Rent The Club for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Club

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.3

3805 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Suprised!!!

posted by Nate512 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really supersede me, i expected it to be as bad as the average reviews were saying. But it was enjoyable. Its not often you get to play a game that is just geared toward having fun killing people.

In a sense think of it as a Project Gotham Racing (Bizarre Creations Developed The Club and PGR) game. Sure you can have fun racing but what if a point system was thrown in there too were you can string combos together and pull the biggest score at the end of the race even if you didn't finish 1st.

Well The Club is pretty much that way except you aren't racing rather you are killing people in the best stylized ways you can pull off. Its a great game for some pick up and play once in awhile nothing that is really intended to keep you addicted and attracted to any kind of story line.

The Graphics complement the game rather well, even the characters give off some lifelike look. The Enemy AI is decent enough for what its trying to acommplish (moving targets), and the sound does pack a punch and the music fits rather well with the pacing of the game.

Overall this game should defiantly be rented by any gamer that likes Action games, especially the 3rd person genre. Have fun and go for those Headshots :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gears of Team Fortress

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Feb 20, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

55 out of 65 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

that pretty much sums it up. if you could fuse gears of war (minus the chainsaw gun) and team fortress two (minus the class based play), you'd end up with "the club".

a fast paced third-person shooter, you assume the role of one of the most ellite gunmen caught in the deadliest game ever. now lets take a look at the positives of why this game rocks...
1.third person shooter reminicent of Gears of War. No jumping around like a dork, just sprint, roll, and fire.
2.fast paced like TF2 with insane weapons to boot.
3.smooth cell shaded graphics do not make this game cartoony.
4.SPLIT SCREEN!!yes, a game with four player splitscreen. a good amount of game modes will have you playing online and/or with your friends four many hours to come.

so we've established why this game is GOOD, but what are some drawbacks to this game?
1.the controll scheme. while not bad, some buttons are placed inconveniently, and selecting a weapond draws fingers away from much needed movement controlls.
2.while jumping can be annoying in a game like this, you will find yourself wishing at points that you were able to at least hop out of the way of that exploding barrel, or flying rocket.

but thats really about it. this is a solid arcade style shooter. definitly next-gen worthy, and a definite buy for gears and fortress fans. between the twisted and dark characters(nemo is one of the most disturbing characters i've encounterd in a while) and the descent level design, this game is good for any shooter fan.

just remember to keep your kill multiplyer up....keep your head down, and your ammo count high, and you should be just fine. now grab your mouse a click "rent it"....and welcome to "the club".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Welcome to the Club

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

PROS:

-Simple concept, all you do is run around and shoot people
-Controls are easy and responsive
-Moderately addictive
-Nice range of levels

CONS:

-Graphics are decent but not anything special
-Enemy AI is sort of dull and lackluster
-Very repetitive
-Characters have no upgradablity

FINAL THOUGHT:
The Club is a pretty decent game if you are into mindless running and shooting. The game is set up as a tournament where you compete with all the characters, running around killing people gains you points, the more people you kill, the higher your multiplier gets and the points you get. Very simple concept, but the games you play don't ever change such as: survive until time runs out and score as many points as possible, race to the exit whilst scoring massive points, etc. Besides the repetitive game play and the enemy AI being kind of dumb, The Club is still an entertaining game to play for a little while. Definitely recommend renting before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Way too short

posted by Shinedown1 (ALLEN PARK, MI) Jun 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game to rent, thats all. I feel bad for anyone who spent 60 dollars on this game when it came out. You can beat the single player story mode in about 2 hours. The object is to go back and repeat the levels you have beaten to improve your score, but the game doesnt pull you in enough for you to do that. I wanted to test out the online play but noone plays. Ive tried for 3 days to get an online game going and not one person plays. Achievement hunters should stay away also, around 600 of the games 1000 points are online achievements and since noone plays it online you cant get those achievements, So basically, you get a few hours of entertainment and thats it. Rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It tries... it really does.

posted by LordDoom (WILKINSON, IN) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Upon receiving the club I promptly loaded it into my 360, as I couldn't wait to finally check out the game that I'd been curious about since release.

I must say, that the experience was not quite what I'd hoped for.

With the introductions and cinematic screens that greet you upon entering the club... it gives the player the feeling that he/ she is about to partake in a game that is 2 parts Syphon Filter, 2 parts Mortal Kombat and 1 part game show. It ends up feeling more like 5 parts well intended, clumsily repetitive shooter.

This is one of those games that has the potential of being really great or a total let down. I truly feel that the former would have applied if the developers could have taken more time to balance the mechanics of the game and maybe throw some additional character skins on the enemies.

I didn't hate this game, not in the least. It's just that in the day of great shooters such as Halo, games like this should try a little harder. Just because you're trying to make a game that feels like an arcade title doesn't mean you should skimp on the detail. About the closest thing I can compare this title to are the Star Wars: Battlefront titles for the xbox. Sadly, even being on a last gen console doesn't stop them from out performing the Club.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Club (x-Box 360)

posted by lordiceman (MARIETTA, GA) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WoW this game can amaze you with its graphics, shooting, and just pure death lol... BUT

It has no LEGIT storyline, it's not near an RPG, it's basically setup to be one of those "Only good online" type of games.
Now mind you there is nothing wrong with having those types of games in your collection but once your subscription runs out, or something more versatile is released, this game becomes less and less of a factor on your priority list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Someone got racing game in my shooter!

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I like shooters, who doesn't? This game has great weapons, running, shooting, ducking, everything you'd expect from a modern third person shooter. You're even scored based on your performance.

It's like a race-car game, in which you practice on the same track, over and over again. Cutting off a few seconds, perfecting moves and failing again and again.

I liked some of the levels, the FIRST time through. Like a race track, these are very linear and always the same. There are different game types, but really they are the same game with speed or score requirements.

Multiplayer was better than I thought it would be, but still feels like a late edition to the game. I doubt anyone will be playing on-line in a month or two (Like Timeshift, Kane & Lynch)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Weekend game, but little else.

posted by SilverLion (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Club takes a lot of flak in the reviews. Sadly most of it is deserved.

Graphically, the game is actually quite impressive. Destructible environments are very prominent, and the character models (On the selectable characters) are fantastic. The sounds are rather bland. Some generic rock music plays in the background, but the guns sound like you'd expect, nothing fancy here.

The gameplay in and of itself is pretty solid. Some kind of targeting system would have been nice, perhaps purchasing upgrades as you had pushed through the tournaments, but unfortunately not. There is an auto-aim feature, but it makes the game worse and makes headshots near impossible.

The game offers your standard fare of modes. Single Player "story" mode, and a level select mode. And multiplayer. But don't even bother with that, As with most older Live games, it's a ghost town, which also makes gaining 1000/1000 nigh impossible unless you find a dedicated group of players, should that kind of thing bother you. Anyway, the story mode is a series of 8 tournaments, with little more than an introduction to the stage at the beginning of each tournament. You then proceed to run the same stage 6 times in either "Get to the finish with points" "Get to the finish with points in a time limit" or "Survive in one spot until time runs out". Rather uninspired, and each tournament is the same stuff, so don't expect anything special. Each of the player characters are so identical in how they play that it makes no real difference who you choose either.

To sum up, rent The Club if you feel like some solid gunwank play, but don't expect to be entertained long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't bother

posted by cfdude (REDONDO BEACH, CA) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is: run from point A to point B quickly, shoot people in your way, time your killings to keep your combo up. Did I miss anything? This could have been a much better idea with a bit more imagination and money (I'm sure) but this game is boring and repetitive. There is nothing immersing or engaging to keep up interest and excitement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Where is the rest of the game?

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Club isn't a bad game. It is just an empty game. There is no story, but that is not exactly a bad thing. What little story there is, justifies the existence of the game. You will pick from six different characters to engage in an underground death match. Each character has varying character specs, such as, Stamina, strength and speed. Although, they all control the same. Depending the speed traits, some may be quicker than others This is the only noticable difference in control.
There are four different modes of play. Tournament, gunplay, single play and multiplayer. Tournament mode is the main focus of the game. In this mode you will need to play through each level to unlock the next. In EAch Tournament level you will be playing through six levels. each level has a separating gameplay mode. Sprint, Seige, Gauntlet and time attack. Sprint you simply play through the level racking up points until you find the exit. In Seige, you must defend your position from an onslaught of enemies, until the time runs out. Gauntlet, you must finish the level within a specific amount of time. In Time attack, you must make it through the stage before your time runs out, but can gain time by collecting clocks or killing enemies.
GunPlay is simply playing through past levels ,unlocked in Tournament mode, Trying to reach a pre-set high score. Single play mode allows you to pick a level previously unlocked through tournament mode, essentially, free play. Multiplayer is ok. Although, the online aspect is kind of weak. Sure, it gets the job done. However, Considering that the core single player gameplay is nothing more than multiplayer modes, one wonders, why wasn't more focus directed to the multiplayer.
Well, thats pretty much it. You pick a character and pick a mode of play. There is no story. There is no reward for playing through the levels other than seeing how many points you can get. The graphics and controls do work well though. This game feels like a minigame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Club: Not what it appears to be.

posted by CyanideRus (ROYERSFORD, PA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is certainly an interesting title.

It combines what is currently a very popular genre of gaming, first person shooters, with many conventions from old school arcade gaming, which have been lost to the ravages of time and innovation.

The story behind this game is quite minimal: You select from a group of modern day gun fighters, who kill waves bad guys, while running through exotic locals, all for the entertainment of a very rich society called The Club.

It's what is done with the gameplay that makes this game really shine. The levels and gameplay are designed to reward you for playing them over and over again, each time recalling more and more, boosting your score higher and higher.

High Score. Just typing it conjures up memories of standing in front of an arcade cabinet, with a reassuring pocket full of quarters. The club uses a multiplier system similar to the Kudos system in PGR3, which makes sense since this game is from the same developer.
It means that you need to keep your kills going as fast as possible to keep your multiplier high and thus get the high score. You can up the multiplier by performing maneuvers, such as diving and rolling then killing a guy.

This unique system will have you coming back for more. Indeed, The Club is a game that I can see myself playing once a week or so for the next few years. I can pick up and play it for a quick action fix.

The graphics are very good and convey everything that they need to. The interface is tight and gets you quickly into the action. The difficulty varies widely to suit your tastes (4 levels).

The multiplayer is forgettable, indeed it's so poor that you shouldn't even consider bothering with it. This game was made to pit your solo, high score grabbing attention.

This is a must rent for all shooter/action fans and a much purchase (especially for a low 'keep it' price) for old school action fans who like replaying levels to get the best score possibl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

at first I did not like this game until I played online!
Not to many players online but when you do get a full game going its a great Shooter and nothing more .
Dont look for a story or even mercy this is just a fun Arcade shooter and nothing more.
Graphics are sweet and when you run it feels like GOW.
The sounds\music not that bad as well So I would pick this up for a fun weekend of the club its a Good game to kick back get some Achievements.So play a few rounds online and make shur you play the mode Seige online that's my favorite out of all the modes...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool

posted by Havenx92 (RICHMOND, MI) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

It's simply a lot of fun. Great graphics, great sound, awesome controls, great multiplayer, and most of all, its fun. It could be better, but it still rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sega...We Have A Problem

posted by jdanger7 (BOZEMAN, MT) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game really was horrible. I hated myself for believing some of these other reviewers that its like Gears and Team Fortress. I realize now that the only thing related to Gears is that its third person. And the only thing related to team fortress is objectives. If someone convinced me to buy this game I'd probably kill them then kill myself for being an idiot. Graphics, gameplay, controls, objectives, are extremely bad. With the exception of the plot everything was horrible(The only reason the plot wasn't bad is because it didn't exist.)

Oh my God I wish I knew of more different and creative ways to say that this is the worst game I have played since Brute Force for the Xbox. Which this game is very similar to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Zero Replay Value = LAME

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Apr 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can sprint through the single player portion of this game in about 4 to 6 hours depending on your skills. Fair enough. Short and sweet. If I had bought the game I would be ticked off, but it's a rental so no big deal. So now I'm thinking the online must be fantastic to make up for such a short and pretty middle of the road single player. Well it was indeed disappointing to find less than 20 people total playing this game over several checks during a weekend. The game is just over a month old and no one is playing it. That about sums up this game. It's totally lame.

For the fanatical completionist out there, avoid this game at all costs. You will never get the on-line achievements with so little on-line activity.

Maybe one day the game developers will stop flattering themselves into thinking they've released the next Halo and avoid online achievements that require people to actually be online playing their game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Practice

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a good way to get your over the shoulder shooting skills fine tuned. If you need practice this is game to play. I only play this game to get in some practice that's it. There is no story mode, there is a quick briefing before every fight and debriefing once your done with all missions. I played the PS3 version first, but the club plays better on the 360 because of the achievements and your gamerscore which the PS3 lacks. If you need practice rent the game if not just move along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the club

posted by Gerardo (SCHERERVILLE, IN) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Okay this game was so easy I could beat any game someone slaps at me. It takes time to be a master you just got to be like me and play every day the rest of your life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL

posted by BossofBoss (BELMONT, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

nothing is good about this game...the tournament mode is garbage the online play is weak the controls are weak the graphics blow...dont even waste ur time renting this it is one of the worst games i have ever played on the 360...what a waste!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by sambojones (LAKE WALES, FL) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yes really, It's that bad. I wish I could submit multiple reviews so that I could really express what a steaming pile this thing is. And just to clarify, this is nothing like Gears. One of the biggest diffrences between this game and all the other gems that ahve come out in the past couple years, they actually put some effort into those beauties. They must have been paying these guys by the hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by Drumrguy (TUALATIN, OR) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is one the most pointless games I've ever played. It's just a bunch of death matches. Pretty much no story line, no point to the game. If you just want to play death matches play something worth while like Halo 3 or Call of Duty 4. Don't waste your time and energy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The same thing over and over again

posted by StubbsPLee (BATON ROUGE, LA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

if you get board with the a game that never changes then you will hate this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ditto or Ditto

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) May 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

I prefer shooter games to just about any genre, but the more of them I play I realize, that there has to be something else going on too. The Uncharted series is one excellent example, as well as the Bio-Shock series, etc., etc.. This game ( The Club ) had some good shoot scenes in it, but it was just too much of the same thing over and over. I played the tournament round, the scenery changed from match to match but the game play was always the same, sprint, stay alive within time frame, run the gambit, etc. etc.. I d,ont know if using a different player would of changed anything, but I did not try to find out. Also I do not know anything about the multi-player aspect, because I never play the multi-player version on any game I play. I am a dinosaur, I guess when it comes to these games, because I started playing games when they were solo player and thats all there was and thats still the way I prefer the games, but I may have to give up playing these games, the way they are making them more and more multi-player designed every day. Anyway Thanks Again Game-Fly for the chance to play these games Billy! See Ya!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it is ok but not great

posted by 2400 (BENSON, AZ) Oct 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is ok and i got it fast but there is not a good story line not good missions but still a littile fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ok if you like a challenge

posted by Clownin (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

it's kind of boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Congratulations you suck

posted by peter11 (CARSON, CA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

As a moderate game player i like to keep my options open and give every game a chance. But i gave this game several chances and never impressed me. IT SUCKED. The graphics are horrible and gameplay is like my nightmares worst nightmare. Its like mortal combat but with guns and only eight players. Also there are only 15 wepons in the whole game. But if your the type of person who likes these types of games get it it's your choice. BUT ABSOULUTELY DONT BUY IT. You'll eventually get bored. The only good part is that u get two days of x box live if u buy it. The game is completely outdated. Before i go if u like this game ill tell u a few things about it. It starts out like this there are the worlds 8 best killers from all around the world, and there pitted against eachother in a tournament. You get to play as anyone of them but u have to do certain things different players thats the same thing for the game modes to. Thats basically everthing about the game i hope my review helped u fellow reader.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse