all seamlessly flow together to create the best mobster game I've ever seen.

This one stomps GTA into the ground. Definitely a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first great action game for Wii

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is great! Is has great gameplay, awsome controls, great story, bloody killings, and new additions from the older versions.

To start off ill say good things about this game. Well first is that the story is great folowing the movie and book. The voice acting is spot on and even is taken right from thee movie. The controls work extremly well and never seem glitchy. This is because when you lock on to somebody the aimer never leaves that persons body giving you a direct hit everytime. Also this game is extremly violent! You can actually push somebody on the ground and shoot them in the head with a shotgun! Along with this are other execution moves. there are two moves for each weapon. To activate the moves you just preform a smple motion shown at the bottom of the screen. another new addition is you can call in a 4 man hit squad to help you out if you have trouble.

The only bad thing is that the graphics are good but sometimes look like PS2 and sometimes the game has alot of glitvhes but other wise that is all thats bad about the game so its nearly perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse