Rent The Bureau: XCOM Declassified for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

556 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Needed more work...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 23, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is numerous problems in the game... Graphics are pretty bland and could have been refined. The gameplay gets pretty repetitive after a while and it really gets dull after the first level.

You play as William Carter a CIA agent that has been chosen by a government division that does not exist to the public: Xcom.
William Carter has been given the duties as a field agent that endeavors tasks into an alien invader that is trying to attack and control Earth.

The story is very clever and classic but it breaks its cohesiveness... They say the public doesn't know about the alien invasions, but the aliens are jamming signals and terra forming the planet, which makes the whole, "Not telling the public" , sense-less . Now if it was smaller instances and aliens were NOT actively flying around and terra forming .. It would be pliable but with tearing massive chunks of land... Creating massive floating monoliths that float.. Everyone would see and run off telling everyone else.

The tiny maps are annoying also... They place you in towns and in open areas, but its not at all open ... You are constantly in a pinched area and it makes the gameplay a chore and repetitive.

The idea of the game is good though and it is fun... There should have been multiplayer.. An they should have outfitted the commander differently -- Having different perk abilities - It looked like this was an idea in one point -- Because they give you a option to outfit abilities and perks, BUT you have no control or ability to change the perks.

IT could have been a 10 if they would have added better graphics and edited the story a lot more. Other then that its an very good game but has some rough parts that you will notices right-away. Most important though it is fun and interesting story. They did put a lot of detail into characters and that era's retro perspection on things. 2k sure likes the 50s era.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by TheMissingCard (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Oct 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall a good game. Not the best FPS, story, or gameplay. Some elements of the command interface were a little tricky and difficult; however, it was a fun play through. Little replay value and awkward gameplay kept this from being a great game, more then worth the weeks rental to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Impressed

posted by Mbus489 (OVID, NY) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I was not impressed, The Bureau is just another lackluster shooter with poor story line that made me skip the cut scenes more often then not. I have played many shooters and this one kept my attention for less then an hour before I sent i back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than expected!

posted by electrixynapse (MISSOULA, MT) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

I read a few reviews before I played, and I assumed I would be disappointed. Fortunately, after I started playing I realized how fun the missions were and how unique the play was from other games Ive played! You have a lot of control with the directives, and each of your agents have unique abilities that increase with level. The game has the feel of fallout 3 and fallout new vegas which made me like it more. Overall, I feel this game doesn't get the credit it deserves! The graphics are amazing, and although people have said the story is lame, if you actually listen and don't skip cutscenes, the story is actually very existential. As an adult gamer, I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

plays like a long demo

posted by neverwhere (EMERYVILLE, CA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

the bureau is a good third person tactical shooter with a squad based tactics. However it lacks polish and a whole of lot of loose pieces left lying around that indicate that it was rushed out and assets were left in that want you to believe that the game had a lot more going for it than we got. a lot of news articles and collectibles lying around to flesh out a world that increase the game time from the 5hrs it takes to finish the main storyline. no replay value beyond a single dlc pack and a play through on the highest difficulty.
In summary an unpolished gem that needs a bit more work that would have made it amazing and more immersive. out shone by it's namesake in x-com enemy unknown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Let down

posted by detjim (TAYLOR, MI) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

This game feels more like Halo than xcom. I'm sending it right back 'cause I an the only person on earth who does not like Halo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the bureau

posted by wwhite737 (ROANOKE, VA) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

game was very slow, it froze up on me 3 times and I lost ground each time I had to restart game. I checked the other game I own to make sure it was not my xbox or the internet connection and it was not. I have returned the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slow, boring, and misrepresented commercially.

posted by KrimsonKoukatsu (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

It started off quite slow, the story is lacking, and while the idea to make it a top-down strategy and third person shooter was interesting, it didn't pan out well. I'm sure there are some people who would get really into this game, but after playing the first mission all the way through, I'm decidedly not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not good

posted by JayCruz11 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I don't like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad but needs work

posted by killkilla (CANTON, MI) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

The idea isn't a bad one and if put through a little more refinement it would be a massive success, but it didn't get it so it wasn't. Their are tons of glitches and sinkholes, the combat wasn't all that special and if you don't pay real close attention the story will go right over your head after one point with #spoiler# you finding out your not human #end of spoiler# but over all its not bad and i hope they retry making another XCOM game like this but of higher quality

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fizzled out

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Oct 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

Hello, When I first started playing this game, I thought this is going to be neat, I thought it really had some promise. But as I played further into it, the heal wheel ( If you will, I call it this because, that is how I had to use it every time I turned around ) or combat wheel, use the wheel to select targeting or healing, etc.. I continued to play until the heal wheel took it,s toll on me and I said enough and sent it back. Also it was very heavy on the story and light on the combat. Loved the nostalgic approach to time era used in this game. And the weapons were cool enough too. Like always takes Game-Fly for rental chance, Billy in Samson, See Ya!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Bureau

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Oct 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The Bureau is a decent game, but outside of the aesthetic has little in common with it's X-Com namesake. This is a fairly generic cover based 3rd person shooter, think of a mix between Mass Effect and Gears of War and you're on the right track. The story is so-so, but the main character is an unlikable fellow so it's hard to form any sort of attachment. It took around 6-8 hours for me to run through the storyline, but completionists could probably squeeze out another 3 hours or so doing side missions, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Avoid!

posted by Turdule (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

I'll be honest and say that I DID NOT beat this game. BUT I played for a good 3 or 4 hours which was equivalent to a number of missions and was far enough into the game to see no more cool stuff was coming my way (except new weapons/upgrades). If you have played Mass Effect avoid this game at all costs! This game is set up to be a first person RPG like Mass Effect but unlike Mass Effect it doesn't work. Weapons were pretty lame, character dialogue/acting was poor, and graphics are sub par. Your character has 2 speeds: walk or jog. Walking takes forever and the jogging takes a few seconds to kick in and even then you aren't moving much faster. To make things worse when you are jogging the camera controls are a little different so I found myself running into walls often. You roll with 2 AI people in your party and they are STUPID!! They constantly get in the way and any time I tried to sneak somewhere to get better cover I turn around to see my AI "ally" standing out in the open and seconds later the aliens are alerted and start shooting at me. And anytime you see a grenade thrown at you expect you allies to get hit because they always do. I even watched one escape the blast radius just to run back into the radius at the last second to get killed. Plot was interesting and I wish I could have seen how things ended but with incompetent allies and the rising difficulty of the enemy AI I could see myself getting frustrated and hating life if I kept going. If you haven't played Mass Effect I say you give this a shot and if there is anything you like about the game, go and get Mass Effect and experience what this game could have been like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Big improvement from XCOM :Enemy Unknown

posted by Cookies42Nite (STOCKTON, CA) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Fun game, I'm towards the end and it is really weird right now.
But still, a very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game from out of nowhere

posted by Bigbad (SARASOTA, FL) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

If you like Mass Effect get this. Or just try it, it is a beautiful game. One review said it was bland and the graphics poor. Some of the maps and settings are right up there with Halo 4. He must of had vision issues. Leveling up is fun and the new abilities you and your team get are fun. I was surprised at how good the game was. Great look and sound. The music is very well done too. I did the whole game in 2 days . Not too long but not short enough to feel like a waste. A+ from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.

posted by onb0ardruid (PLYMOUTH, MI) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I really wanted to like this game, but I couldn't. It just seemed repetitive and unoriginal. The game is like Mass Effect with Improved combat, but the story isn't as good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not really Xcom But fun

posted by prunk09 (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Being a big fan of XCOM Enemy Unknown. i was really excited for this game.
With that being said. this didnt really feel like XCOM. Yes you control your squad set up ambushes and flank your enemy. but in a live action way. Much like Mass Effect you are controlling your squad through a hub and kinda like Fallout you have a hit percentage way of setting up your moves. But the battles do often become very intense and keep it from feeling repetitive.
Every battle requires different strategies and use of cover to move on to the next battle. The only real issue i have with the gameplay is that you have a main character that just cant die. Unlike previous XCOM Games you had your squad and if they died they would be permadead. If your character dies. then you restart at a checkpoint. and usually if my squad mates do go down and i cant revive them im not going to make it to the next checkpoint anyway.

It has a well done 1960s look throughout the game. and several well done maps and areas to play through. however the problem through UDK games is often really repetitive hallways and textures throughout the entire game.

The Music and the voice acting in the game are a real hit to me. The characters are all very bland and at some point i just had to hit mute on my tv cause i coudlnt stand listening to the same "Eery repetitive loops" during missions.

But Overall XCOMis a fun game with some replay value. The Story is a bit odd.. and doesnt really match up to what we've seen in previous games. but overall there are at least 4 endings (From what i can tell) i beat the game once already. plan on playing through a few more times. if u like Tactical shooters then you'll enjoy this. Just dont think of it as XCOM though.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »