Rent The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay for Xbox
view large frontback

The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

2189 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated? yup, maybe the best rental ever

posted by aaron126 (ADRIAN, MI) May 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

YES, this game does fall under the catagory of underrated(BLAME THE NAME). The gameplay is a bit limited and does not take long to beat but the graphics are arguably the best on the console. The game really sucks you into the environment. This was one of my favorite rentals ever. I think it took me 9 or 10 fun-filled hours to complete the story. Not much replay but I garantee you'll be glad you gave this one a chance!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Something unlike anything you've played before

posted by YankeeDan (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To say this game is a first person shooter doesn't do it justice. This game combines shooting, brutal hand to hand combat, and stealth in a thrill ride of a game. In audition, you actually TALK to people in this FPS. The parts where you interact with other prisoners can be really interesting.

The graphics are GREAT and game play brilliant, but it 's all over too soon. Without multiplayer you'll be sending it back to gamefly quickly, but you'll always remember this one among the greats.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by texasmade (CENTRALIA, IL) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best first person shooter game I have played on the xbox. The graphics are amazing. The sound is very solid with nice voice acting. Collecting all the smokes is fun after beating the game. I played it through twice, once on normal then hard. The game is a little short though but definitely never a dull moment. The enemy AI is very good, making it easy to die if you dont use steath tactics as much as possible. Amazing game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Game Might Leave Some in the Dark

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Dec 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For all of you who didn't like the movie, don't worry, it doesn't have that much to do with the game. The game's graphics are very good, especially the cutscenes. But then again you are only in a prison for the entire game, so the graphics better be good for that limited space. The story is decent. Gameplay is pretty good. If you're expecting an action-packed non stop shooter experience look elsewhere. Throughout a lot of the game you will not have a gun and when you do there's not a lot of different styles. One interesting twist is when you get your "shiny eyes", which allow you to switch to a night vision when things get too dark. The voice acting was solid and each character had there own different look and personality. Overall this is a good game. I give it a 7, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by Kiryuu (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

MMMM. Gooey delicious violence

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It Would Make a Good Movie

posted by Seenuram (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I was stunned that this game wasn't written by David Twohy, who wrote and directed both Pitch Black and Chronicles of Riddick (and got story credit for the Dark Fury anime) because it fits so seamlessly into the world he and Vin created. I could tell you how unique it is to play- part shooter, part stealth, with a few rpg character elements- but its the story that kept me going. I just wanted to know what was going to happen next, and I was never let down. It defied my expectations and gave me twists, turns, atmosphere, action, and most of all- characters. The way KOTOR perfectly captured the essential spirit of Star Wars and managed to tell a truly great stand-alone adventure story, Butcher Bay absolutely nails the world of Riddick and manages to stand on its own. Vin Diesel did a great job, but having Cole Hauser playing "Johns" again really made the story gel with Pitch Black in the best possible way. It would've been easy to skip over him (and not even address the larger world of Chronicles) but the game totally sets up both films without giving anything away or assuming you're familiar with what's to come. In fact, I'd bet that if you'd never seen the movies and started out with this game, it would just wet your appetite for more and flow like the perfect prologue to the stories that follow. In a market saturated by "neat ideas" but kind of by-the-numbers story-telling (i.e. "you killed my relative and/or world, now I'm out to get revenge and fulfill the prophecy blah, blah, blah), its nice to see something that really works on its own and delivers both the story and the playability in such a perfect way. I'd love to see another stand-alone adventure set between Dark Fury and Chronicles. Can't wait for the next feature film. I'm betting Riddick's going to take a trip down south to find a girl. To the Underverse- and beyond!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by Gametagger (WALKER, LA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

This game is so awesome I'm so glad they let you go fist to fist with a prisoner in dark rooms!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll open up a can of Riddick on your butt! Boom bam smack down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what games should be, a must rent or buy!

posted by Darkshadow (CONCORD, NH) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

When I rented this game I wasn't sure what to expect but I liked the movies so I gave it a shot. This has nothing to do with the movies and is actually before pitch black. He actually gets his shiners (his special see in the dark eyes) at butcher bay.

The story line is basically escaping butcher bay, doesn't sound fun right? Well you will be killing hundreds of guards, several robots, a ship, prisoners, monsters of unspeakable origins and in general assassinating, freaking out and blowing up people/things. So all and all, you will take down the biggest, baddest prison pretty much alone.

The gameplay alone is worth playing this game, at first it will make you comfortable with the general style of play and then it will add and remove new things (like guns and giant robots and special eyes) at the perfect times (the moment you find your self thinking you know it all and not yet bored but close to it). Example would be at first your going to learn how to fight, then sneak/kill, then use a gun and then your going to be chucked (literally) into a dark hole with a shotgun that has only 5 minutes of battery life in the flashlight and only a few clips, o did I mention the unending flow of creatures whom will be trying to rip off your flesh? I didn't? O well they are there to in a easy enough labyrinth (took me 3 tries but am bad with directions). Then the fun part, you get new eyes that allow you to see in the dark when you active them (but not the light) kinda like Night Vision. Later on you will also be able to get other weapons like grenades, tranquilizer gun (which can short circuit lights) and a giant robot (yes... it is fun to stomp on guards).

Another thing I found my self doing that I never do, is finding all the unlock ables, in the game there are side quests and little caches where you can find smokes which unlock things such as concept art and beta clips and screenplay novels.

Only problem I had is the menus which isn't so bad but annoying in the unlock ables.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

coolest game ever!!

posted by slip853 (CLE ELUM, WA) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this was one of the best games ive ever played, it captured the essence of riddick, and made you feel like you were there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Butcher Bay Review

posted by kratos1 (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I rated this game 5 because the game itself is good, but you need to know the game to play it. From the very start, if you don't know how to get to where you need to go or what to do, it's pretty hard to figure it out. Most of the time, you discover it by complete accident. Good note: gameplay is very realistic, and if you're a Chronicles of Riddick fan like I am, you SHOULD love the game. There is some blood, but if you're used to games like God of War One and Two, it's nothing. The hand-to-hand combat controls can do with a massive upgrade. Timing right trigger pulls with flicks of the left analog stick are very difficult to start, and it doesn't get much easier. The neckbreaks are hard to remember and even harder to consistently accomplish. Once you get a gun, combat gets a little better.This is NOT the best game I have ever played by far. I don't recommend this game to casual gamers, and can't even recommend it to hardcore gamers of similar genres.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

riddck

posted by shamrocker (CLIFTON, VA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

THE BEST XBOX GAME YET

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Might have been a good game but!

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jun 11, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

This could have been a good game but to many things wrong with it, First of those is the Controls they are just to flakey to work good second theres is the fact that the game has enimies early in the game that you have to kill to continue in the game but theres one problem with them theres only one way to hurt them at all and being able to get behind them to kill them is not really possible because even though they are In a Machine it moves 4 times as fast as you can and like i said there only one way to even hurt them thats to shot them in the back but you cant do that bec ause you cant get to their backs , just another example of the Idiots that Program games like this they think hey i know we will make an enimy next to impossible to kill and then put it in the game early in the game Then we will make it so you have to kill them to be able to go any further in the game . That way the People that play it most of them will give up there and not very many people will know that thayts as far as the game goes at least as far as a game that could have been good goes but they will still buy the game because of the name and we will be get rich so we can make even worse games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the truth about TCOR

posted by reddeath (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Overall, this game is phenomenal. The graphix rule, the game play is smooth, and the action is constant. My only beef was that the game was so short. I beat it in 2 days. If this game could have kept me going heavy for a week, i would give it a 10. Still, i strongly suggest playing this game, it's sick. We can only hope for a sequel, and it seems that they set it up for that option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow...

posted by Construct (LOS GATOS, CA) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I never would have thought a game based on a Vin Diesel character would be so cool, but my thinking has been adjusted. This game is absolutely brilliant. Art, story, plot and gameplay are all top-notch. It makes me wish for more substantial Riddick movies than the previous two (although I thought they were entertaining) and certainly more Riddick games as well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow aaaaaa top 30 games on xbox to rent this is 1

posted by Blimps (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

to start this has almost nothing to do with the movie except you get to use ridic thats all. This game is one of few that offer a great fps as well as rpg.

graphics-10 they spent tons of time on makeing this game
game play 10-extreamly on it shooter raimbow meets halo add in some stealth and some UFC and you have the gane play of C.O.R
story line-8 nothing crazy but still a game to play.
sound ????????????? the same as every shooter.

ps- if you like rpg shooters the give duesex invisible war a try out its in the top ten greatest xbox games really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst save feature, ever

posted by Kylgar (LANHAM, MD) Aug 17, 2006

Member since May 2005

I'm not really going to speak to the game, as I have nothing to complain about there. It's a good mix of FPS, stealther and puzzle. I was most pleased on the game play and the graphics aren't bad.

HOWEVER, the save feature is reprehensible! While you can only save at checkpoints (actually, it's an auto-save at checkpoints, you have no control), that isn't so bad. Annoying, but not terrible. It's when you're in the middle of playing (not saving, not loading... playing) and the power goes out, then you decide to reload later and find that your entire profile is "corrupt and cannot be used" that you decide to never touch the game again.

I liked the game and would have given it at least a "7" if not an "8," but the inability to put it down when you feel like it and then come back to the same point instead of starting all over again is a complete deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just don't get it

posted by ram16821 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Ok, let's see... you'll like this game if you like:

1) not having a gun. The guards have automatic weapons, and you do not. The guns are DNA-encoded, so you can't take a dead guards weapon. You have to fight them off with a club. How fun!

2) Dying numerous times -- over and over again -- just trying to figure the one, linear way through the repetitive and tedious levels.

3) dreary space prison. The implication of evil is everywhere (including the obvious prison phobia...) but the characters and missions seem comical at best.

...and finally, 4) Vin Diesel. His delivery and posturing are absolutely hilarious. It makes you want to keep running him into machine gun fire, just to watch him slump forward dead like a rag doll.

I can't wait till they make a game out of his movie as a baby sitter!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Better Game Out There

posted by DoggEStyle (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

First off this game has voice overs from Vin "The Man" Diesel and Xzibit himself..The game starts you off before Pitch black..You are caught by Johns and taken to a 3 security max prison the toughest in the galaxy Butcher Bay..You have to fight,kill and bribe your way through all 3 security levels..There's wepons galore but they are DNA encoded so you have to figure out how to input your DNA so you can use the guns.But there are shivs,clubs and other hand held wepons till you figure out how to use the DNA ecoded wepons.And if all else fails there are your bare hands.you can punch and snap necks..There are reversals you can perform on enemies so the blow off their own heads or stab themselves.Enemies range from guards to Giant robot guards with minute guns to creatures that live in the darkest depths of the prison..Everybody talks about Halo this Halo that but Riddick makes Halo seem like candy land..There are also prison side missions in the game..Prisoners will give you items for doing some dirty work for them..Plus you can build up your money by playing prison craps or joining the prison fight club..The graffics are top notch..Vin looks like vin..The prison is grimmy and nasty bugs are crawling all over the walls..best looking game in awhile..If you play this GREAT FPS you wont be dissapointed..GREAT game and the most violent game you'll ever play.At the end you feel lie how did you ever live withpout this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not very stealthy

posted by nix14085 (BELLEVUE, PA) May 31, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

this game was pretty good. I liked the storyline and the graphics. the gameplay wasn't bad, but the stealth abilities really let me down. unless your completely in the shadows at all times its next to impossible to stealth kill anyone. Maybe thats just because im a metal gear player. other than that not a bad game tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good but not great

posted by jumppack (DAVISVILLE, WV) May 20, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

Although the game has very good graphics and speed ,,it lacks in direction .I found myself feeling a little lost and some of the side mission were a little repetitive and tedious.

It did ,however have a good story and the story is what kept me playing through to the end.Speaking of the end it doesnt take very long to get there.
Overall good .....but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »