Rent The Bigs 2 for PS3
view large frontback

The Bigs 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

958 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fast Paced Baseball!

posted by vigormusic (PEPPERELL, MA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge baseball fan, but when you speed it up to the tempo that The Bigs 2 plays at, it's a game that anyone can enjoy. With just a small learning curve(an inning or two), it's readily accessible to anyone who enjoys a casual good time game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Bigs

posted by gam313 (NEWARK, DE) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Bigs turned out to be a really fun and enjoyable experience. It is exciting and engaging, for a sports game. It encompasses all the best attributes of a true baseball game experience with a very unique mix of exciting moments and over the top graphics and plays. It keeps you interested, it is not your usual long and sometimes boring baseball game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by jenifer (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

the best baseball game i ever played.
i wanted a game like street for baseball, and they totally nailed it.
the only baseball game i wont get sick of because of all the action and how it lets u tap the buttons to save the home run.

i say get this game, you wont regret it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Arcade action that's better than the first

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Now this may not be the most accurate way to depict a baseball game, but you cannot doubt that it is fun. While playing The Show for me was great, this just has that arcade feeling to it that makes it worth the time.

Pitching is easy, hold the button, get it over the line, try to stop it at the top.

Batting is fairly easy, aim your swing, time it right, hope for the best.

Even the mini-games while making "Legendary Catches" are simple and fun.

Basically, while the game isn't graphically the best, the gameplay and feel to the game is one where you could see yourself playing it over and over again. If not by yourself, definitely with a friend.

Overall, I like it, I'll play it, but I'll probably only have it until I get bored with it. You can really only hit so many big slam homers into scoreboards before you go, "I'd rather play somethin' else for a while."

An 8 it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and entertaing. The controls are very simple and easy to learn. This game is definatly an arcade baseball game, so dont be expecting realism like MLB the show.

This game overall is really fun. The graphics are good, and the players look real enough. The batting is as easy and as simple as a press of a button. pitching is fun and exciting, but i have the most fun chasing down pop flies and playing the mini games. This game was made well, it is an arcade game, but it wasnt over done and isnt cheesy.

The bad, there isnt to much that stands out. The most frustrating things are the base running and getting out on first when the guy didnt even touch the bag. the baserunning doesnt work the greatest and sometimes your guy can get off the base or keep going when you didnt want him too.

In all this game is great if you like baseball or just like to play with friends. It is a perfect game for casual gamers and controls are simple enough for you to play this game with an 8 year old. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Terrible Controls

posted by jaredlace7 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I sat on this game for hours trying to hit the ball. Ive played baseball games all my life and have never had this difficult of a time making contact. Aside from the terrible controls, this game is pretty good. IF only they would have made hitting the ball easier... after all isnt that the point of an arcade style game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the bigs 2 one thing wrong

posted by killakc (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the only real beef i have with this game is not being able to use my created legend on a team for a season game. it would be nice if they did something like free agents and allowed you to add your created players to a team. other then that tip top. the best baseball game i have ever played by far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

On your shelf within 6 weeks... Or GameStop's.

posted by NewsHound (ROCHESTER, MN) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I came in with low expectations to begin with. I've never been impressed with the 2K baseball series. And I was hoping SOMETHING'S changed.

Don't get me wrong. The Gameplay is one of the easiest so far. Circle for a power swing, X for a contact. Mini games are just as easy. Excellent for someone picking up the game for the first time. Even running the bases is as easy leaning the stick toward the next base. For me a highlight was activating "Big Blast" mode and hitting the building outside Oriole Park's Right field and blowing out all the windows. Kinda neat. And over the top. Just what you're looking for, right?

I run into this problem though. Running the bases becomes more complicated because you can't set the game to "Assisted Sliding" where it will automatically slide on a close play. So either remember to tap X, or you better stay at first on most hits... You will be tagged out. easily.

Another frustrating moment is the lack of variety in the play by play voice track. You WILL hear the same one-liner a couple times in a 9 inning game.

The default rosters are minimal. Providing 3 Starting pitchers, 3 Relievers, and 3 bench guys. Teams like the Yankees have Sabathia, Burnette, and W a n g, as Starters. Pettitte, Chamberlain, and Rivera as relievers.

If you're a Yankees fan, You'll love that Xavier Nady is your Right fielder, Brett Gardner patrols Center, and Damon is in Left. Did I mention just about every Yankees player has a "Legendary" rating for a part of their game? I can understand Jeter having "Legendary" contact. Or Rivera's cutter... Brett Gardner's glove. Its easy to see a guy who's played 130 games in his career deserves that rating. So, that's nice.

But I'm not a Yankees fan.

In fact, I'm a small market fan and, once again, 2K Sports made a game that COMPLETELY overrates specific teams, and underrates others. It almost ignores the NL West, and AL Central while ramping up the east teams.

Repetitive play. Gets real boring, real fast. Ouch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kinda cheap

posted by Turtle2010 (CARMEL, IN) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

this game is a very enjyable baseball, aside from the cheap A.I. catches. Other than that, this game offers all sorts of baseball, the only thing is that there is no roster updates...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA Jam turns into MLB Homerun!

posted by JoshFarc (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

EA really needs to stick with their arcade style games like this (and the NBA Jam they are currently working on). 2k Sports seems to own them when it comes to Baseball and Basketball, with good reason, but that doesn't mean EA's games are "bad".

The Bigs 2, simply put, is a blast! If you haven't played The origninal Bigs, then your in for an even bigger treat. I actually rented and bought this game(Bigs2) from Gamefly, as it's so addicting, especially online or with a friend.

It plays EXtremely quick, but not so quick that it's hard to learn. I swear to GOD that this game is identical to Ken Griffey Jr Baseball back on the super nintendo, the OG Griffey game, not the 2nd one. That's why I love it. Plus it has all the special bonus points and homerun hits and turbo's and super pitches..... this game is a blast!

Anyone that likes Baseball, sports in general, and fast paced gameplay should definitely check this game out.

Because I never played The Bigs 1 I had to give The Bigs 2 a 9... it seems so innovative to me compared to other games out there. Definitely a MUST RENT or even MUST BUY at it's $18 price tag.

-joshfarc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the bigs 2

posted by gameboy1 (Miramar Beach, FL) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

a awesome baseball game. AI is a little stupid but over all a good game. 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its ok

posted by mmkknn11 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

ists ok it gets boring after awhile

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Arcadey Fun, Not Much Solo Replay Value

posted by FryHole (Anchorage, AK) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The BIGS 2 is quite easy to pick up and play; a brief lesson on the controls is enough to play a 5-inning game with your friends. In that respect, it's a lot of fun for those of us who sorta like baseball, but not enough to manage complicated control schemes like those in MLB 09: The Show. The game can throw you into minigames without warning or explanation, but you'll figure them out quickly enough. Against another human opponent, The BIGS 2 is a lot of fun.

In single-player mode, however, this game's charm quickly wears thin. Like the NFL Street series, The BIGS 2 rewards players with power-ups (Big Heat, Big Blast, and Big Slam) that take game-changing moments out of the player's hands; the fate of the next four batters can be decided by a single pitch. Likewise, the high-scoring mechanics of the game tend to exaggerate players' abilities, sometimes to a frustrating extent; a .333 hitter like Ichiro becomes a .900 hitter in The BIGS.

While this game was fun for a few afternoons, I couldn't see myself finishing a full season or completing all the challenges to bring my custom player up to Legendary standing. There's no reward in sight for completing these challenges, and I've already endured far too many "Are you kidding me?" moments where the computer has an extraordinary run of luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Baseball Awful Mini Games

posted by SSSJDanny (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 26, 2009

Member since May 2007

I tried to play Become a Legend mode, and I passed the first game.. yeah w/e passed the catching pretty easy, then the worst mini game "Contact hitting mini game" It got me so mad i just placed it back in the envelope and returned it.

If it weren't for that stupid mini game i would have continued and played more, but it just made me so mad i couldn't stand it any more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Bigs 2

posted by JRDFB1609 (FLORISSANT, MO) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I thought this game to be highly unreal and very hard i mean everytime you hit the Darn ball someone uses super speed to catch it its very hard to win unless you use a good strategy my strategy was lineing up the best batters on my team from best to worst I'd hit a few homers and let them take their turns and when it was all done and said i was always top dog this game is good but needs alot of improvement before it can be classified as a great Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game/Poor Online Support

posted by Deiradinn (DECATURVILLE, TN) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game has an amazing fun arcade still to it and it's fun. Playing the Become A Legend is very fun and the Season records are hard but great to try to tackle. The game loses almost all it's speed when it comes to online play. 2kSports has been completely absent from helping the online community from cheaters, ranking up tactics, and just plain "not being able to connect to any game". If the online gets fixed, and you can play without lag then this game will be a better play. As it is now, then play it for the single player. Easy Platinum if you can connect online to win ten games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bigs 2

posted by Stun12 (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Great game...! Alot of great graphics! But IT lacked some of the comedy that Bigs had and that is what drawed me to it. The second voice( Cant remember the name of the guy) Was not there and that hurt lol! But over all great game!!!( Stun12)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of the best baseball games ever made!

posted by Jackamania (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is awesome . Its fun has great graphics and its very easy to like. But in this game you have to read the instructions first because i did not and it was tricky!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Childish

posted by Clypse (FRESNO, CA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

If your a kid looking for an Arcade Baseball game, because your garbage at MLB09, then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game is awful to say the least.

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Most unrealistic baseball game, but it's not about that. Its gameplay just sucks quite frankly. I couldn't play more than 45-60 minutes of this junk. If you got a PS3, get The Show '09 cause it's 10x's better.. Nothing about this game is good, really this is a epic failure. I don't know how they even had the balls to make a The Bigs "2". Should have stopped at 1, and made a real baseball game. Now on the 360, their is no good Baseball game which is terrible, you're stuck with this mess. I got both systems, and for Baseball, this season the PS3 is the only way to go..

1/10, no need to explain further. One of the worst sports games I've ever played with no lasting appeal or re-playability which is pathetic cause sports games are all about re-playability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

IT Stinks

posted by mkiou2 (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

BAsically i plaied this game for 30 min. and just couldnt play it anymore from the very small fields to the fakest game play in the whole world. sucky graphics [even on ps3] this by far is worse then The Bigs. REnt MLB 09 The Show instead it is way way way way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »