Rent The Bigs for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Bigs

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.4

3127 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent ARCADE style baseball!

posted by coltsfantn (MARYVILLE, TN) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For everyone who keeps bashing this game because it isn't real, you need to pay attention. This is an arcade style baseball games. 10 foot jumps off the wall, turbo, and other features of this game are their for arcade style enjoyment.
Basically I love this game. It looks, feels, and controls incredibly well. The graphics are truly incredible, and for the most part, the players look exactly like their real counterparts. The stadiums look incredible too. The controls feel a little funny at first but it is nothing that is too hard to get used to. I would have to say the hardest thing in the game has to be stealing bases. The rookie challenge mode is extremely fun too! Create a player from nothing and build him to be a superstar. I am a sucker for that kind of thing anyways. Here is the basis of my review in a nutshell:
Pros:
Easy to pick up
Incredibly fun
Looks amazing
Fun rookie challenge

Cons:
No franchise mode (why it got a 9)

I truly thought this game was incredible. It was good enough for me in fact that I bought it. Hope this helps you out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Bigs is back

posted by asrabbit91 (JACKSONVILLE, IL) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is just awesome, it feels like mvp 05, and has a great feel, and is really fun. It's nothing like Slugfest or anything like that if you ask me, because it takes a little skill, and everything of the turbo balances each other out, see the pitcher throwing the high heat turbo, just do the big power, and it evens itself out if you hit it it's probably gone, but if you don't it's an easy strike. The scores are also pretty realistic also, mostly 5-3 games ect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a FUN FUN GAME !!

posted by Yomnad84 (STANFORDVILLE, NY) Jul 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me start off saying im not a huge baseball fan but this game is the best that ive played in a long time all the little power boosts and specials. This is a great game just to pick up and start playing A+++ game this is a must rent for all sports fans !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Game Great Achievements

posted by KyJones (MASSILLON, OH) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an arcade style baseball game that is not for your serious stat keepers....Unrealistic homers etc.....BUT THIS GAME WILL INCREASE YOUR GAMER SCORE WITH MANY ACHIEVMENTS.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Novel at first, dull after a few games

posted by Downrunner (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I will start by saying in all fairness, im not a big sports game fan, arcade or sim I do get the occasional football/Baseball urge though considering i am a fan of the actual sports themselves. That being said, I found the bigs to be more often clunky and frustrating than fun, and what your looking for in an arcade sports game....or any game really....is fun. The fielding and Base running are annoying at there very best of times, taking your finger off of the joystick will cause a player to come to a dead stop a foot from the base itself, while this might indicate a certain level of control, it really has no place in an arcade Baseball game. On the other end of the spectrum, it feels like you have to almost break your stick to get a fielder to go in the direction of the ball, fielding is painfully unresponsive. The point i did like best though and stood out to me was the pitching, it's the one point of the game that i actually felt was well handled. The turbo system was neat, but forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but not for long

posted by cbomb1 (VERONA, NJ) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first started to play this game I really enjoyed it but after a week I wanted to throw it out the window. I was simply tired of the same thing over and over again. I completed the rookie mode and then turned to the home run pinball which is a simple game mode in which a pick any hitter and hit balls in the middle of New York City. After three times of the pinball I didn't want to paly it again. I then tried the online mode and it lags horribly. Maybe the next version will have more to keep me entertained. Untill then I would suggest only renting this game and not purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best in its style

posted by mynamebob (LYNN, MA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics are 9
gamplay are 10
the online lags alot but its a good game
if u love slugfest u will love this game if u like 2k7 it the same game but better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love nuts

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What a great way to bring us the great game of baseball, things that are great with this game are as follows: field graphics and stadiums look wonderful, the special moves are really cool looking. The pitching, while a bit hard to use, is set up cool, you have a bar you have to hit in for a good pitch, and you receive points to be used later for strikes, and they receive for balls. hitting is nice, point your guy where you want the ball to go and swing. the season set up is lot of fun as well, and set up well. overall the game is really fun. the only down side is that the player graphics are a bit weak, other than that i truly have no complaints, this game is lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A review of THE BIGS

posted by 235frank (CAMDEN, ME) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All who have played The Bigs know that it is one of the best games ever. It has some very cool modes [like game modes].I hope that whoever is reading my lame game review on an awsome game that you decied to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Your Typical Baseball Game

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am the type of gamer that at least gives a game a chance before I ding it. I've read reviews that compare this to Slugfest. I've read some here that glorify it, and some that do not. I lean into the latter category. I never liked Slugfest, something about the game being juiced just rubs me the wrong way.

The Bigs is an arcade style game. I get it, I do. Yet even Arcade style games have some form of season mode. In this era of sport games, Season & Franchise modes are the norm. Not "should be"...they ARE...PERIOD! Eliminating them, as The Bigs has, automatically takes a hit. I understand there is a difference in Arcade vs Sim games. At least new era Sim games allow you to create an arcade feel with adjustable AI, while still holding close to what Sim means. This game is strictly an Arcade game...period. If that is your cup of tea, who am I to say your wrong. Your the one that has to make the decision, I am merely giving my opinion. The ONLY redeeming part of this game is the Rookie Challenge. There are other modes such as HR Derby and some silly little mini pinball game, you heard me...pinball. It is so insignificant in the game, it's not even worth mentioning here. Once you finish, there is no fan-fare, no high score to beat...nothing. It just shows your score, and just ends.

As for the Rookie Mode, for the first time it truly takes into account and uses the "Create-A-Player" mode in a creative way. Hopefully this can be built upon further and expanded upon in more games. Esentially you create a rookie, place him on a team, go through a season (including Spring Training), and build up your stats through actual play (rather than creating a maxed out player from the get-go). The only draw back is that you cannot create a pitcher. Default games are only 5 innings (but can be changed).

This is as close to a Sim game as it gets. As I said, I just do not like Arcade style games, but some of you out there do...just know before you rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Bigs review

posted by jstaylor (Angleton, TX) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a decent game if you like arcade style games. Some aspects of the game are extremely fantasy. In the end though, the game gets repetitive, especially if it's on an easier difficulty. My advice, once you understand the game, go to a harder level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee- eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeT

posted by TravisLeeG (TULSA, OK) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Finally. You wait a life time expecting the perfect game "For each Genre o'Course" and as far as arcade style Baseball for america to pass time. Ah freakin 10 baby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Rocks!!!!!!

posted by johndo (EDGEWATER, MD) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is the best sports game i have ever played. even if you don't like baseball you'll love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get it now

posted by poux920 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this game is sick you should rent it or purchase the game its sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

troubles with this game.

posted by xbox360freak (PACIFIC, MO) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

when i recieved this game it had a ring around the disc. the game would not play on my xbox360 the scratches were really deep and it sucked because i love this game i rented it from the family video across the street a a long time ago and i rented it a couple weeks before i heard about gamefly and the disc was unreadable so i was mad i suggest that you do not try to get this game!!!!!!!! and i cleaned it like 6 times and it didnt help.!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but

posted by Psicokid (AUSTELL, GA) Jan 21, 2009

Member since May 2008

I liked this game but gamefly let me down on this one. The game was so bad damaged that I could only play one ending than it would freeze or have a big blue and black streak over the batter when i was batting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

voala!

posted by balldude (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

One word, PERFECT. A great game all around, good job creators!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly a great game....

posted by reym0519 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game is truly the best for anyone that enjoys baseball to any extent. It is not your traditional nine inning game. The Biggs is a highly addicting; turbo using, power blast activating, six letter combination home run robbing game that you will never want to stop playing. It is very simple to learn and play so your difficulty level will rise quickly therefore making competition against your friend/opponent much more intense. You can compare it to NFL Blitz in the extent that it gives off a baseball facade yet with some minor changes as I mentioned before. The only flaw to this game is that there is no roster update leaving you with the 2007 lineup and that I have yet to hear of any 2008 edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This games title is Bigger than the quality

posted by jrms526 (VOORHEES, NJ) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

if you like quick arcade type games with not much realistic game play this is for you. Between the simplistic control scheme and 50/50 shot of the AI playing defense games become dull and useless.
i don't recommend this to anyone over the age of 12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Bigs Review

posted by dadkins131 (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) May 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

In short, I enjoyed playing this game for about one week, but easily tired of this game. The reason for this is that the default (Medium) difficulty is way to easy. In fact, I did not lose one game playing rookie challenge, and it got to the point where I beat the computer by an avg of 15 points per game. I decided to switch the difficulty after the all star break to the next level up (hard) and despite my bestest efforts, I could not win a game. This alone dwindled the replay value of game completly. The Online play is hindered, simply due to the fact very, very few people actually own this game.

I did enjoy this game but see it as more of a game to play when friends come over due to the pick up and play arcade style of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and engaging!

posted by BlinkStock (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Always a good idea to make a classic more fun. It is a welcome escape from the MLB08 Etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is a must rental for baseball fans

posted by avalanche (DENVER, CO) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was suprised to see there was no season in this game. I got my first look at this game on xbox live market place. the graphics were great. what got me interested was the pitching and power up's for hitting. once i got the game i was pleasantly suprised by the rookie challenge. they made this game fun, with good graphics, the only thing missing is a full season. it's still the best baseball game that i've played yet. I had so much fun with this i bought the game. It wasn't difficult to pick up like 2k8 was. a must get for all baseball fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Nintendo game..

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Yet another game that would have been better for the Wii instead of the 360.. this game is just too geared towards younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by puchi5924 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

i love this game
i never get tired of playing it
im rent it everytime i feel like playing it imean i got the demo i play it everyday but there is nothing like the real game
thanx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME

posted by JASON8502 (MILTON, KY) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

I USUALLY HATE PLAYING BASEBALL GAMES ON THE X-BOX BECUASE THEY ARE USUALLY SO HARD YOU CAN NEVER WIN. THIS ONE IS THE BEST ONE I HAVE PLAYED. IT GIVES YOU GOALS TO WORK TOWARDS AND IT IS FUN. IT IS NOT HARD TO PLAY AT ALL AND WINNING, WHILE STILL NOT EASY, IS PRETTY FUN TRYING TO DO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse