Rent The Bigs for PS3
view large frontback

The Bigs

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

832 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An interesting twist on a sports title

posted by hawk3434 (IOWA CITY, IA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game gives players a fast pace baseball game with some twists to create more exciting game play. It can be enjoyed by a baseball purist, but the target audience would be more of the casual baseball fan or gamers who are not very big into sports games.

There is a Rookie challenge that is fun to play through and gives several different challenges rather then just winning a game. Although the Rookie Challenge is a great season-esc mode it seems to lack completeness.

They include a twist on home run derby along with the classical game and it is addicting. Rather then having a curtain number of balls to hit home runs you have 3 strikes. For each miss you get a strike and when you have 3 you are done. Along with this you are not hitting home runs, but rather standing in, I believe, Time Square trying to hit things for points.

This game is definitely worth a rental and possibly a buy. I know I will be adding this to my collection because of the great game play it has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by justin132 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a slugfest way of playing. The way u play is rough and people who like sports would love this game. Its the ultimate sport game. Theres no punching but theres a lot of hitting the ball hard at the pitchers head and it goes into the stands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great... but repetative

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

So, I love baseball games. I love MLB 07, but the idea of nba/nfl street meets mlb slugfest sounded cool enough while i waited for ncaa and madden. I was very surprised with how cool it was. I am almost through with the rookie season and I have had a blast. The cut scenes can be a little repetative on easy, but as you move it up, you find yourself doing less of the same thing and just getting it done any way possible.
If you like baseball, it's cool. Maybe if you like baseball, but are not a fan of the lengthy slow process of it you might like this game even more. As it is fast paced and the games are almost all cut to 5 innings. If you like NBA Street (and I say NBA rather than NFL because the repetitiveness is similar to The Bigs) and you like Slugfest's concept, then you will love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of 2K's best sports games

posted by Sean101 (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is basically baseball on steroids. The baseball players are realer then life. It's just what you would dream about if your favorite baseball player was a super hero. The graphics are amazing, and the stadium detail is life like. What is a lot of fun, is you have this Power Bar, which once you fill up (after making amazing grabs, strikeouts, sweet double plays) lest you go all out. It doesn't matter if your the pitcher, or the batter you can use this mode. It your a hitter you can CRUSH the ball into the TV Screens, or the foul polls. If your the pitcher, then you can have blistering fastballs which can go up to 115 m.p.h. But it really gets interesting when the hitter and the pitcher are both engaged in this mode. I also love the game mode, pinball which places you in downtown Times Square where you get to pick any player off any team and hit the ball into basically anything you want to. Anyone can play this game with it's simple game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Bigs

posted by cutter193 (CANTRALL, IL) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game! The graphics are pretty darn good. Basically this game is like NBA Jam but of course as a baseball game. One game play option is the rookie challange. Basically build up your players skills through completing 5 inning games, senerio challenges, and stat challenges. Impressive features include power swing and power pitch. On the power swing, lets just say you hit anything out of the park. And on the pitcher power, basically you are going to blow every pitch by the compition! And the last plus side of the game is the Pinball Homerun game. Lets just say you are downtown at Times Square with all the pretty lights, and you get to destroy everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Besides the Turbos AND power ups, the game is bad

posted by ps3guy (KATY, TX) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Besides the power ups, the bigs fails to deliver true arcade experience. The rookie challenge is incomplete and no functioning seasson or franchise mode adds insult to injury. The only good thing is that the players look like a super buff Barry Bonds!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

modern diamond

posted by sabintz (MOUNTAIN HOME, NC) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

baseball is one sport game that has not evolved well. like many others, baseball games are too much of a simulator/celebrity/franchise impersonator than a game.

...until The Bigs

this is no Tecmo Baseball or Super Baseball 2020, but maybe as good as you're going to get as far as next gen console gaming.

The Bigs pushes the envelope of arcade style sports, (Bigs 2 pushes even more/too much) and gives you an NFL Blitz style experience that is about as quick and visceral as the hand-eye coordination will handle.

There is pretty big learning curve (esp. Bigs 2), and you will notice the interface is very responsive and active. Not a lot of waiting around, and you can skip the intros to players/innings. You can also shut off commentary and music for a raw stadium ambience.

4 player live offline play, and enough bells and whistles to keep you in the game for the shortened inning length (default 5 inning total).

this game is a great 15-30 minute bit of sports immersion, for those who don't spend hours on the tv.

8/10 means play ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by cocacola4866 (MENTOR, OH) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is the most addictivegame i have played yet on my ps3 console it by far beats its sequel in everything but graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Bigs For Playstation 3

posted by Homers (STACY, MN) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The Bigs offers a lot of gameplay options, there is story mode, home run derby, home run pin ball, and of course there is play now. I would really recommend The Bigs for a great Buy or just rent. i own the bigs for the Ps3 and i was not dissapointed. the Graphics i will give an 8/10, the overall gameplay ill give a 9/10 and the level of fun i had playing it ill give that a 10/10. The overall game itself would deserve a 4/5, there is now The Bigs 2, That is also really fun. So if you like Arcade Style Baseball I would recommend Picking up the BIGS For the PS3, Thank you i hope you enjoyed reading my Review of the Bigs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yeech!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Gman56 (FORT FAIRFIELD, ME) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

In one word ..................BORING!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Button Masher

posted by clayshan (CARLSBAD, CA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is a button masher with no real way to gauge between what is going to be a strike or a ball so you end up just swinging at everything. a curve ball can start above your head and end up at your knees at the very last moment, with swing time being waaaay too slow to come close to catching up.

The weird thing is there is no real season mode so it's just playing individual games you set up---no real anticipation for accomplishment.

The controls are pretty intuitive and easy to learn, easier than some others anyway. But, if you get behind in the game, the other team gains momentum and you might as well start a new game because you are dead. With no season to even things out it just feels kind of pointless. OK game once you start playing, just not a lot there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The BIGS.....Bad and Worse

posted by Dustyroads (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Ordered "The BIGS" hoping it would be kind of different from some of the other Baseball Games out there. Worse thing I experienced with the game is that it is not based on real play in my opinion. It is more like Fantasy Baseball but one you actually play. The overall game was much worse than I imagined it would be as soon as the game started I knew it was going to be bad. Graphics are low-end and I think the game lacks realism. I do not recommend this game unless you are really, really bored and no other game is avail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is should be on cartoon network

posted by Kozydawg (WAUREGAN, CT) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

The Bigs should reun on cartoon network along with scooby doo. This game is not for you if you like the realize type baseball games. I would rather play real life baseball type games and totally regret getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very disappointing.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Not the best game. This game is almost cartoonish in the way it plays and looks. If you want a true baseball game.. this is not one you want to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worst Baseball game I have ever played

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2002

Horrible controls & Play Control 2K Sports what were you thinking!..You can't even move your character when he's up to bat?.Nope waste of money I bought this game to see what all the hype was and sure enough I got nothing out of it. Don't buy or even rent this game its a waste of your time and effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best

posted by tommygun08 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

this is by far the best baseball game out right now keep it up take two

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for baseball pureists

posted by fgrdods (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

This game has no season or franchise modes. Game play is decent but frustrating. After getting robbed of 3 homeruns in a row by outfielders jumping 20 feet above the fence I gave up. Might be a good game if you like the arcade type but if you want a real baseball game this is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Bigs is a weak arcade baseball game. Rentable!

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 2/10

Graphics: 6/10

Player Models look good, Stadiums look great, Crowd looks bland.

Sound: 4/10

Decent soundtrack; Horrible and Repetitive commentary.

GamePlay: 7/10

Two modes are worth your while, Home Run Pinball and Rookie Mode, where you create a player and try to help your team win the WS. No reason to play regular exhibition games. Gameplay gets boring after a while.

Overall, The Bigs is a weak arcade style baseball game. If you are a hardcore baseball fan, don't buy it. MLB 07: The Show will fill your needs. However if you are just a casual fan, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BEST BASEBALL GAME ON PS3

posted by BRICKS1ST (NEW CASTLE, DE) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Don't be fooled by the edited videos. This isn't some NBA Jams version of a baseball game. It has regular MLB Team-VS-Team mode as any other MLB game on the market. But graphics and ease of play are far better than any other MLB game on PS3.
For more skilled players you can even adjust difficulty of game play. Online play is also absolutely awesome! Two player game play is EXCELLENT, especially the "Home Run Derby" mode! This mode features split screen play, with fast pace, adrenalin rushing, eye crossing, head to head action game play. You'll bust up score boards, see fire work celebrations, hear roaring audiences, cheering you on in this realistic home run pounding mode.
I would say this game is a must have for true sports fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MLB on Juice

posted by VerdugoGam (BRONX, NY) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This game was ok... not to what I expected. The game was pretty boring, the pitching mechanics need a little working on, and the hitting... lets just say that it could be a little more realistic, it was a pinball madness, balls everywhere and pretty difficult. I understand the concept behind the game, not really my type, like more of a realistic feel to the game. I recommend this game to those who like to have fun and just mess around with extremely awesome plays. I do not recommend this game to die hard MLB fans, just kills the whole concept behind the American sport, with hitters having .500 avg who bat about .250 all season long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun arcade style baseball game

posted by matto4141 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Although not nearly as deep as its simulation-style competitors this game is fun, but a bit shallow. The career mode, known as "Rookie Challenge" mode is fun and addicting for a while, but toward the end I found it got a bit mundane.
Pitching and hitting alike are fun and timing-based. The thrill of hitting a 600 foot bomb off of the scoreboard is worth the rent alone.
The baseball-pinball game that takes place in Times Square is also quite fun, with your score being posted online to see where your score stands against the rest of the online community. I gave it a 9/10, which may be a bit generous, but I found the short ride to be very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Bigs

posted by BIGTymer (WINONA, MN) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game rules, its the best game ive ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

......

posted by tripleh1 (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what a dissappointment

posted by Straughn (PLYMPTON, MA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game was hyped beyond belief and it crashed hard. Was not all it was hyped out to be. Game play was horrible. The only game mode i actually enjoyed was the Pinball HR derby that was about it. Otherwise the game was a huge dissappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by XisRAW (CRESTWOOD, IL) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This is a nice arcade style b-ball game. I really enjoyed the gameplay and sound effects. Easy to play. High replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse