Rent The Bureau: XCOM Declassified for PS3
view large frontback

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

390 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but different

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Aug 20, 2013

Member since May 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has a very different feel from the original enemy unknown, that is not a bad thing. This game plays like a cross of mass effect 3 and xcom. This is a nice change of pace, you always feel like you are in control. this is a nice change for the fan of xcom that never was able to play hardcore mode. comparing this to enemy unknown is not a fair assessment, it is like comparing halo wars to halo, it is a different kind of game all together, this game is worth a rent for anyone that likes shooters and action games with a tactical side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

B-rated Mass Effect

posted by Reks (FRESNO, CA) Aug 29, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If Mass Effect is AAA, then The Bureau can be considered a B-game copy. Game is okay, but your AI companions are completely worthless. Played the game on the highest difficulty, and only got to the first part of the game where you can choose the minor missions. A lot of people complained about Sheva from RE5, and if you hated her, you will more than likely hate your squad mates even more in this game. Most of the time I positioned them as far as I could off the battlefield.

Other than that the game is your basic Mass Effect clone. Dialogue trees, Squad commands via a wheel, and I swear Lift is a straight rip from Mass Effect itself. The story (as far as I got) is your basic "we were invaded... why?" story line. Then you just shoot everything in sight... run to the next area... do it again... and then boss fight. Return to base, dialogue, upgrade if you have too... and swap out squad mates if you have to as well.

If you're a fan of XCom, rent. If you're in to third person shooters, rent. Other than that... PASS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The aliens can have this...

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Let's get one thing straight, this is not an XCOM game. There is no research, no base building, no strategy, nothing that made the XCOM games great. This is just bland Mass Effect-ish clone that falls short in every aspect. The story is the same old sci-fi alien invasion plot you've seen a million times. The characters were either bland or jerks I didn't care about. At its best the gameplay is merely boiler plate average...at worst it is controller throwing terrible. Combat is only challenging because your allies are worthless and constantly getting themselves killed and various bad game design. Most of the game is like a duller more shallow Mass Effect, with a hub area where you choose the next mission, dialog wheel system, etc. The game is buggy too with enemy attacks passing through walls and characters floating for a split second while climbing over cover. Honestly i can't recommend this even as a rental, there are just too many games that are more worth your time. If you want XCOM and strategy play Enemy Unknown, if you want third person squad shooter play Mass Effect. Don't bother playing this. Really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not your father's xcom!

posted by vinceram (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

Although unlike the XCOM we know and love, this game was very satisfying in many aspects. the first person interface along with the battle management controls offer a very Mass Effectesque feel.

My only gripe is the feeling of being rushed towards the main event. I would have preferred more side missions. Additionally, the publisher seems to have had a difficult time deciding when, where and how the game should've ended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

XCOM. The Bureau.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since May 2012

I am not sure where to start on this game. For it being released in 2013, and by 2K, it was pretty disappointing. The graphics were mediocre, the sound was mediocre, the story was predictable. The game play wasn't bad, but wasn't good. It is really neat that you can have authority over squad mates. You can make 8 agents, 2 of each type, and have the opportunity to get even more agents. You can create agents to play to your style. I found I only used the same two agents then entire game. I didn't think the game was difficult or challenging in any way to need to swap out agents, which you can in the middle of every mission. Each agent can get to level 5, which is accomplished very easily. They get new abilities, but there should have been even more room for you, and your agents to improve. I found it disappointing that when leveling up, I was not looking forward to choosing a new ability. You only get to choose between two different abilities when you level up, and once you chose one, you CANNOT chose the other one, ever! The developers could have simply made it so you get to spend a point on ANY of the unlocked skills, so if you wanted two level three skills, you could. It was fun to play in the 50s, and with the aliens was cool. The story wasn't compelling and the characters were weakly written. There is no connection between the main character or any side/story character. Fun for a rent, not so much for a $60 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Is A Great Game

posted by djaidyn (BENTON, TN) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2006

I honestly can't figure out why this isn't as highly rated as Mass Effect. It's almost the exact same game. If you set Mass Effect in the 40's-50's and made it super campy it would be this game. I had a blast with it until the very end. The part I thought should have been the ending wasn't, and it kept going a little too long, but I pushed through though and was very satisfied. I loved this game as much as Mass Effect so I'm rating it the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OK Game

posted by Wrekoj (MACOMB, MI) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Alright game, controls could use a bit more work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Far From Enemy Unknown.

posted by Darth_KiLL (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

My main gripe with this game is that it failed to deliver on the XCOM experience I enjoyed so much in Enemy Unknown. Even as a third person tactical, it lacks polish and feels clunky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring, buggy, and all around bad

posted by Purgatori (AURORA, CO) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

This game has some pretty bad bugs. The clipping was terrible, to the point where grenades were able to kill you even when they're on the other side of the wall. The friendly A.I. is atrocious. It's even worse than the A.I. in the first Mass Effect game. Yeah it's that bad. The story was also lacking, and quite boring as well. XCOM Enemy Unknown was fantastic, but this game doesn't even deserve to use the XCOM name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not like the first one

posted by angilif27 (DENVER, CO) Sep 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The first XCOM had its high points and its low points. Overall, it was a good attempt, a very playable game, and had enjoyment factors to it. This one took a HUGE step back. Don't care about the characters, very unnecessary gameplay, and I think it tried to be a lot like Mass Effect 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but lacking in some aspects

posted by Magicman88 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Its fun, just feels too linear and has clunky controls at times.

Entertaining game just feels like it needed a heaping helping of details to make it great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sometimes fun...Sometimes none

posted by StayFrsty7 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

This game is mostly fun and worth a rent. The story isn't groundbreaking and the graphics aren't anything special but at times I genuinely had fun playing this game.

The good:
Once you get the combat down some scenarios can be rewarding by tactically maneuvering your team into advantageous positions in order to win a fight.

The class system really lets you customize your party and which abilities you want to take with you into battle.

If you've played the mass effect series then you're already familiar with the battle system. This isn't necessarily a bad thing as it adds a tactical element to combat.

The bad:
The weapons in the game are a little disappointing. Most guns have an "alien" version which uses energy clips (like mass effect) instead of bullets and seem more powerful. Of course there are no detailed description that displays which guns are more powerful than others.

The enemy types are the same basically throughout the entire game. There are a few heavy enemies but outside of that they never introduce anything new other than adding armor or shields (again mass effect).

Summary:
Overall the game seems to lack polish. Just walking around seemed clunky and certain control aspects just seemed odd, like the inability to sprint while in the HQ building. The game can be finished in around 8 hours and will scratch the itch if you don't have much else to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls and aiming are horrible

posted by skyblueballykid (TULSA, OK) Sep 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I tried to like this game. I will go back to the old 90's top down xcom game. The brand has let me down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

why?

posted by mychaeldean (LAWNDALE, CA) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

real bummer, all they had to do was add improvements to the last one. it was awesome and different.
Not that it's bad, just not xcom:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

resistance 2 + xcom?

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Aug 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

The story reminded me of the resistance 2 story with the control ms3 end.
also mass effects story began showing simularities with resistance 2 on me2 and again on me3 where you become a host.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't expect XCOM and you will have fun

posted by tyrol (WEST FARGO, ND) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

The only thing that this game has in common with XCOM games present and past is the title.
That aside, it is a tactical 3rd person shooter with mechanics that borrow from the Mass Effect series and Brothers in Arms games.
You are a part of a 3-man squad that fights against an alien invasion in the 60's America.
The game plays out with the player commanding 2 NPCs into cover and issuing them orders, while the player usually flanks the enemy. The strategy of the battles is well designed, with cover systems utilized by both the team and the enemy.

Overall, a strong 7. It's a decent tactical shooter but I think attaching the XCOM name to it created higher expectations with the reviewers. Forget about XCOM and you will have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

anther mediocrity shooting game...

posted by hanspx (RICHMOND, ME) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I enjoyed the first XCOM game. It was different, fun, and had lots of potential. I expected this game to be upgraded version of the last game. But it seems like 2K turned the game into another mediocrity shooting game.The game is not turn based anymore and it's real time with ability to commend NPCs just like many other FPS out there..
I wish they kept the turn based strategy and added new features..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »