Rent The Fight: Lights Out for PS3
view large frontback

The Fight: Lights Out

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

674 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, Not Great

posted by CNRNVL (WASHOUGAL, WA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I received The Fight: Lights Out in the mail yesterday. It is a great work out! I have played football for 9 years, and go to the gym regularly. But after playing this game, I was beat. I have never been so sore in my life! I burned 45 calories in one match. As for the actual game play: Good. It does not quite offer the exact 1:1 simulation that you would hope it would. Head punches fly at about shoulder level, making a hit in the face so high and awkward to swing your arms that way. Another problem: Your player has stamina. You would think your player would tire as you do right? Nope. Your punches become slower, even if you are hitting and not really even that tired. This takes away from the realism. Same with having to upgrade your speed. Overall a good game, just frustrating when your punches are inaccurate, and your player tires so quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game hurts

posted by mac10games (OLD HICKORY, TN) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

i bought this even with all the bad reviews and it has been awesome game to play. it takes you getting butt kicked a few times, sync your controllers up takes 5sec . only bad thing i would say about The Fight is my arms have been sore the past 2 days and also the downfall for this game is the ps eye camera is not very good at tracking your head.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Work-Out

posted by dragum (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

if you need to get into shape then this game is Great, Game play isnt that good but you will bust a sweat playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

challenging game

posted by sb1959 (MENOMONEE FALLS, WI) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THis is a very good game but for someone in his 50's and a little out of shape I found I couldn't spend a lot of time on the game at one sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Awesome

posted by mjk00fsu (SUGAR LAND, TX) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to thank all those who stood up for this game. I read many of the bad reviews and thought twice about renting this. Needless to say I got it today and am hooked. This is the most realistic boxing game I have ever played..

There was a major update when I first installed it. Maybe the previous users had a bad experience because there were bugs or something....

I have no Idea how anyone can complain about this game... Unless you don't like boxing. It is not only a great game but an awesome workout... My shoulders are so sore... I can only hope more move games are this good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont Listen to Haters

posted by crtruth (KODAK, TN) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is actually very responsive and has good gameplay. The people who say response time is bad arent allowng their characters to develop enough to write a fair review. Plus once you get the hang of it the games is real fun. So dont listen to those other people before you try the game yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fight

posted by Walkons (FAIRFIELD, CA) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The time it takes getting used to and finally advancing your character to a point where it is fun is not worth the pay off. The move aspect of the game is good so don't bother with the other people who cant figure it out and blame the game. The game itself just was lacking any substance, I could only flare my arms at the T.V. for so long until it got boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You just gotta love the motion!

posted by Capice2003 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the mechanics and grittyness behind this game! It accurately tracks you movtion with the move controllers and the camera. I was lax with initally having other games to play but, as soon as I out this one in and I played it I was floored by the detail of the engine as far as the fighting is concerned. If you want a work out and a way to guage your punching and movement this is the game for you. The online plae is awesome too but, I would suggest that you develop your character unless you want to injure them early on in the game. Sony has also released a lot of free content on the playstation store to compliment the game and help you out with the completion of it. I am going to keep this one. Hopefully if you get it youll see me online. Capice2003 of Co-host of Gamer-Indepth's Gamer Knights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Never have the review sites been so wrong!

posted by KDuron (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic! If your looking for a true fight simulator this is the game. No lag at all, this is true one to one gameplay that I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sad

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really really wanted to like this game. Really! It just was not meant to be. I had read the reviews by many others about the response issues, about the head tracking issues, about how frustrating the game is. I had hoped that all of those who had problems had either bad luck or were just doing something wrong.
It would seem that I am now in one of those categories, or the game is just broken. I have read from those who enjoy the game, that you need to progress your fighter to a level in which he will react more like you. I understand the thought of that, I really do. The problem is that it is so ridiculously hard to get to a level of functionality that you will most likely lose motivation before you reach that point. The game would not be hard if you punched, and the game hit where you wanted it to. It would not be hard if your fighter would not lean for no reason. The game might work better if the head tracking wasn't broken. When you try to set up your headtracking, you will be scored on three things, Head tracking, Lighting and background. I had excellent on lighting and background, still had a terrible to bad rating for the tracking.
This game as it is, is not a fun game. I would not recommend it for anyone. It is broken. If you Have ever read one of my reviews on here, you know that I usually tell you to decide for yourself.
I can not, with good conscious tell anyone to actually try this game. It will just frustrate you, annoy you and waste your time.
There is potential for this type of game and I hope that developers continue to try.

Stay away from this game. Obviously, these are my opinions and thoughts but there you go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best fighter

posted by killjoy247 (PEORIA, AZ) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game for me is one of the best fighting games ever. i have never even liked fighting games till i played this one. also there are not many games i have played for the move but this game is really cool for it is presice and i cant get the head tracking to work but i have once and its cool cause the person will move as you move and hit as you hit. when you start out though it may not follow you that well but you need to increse your chars speed and strength and after a while he will hit harder then you. and it has a very cool leveling system this is like a cool rpg with doctors that heal you from breaking bones in a fight to going to the gym to work on your stats to level up. this game isnt boring and looking at how many fights there are in single player it is not short and has alot of apperence you can customize and also mutiplayer looks as if it is really fun even though i havent played yet. i would recommend this to anyone who wants an exciting game thats a good workout too who likes either fighting games,role playing games, or just even action games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dance like a butterfly, swing in frustration!

posted by Doulon80 (DES MOINES, IA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Motion controls either work in a game or they don't and in this game they just don't work the best which leads to frustration. I had such high hopes for it to after seeing how well the motion controls worked in Sport's Champion. Oh well maybe one day we will get a good motion control boxing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good game but the move makes it bad!

posted by datboyak (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game is great in graphics gameplay and the whole idea of it behind the move but the calibration sucks! one second its fine then another you see and icon that says its doesnt read the motion controller anymore and then you have to re-calibrate it and that really sucks cuz it wont read right to calibrate it!!!! overall i was really looking forward to this with all the hype playstation put behind it but the move camera and move system make the game suck out of only frustration! but the sports champions game calibration is 100% awesome with the camera and controllers so i dont know whats goin on with this move system!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

terrible

posted by beast84 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this is a terrible game the only reason why i gave it a 4 is because of the concept of the game and the graphics. Other than that its awful, the calibration is terrible and the player doesn't do anything you do, just awful work. Basically its a waste of renting space

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by kodiakbear (OSWEGO, NY) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 29 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight Night Lights Out

posted by dp01 (DURHAM, NC) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Could'nt play game...required camera! Other games have played without ca
mera... why not this one?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by wolf98 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Jun 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

this game does not react with the ps eye the way it should. It has a massive delay during gameplay and I would not recommend it for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, is not quite 1:1 though

posted by looplijuh (MAGNOLIA, KY) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This game is very very fun. I really enjoyed fighting people on the street but where you have to punch to make your guy in the game punch is a little bit different. Another thing about this game is the stamina feature. I would think that when the person fighting gets tired is when YOU get tired not some bar that goes down when your flailing. Overall good game but they haven't quite mastered 1:1 technology.

Graphics 8/10
1:1 performance 6/10
Head tracking 7/10
Gameplay 8/10
Idea 10/10
Overall 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pick a fight with your room mate instead.

posted by Freakon (NEWARK, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since May 2009

Simply put...read the title of my review. From bad controls to camera issues..this game is terrible. Not even worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by jdowney03 (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I have played at least an hour per day for the last three days and have burned over 800 calories while having fun beating the tar out of everyone. The training aspect will wear you out while making your fighter better, but it's the most fun I have ever had while burning some calories. The fighting is pretty realistic, especially with the head tracking feature that allows you to duck and dodge incoming punches. Defiantly worth a rent if you like the idea of being an active part of the fight. If your are lazy couch potato, don't even think about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Takes a lil but good

posted by devinmarce (ERVING, MA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

First off when i started playing the game it totally sucked the movements were slow and lame and the arms just float all over the place, but then i realized that is because my stats were low so i just raised them up and then its all smooth and beautiful, if your into fighting games and always wanted a virtual reality one like myself, this is close enough and really does the trick. The only thing is you have to have patience enough to build your stats up which doesn't take much time if your good. No one to play online with but this game is an amazing workout and loads of fun you'll be playing it until you can't even move your arms

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty cool, could have used better interface

posted by metalaries (ALAMEDA, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I'm having a blast with this game. I don't know what the IGN reviewers deal was but I've got a table lamp and a tall floor lamp to light the room, and this game works fine. you actually have to PUNCH and MOVE your body (not your feet!) to get the proper experience here, not like the wii where you're just flicking your wrists like a fool on a childs game. there is a way to upgrade your fighter, and the earlier you do it the better, as I got my stats up to the high 30's and low 40's before the 2nd boss...he had stats at 60 and higher and I STILL busted him up...and get this, I totally forgot about the first pyramid boss before going through the 2nd pyramid!! beleive the good reviews here from gamers who know how to work this game, not the ones that can't put the effort into it and just bash it. the configuration tutorial is NOT long, and the inbetween fight configuration is a 2 step process, it's NOT anything like the IGN joker was saying. the biggest issue i've got is the menu for configuring your fighter, very badly done, they say you've got new stuff for him but it takes forever to scroll through everything to find stuff. also, when you unlock stuff at the end of a fight, you've barely got time to read it before it goes away, very annoying. all in all, i'm buyin this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great workout!!

posted by guyfrozen (HAMBURG, NY) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

once you get the hang of pretty much staying in one spot so that you can be tracked properly, this is an amazingly fun game. I have tied the calorie tracker to my Driod phone, and take the average of the two counts, and its pretty accurate. so far i have lost two pounds playing this game, and ive only had it a week.... my goal to start was to lose ten pounds in five weeks, and with the addictiveness of this game, I'm dead on!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool

posted by infamous4 (TEMECULA, CA) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

fun but boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at first. Good game to rent at most

posted by DJTrance (OCEANO, CA) May 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

It's definatly a game to try if you already happen to have PS Move system.
I manage to beat the game, and get around 50% of trophies. Not much fun after you beat it though. gaining stats is a pain. Easiest way is endurance training, and land some really hard heavy hits.

I think i was a bit sore for bout the first week. After that first heavy week of really pushing myself i felt better playing 2hr sessions, without any fatigue or muscles being overuse.

This game does require you to break a sweat.
No story/No Diversity/No serious online
I gave it a 6 for above average game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse