Rent The Conduit for Wii
view large frontback

The Conduit

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

2686 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun, yet overhyped game worth a rent and or buy.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

69 out of 76 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

When I got this game in the mail I was so excited, and I just popped it into my Wii, which before now, has only been used for party games that are fun but far from the hardcore games I play on a regular base.
When I first read the negative reviews of this game, I became worried that it wouldn't be as enjoyable as expected. I was half right. This game is very fun and the storyline, from what I've seen, is rather good and new for the Wii. The game play is great and very enjoyable. The graphics are really good for the Wii, but other gamers used to cutting edge graphics on the XBox and PlayStation, may be disappointed. Here's the verdict;

Pros: Awesome gameplay, decent graphics, good voice-acting and characters, storyline is cool. Sick weapons and enemies and environments are nice.

Cons: Camera is hard to control, control scheme is odd and moving can be difficult at times.

It kills me to criticize this game because the developers worked so hard on it, but it definitely has its flaws; not that its not fun, rather the opposite. I will likely be buying it, but I recommend a rent first, and then make your own verdict.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A disappointment

posted by Kevboa (COLUMBUS, GA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed by The Conduit. Here are the things I liked and didn't like about the game.

The Good:

The controls: The Conduit allows for a lot of control customization. I imagine most people will be able to find a control scheme that works well.

Graphics: They're pretty good. I didn't think they were any better than...say...Metroid Prime Corruption, but they were still relatively good.

The Not-so-good:

It's a standard aliens-are-attacking FPS. The story is by the numbers, and the game doesn't do anything to set itself apart (other than the fact it's an FPS on Wii).

It gets repetitive. Run down a hall into a room. Kill some aliens or soldiers. Unlock a door and proceed to the next area. The way the game changes things is by making you hunt for buttons hidden in walls to unlock doors. The button hunts became incredibly tedious and offsetting for me.

The AI is bad. No really...these guys jump out and start shooting. The game compensates for the bad AI by throwing large numbers of enemies at you at once and by giving the aliens large amounts of health and by placing spawn points that pump out unlimited numbers of aliens until the spawn points are destroyed.

Conclusion:

If you want a straight forward action game on Wii and don't mind the tedium of repetitious gun battles, button hunts, and endlessly spawning enemies, you may enjoy The Conduit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii Game... EVER!!!

posted by bowcaster7 (WEST LEBANON, NH) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

49 out of 67 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Yes I have played Zelda Twilight Princess, Metroid Prime 3, and Super Mario galaxy. but none of those come even close in comparison to The Conduit.

Story - 8.9: I haven't finished the game but the story is great, not like some other games where it is just an excuse to kill people. The only reason the score for story isn't higher is that I have only played the campaign for about 3 or so hours and the game says I am 44% done... But in the game you get this device called the ASE (All Seeing Eye) and it can be used to find hidden writtings on the wall, and data disks that give you unlockable content and I havent looked for those yet so that would add a few hours.

Gameplay - 10: Awesome gameplay, very hard to put down and stop playing. What really makes it great is the ability to completely tweak the controls however you like which makes it much easier to play then some other Wii games. Also plenty of different guns that have drastically different -and awesome- abilities.

Online multiplayer - 10: Best online multiplayer game for the Wii, without a doubt. Could be easily compaired with The Great Halo for the XBox 360 (yes I do own an XBox, anybody that doesn't, I feel very sad for you). There are probably 15 or so different types of online matches, that include things from a reagular team deathmatch to other special types of games only for The Conduit, like Bounty Hunter, and ASE Football.

Graphics - 9.4: Great graphics, maybe not the best, but still great (for the Wii) If this was a XBox 360 game it would get a 6, but we ("we" being defined as anyone who has ever played a 360) all know how far behind the Wii is grapically, so I will give it a break.

Overall, this is definitely much better than any of the three games stated at the top of my review, not to mention any other Wii game created by Man, or monkey kind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Portal to Success

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After almost a year's worth of hype, The Conduit has arrived, and the question has to be asked: does it live up to the buzz?
Well, I say it doesn't quite live up to the heightened expectations placed on it, but I didn't expect it to, either.
The Conduit's single player mode involves a story about a guy named Michael Ford, a guy names Mr. Adams, a guy named Prometheus, and some alien race named the Drudge.
The story doesn't excite me because I know nothing about any of the characters (or the aliens for that matter). For a threat to Washington, DC, the battles feel very small and isolated.
Another problem is the design of the last two levels; they felt like padding. At the end of each of those levels, I had to stand and take on wave after wave after wave of bad guys walking through a portal. It took the thrill that the early parts of this game gave me.
Getting through the single player mode will take most players about five hours - short for a $50 game. This is why you have the online part of the game.
Online, you play with up to 16 friends or strangers in standard multiplayer modes: single/team deathmatch and single/team "Capture the Flag" (or in this case "Capture the ASE") It's a great set up, but there's nothing new or innovative on display here.
The weapons, on the other hand, vary greatly from pistols, to plasma rifles, to an Drudge version of a grenade launcher. Playing with such weird guns is the best part of this game.
The Conduit is a solid first person shooter and is one of the best I've played. But SEGA can improve on this title by giving it a better story, a longer single player mode, and more innovation in the online multiplayer mode. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by jason545 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is sort of a Wii version of Halo. You shoot aliens and other people for some reason that I never really cared to figure out. Its a high quality titlewith good multiplayer, but very has a very short campaign and isn't very unique. Theres not really much else to describe, so on to the pros and cons.

pros:
- Graphics are some of the best you wil find on the Wii, period.
- Multiplayer is very good
- Controls are very good
- Overall, the game is very polished and of high quality
- Good variety of guns and weapons

cons:
- Very shory game at 4-5 hours campaign
- Its a very vanilla sci-fi shooter, you have played this game before, probably a dozen times, the aliens just looked different before. There was very little uniqueness or personality in this game.
- Enemy AI is completely dumb.
- The storyline is fairly silly, and the voice acting of the story is laughable at best. I mostly just ignored the story because the story and acting were so lame.

Overall, this game is passable. Its probably better than CoD:WaW Wii in a lot of respects. The developers definately put a lot of work into gettting it to run well and play smoothly. Just know before going in that theres nothing unique about this game. And all those alien shooter cliche's, well thats pretty much what the story is. So as long as you don't mind a lame story, silly voice acting, and spending the majority of your time playing multiplayer, then you will probably enjoy it.

In closing, if all you have is a Wii, its easily a top tier shooter on the console. However, if you have an XBox or PS3, you have better options available to you(Halo 3, CoD4, CoDWaW, Gears of War, Resistance, etc.).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Conduit

posted by farscape (HOLT, MO) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It felt like to me that this game was never quit finished enemies seem to pop out of no were. For instance in the airport level a group of bad guys drop out of the ceiling but there ropes don't seem to be attached to anything. The graphics felt more like something you would see on the Gamecube then a knew system. The sound effects needed some polishing to the guns don't sound real also in the airport level a couple of helicopters fly right by a window you cant here a thing. I would not pay full price for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for wii

posted by JTorigin (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am very impressed with this game for wii. I havent played my wii in 4 months thanks to heaven box 360. But This broke the cycle and im happy it did , But on next gen standards the graphics are garbage trash and ugly to look at . But on wii standards they are the most impressive and i was shocked it looked like an xbox 1 game and not nintendo 64 hd like so many others.
Graphics 5.9

Gameplay 9.1
Great and the first good hardcore game on the wii .This is what stoped me from playing xbox live . Very responsive without wii motion plus , unlike redsteel .Very fun to play

Story 7
The story feels to much like Halo without without the music and master cheif . But for a wii game top notch .

Verdict This is a very good wii game but im telling you right now , If this were on any other system this game would be an epic fail . The graphics are good 480p but 1/20 that of ps3 and 360 . So If you only have a wii and regualar tv than youll be impressed but if hd youll go d a m n i thought i got rid of my xbox 1 .
Being on wii saved this game big time .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's the conduit to mediocrity

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Aug 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

To say The Conduit was over-hyped is like saying the Civil War was "a tad messy". Unfortunately, it doesn't just fail to live up to expectations, but manages to become pretty average in the pantheon of first-person shooters. True, it is better than Red Steel, but what isn't?
The story places you in the shoes of Ford, a soldier caught up in an alien invasion and the machinations of The Trust. Yes, it's a big alien conspiracy, like Deus Ex, but much simpler.
The shooter controls are very much like Halo. You have two weapons to switch between, regenerating shields, a few types of grenades, etc. Plus, you're battles aliens, have nine missions to complete sequentially, some secret items to collect and demanding people constantly telling you what to do.
So, what does it do differently? Well, you get an orb that reveals special messages, hidden passageways, collectibles and landmines. Also... well, that's pretty much it.
Controls on the Wii work well here. Being able to point your reticule at the screen is a big plus. However, throwing grenades is done by flicking the nunchuk, which means you'll throw grenades every time you scratch your nose. Luckily, it's the extent of motion controls for the game.
Too many enemies are spawned through egg sacks, which I find a cheap device. And the guns are uneven in usefulness. The shotgun is effective, but takes has such a noticeable reload time that it becomes useless against the super-fast enemies. And when your basic pistol or carbine can take down most enemies with a shot or two, the other guns become extraneous.
I'm not sure why everyone was so thrilled with the idea of this game. It's a shooter on the Wii, which is nice but nothing special. It works alright, but has the same gameplay as shooters from 10 years ago. If you absolutely have to have an FPS and your only system is the Wii, you'll want to play this. If you have other options, it's not necessary to play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Sweet

posted by Stabby (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a work of art. Some may call it generic, but beneath the surface it's actually a social commentary on the state of first person shooter video games today. Alien invasion? Check. Sinister conspiracy? Check.

The graphics in the game are fairly decent and detailed even if the background is often a bit drab. No the AI isn't going to overtake your home wi-fi network and make you it's slave, but if you crank up the difficulty it'll challenge you a bit.

The single player game is fairly linear but I still found it comforting to blaze through corridors and blast alien scum.

The controls in the game are amazing, offering almost complete customization. If you don't take the time to tinker with the controls to find the setting that best suits you then it's likely that you lack frontal lobe capacity. My only gripe is that you can't map reload to a motion. (I'm a bit partial to shaking the nunchuck to reload in Call of Duty.)

The online multiplayer is definitely the highlight of the game. I'd say if you can't get online then you should probably just rent the game. There's a wealth of different game modes and the weapon variety is top notch. There isn't a map that I absolutely hate, all of them have multiple platforms and hallways to get the drop on your foolish opponents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

too short

posted by retic67 (CONNEAUT, OH) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really liked the game at first.But there is not enough hidden stuff to find,and the levels and game were too short. Nice try but still really need good adult games. Did not play multiplayer(never do) so not sure about it. Also in heavy fights the reticule is really hard to see and not sure where your shooting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome!

posted by FatalFilms (CROSSVILLE, TN) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a good multiplayer and a epic tale of a lone agent fighting off aliens and his lone race, he finds his only ally is his enemy and his enemy is his ally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Conduit

posted by mazur666 (WINFIELD, KS) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game wasnt as i expected, i hated the storyline. i liked the controlls but it was just stupid. overall i give it a 4 because of the terrable storyline. the thing that could have bumped it up to a 5 or 6 was te online play. but it wasnt all that good either :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME WAS ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you liked HALO than you'll love THE CONDUIT. Take this from a a guy that doesn't like shooters, I realy liked this game. It was fun, good story, and ASOME WEAPONS. This game was at the top of my list for a long time and when I got it I was very impressed. The thing that I liked the most is that there are checkpionts after every objective, and each level is LOADED with objectives, so it was cool to get mad and turn it off and know that you'll be EXACTLY where you were, or if you die same thing. The weapons were asome, both human and alien, I enjoyed the alien weapons the most because just the way your guy holds them and the reload and the overall look is just asome, along with impressive fire power. The other thing that I liked was that the levels are loaded with extras (disks) that you can collect and the pyramid puzzles that open up walls leading to a room FILLED with weapons and amo, so its worth the puzzle (+ there not that hard). Overall I HIGHLY recomend this game to a friend and you reading this, if you liked HALO than you'll like THE CONDUIT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Conduit

posted by 09GF74 (GREENFIELD, MO) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

story plot pretty weak. game play was to be expected...easy once you get use to it. media over hyped the game. voice acting and sound effects are terrable. As for multiplayer, seemed interesting at first, but after matches became difficult to find and players using only 2 tactics; gun/run/die or camp/kill/never win. If comparing this game to others on different platforms, then yes... it is a horrific game not worth even mentioning. But if you have a Wii and only a Wii and you want a FPS, might as well try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring generic FPS

posted by daggar (EAST PATCHOGUE, NY) Jun 30, 2009

Member since May 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game since it was to have the best FPS controls and graphics on the Wii to date. Unfortunately, the game content is so boring and generic, those things don't really matter.

The one gimmick they threw in is the All Seeing Eye, which is basically a high-tech flashlight for finding hidden switches and mines. There is an annoying beep from the wii remote whenever you are near something hidden that the Eye can find. This really slows the action of the game down and seems to be thrown in to stretch the game play time out which I have heard is around 6-8 hours. I could not test this out though because in one level I am supposed to kill everything in one room in order to advance but after searching for something to kill for 30 minutes, I gave up.

The level design is so linear and repetitive. You mostly walk through corridors and rooms, go through a door, and repeat over and over again. Many of the rooms in one level are repeated multiple times but with different enemy layouts.

The enemy AI is terrible and predictable. Their patterns are limited to poking their head out from behind cover, shooting, then retreating behind cover again. Some enemies will just charge you which can be overcome with an overpowered melee attack.

The story is some generic Sci-Fi mess you have heard before. Kudos to the developer for allowing the player to skip these sequences.

For all the hype about graphics and control, this game falls flat. The 2 year old Metroid Prime 3 is a far superior game all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Conduit plays like a 90's arcade game.

posted by acidtreat (IRVINE, CA) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The conduit had a lot of potential as a Wii shooter: Interesting weapons, fun Wii shooting action, and a fun-if-overused story. However, bulky controls, poor graphics, and some kind of a broken save system lead me to rate this game very poorly.

The first thing I noticed when I turned on the game is that the music was good. I enjoyed the little blurb that plays in the Wii menu which appears to be the main theme of the game. The second thing I noticed as soon as I got in game, was the the graphics did not look nearly as good as other Wii games. I loved the Metroid series of games, and the graphics reminded me of the first Metroid Prime game for the Gamecube. The textures themselves were not bad, but the environments were made and designed very cheaply, with a very low amount of detail and polygons. The models of the guns looked decent, but the people or aliens or whatever holding them also had poor models.

As I started to move around the world, the controls immediately seemed a bit twitchy, but I liked it at first. The game made up for it with a very liberal accuracy system, where you hit the enemy if you shoot within three feet of the enemy. The control scheme just didn't work well, and it was hard to get to the zoom in button and the reload button easily while engaged in a heavy firefight. Doing a melee attack and throwing a grenade with the wiimote and nunchuck were very sketchy and would activate by accident.

The level design was also very repetitive and you would often fight many of the same enemies with no variation for large parts of the level. I didn't get far enough to test out all the weapons or levels for another reason.

After playing a few hours and being fairly dissatisfied, I quit and came back later to play. I loaded up the system and pressed no buttons except the A button on my game, and when I pressed the A button, it DELETED my game. I have no idea why, and I didn't do anything or press anything strange. That was the end for me.
2/10 Very Poor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Conduit needs work...or maybe wii does

posted by funkystuff (BRONX, NY) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i have a 360, ps3, wii, psp, and ds lite. i have them all. out of all the systems, the wii has the worst online. seriously the conduit is atrocious online. the framerate drops to like 15 frames per second. the single player is super boring. i try to get into an online match and it loads but my character doesn't move and the only way to fix that is to turn off the system....really? WOW! Dual analog beats wii mote any day. I am done thinking there is hope for the wii mote and with all the problems I hear with wii remote plus calibration I don't see anything changing. If you are a multi system owner...stick with 360 for online and ps3 as a backup. Those two systems are all you need. Use wii for mario/metroid/zelda...the trifecta. Wii is utterly useless...friend codes, system codes, wii speak, nintendo wifi connection is a joke. This is 2009, not 2000. The wii came out at a right time in my life. I have grown past nintendo and will move on with microsoft. I was a gamecube, n64, and supernes only owner and never complained but with wii, I despise it. The sales of the conduit will not produce a sequel and that is good because honestly the wii cannot produce anything better. Developers are right not to make wii games even if it is cheaper to develop for. I would be bored developing with wii when 360 is right around the corner and can make better games. The last two falls, the wii released terrible quality of games. Do yourself a favor and don't play this game, go get a 360 and halo. If you loved goldeneye, halo is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is terrible

posted by Agonyyy (CENTRAL, SC) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

omg this was terrible i hated it. there were so many portals and things and I hated them all. The online was bad too. And so was everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The conduit u suk

posted by mx1080 (BEDFORD, TX) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the worst wii game i have ever played, im a kid so thats justifible. Everything about it suks, the campaign, the online play, pretty much whoevr made this musta been drunk cause really, U SUK CONDUIT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It drove me insane!

posted by factor8 (PARKER, CO) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It looks like a great game but Wii's FPS is a bear to get used to and I just don't have the time. My son, who is really good with the nunchuck could not play it for more than 15 minutes either. Maybe it's just a short attention span!

Pros: It looked like a decent game with a good story line, but, I just couldn't finish it.

Cons: I just can't get into the Wii first person shooter games. I tried the basic controller + nunchuck and then with the rifle config and it still drives me insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible movement

posted by jayjay8382 (ARLINGTON, VA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Absolutely horrible movement of character and camera. I couldn't play it more than 10 minutes without losing my sanity. I've played plenty of Wii games, some with mediocre camera movement but this tops them all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a headache

posted by chubz10 (MATTAPAN, MA) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game seemed like a waste when i played it for to hours. Without the online play this game wouldve been horrible.The game was supposed to be the best wii shooter with 360 graphics and chat support.Friend codes and the wack story mode just made me look down on the wii.If you have wii speak and know alot of people on the game then it might be fun but besides that online was boring.Im not a hardcire gamer that plays 18 hours a day but the game wasnt even hardcore for me.And those lil eggsack aliens got on my nerves. Those are the main enemy that you'll fight the whole game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Conduit Review

posted by coolguy95 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The campagin mode is well thought out, but there should not have been a health bar thats a bit old school. Also, the online mode takes way to long for the network to set up and most of the time the time limit is reached and I don't get to play the match witch really makes me mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair but Unfair

posted by doldMan (GRAHAM, NC) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The Conduit is a good game to rent however, I wouldn't buy it for a couple of reasons.
1) Single player campaign way to short. Before I spend $60 on a game I want to know it will take me more than 4 hours to reach end game.

2) No replay value. Once you've beaten the game there is really nothing in it that pulls you back to play it again.

So, for the Wii this is a good game and I'd say rent it first before you shell out $60 and get disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate the condiut

posted by bmhreviews (DUNCAN, OK) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok ima good gamer and all but this is freakin hard i have it on easy and i cant beat level 3 sega sucks so personally it dosent have the gameplay to get a better rating than one and i thought my day couldnt get any worse

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse