Rent The Club for PS3
view large frontback

The Club

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.7

1172 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible Game....period!

posted by BabyJai (EDISON, NJ) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok well the only thing good about this, well...umm you unlock characters. What I hate about it, no STORY mode what so ever. Its more or less a shooter. I thought it was going to be somewhat good, thank god, that I didnt buy this game before I played it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe I did not give it time but...

posted by DocEroc (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

based on its mediocre ratings already I had to stop this game after the first 6 missions. The game play itself is not horrible, the conceptual design new and not so bad but this just reminded me of an 80s Capcom or Sega game and nothing new in terms of graphics. Maybe it is just me getting tired of wondering why I jumped into the PS3 so quick when these games look pretty much the same on the PS2. I just wish someone would set the bar high on "NEXT GEN" and the PS3. There have been some great games mind you for the PS3, but I still am reminded of how God of War exploited how much beauty and power was never fully unleashed on the PS2. So The Club, sorry I have to start rating my games on a more realistic level due to the fact that there is soooooo much more that could be done with the storage capacity of a bluray disc. This game would have scored higher if there was no PS3 invented yet and if I didn't score 200 something thousand out of 6 sections and Dragonov scored 1.5 million points. Plus after I started the second campaign, well, it seemed to start over again. Got redundant vibes fast on this game. I would at least recommend you guys to try it as a rental for sure, you may like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Club

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Club is a excellent game to improve any ones FPS skills. For myself it was a good practice. The club is 10 times better than (UT3)and The Orange Box "team fortress 2." The only reason The Club doesn't get a perfect 10 from me is it doesn't have a normal campaign like call of duty 4 or Ghost Recon 2, The Club has a single player mode, however it's more of a shooting practice game. I'm glad I didn't buy it, so I recommend renting, it's not worth the $60 plus dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

80s Arcade

posted by srcstmwood (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a game to play by putting a quarter in a machine than this is the one for you. I am a big fps fan and I was excited about this game. Seems to me they just decided to be lazy when developing this game. Nobody wanted to bother with a story or any kind of plot at all, lets just have a bunch of guys that pretty much do the same thing, and make a game about it. Rent this game only if you are looking for an arcade game to pass the time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a PS3 game

posted by SlickJC (CLAYTON, NC) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game should've been made and released on the PS2. In no way is this game worthy of being $60 on a next gen system. Gameplay and concept of the game is cool, but there's nothing new or exciting enough to grant this as a next gen game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Club....

posted by richmich (NEW CANEY, TX) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game blows, and is a complete WASTE of time and brain function!!!! Who ever made it should be fired!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Club....not so good

posted by gameflydj (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Club was a highly disappointing game. Although the graphics are good, the rest of the game doesn't quite cut it. The Club in short, is basically just Fight Club with guns. The object is to get the most kills and survive each stage, which basically just makes the game a "shoot-em-up" game without a point.

Would highly not recommend to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Carefull

posted by u5578u (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is boring and slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you play online you might get a kick. But playing against the computer in story mode is weak. You can't even enjoy the action.
Too many bad third person games out there.
This could have been so much better.
I wish the game makers would ask the consumers
what we want. Instead of making these weak games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by daonli1 (BAY SHORE, NY) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

a lot of people are saying there is no caimpain to the game they are not completely wrong but after you beat the tournement there is a little cut seen(you know like tekken) . i guuess that when people see no prologe they automaticly say its a bad game. No No No No No this is not a game for everyone this is a game for people who like classic arcade shooters. I gave this game a 10 for 3 reasons:
1. good graphics
2. great gameplay
3. great online
first the graphics there good not grat but you will quickly forget about the graphics when you play the game.
second I love the gears of war meets team fortress gameplay. Its the only thing gears of war needed(really that game sucked)anyway the third person gameplay from gears of war and the wild fastpased gameplay from team fortress
third and this is a big third there is the classic deathmatch to the new hunter hunted and is very addicting

right now i would say to rent it if you like it buy it like i said this game is not for everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Club

posted by l2urik (ELGIN, TX) May 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

awesome multi-player; ok gameplay, basically repetition. guns are realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

need practice killing?

posted by UncleRico (ISLIP, NY) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the club is a decent enough game. aiming system is ok, the graphics are average for a PS3 game.

this game has no single player campaing mode, just has some tournaments and death match style options. if your looking for a good FPS, this game will definatly give you good practice in the art of the head shot, but i think you will soon be bored.

if there was a single player campaign, i do think it would have been a good one.

anyway, good game for multiplayer/omline gamers, anyone looking for a single player FPS just pick up COD4 or Resistence instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This review is based on the Demo and predictions.

posted by johnnyred3 (LAKESIDE, CA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ok well I played the Demo. It wasn't horrible, but is wasn't that good either. It seems like a game that would get boring after just an hour or two. I researched it and there is no campaign mode. It pretty much is strictly online, which is good and bad. I love playing online so that is the only great thing about this game, but the rest left me with a head full of let downs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Go.

posted by Spongegodd (LANCASTER, CA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I rented this game awhile back and only took me 10 minutes to return this. I couple of friends loved it but, it wasn't for me. Terrible graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst

posted by Anthony5smiles (HANOVER, MA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i have played many games but none as bad as this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ok

posted by carmen (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2004

boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The club

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) May 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is pretty cool. the way you rack up points is really cool. i had fun with it but i think most of the fun is on 1 player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just awful

posted by Chiefpacma (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game would be bad for an ipod game! The graphics are worse than most of them. No plot, stupid characters, stupid gameplay.

Please do not rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Needs A lot of work

posted by horrorfan (DUNNELLON, FL) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

To make this quick this game needs a lot like a storyline and needs to be more interesting i was bored within beating the first level every level is all about gaing points like some sort of arcade game and i dont see why this is rated M because its not that bad.Not to be to harsh but i would give this game overall:3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE it

posted by DEATHKILL4 (CARSON, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I've only played the demo but you could only get so much from the demo. After i beat it i wanted more, needed more.I dont know why so many people think its basic sure it doesnt have story mode but do you really pay attention to story mode or do just want to play.I mean its not a movie its a very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Club

posted by melnew36 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I found the game a bit boring and redundant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Hated It!

posted by NYC1KID (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I can not put in words how much I hated this game. It was hard to control and took too long to load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the club

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since May 2006

I found the club to kinda of funand the graphics were ok but they were nothing outta this world or anything but still it was good game it is worth renting or buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Quality

posted by Hypnotize (PATTERSON, LA) May 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

has playstation two graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quirky Fun

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game is fun for a little while. Rent it and at least go through all the levels once. It's lack of depth will keep you from getting too into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse