Rent The Bigs 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Bigs 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii, PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
7.1

2060 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Arcade Baseball!!!

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

29 out of 33 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

First off, this isnt a sim in ANY way so if your after that just turn away. If your a fan of games like NFL Blitz or NBA Jam or even The original Bigs than give this game a shot.

Easy to get into and play but also some depth once you start to learn the game, you can save your "boost" meter for a instant Homerun or add some zip to your pitches and throwing arm in the field and even add speed to your baserunners making them track superstars.

Graphics are big and in your face, colorfull and vibrant they really make the game feel nice and Arcady. The "Pinball" mini game is back and its still a really fun way to pass the time. For those that dont know what it is, you basically pick a batter and hit baseballs into signs,cars,flashing lights in a downtown setting to score points. The more points you get the harder the pitches you get tossed at you. VERY FUN!!!

Overall, if your a baseball fan but dont have time or patience for games like MLB 09 The Show or MLB2k9 than give this a try, games are fast and really full of action and some high scoring games. Give it a shot!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Limited Fun, Limited Options

posted by Struckluck (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game for what it was - a pure arcade-style baseball game. There's not a lot to it as the controls are fairly basic, but it keeps you entertained for a while. After winning every game on a "big blast" or "big slam," the skill factor really drops. While these situations are fun at first, like everything else with this game, it eventually gets repetitive and boring.

There are also certain tasks you must accomplish before moving onto new seasons in the "Become a Legend" mode which can be quite frustrating, specifically when they make you perform a legendary catch. The problem I faced with this ridiculous task is that you can't naturally produce one of these catches. You have to throw meatball after meatball, sitting by while the computer cranks homer after homer, before you might get lucky enough to be set up for the legendary catch. It took me three days to finally get this to happen, at which time I didn't press the button combo correctly and subsequently missed the catch. After that I packed up the CD and sent it back to Gamefly because I was sick of trying to accomplish something that is basically pure luck. I don't mind getting lucky in games, but I don't care for having to accomplish a task based on luck. It's pointless and frustrating.

The graphics are better than average, but they're not near the caliber you'll find on the PS3's MLB The Show games.

Overall, try this game out and see for yourself. Some people seem to really love it. I, on the other hand, enjoy more real-life baseball simulations with stats and true-to-life lineups and benches. I wouldn't advise buying this game without first renting it.

It serves it's purpose as entertainment, but it loses it's staying power after about a week. There is no strategy to the game, so just load up your swing and go. That's all there is to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than expected.

posted by HominyBuck (HOMINY, OK) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a big baseball fan at all. I got this to kill some time and i was AMAZED with the game. From the graphics to the gameplay it was simply ALMOST perfect. Only problem i found was the legendary catches. when your on defense they are extremely handy. but on offense they suck. Its impossible to hit it in the field for me even on easy. I'm not very good at this game but i still love it. This is a definate 4 star game. loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!

posted by TulsaFan (TULSA, OK) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The Bigs 2 is a great, fun game for everyone! You don't even have to like baseball to enjoy this game because there's so much to do in this game.

This is probably the best baseball game to come out this year, lots of action and high flying plays like jumping on top of the dugout to make a catch, making between the leg grabs in center field or running over the catcher at 100 mph and sending him to the hospital.

So if anyone out there is wondering if they should take a chance on this game DON'T THINK ABOUT IT just get it and you wont be disappointed it will keep you busy for hours and getting the achievements are a blast its a very fun list that will be fun getting.

SO BOTTOM LINE
- Graphics... 9/10
- Gameplay... 10/10
- Achievements... 10/10
- Sound... 9/10
- Overall... 9/10

Just a great game for anyone and everyone!!!

RENT IT!! BUY IT!! STEAL IT FROM YOUR GRANDMA!! JUST GET IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OUTSTANDING!!!

posted by NoobRecker (CAPE ELIZABETH, ME) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

For a person who has never played The Bigs or a baseball game at all I was a little nervous about renting this game. WOW was I glad I did this game was great. Where to start I mean the game play was super the controls were very easy for a beginner like me. The cool features they had like the Legendary catch was crazy.
The Pinball baseball was cool it was different and I've never seen anything like that before. It was a neat feature,because if you don't like fielding its a great thing to learn how to hit and just play for fun.
The Become a hero mode was good as well it didn't just take place in the US your created player went to different places and worked his way up. The big slam and Big blast is very cool I enjoyed playing with features like that because it gave people a chance to come back. There are not many flaws in this game if any. I could play this game for hours on end it never gets old especially when your playing online.

I give it a 10 of 10 and I hope you enjoy this game as much as I did Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Legendary Catch much?

posted by Brewner (MONTROSE, PA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Overview of the game is , it is very fun from the beginning till about the half way point.. Once you hit the half way point it is nothing but legendary catch, have fun winning games when you can't even get the ball to leave the outfield, or when it does.. the right fielder is catching it in left field. Sometimes the pitchers would never cover first.. lots of tweaks that made this worse than the first. I was a big fan of this game till the legendary catch comes in, and the computer never misses an opportunity for that. BTW. Robin Yount, learn to hate them.. he legendary caught 12 balls in one 5 inning game against me.. never missed. Overall the game is poor, needs to rid of that legendary catch and the big slam.. big slam is too easy to get and its a free 4 runs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh.

posted by Unbalancedchef (Seattle, WA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been playing video games since I was 6 years old, so I have 20+ years of experience under my belt. Not only that, but I play quite often, so I would consider myself in the Good to Really Good as far as talent goes.

That being said, The Bigs 2 was nearly unplayable from its difficulty. I admit, when I play sports games (which is a LOT), I typically play simulations (Madden 11, NHL 11, NBA Live 10) not arcade style games. But when I put in a game, regardless of genre, I expect to be able to at least compete with the computer on the normal setting.

This is not so with The Bigs 2.

Even turning the game down to its lowest difficulty setting, the CPU pitchers are nearly unhittable, and when you do connect, the fielding AI pretty much snags the ball no matter where it's hit. Pitching to the computer is a bit easier, but I was still giving up 4-5 runs an inning.

Frustrated, I committed myself to learning the gameplay better and at least winning one game. I played for 4 or 5 days doing everything in my power to at least keep the score close. No dice. After a week of being blown out by double digits consistently, I returned it.

For the arcade sports people, I imagine that this has to be fun. But for normal, simulation sports playing people like myself, it was nothing but frustration on a disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not for a person who gets easly mad

posted by bmwoolwort (KENT, WA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is more ridiculas as the first one. sure the graphics has gotten a little bit better but woopdie do. if it aint a good game then whats the point.
for me personally idc for the story at all stupid in my point but
its basically not good
my brother and i played it and it was like 10-7 in the third inning, to easy to score and to hard to play defence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the bigs 2 bads and goods

posted by gkm18 (FILLMORE, CA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

the be a legend mode is to hard for me the play game mode is eaisier so when you play this game try either a hard mode or a relitivley easy one okay good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by ghghghrock (OLATHE, KS) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

the bigs is fun but it has some flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehhh ok

posted by Wake_and_Jake (MIDDLETOWN, DE) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Well this was a good game for about a week or two. The game play is fun, the graphics are ok, and there are some good game modes. The "become a legend mode" was entertaining for a while and was probably the best part of this game. Overall, its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good

posted by bob123456789 (PARK CITY, UT) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is not realistic but otherwise extremely fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good

posted by sportsgame (NORTHGLENN, CO) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

It Is good the game is really fast pace which could make
a game fun but all the time. The legendary moves you could make in the game are simple and fun but sometimes hard. bare hand grabs home runs could be taken away. And controls are also simple. The games good but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Real

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I was never a fan on unrealistic games. I seen the trailors and reviews that changed my mind and I wanted to give it a try. I tried it and shipped back the same day. I played game after game trying to get used to it and got pretty good.... but it wasnt appealing.

The power hitting and super dives are not my thing. It took me back to the NBA Jam days when you could jump 20 feet in the air and was just dumb. If you loved the unrealistic effects of Jam back in the day and dont llike the real play in games.... this game if for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game stinks...

posted by srd4484 (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I didn't know what to expect when I rented it. popped in the game played Bos vs NYY and i was losing 3-23 by the third. Ortiz hit a hr every at bat. Then this stupid thing happened twice where the guy hits a automatic grand slam...So dumb and not fun. Then of course, whe you make one of those catches you have to press buttons in an order...? The computer does it without a problem. A basic single easily turns into a double. Going back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The bigs 2

posted by martigan39 (STARKVILLE, MS) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

When i got this game in the mail it was scratched and didnt work after several times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blah....expected more after playing The Bigs 1

posted by Tw1zt1d781 (WARREN, OH) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

More in depth career than the 1st one which is cool. Overall I was thoroughly enjoying this game til it comes down to the stat challenges. There is no way to control if your opponent sets you up for a wall catch or a 'legendary catch (which is also new to The Bigs), but to advance in the game you must make x amount of legendary catches or wall catches in scenarios.....if you pitch a no hitter and win the game it makes no difference as you didn't let your opponent hit the ball to the wall. At that point I was done with it. Stick with the 1st in the series, however, this is rent worthy for a handful of easy achievements. Hopefully if there is another installment in the series it will take the best ideas from both games and leave some of the scenarios in the career mode behind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent, but Very Repetitive

posted by NBoss57 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This was overall a pretty fun game but it's worth more of a rent than a buy. I rented it and I'm glad I didn't purchase it.

Good:
I like the arcade style ball
Turbo
The Computer will actually swing at something out of the strike zone
Become a Legend Mode

Bad:
Online is boring
Tedious, time consuming achievements (I had the game for about a month to get 37/37)
Computer always makes legendary catches
No personalized batting stance to particular players
Too easy
No errors..Ever

Overall it's fun, but it's not gonna be your favorite game you've ever played. I'd much rather play MLB 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the bigs

posted by rdv1977 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game sucks !!!!!!!! worst base ball game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hey it's fun

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

This game is not a very real representation of baseball, so if you are some wierdo who only likes very realistic baseball games, don't play it. I am a big baseball fan and I don't think that normal baseball games are boring, but I still like this one the most. There is alot of smashing Into people and crazy stuff, much more than the first game had anyway so if you (like me) didn't like the first bigs game give this one a shot anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Big... Miss

posted by potatoes (MC FARLAND, WI) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

If you are a baseball fan then this is definetly not the game for you. First off the graphics are pretty terrible so half of the time you don't know where the ball is and the other half of the time you can't even hit the ball because of lag or the ball is not where the screen reads. On the other side this game completely sucks and all you have to know how to do is press A a thousand times and maybe get lucky and hit a ball every once in a while. If you baseball fans are looking to go in a bit different kind of baseball the bigs 2 is definetly a game you want to avoid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

This is the first time in a long time I've found a sports game that was actually fun to play. This game doesn't bog you down with a million control options. It's really simple to get going. I didn't like the Legend Game part as I got stuck and was never able to go forward. The season portion is so fun it made me go out and buy the game so I could continue. Playing the computer is a little hard as they make every single catch but it's still fun. Great game that's easy to play but it could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a joke...

posted by IcEmAn512 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I'm a huge fan of baseball games going back all the way to the NES. I have games on my old school Sega Genesis I would rather play than this game. The only thing good about it is the graphics but it's not like many of us expect games not to have good graphics these days. Short of that, I played it for 30 minutes and sent it back. This is the WORST baseball game I've EVER played. If you're looking for NBA Street but with baseball then this is the game for you. I'm sure other people have liked it because it has a very arcade like feel to it. Maybe I should have done more research before I picked it, I don't know. All I know is that this game sucked and I can't believe I wasted my time with this BS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ugh

posted by Billybob21 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

ok...things that were good: players were real, and...

Bad things: just about everything else. The computers caught just about every catch thing no matter the team, the computers were overall too lucky and good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A few shades away from Perfect

posted by Derrin (APO, AE) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Big improvements over all from the the first Bigs but there are still are a few glitches and a lot of moments that just make you sit back and say "OH COME ON!"
I love the game so far, its addictive. Great quality, fun, competitive and its a game that all age groups can play, 80+ on down.
Online player freezes from time to time but no biggie, single player pretty much has a smooth feel all around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse