Rent The Godfather: Blackhand Edition for Wii
view large frontback

The Godfather: Blackhand Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

1856 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wii owners, rejoice!

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

38 out of 39 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This game lived up to my expectations. A wonderful, well rounded Wii game has landed! The controls are near flawless, and the graphics are pretty good, but still not the Wii's potential.

For starters, this game has a great dramatic element. Of course, it loosely based off the movies and I think this is one of the few cases where it really adds some depth to the game. The cut scenes are good and worth watching. There is some language that some should be cautioned for, but this game is rated M so that may be obvious. The storyline in this is great, even if you haven't watched the movies. Sound is always high quality with rich elements.

The controls are great! Unlike games such as Zelda: Twilight Princess, the sticks control different arms, so you can punch with any hand, not just a set pattern that the game has. Best example I can give is probably Wii Sports - Boxing. Aiming is easy and logical. Grabbing, strangling, and hitting people with bats is just awesome. This game sets a great example of what other shooters, free roaming, and all games like this should have as far as controls go.

Graphics in this game are on the upper end of decent. It's an improvement from the Xbox's version, but its still far from the limits of the Wii. No real frame rate issue, but it dips slightly in spots. On the plus side, you can make your character look like anything you want, there are many aspects you can change from the get-go.

A must OWN Wii game. This has shown a great way to use the Wii's controls and truly has shown it's potential. Graphics are decent with room to improve. You will not be disappointed with this Wii title! Rated M for the adult crowd, and it's about time Nintendo :).

9.1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Off The Hook!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Apr 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

The godfather blackhand is just what ive been waiting for on the wii. If you have played "wii sports boxing" you know that the punching isnt that accurate, but in "tha godfather" the punching and fighting is extremely realistic and accurate! Punch with the nunchuck is a left punch/hook/jab and punch with the wii-mote is right punch/hook/jab, all depending on how you swing the controls. I recommend this game to wii owners, its off the hook!

RATINGS:
Controls - 9.5 / 10
Graphics - 8 / 10
Story - 8.5 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Energyvet (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really great game. Kept us busy for hours, days! Lots to do and multiple tasks at once. Funny movies during game play with original movie characters (Sonny, Tom, Vito etc.) Well done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is the new generation of the Colognes

posted by Oneahoka (MESQUITE, TX) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You know I've played almost all Godfather games that are out and all i can say is it just keeps getting better. The one for the PS2 got me hooked and the Xbox was not to bad but I gotta say the is DEFINETLY the best out of them all. Like most have said the controls give the game new life. with the other console versions you had to really button mash to get anything done with multiple foes, were as in this with the persion aim and handling its definetly eaiser to handle gang wasrs or extorting racket owners for that extra cut. And as for the graphics haha well lets say they're friggen' awesome! Gameplay....is.......the best! honestly I love to have the ability to roam around New York and do what i please. Thats probably the best part about this game. Everything about this games is just about flawless i mean sure it has room for improvment but hey, doesn't evey game? So I'm not one to complain. The hit squad, The cut scenes, the contols. everything fits perfectly. This is probably THE best Wii game out so far. This is a MUST buy if you owm a Wii. All i have left to say is.....ENJOY! I know i did

Overall Ratings:

Graphics: 8.9/10
Gameplay: 9.5/10
Replay Value: 8.1/10
Contols: 9/10
Total: 35.5/40

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Wii Game To Date

posted by jfisher446 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am not a Godfather movie fan. I don't even think I've ever watched them. Despite that fact I fell in love with this game from the moment I turned it on.

First thing I had to do was get jumped and bash some heads. Right into the action, it was a wonderful start. Second came the character creation which is just out of this world. Facial transformations of every kind that you can imagine, accessories galore, change this, change that...change anything. By the time I had created my mobster I was definitely feeling the Godfather love.

Then the game progresses into a GTA, but only with a point. There is purpose, a sense of feeling here in Godfather. I loved GTA and the freedom that it gave. But the Godfather makes me feel like a mobster on a mission. I love pretty much everything about this game. The graphics are wonderful...no HD spectacle but very nice for what it is...a Wii game. Music/sound is great. Game play is some of the most open ever (I loved extorting all the businesses in town), yet it still keeps you hooked and addicted by giving you huge variety of storyline or optional side missions that all seamlessly flow together to create the best mobster game I've ever seen.

This one stomps GTA into the ground. Definitely a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first great action game for Wii

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is great! Is has great gameplay, awsome controls, great story, bloody killings, and new additions from the older versions.

To start off ill say good things about this game. Well first is that the story is great folowing the movie and book. The voice acting is spot on and even is taken right from thee movie. The controls work extremly well and never seem glitchy. This is because when you lock on to somebody the aimer never leaves that persons body giving you a direct hit everytime. Also this game is extremly violent! You can actually push somebody on the ground and shoot them in the head with a shotgun! Along with this are other execution moves. there are two moves for each weapon. To activate the moves you just preform a smple motion shown at the bottom of the screen. another new addition is you can call in a 4 man hit squad to help you out if you have trouble.

The only bad thing is that the graphics are good but sometimes look like PS2 and sometimes the game has alot of glitvhes but other wise that is all thats bad about the game so its nearly perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by Frankie86 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow. Rent or buy this NOW. If you own a Wii, this is a great appaetizer on what you can expect in a sandbox, GTA type game. It's done really well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent game

posted by swrdrunner (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game itself was excellent. It is engrossing and very easy to play. The only objection I had to it was the language. My 11 yr old really enjoyed playing the game but I was not comfortable with him playing a game with that language. My 18 yr old really enjoyed the clips from the movie as well as the gameplay. I would highly recommend this game to others but maybe only to teenagers and older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Godfather reigns on the Wii

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the most fun games I've played before. It is probably the single best game for the Wii as of right now.

This game even beats Zelda, in my opinion, due to its superior and more intuitive controls. This game handles tightly, and has a great feel while controlling your character's actions.

The game follows the story of The Godfather, as you take on the role of a character you create. You drive, you shoot, and you kill, just as any good mobster would.

The controls generally work without problems. Using free aim mode is entertaining, but for larger battles lock-on mode is best. The game's controls are very satisfying. You can throw people over ledges, slam them against walls and tables, and do many other unsavory things to your victims.

Ultimately, the game plays like a Grand Theft Auto game, only with more unique ways of dispatching enemies, and a much more compelling storyline.

If you like the Grand Theft Auto games, you'll definitely appreciate this one. It's definitely got the best Wii controls so far, and anyone old enough should definitely check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by gamelvr (CHATSWORTH, CA) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this game is awesome. Everything you do you feel that it is real. Whether it be reloading the gun by either making a pumping motion or a releasing clip motion with the Nunchuck, or using the Nunchuck and the wii remote to punch or headbutt or throw. everything feels real. this game takes full advantage of the wii functions. I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!!!!!

posted by Alex0731 (RIALTO, CA) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I got This Game for the wii today it is AWESOME
The blackhand edition is better than the original
game and has a little more stuff......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A bit of a cop out

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you played the PS2 version, this is the same thing.

Pros:
Follows closely with the movie
Adds a back story line to the original
Non-linear gameplay.
RPGesque character development
Fighting system is original and fun
Shooting system is typical, but fun
Cars are fast and fun
Turning typicallly non-gameplay actions (like extorting businesses) into gameplay well executed
Location updates, specifically to compounds, add a lot.

Cons:
For the type of game, it's pretty short
A little buggy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HARDER THEN GTA

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 23 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

I FIND MYSELF GETING SHOT AT ALL THE TIME PLUS THIS GAME HAS BUGS THERE IS ALSO A LACK OF MONEY I KNOW BACK THEN 6,000 WAS A LOT BACK THEN BUT TRYING TO STEEL AS MUCH MONEY AS I GOOD WAS HARD IT'S A RENT I HOPE THIS REVIEW HELPS YOU GAMEFLY MEMBERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its Okay....

posted by Chanda (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I think this game is hyped up waay more thanit should be. The game is easy to manuver but way to hard to play without cheats! Overrall it was okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games on the Wii...

posted by darrin128 (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is kind of like a GTA theme but I wouldn't compare Godfather to it because Godfather is way different. The controls are good, the graphics are good (better than you would expect from a Wii), and the gameplay is EXCELLENT! You should rent this game and stop reading reviews, you're just wasting play time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Godfather: Blackhand Edition

posted by FlyMoFawka (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

By far one of the best shooting games for the Wii console.

Graphics 4/5 - Wii isn't known for graphics, and with that in mind this game is pretty good graphic-wise.

Storyline 5/5 - Great storyline, follows the whole Godfather theme very well.

Gameplay 4/5 - Pretty easy to navigate, the controls were very simplistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

neovengean

posted by neovengean (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

This is a good game, and one who likes to just lay them down, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An offer you won't want to refuse

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

It's "The Godfather" done in the style of Grand Theft Auto, and I doubt that even Rockstar themselves could have done a better job of turning the epic movie into an epic video game adventure. I'll admit it took me a bit of time to get used to the motion controls and gameplay mechanics, but once I had a handle on it, I couldn't put the game down. The game loosely follows the story of "The Godfather", and brings your character deep into the heart of the unfolding action; for example, you get to help the Corleones plant the decapitated horse head in that guy's bed, and you also bear witness to the brutal murder of Sonny Corleone at the toll booth. Of course, when you're not engaged in story-advancing missions, there's lots of other fun stuff to do, like taking over businesses, carrying out assassinations, and warring against rival families.

Go to the mattresses and move "The Godfather" to the top of your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Godfather: Blackhand Edition

posted by MaeveLola (JOINT BASE LEWIS MCCHORD, WA) May 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

PROS:
-excellent game play, reminiscent of GTA
-very much like the movie, but still free roaming
-HUGE board
-guns galore, scantily clad women, violence, blood, etc… all the ingredients needed to let off some steam.
-extensively customizable character
-safe houses are close to missions/hits/favors making travel to these objectives fairly simple, if you own them.
-things can be done the easy way or the hard way, you decide!

CONS:
-gets to be repetitive and tedious toward the end
-HUGE board
-if you don’t have a safe house nearby, it’s a long way to the next objective.
-bribing doesn’t last long enough

SUGGESTIONS:
-option to leave a cut scene. Some are too long & for repeat players, they don’t need to be watched repeatedly.
-more of everything. Needs a sequel.
-periodically move the FBI agents & police chiefs around to random spots

FINAL THOUGHT:
So I put 100+ hours into this game. I played all the time & I had a blast! I would highly recommend this title to fans & non-fans because you don’t have to be familiar with the movies to have a bloody good time. I’ve had a chance to play this game before & I had just as much fun back then. This is a keeper & for a rainy day or any day. Overall I had fun & was left wanting a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

godfather awesome

posted by sapowr31 (CHICKASHA, OK) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I really love the godfather game it is more violent than i usually play as a matter of fact i am completly against watching or play anything violent but i rented this for my husband and got hooked right along with him as you go along in the game on your way to becoming a member of the clan you steal cars set of bombs extort money from businesses it is most exciting best game i played in awhile good going

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME, PLEASE!!!

posted by KingMe (RANDOLPH, MS) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

If you want something fun and addictive dont look here. At first glance this looks like a perfect game for a mature or hardcore gamer, If you play casually then you should rent this for a week or so because its lack of depth and stupid A.I is hidden behind a fun 5 min a day experence. really, the only fun i had was with the character editor and the main storyline(which by the way is only 5 hours long). After completing the story is where you will begin to get bored. With nothing 2 do but take over stores that all look the same or rob banks that are not worth the risk. Over all give a 6 for poor gameplay, short story, bland graphics, only good thing is the story entertainment, This game is a DONT PLAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great mob game

posted by Djembekid (FERNANDINA BEACH, FL) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Great story line and character interactions. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game, little long in areas though.

posted by steveb84 (PEABODY, MA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Enjoyed the game very much, good controls for wii with hand to hand combat, many different ways to fight.

Only down fall is that the game can go on and on with the 'take over business' missions. Once you get a certain stature, you just have to walk in and they give up the business without a fight. It gets boring taking them over because you're just traveling around a large map going down a check list.

Other than that one draw back, it's a lot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

AN A-OK GAME :)

posted by pspgo1 (RUNNING SPRINGS, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

FIRST OF ALL IT JUST REALLY PLAYS OFF THE FIRST GAME I LIKED. then i didn't like it cuz it wouldnt skip cutcenses i like this game go rent it for urself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

impressive!!!!!

posted by mrtazz (SHELBY, OH) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

having seen this playe do nthe ps2 about 4x my son was curious as i was what the wii would offer - wow!- the grapchics are super the gameplay is awesome and even though its really the same game the interaction of the wii make s you understand this is a wii not a joystick ps2 ! very very fun ! ifirst game i have given a 10! a s ost of the wii game wev gotten wev sent right back but this wer play for awhile i gues sthe wii just eeds more shooring vilent titles lol - but if youl ikethe godfather game htis is amust play game for hte wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse