Rent The Dog Island for Wii
view large frontback

The Dog Island

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.3

538 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give this "Island" a chance

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Dog Island is about an adorable puppy doing tasks.
Those of you still not scared of a cute game will be rewarded with a surprisingly good adventure game.
In Dog Island, you play as a puppy whose sibling is sick. In order to save your sibling, you go on a quest to a place called Dog Island.
Once on Dog Island, you have to perform many, many "find this", "find him/her" and "fetch that" tasks over all of Dog Island.
I found it exciting to explore Dog Island, talking with the inhabitants and going on these tasks.
The characters are great and the story is gripping. I also liked trying to find all the fish, flowers and bugs on Dog Island.
Yes, the tasks do get derivative, but no more than your average shooter where all you do is shoot people, aliens and/or monsters.
The only problems I had with the game is the controls for fishing and pulling sleds are clunky. But that's not hard to overcome.
This game isn't for the youngest because doggies get sick, and one puppy dies.
But I think Dog Island is a great game for older kids, especially if they're into adventure and dogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A lot of reading required,hard for younger players

posted by onehotmama (ELK GROVE, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very cute game but somewhat complex. I rented this one for my 11 y/o son who didn't care for it....but my 7 y/o daughter liked it a lot. The only problem is everything requires reading so unless your child is old enough to read quickly and understand all the commands- you have to sit there and help them read each and every "communication". Not the best idea for a game if you are trying to cook dinner or clean the house, but ok if you are "playing" together :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The cutest game you will ever play

posted by JCDRAC (TOWNSEND, TN) May 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is not just for teens but for all ages in my opinion if you don't mind a little cuteness mixed with frustration. Some of the things you do get on your nerves after a while but it does pay off at the end. One thing I noticed is that when playing the game to bypass cut screens and movies you can hit the plus button (not in the manual).
You will think it is child oriented at first but it gets harder as you go. I never did find all the items but I did beat the game. Enjoy and Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Keeping my daughter's interest

posted by zoomdedoo (Ellensburg, WA) May 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My nine year old daughter so far likes this game. It is very similar to Animal Crossing so if you are a fan of that, this will hold your attention for awhile. The dogs are very cute too! Requires lots of reading for kids since all conversation between characters is done by text.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DOG ISLAND IS FUN TO A POINT

posted by JESSI1234 (MASONTOWN, WV) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I BOUGHT THIS GAME FOR THE CUTE FACTOR AND MY DAUGHTER LOVES ANIMALS. HOWEVER SHE IS 5 SO I WILL SAY THE GAME WAS EASY ENOUGH FOR HER TO PLAY. THE ONLY THING I WILL SAY NEGATIVE ABOUT THE GAME IS THAT IT IS NOT A GAME YOU WILL PLAY FOR HOURS. AFTER AWHILE OF RUNNIN AROUND SNIFFIN AND TALKING TO DIFFRENT DOGS, IT GETS MIND NUMBING. MY DAUGHTER AND I ENJOYED BEING ABLE TO PICK FROM TONS OF DOGS TO BE, THE DIFFERENT PLACES YOU GO AND THAT IT REALLY IS A NON COMPETITIVE GAME, YOU ONLY ADVANCE BUY COMPLETING CERTAIN TASKS. I DID HAVE TO FIND CERTAIN THINGS OR OTHER DOGS FOR HER IN THE GAME(SHE IS 5 , SO READING ISN'T A+ YET) BUT OTHER THEN A LITTLE HELP FROM MOM SHE PLAYED FOR HOURS WITH IT AND LOVED IT. I MUST ADMIT I TO ENJOYED THIS GAME IN SMALL DOSES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Adventure RPG for All Ages

posted by furrydog (PASADENA, CA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Essentially, this is a kids game. It's overly simplistic, easy to pick up and even easier to play. That didn't deter this nearly 30 year old man from enjoying every second of it. The characters have real personalities, the story is well written and thought out... and the tasks simply border on tedious without going overboard. There is a lot to collect and sniff, and you or your little ones will find themselves quite busy for many hours. The music is phenomenal, and makes me almost wish a sound track were available.

Frustration could stem from some of the challenges presented. Your dog's only means of defense is a bark that is only effective on distracted, sleeping, or enemies who aren't paying attention. Getting some of the later enemies into this state is nearly impossible causing some fast get aways and difficult sniffs for items.

If you're even remotely interested in the game, you really ought to give it a go. It will probably surprise even some of the more jaded Wii gamers out there. A great title for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved This Game

posted by lmnick96 (BELFAST, ME) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My daughter LOVED this game, it has made her Christmas list. She likes playing it after a busy day. The music is nice too, I can actually tolerate the sound being turned up on this game :O) Thumbs up on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dog Island - more game please!

posted by Cricket (Burbank, CA) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Super cute and I would have given this a higher rating maybe a 5 or 6 if there wasn't soooo much down time with the story part of this game. You can't fast forward through it or anything you just have to listen to it. For every 5 minutes of game time there seems to be 15 minutes of story time (and it's not a very riveting story).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Dog Island for the Nintendo Wii

posted by THEPAT (CORONA, CA) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Dog Island is a awesome game. It is a very short game with easy to remember controls and awesome graphics.If you have ever played any Legend of Zelda and liked it you are more then likely to like this game.This game is sort of Nintendogs meets Legend of Zelda.The ending is very good and makes everything seem worth it.I won't say anything about the beginning because then it would ruin it for you.But this game would be the only game on this platform that I actually can understand.Of Course this game is for the more childish crowd.But if like that sort of game then I say get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Probably the most adorable game you'll ever play.

posted by Stormwind (ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off - if you're a hardcore gamer, this game is likely not for you. If you don't like dogs, this game is DEFINITELY not for you.

The gameplay is very simplistic - you're trying to obtain a Legendary Flower to cure your sick younger sibling. The majority of the game is performing various errands for other dogs where you sniff and dig for certain items. It can get a little repetitive at times, but the dogs are so cute that you find yourself not minding. The graphics are decent - not stellar, but appropriate. The music is mellow, but surprisingly appropriate with excellent guitar melodies.

The only detriment to the game is the lack of replayability - once you've completed the game, there's very little to bring you back. Having said that, the length of the game is enough to keep you entertained.

It's certainly great for children, though as a 28 year old casual gamer, it definitely holds its appeal for older gamers as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tail-wagging fun

posted by Joosh06 (TREMONT, IL) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is probably one of the best games that I have rented so far... I'm an older gamer 20's so for me to enjoy this game so much is great. There is a lot of reading for younger children, and it is a little repetitive towards the end as you travel to the same "towns" over and over again. however younger children 10+ will probably love this game, and I did too. The graphics are cutie and you can choose from so many dog breeds.

Not a deep story but still very interesting, overall it was great! A must try for any dog lover!!!

P.S. It was great to be the dog in the game, instead of just caring for it (Nintendogs)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for younger kids.

posted by slr103 (PORTAGE, IN) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good game for kids 10 and under. The beginning is pretty slow, too much story and not enough play. My girls loved being able to choose the dog they wanted. It was easy to understand and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About The Dog

posted by LdyGmr (BETHLEHEM, PA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Loved this game, It's so much fun. My youngest kid likes it so much that we fight over who gets to play. It's got a lot of elements from almost all of the other games that Nintendo makes. Certain parts remind me of the very fun Animal Crossing and Zelda games. So if you're a fan of either/both you just might like this one. Try It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

too juvenile

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought it was cute at first but it got old really fast. When trying to sniff out a basket the same button you use to sniff is the same button you use to talk. So if you were near another dog and pushed a then they would start talking. I found this to be annoying. I didn't want to talk to them as I was trying to sniff out the basket. When the dogs were barking on it my two dogs starting barking some too. One of them even watched the game a little bit and when one barked she tilted her head sideways which was funny. I'd say this game is good for kids that can read well. It wasn't my cup of tea as I found it too juvenile for me. I found it boring and it most definitely wasn't holding my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I haven't played

posted by BrandyR (RICHLANDS, NC) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

But my son has (8)! And he loves this game! Now if he'd only stop to read everything they write.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but....

posted by Shaggy1973 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This a cute game. The dogs are very cute. The only thing is if you are playing and you can't read it will be hard. My daughter is 5 years old. She knows how to read a little but she needs help with the game. Other then that this is a good and cute game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The dog island revew

posted by dolphingurl (LIVERMORE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is fun, but can get boring as time gose on. You are a dog and you must go to The dog island to get medicine to save your sister or brother.(you choose the gender). The game revolves around sniffing. If you like dogs and you wantt a adventure game, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not your average kid's game

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

The Dog Island may look like another rushed kid's game but this is actually not the case. This game gives kids a chance to play a game that as great areas, characters, and a interesting story. Ubisoft made a story that you would not expect from a game like this. The areas bright and colorful especially when you get farther in the game. The controls however are a little clunkly. You can only move with the d-pad and it can be a little tough, plus not all the missions are great. Beside from a few errors The Dog Island is a great game for kids who have just started gaming, it's like a kid version of zelda!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Similarities to Mysims and Zelda but unique.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) May 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

The heart gauge is reminiscent of Zelda but instead of collecting heart containers you gain experience by learning new scents. You earn "woofs"(bones) by completing quests and can spend them on accessories to dress up your pup(like Mysims, it's just for fun). You can even combine accessories and found items to create new ones. Like the Mysims series, you can do various things such as fishing. Some of the characters in the game are very interesting(not just the dogs). One of the cute things is the way you defeat your "enemies". You sneak up behind them while they're either sleeping or otherwise not paying attention to you and then bark to cause them to faint which can sometimes give you the item someone has sent you in search of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boo

posted by jbflicka (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Cute game! But way to hard! I had to walk-throughs! They could of taken a lot of stuff out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ummm

posted by horsecrasy (WEST HAVEN, UT) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

the story was good but the gameplay after awhile got boring and repeated its self over and over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game though....

posted by Drezaric (WAUKESHA, WI) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This is a fun game, and I'm an older than normal gamer. The game does have a very cute factor going for it, in which you want to know what's going to happen next. Though I find the lack of contact with the Mother dog to make sure your sibling is still alive rather annoying. I still haven't found a way to send them a message.. maybe there isn't a way? All the quests seem like they are taking forever in a doggies life to finish to get the flower needed. I sure hope my sibling has the strength to last till I'm finished!
All in all, a very fun game, it's going to be hard to send this one back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game - if you are under 10 and a girl

posted by shiachia (HOLLISTER, FL) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

My 7 year old loved this game! If you ask me, a bit boring. Sniff here, sniff there, do some more sniffing. Occasionally, a little figuring stuff out. Very repetitive. However, good practice reading. Nice vocabulary used. Completely clean and appropriate. Easy to play. Simple controls. Just my little girl's style. Nothing too taxing, although she still asked me for help on occasion. Great for those who don't need lots of excitement and enjoy completing tasks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Good & Bad

posted by aovechkin (SUFFOLK, VA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I got the game for my 5yr old daughter because she loves animals and thought she might love this. After she played, she did love it but started to get really frustrated with the game because she couldn't read all the commands telling her what to do. This problem became our (parents) problem because it caused us to have to sit around and watch her play so she could understand what she needed to do. This game would be great it a voice spoke out the commands to the children. This game is for 7yr old & below (in my opinion), but the commands are for 7+yrs and in today's societynot sure how many 7+yr olds would want to play this game.
My daughter had a great time playing it though. The graphics were good, got to go fishing, have the dog run around the fields, etc.
I gave it a 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute!

posted by Mersbers (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

You get to pick out of a ton of breeds what kind of dog you want to be. I love how you have to sniff around just like a real dog to find clues. However, I got tired of it really quick. I think younger kids would love this though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse