Rent The Bigs for Wii
view large frontback

The Bigs

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

1481 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game! Must Buy!

posted by Wiiman09 (FLORA, IL) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

~Gameplay: 9
After a few minutes of learning the motions of the game you'll be taking the Rookie Challenge and showin what you got in the majors. The gameplay is EXCELLENT in this game, everything works as smooth as a babies bottom. The only thing that doesn't work so good is the click a flick motion to throw it to the base at which you wish to throw it to(you click A and then fling the wiimote to the desired base(flick right = first, flick up = second, etc.) but with the simple use of the D-pad instead allows you to save yourself from strangling anyone around you.

----------

~Graphics: 9
The Bigs currently has the best graphics I've seen so far for a Wii game. It really captures great detail, from facial expressions to the brutal collisions at home plate 2K sports really made this game worth looking at.

----------

~Sound: 7
I only gave this a 7 because of the depressing sounds during the "Power Blast" feature in the game. It sounds like wind is whistling through a deserted town, and to top it off the entire screen turns blue adding to the little "blue" feeling it makes you, but once you blast it into the foul pole it makes it worth it. Other than that the audio is great.

----------

~Multiplayer: 10
What baseball game isn't great to play with your family and friends? This game is guaranteed to give you hours of fun playing with your closest companions.

----------

~Overall: 9
This is just an overall awesome game. Baseball fan or not you will really enjoy playing The Bigs. It is definitely a MUST rent, and pretty much plan on clicking the "Keep It' button because you will be hooked in no time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game...

posted by tvwebguy (Mentone, CA) Jul 3, 2007

Member since May 2007

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Wii titles yet, especially if your a baseball fan. The graphics are very good. The only weird thing is that the players eyes look a bit hollow. Kind of zombie like, but, no big deal. The game play is great. Their is a bit of a learning curve, but, the game play makes up for it.

Their are a lot of nice aspects to this game. Up to four players can play, making it a great game for a party or with friends. I'll be teaching this game to my kids which will make The Bigs a great family game as well.

This game is defiantly worth a rent, and if you love baseball, you might as well keep it. You'll be hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bigs, best 2 on 2 Baseball game ever

posted by natesmith (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Bigs really surprised me. I was really expecting a lot of the same stuff you get from other baseball games, but when me and 3 of my friends started playing, we found the Bigs to be best 2 on 2 baseball game we'd ever played. With one player controlling the runner while the other batted, we found ourselves giving each other signals when we wanted to steal or execute a suicide squeeze. And the added element of the big play meter gives the game an extra level of strategery. The Bigs has my vote for best Baseball video game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best baseball game ever.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game is schweet. They have like a "rookie" single player mode. Where you start out as a rookie and you have to make a name for yourself in the bigs. It's pretty creative. The controls are awesome, the graphics are awesome, and so is the soundtrack. This game is a definite rent and probably even a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Bigs

posted by razoredge (WAVERLY, TN) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The bigs for the Wii is a core version of the 360, but it still holds firm in its own way. There should be more special effects for an arcade version of a baseball game, like celebrations with the team after hitting a home run or grand slam. The hard hitting homeruns only hit three different places, either on the foul poles or the center field big screen. The game is challenging and the rookie mode is where the game shines. Over all, it is a buy and I am looking forward to a bigger better version for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not impressive, no in depth franchise or gameplay

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game really dissapointed me. i thought that the gameplay would be better, and there would be a better franchise mode. it turns out there isnt even a franchise mode.
the good point of this game is that its pretty fun for multiplayer. but when playing by yourself, the computer does all these impossible catches. when you accumulate points by doing nice plays, you can do impossibe pitches and catches and homeruns every time you make contact, but the game is not that fun unless youre playing with someone else.
the graphics actually look pretty good, but the movements of the players are really bad. and the announcing is one of the worst i have ever seen.
gameplay: i still dont know how to pitch a variety of the pitches. its really confusing to learn how to pitch at first, and then once you do that, some of the pitches are like impossible to do, even if you twist the wii remote in the correct way shown on the screen. my friend agreed.
different modes: the only mode in this game is rookie challenge, where you create a rookie and have good performances. having good performances causes you to get more points to improve how good you are and your player rating. however, this is not an interesting mode, and you will quickly stop playing it.
there is not even a season mode, which is really dissapointing.
bottom line: may be good to play with a few friends, but even then, this game lacks fun material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game for more expirenced players

posted by progamer8 (WEST HARRISON, IN) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very complex. Pitches were confusing to use and hit. VERY difficult game. I do not reccomed this game to younger people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Impossible to play

posted by TMike22 (LITTLETON, CO) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think the developers or programmers (or whoever) forgot that the wii-mote has a directional pad on it, which is perfect for a baseball game. Every time I tried to throw the ball to a base, the player would throw home. Unless you are standing, or sitting, in the absolute perfect place (the sweet spot) in the center of the TV, the wii-mote is useless. When you finally find this sweet spot, the computer's AI is so good (even on the Easy setting) you will find it hard to play. I hit two balls that should have been home runs, but the computer managed to jump 15 feet in the air, after climbing a 10 foot wall, and catch them, both times.

There is also no auto-fielding so you have to run the player to the ball after a hit. It takes a few seconds to realize which way the ball is going, then you have to look around and see which random player the game has assigned to you. Then when you finally get the ball, you always throw it to home, anyway. Good luck trying to pull off any of the sweet moves the computer AI can. Supposedly you can jump for a ball (as the computer AI and the tutorial have demonstrated) but every time I tried it, my guy would slide at the ball feet first. I would always shout, "You're a fielder, not a base runner!" Very frustrating.

A friend and I tried playing multi-player, but that is just as impossible to play. Both players can't stand in the sweet spot, so one player's wii-mote will be useless during the play. We only played the game a total of 40 minutes, and that includes trying to get the game started in the first place (there was a scratch on the one we got and the Wii wouldn't load it).

Don't rent this. Wait for a better baseball game to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Game (6.3 / 10)

posted by DarkLarva (SOUTHINGTON, CT) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview: The BIGS for the Wii is a decent game, definately worth at least a rental. The pitching/hitting controls are innovative and make the game much more immersive. The sound is done nicely, the music isn't the best (but music doesn't really matter in a sports game anyway). The graphics are simply "OK", a lot could have been done to improve them. Single player mode will get repative after awhile but multiplayer can be quite some fun if you have a friend to play with.

Scoring Template: Sports Game
Gameplay [1.25/2.5]
-Limited single player modes, no season play!
-Create a Rookie mode (single player) is more focused on mini-games.
-No action replays!
+You can create your own players and edit rosters.
+Arcade style makes for interesting game play. Features "Matrix-Style Bullet Time" on many plays.
+The BIGPLAY meter gives you the option to make your pitches nearly unhittable, or your hits a garunteed homerun. Depending on how well you play, the BIGPLAY meter fills up faster rewarding skill.


Controls [1.33/2]
+Excellent use of the Wii remote for pitching!
+Excellent use of the Wii remote for hitting!
-Terrible use of the Wii remote for fielding/baseruning.


Graphics [1/2]
-Character models rarely look like the actual player.
oSpecial Effects, the crowd, and the weather effects are simply "O.K".
+The Stadiums at least look decent, though could be better.


Sound [1/1]
+Good use of the Wii remote's sound function.
+Annoucners are good and thankfully are not really annoying.


Music [.25/.5]
oJust an average music selection


Multiplayer [1/1]
+If you have another player who knows how to play, Multiplayer can be a lot of fun.
+BIGPLAY meter really can make multiplayer games intense and interesting.


Replay Value [.5/1]
+Great if you have a person to play multiplayer with!
-Single player mode gets boring fairly quickly.


Total Score: 6.33
Grade: C+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by PSHSsucks (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

grapics:ok controls:big learnin curve but stick with it and you we be playin like a pro in no time. (almost) great start for a real baseball game on wii could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible interaction...

posted by coop1220 (CLAYTON, NC) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst so far for "interaction". We could not get the players to pitch, consistently, so it was EXTREMELY frustrating to "try" to play. I say "try" because we gave up after about 40 minutes, the 2nd time we used the tutorial.

I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by avemke (BEATRICE, NE) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think it is fun. It is hard at first but you get the hang of it. I don't get on the Wii why they have you press "A" and then throw to the base by moving it in the direction of the base, sometimes it throws to the wrong base and you could of had an out but you didn't. I think they should put it so you press the base you want to throw to on the directional pad, (like up for second) and throw like you are pitching but other than that it is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the big one

posted by jasjas (REVERE, MA) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it not like a real real baseballgame but it close enough at first it might seem hard you might lose few game but after that it very easy it also fun you could play it for hours without getting bored the challenge on rookie mode are fun to you will love it if your playing on the wii and you like sport games my favorite part is when you get power up for batting if you hit it it is HOME RUN=]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful, awful game

posted by tkenm356 (MOBILE, AL) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game had very unresponsive controls to the Wii Remote, as I had to press the A and B buttons several times before the pitcher would actually pitch. The swings lagged, controls would do other things that they weren't suppose to do (i.e. throw to home when you try to throw to first or throw a fastball when you're trying ot throw a slider). The controls are absolutely horrendous.

The graphics are even worse. I know the argument of the Wii having slightly better graphics than the Gamecube, but these graphics weren't even Gamecube worthy, they look like they belong on an N64 or PS1. I'm a huge baseball fan, and an even bigger baseball game fan. This game is one of the worst baseball games I've ever played. It wasn't fun, it was one of the most frustrating games I've ever played, and I spent about an hour playing it before realizing I was wasting my time and I put it right back in the envelope and sent it back. I'd rather umpire a tee-ball game through to the 9th inning being played by snails than play this game ever again.

The Wii Sports baseball trumps this game by leaps and bounds. I hate, hate, hate, hate this game. I can only hope the other systems have a much better product. If you want an arcade baseball experience, go rent the last edition MLB Slugfest for the PS2, or go buy an old SNES and get the original Ken Griffey, Jr. Baseball. This is a joke

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad

posted by tnnsjunkie (OAKHAM, MA) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

It was very hard game. didn't make tell all directions. don't rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game

posted by CaliDaKidd (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was actually a lot better than I expected. I recently became a baseball fan and probably the only thing I wasn't happy with about this game is that you can't play a full season with your team. It's only exhibition games. Although the Rookie Challenge mode was great. Great starter game for non-experienced baseball fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

posted by brentwood (BRENTWOOD, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!

posted by 64goe5 (NARRAGANSETT, RI) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

it says it has great diving catches but it relly doesn't. it says it has easy controls but not really. :<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Biggs...er....

posted by Sethafer (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I'm a little parital to the old 2005 EA Sports MVP baseball game, the one with Manny on the cover, so I wasn't completely thrilled with this game, though it was entertaining.

The only feature of the game that kept me interested was the build your own Rookie feature, which was really the only feature the game had. Yes, you could play a single game and there was a Home Run Derby, but you weren't able to play an entire season for a championship or anything like that.

An the first time one of the players jumped 10 feet into the air and caught a ball that was clearly being hit out of the park, I put up my hands and called "Done".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

High Hopes but Disappointed

posted by Jerallie (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I went into this game hoping that it would deliver. When I bought the Wii, I was hoping that I would find a baseball game that could really utilize the remote in a realistic way. This game was better than some, but not very good. You have to have the nun chuck connected, so you can swing with both hands like on Wii sports. The pitching is a pain in the butt. I wanted something that would be just a bit more complex than Wii sports, but this was just annoying. You have to aim with the nun chuck and then flip your wrist but push the button just in time to be accurate or the computer just slams them out each time. I found the fielding a pain too. Maybe a game will come along that will blend some more complex baseball with the ease of Wii sports. This is not it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is awesome

posted by Highlifeis (HILLIARD, OH) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

For all the people that said the controls were unresponsive, you were trying to mimic baseball to much, you swing a lot earlier than wii sports.
the only thing to change is being able to upgrade the whole team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Bigs

posted by stlthe25 (GARDNER, KS) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I am a kid. This game was very hard when I first got it.I went online and got some tips then it was a lot easier.If I had played it a little more I probably had been a pro. When you swing the wii remote you'll need to swing early that is about all that I really didn't like about The bigs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Bigs

posted by Reviewman9 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is not as fun a the more recent games, but if you are looking for an exciting rookie challenge mode, this is the right game for you. The graphics are pretty bad, but it is made up for with the home run derby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"Welcome to the BIGS!"

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

"Welcome to the Bigs." More like, Welcome to the most over-used comment in video game history; It's really repetitive and annoying similar to being 24 yrs old and playing an old school NES game again. The music stinks. Enough said.

If you pick up this game and enjoy it as much as I did, you will no doubt have the same sore arm and wrist as I did too...for about a week. It's intense but fun don't over do it. Seriously!

The career mode in which you get to create a rookie and dominate the league is REALLy fun and takes a long time to complete. You will get a lot of play out of this game.

If you're looking for a great baseball game for Wii that uses motion sensor, but not TOO much, like some games do (ruining the game), than this is your pick for Wii.

The only downside is that during some 9 inning games (torn bicep), I found myself beating the computer 35-8. It's far too easy to smack double after double after triple after homerun. Obviously they threw the realistic factor right out the window and replaced it with FUN!

This could be the only game where you might need Tommy John surgery after the season is over. No joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Considering to buy it.

posted by tonym130 (Alexandria, VA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

To tell you the truth, I'm not that much a fan of sports video games. I got his game on request of a friend. The first 5 minutes that I played it, I hated it. It took me a while to get used to the control, but I got the hang of them. The game is truly interactive. It grabs a hold of you and captivated your attention. A great game to play with the fellas. A definite jump from playing Wii Sports. I really thought twice about putting it back in the mail. But I've decided that I will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse