Rent The Cursed Crusade for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Cursed Crusade

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.0

718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give it a chance + play with someone

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game was made for 2 people + upgrading your person + using different weapons.

Fail to do those simple 3 things means you have 0.00 room to say anything about it as thats what is about.

Its a great game, I actually give it an 8, but it needs rating needs help from the newbes that failed those 3 things.

You Get multiple combos and Finishers for every single weapon combo (examples: sword, sword + shield, sword + mace, spear, spear + shield, Axe etc...)

Decent story though prolouge was done far to long and kinda rushed with its scene.

Neither of the 2 "heroes" are a clitche (tank damager etc.../1 of them always does this with the gates etc...) they are actually 100% equals though the spaniard/2ndary is treated a little bit as a lackey in the story which makes perfect sense.

Most part pretty good animations and graphics (Not top quailty, but who cares + not made with the kind of $ put into other games

So Please play it for at Least 2 hours before you give up on it and make sure to learn mostly everything and be playing with some1 before you even think to judge it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as bad as the reviews

posted by me12345 (NEW KENSINGTON, PA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Bad graphics are not a reason to give a game a horrific rating. Graphics aren't everything. The play control is frustrating at times but no game has perfect play control. I enjoyed the story. The weapon upgrade system is cool and the fighting is creative. It's more God of War than Assassins Creed. I rented it so my brother and I could play co-op. Aside from the disappointing ending, we enjoyed ourselves. If you like hack and slash games with an RPG element it's worth a rent. I wish all the FPS crazy companies out there would make more fighters like this and less FPS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The cursed crusade

posted by Savag3 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

good combat system kinda like assassin's creed story line ok its alot of cut scences overall ok game worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but could have been better

posted by CrashNburn8319 (POTSDAM, NY) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game actually isnt that bad. grafphics are actually decent. Game play is fun but needs more customization and how quick weopons break is a bit rediculous. but my biggest complaint is the camera angles. certain points of the game can be frustrating because you literally cant see your person while fighting(you have to mash the x button and hope you dont die). All in all its still fun to play, but definately not worth the price tag...an ok rent but not a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent this Game at your own risk

posted by Aeternox (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is boring and really not great story wise. But the combat system isnt too bad tho much similar to Assassin's Creed somewhat. It's a easy 1k for those out there wanting to boost up the Gamerscore. Running it on nightmare is fairly easy til chapter 4-3 and chapter 5 can be a little rough. There were also rumour this game had bad glitches such as freezing and erasing your save file, so make sure you back it up on a thumb drive to be safe. I didn't really encounter this problem as I believe personally that has to do with the European version of this game more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really bad

posted by trueblue72 (HORN LAKE, MS) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok game looked cool at first i liked the story and the banter between the main character and your partner. the combat was cool and brutal and the upgrades were useful and the weapons were cool.but after having the game freeze 3 times in the first 3 chapters and having to start over on the nightmare lvls cause the AI got stuck and you needed him to finish the lvl.the camera also get really bad at times as you cant see who your fighting or who killing you. i gave up at chapter 3-mission 10 after the AI got stuck again.dont rent even if you have someone to play with its not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful!

posted by Nosredna (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This was one of the worst RPG's Ive played in a long time! The story line is pointless. The Graphics are horrendous. I mean it's 2011 folks you can at least make a low budget game better looking. Glitches are ridiculous. The fighting is monotonous and leveling up is so time consuming 1 point at a time after every piece of the story. Combos are the same button patterns. I feel like a 5yr old button masher more than an adept gamer. The only good thing about this game is actually the opening movie...Seriously not worth wasting a rental or time on. Save space on your hard drive folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

posted by mayhem614 (WHITING, NJ) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worse games I have played this year. Horrible contols and even worse graphics. This is 2011 not 2001

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont waste your time

posted by dustinshumaker (DILLWYN, VA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

the graphics are bad, the story line is lame, over all this game is terrible. the controls are stiff and honestly its just not fun at all to play. reminds me of a play station 2 game. DONT RENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't listen to 'em, I tell ya!

posted by KJB123 (DEBARY, FL) Aug 7, 2014

Member since May 2012

This game was... fun! I loved the fighting, the fact that you can use any combination of one handed weapons (mace and an axe, or an axe and sword, etc.), and the story, believe it or not. And I love a solid story in a game. I will say there was a glitch in the beginning movie that made me giggle, and there are some bugs, but the fighting felt fluid.

Dear gamers, take this advice to heart. Rely on your own instincts, read SEVERAL reader reviews and not the critics, and know that just because a game has a 5 or 6, it shouldn't be cast aside!

The Cursed Crusade has a 5. A 5? Come on! It deserves a 7, at least a 6. After 5 or 6 hours, I took it back because I wanted to rent another game, but this game is fun. I've been gaming since age 4 (1994) when Doom was released on the MS DOS program. If I had a dollar for every game I've played... well, ya know.

Open your hearts to all genres not just FPS. Have an open mind, not just for the solid stories. After all, a true gamer dabbles and dips, goes beyond their comfort zone. Truly, life is too short to not have variety. Especially in gaming!

So... get some confidence, take a risk, and give The Cursed Crusade a couple hours of your time. Mayhaps you'll enjoy it ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So So

posted by JamesSmithe (LANCASTER, KS) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Alright, so I got this demo online and fell in love, I loved the combat system, the graphics, even the overtly cheesey dialog. So I rented it with the plan to buy. Not happening. The storyline was a repeat of itself over and over again. There are numerous glitches, the combat degrades to you just wacking another guy until his armor falls off and you can stab him in the face. I was really disappointed. I really wanted to like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could Not Figure it Out ( how to advance )

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Jul 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

I rented this game by default, ( it was in my game Q because of Assassins Creed ) I could not even hardly get started with this game because I got stuck and could not figure out how to get past that point. I tried for hours until I finally gave up. I was just at the beginning too. There were not even any instructions at the begining to explain something like there usually are. I guess it had a limited budget, but still you have to fill the player in on what to do. I just said to heck with it and sent it back. Thats why I belong to Game-Fly, rent them instead of buying, until you try them out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely fantastic

posted by MarhuasCT (PITTSBURGH, PA) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

Absolutely wonderful game. Amazing story, fluid controls, combat is a little slow.. But I'm sure you would be too if you were fighting in armour and swinging a big sword around! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by treves (JACKSONS GAP, AL) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is one the worst games I have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hard to Judge

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

This game perked my interest pretty quick with the storyline and the look of it with the previews. You are a Templar that joins the Crusade in search of his templar father. Your family has a curse which bounds your soul to heII. Sounds bad, but it can be a huge advantage because you can make most areas helllish and use its powers for a limited time.

Good: The storyline is exciting and has great history. The hellish transformation is what makes this game stick out. You get special moves as you progress throughout the storyline and can use them in this transformation. The leveling system is nice too. You get VP (victory points) for completing the level, finding coffers (money chests for those who dont know), and finding Crucifixes. You can level up multiple weapon combinations using the VPs. Once you pick up an opponents weapon and use it with another, you can level that combo up. Then each time you play a level, you can level up your personal stats; Constitution, armor, weapon skill, Strength, and the Curse. The hack and slash fighting is pretty good due to it having special techniques and actual strategy.

Bad: Your weapons have a life span, which isnt new to games, but they break WAAAAY too easy. Most enemies drop weapons, but it gets annoying in the midst of a battle of multiple enemies. The curse is limited, which is understandable, but instead of running out, you can potentially die. You have Death (the actual God like being) walk to you and you have rely on your partner to raise you up before he gets to you.

Ugly: It has a great storyline, but how its pieced together... it doesnt keep you hooked. The videos, which most are long, are boring and have no "umph" behind them so to say. I wont even mention the ending of the game.... I dont want to be a spoiler on these reviews, but lets pray there is a second game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its great till you do nightmare difficulty

posted by KilledYourGod (DERBY, KS) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

SO there I was breezing through the levels when all of a sudden here comes chapter 4 mission 3..."sigh" armor gets smashed to bits weapons break like I was hitting the boss with a paper towel tube and getting stunned like crazy. managed to get all the chieves cept 1 obviously beat the game on nightmare but im still working on it haven't given up yet ill keep it till saturday and then im done with it.

Do give it a chance I was kinda skeptic about getting it but definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seasoned RPG players will feel wanting

posted by twmangold (PLACENTIA, CA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2005

When I first played the demo, I was actually excited for this title. But once I actually got into the game (and I really gave it a good shot), it felt that it came up short.
If you are like me, someone who has already played through both Dragon Age games, all the Fable games and The Elder Scrolls, by the time you got into this game it will feel stale. Not that the game is broke – it just isn’t anything special. In fact, some of the mechanics and plot line feel almost old gen in my opinion.
Granted it’s not a terrible game. It’s just with other better RPG’s out there, this one feels wanting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth a chance

posted by dmisnow1 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This isn't a bad game, if you approach it knowing what you are getting into. It is a co-op, hack and slash. (think Contra with swords) The story line is not unique, the game play is not unique, the weapons . . . well you get the point. But the game play is smooth, there is some witty writing and you get to turn into a demon - while not explained well is still a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thought I'd Try... Then Thought again

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

I tried the demo of this game out and thought not great but worth a try... the actual game was worse. I mean it was better then "NFS:The Run" but I couldnt get myself to push through this game enough to finish it, it has some qualities that would have made for a nice game but just was too repeative and slow with the story. If you have nothing else and are really bored sure try it but otherwise move on to the next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not that good

posted by gamedesigner (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The demo seemed more polished than the finished game. It also as a terrible fight mechanic. The cut scenes were long and drawn out through the entire game. Even if it was just to explain a simple fighting maneuver. I personally wasn't impressed. All in all just not that good of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Couldn't pass the first boss.

posted by BillMelissaRai (CARO, MI) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game was great with amazing fighting sequences and wonderful graphics. The only problem was the first boss. No matter how quickly you hit the keys that flashed onto the screen to beat him to the church it wasn't fast enough.
Amazing graphics and good fights are nothing if the boss for the first stage is technically impossible to beat. We finally gave up trying, due to frustration after having 15 people try and fail, and sent the game back without having gotten any further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underrated

posted by pretteboy25 (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

GREATNESS..... i have never played as low of a rating game as this and liked it..weapons was dope..this game was pretty tight i recommend to check this game out fast...great job developers great low rate game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad as bad can get

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

let me list the 7 sins of bad games.
1. the bad graphics
2. the fighting is off
3. not enough blood!
4. the controls are crazy and don't work!
5. Impossable ranges that are too far or too high to reach!
6. their mouths don't move with the words!
7. the story was unclear of why they are hunted by death.
If I could grade this game I would give this an F- not even worth renting. if you decided to rent this game prepare to hate it. From your friend Wolf_gamer, happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by goraiders1919 (ANKENY, IA) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Gameplay isn't great, prolougue long and dumb. Graphics aren't great. Not worth anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cursed period

posted by bigbadbear (BESSEMER, AL) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

The game is on a great form but the controls are sluggish and unresponsive. The plot i liked but i tried it 5 diffarent ways thinking it was just a clitch but no the game is just bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse