Rent The Beatles: Rock Band for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Beatles: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

3536 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beatlemania!!!

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

29 out of 33 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Ok, if your a fan of The Beatles just find a way to play this. The game screams and i mean SCREAMS Beatles from the start up intro all the way till the end credits of the game.

First off, the graphics are very very well done, you can tell HMX put some love into this game and alot of effort. New looks for pretty much all aspects of the game really bring The Beatles and that era to life.

Pro's
-Star tracking in quickplay
-Harmonies (having 3 singers is awesome and FUN)
-Friend leaderboards for every song right there as you select a song ala Geowars 2
-Dreamscapes are freaking AWESOME!!!!
-Hammer ons and Pull offs are alot more fluid and easier to hit, chord HO/PO's actually work alot better than RB2.
-Online Story mode
-Unlockable photos and movies and obscure trivia and facts for each.

Con's
-Only 45 songs but alot of Album DLC on the way
-Just one band's songs (not a con for me but could be for others)

Not much else wrong with the game that i have seen, the entire game is a Beatles fan come true. If your not a fan then of course you wont even bother but even if you like them a little then rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by RexStone (OAKLAND, CA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2003

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is f'n great. I'm a huge Rock Band fan, and I'll admit I was really disappointed they were doing a game that you could not import into RB2. Now I see why though, as this is an upgrade in gameplay and wouldn't work with RB2 at all (eg. two and three part harmonies, changing difficulty mid-song). It seems like this is really their pre-cursor into what RB3 will be going, and that in itself is very exciting. Who wouldn't want to play some Crosby Stills and Nash with three part harmonies? Also, as someone who loves to play bass in Rock Band this game is 45 of the most challenging bass lines ever, add singing to that, and it is a real challenge. Graphically this game is not in the same league as the much maligned visuals from its predecessors, at times you just want to kick back and watch the screen.
If you are into RB or GH, this is a must buy (don't rent), unless you don't like the Beatles (in which case their are some serious issues you need to resolve).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely worth the buy

posted by SugarDaddy (HAZLET, NJ) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

What sets this game apart from being Rock Band 3 is simply that it's not. It's focused squarely around the Beatles. You don't create a band. You don't choose which character you want to play. You just pick your instrument and that's the member you play as. So if you pick drums, you're Ringo. If you pick bass, you're Paul. etc.

The story mode is great. It's basically a journey through history. Artwork and animation in between chapters is absolutely fantastic and done with a great amount of production value. There are also a handful of songs where the animations in the background change and get pretty trippy depending on which song you're playing. For example, for Yellow Submarine, you go under water and see the submarine floating around. For I am the Walrus, they're all dressed up in costumes. It's really cool to the point where you want to stop playing and just watch what's going on. So, that's a great thing for people that are waiting for their turn to play. In addition to all that, they've stylized the notes a bit. The color palette has changed slightly.

As far as gameplay, there are little changes here and there. First, there's no drum-fills. You don't get to jam out before you kick in overdrive. You just hit the green pad when the trigger comes up and you're in overdrive. I like the drum fills in RB, but I guess that's not really Ringo's style so it wasn't included. Another change is a huge feature of this game -- the ability to have 3 singers. I haven't been able to test this out as I don't have any additional microphones, but I imagine it's pretty fun. Other than that there are some small improvements. When you unpause, you have a 3 second count before it throws you right back into it. Also, now the singer can choose between static text and scrolling text for the lyrics. Scrolling is the same style from RB2.

So, the same familiar rock band feel with some nice improvements and tremendous production value makes this game a winner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beatles

posted by jas0l0c0 (LINCOLN, NE) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

They just keep getting better. This is the best RockBand yet ! Really who does'nt like the Beatles ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i will only use 3 words

posted by shadow8 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one amazing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant! Make sure you try singing it!

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Those who would say it's "easy" should mix things up and try playing it the way it's supposed to be played... while singing!

And the harmonies option makes things hard as well. There are certain parts in some songs where everyone (up to 3 mics) can sing 3 different notes of the same chorus. It's sort of like everyone together is singing a "multi-string chord".

Everyone can and should enjoy this game. It's built on universal properties that everyone enjoys: love, music, and games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles Rock Band

posted by goblin8938 (KELLER, TX) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Well I Was iffy about buying this first but after looking at all the reviews and videos for it i decided to go out and buy this game. this is one of the best looking rock band games to date. i started playing it today and WOW its soo much fun the graphics and the game and story on it are really amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

While My Guitar Hero Gently Weeps

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am not a fan of these fake music games, but I had to rent this one because it is the Beatles. I love it. Let me just start with that.

The care and attention to detail that went into this game proves that it was created by Beatles fans for Beatles fans. Having not much experience with the fake music games hasn't lessened my fun with it at all. I bought a fake guitar for 9.99 with the Aerosmith game bundled with it a couple of months ago, and I am now finally putting it to good use. Beginners can have fun starting out on easy level, but it won't take all that long for a newbie to be able to move up to medium difficulty for some songs. Songs are divided into categories of difficulty for playing in a sandboxey kind of way. There is also a story mode that starts you in the Cavern Club and works its way through the stages in the career of the Fab Four all the way up to their last live performance on the rooftop for Let It Be.

Archival photos can be unlocked in story mode as well as challenges and videos of the song performances. Right now, my favorite thing to do though is have my wife play the game so I can just sit back and listen to the great sounding songs and watch the background performances while she watches the little colored cues cross the screen.

If you are a Beatles fan, you must experience this game. If you are a fan of fake music games, I recommend learning what all the fuss has been over this band for the last 40 plus years. I give the game a 9 out of 10 score.

Now back to playing some more. Hey Bulldog is actually a playable song!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by granmastaj (HANOVER, PA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is definitley for a Beatles fan.The videos while playing are superb, you can get lost in it easily. So far no complaints. Very well done game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the Beatles

posted by xena1128 (MERIDEN, CT) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Rockband fan. I'm also a Beatles fan, so I just had to get this game. It is a brilliant game. Has a lot of added features and content.

The only thing that I found that bothered me, was that the difficulties are very easy.. I drum (on rb I do all songs on hard, some expert) and I found that on The Beatles, i could do expert on all. I dont know, for me its the challenge of hitting all those crazy notes and getting it. Its fun to play dont get me wrong, but I felt like it was too easy for me. Then again I play rb2 alot. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As Promised

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is Rock Band, with only Beatles songs to play. The Beatles have a great catalog of songs, and there was great care given to presentation and sound quality.

Its a little on the short side, maybe they are planning some track packs, but how much do you really want to spend on a single bands rock band game.

I think this game works best as a rental, but if you are a giant Beatles fan you probably already have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game doesnt live to the hype but that doesnt mean its not good, its great. great gameplay, beautiful music of the beatles soundtrack and not repetitive. this game is better than guitar hero and the original rock band. The Beatles: Rock Band doesnt disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it's here finally!

posted by GirlGamer9 (DAVIE, FL) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

i've had my limited edition on pre order for months and was anticipating it's release. I am so thrilled and happy with it's turn out. also the fact that you can play with 6 peopl instead of just 4 is a great add on. I can't wait to see what songs will be up for download in the XBL marketplace. the animated characters of Paul, Ringo, George, and John make me giggle as i watch them play in the back ground. the graphics are the best of rock band yet and top GH gameplay to the max. Gameplay is so much fun. the story mode is great. nothing to complain about in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW JUST WOW

posted by flareblair (MONTEAGLE, TN) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Pro: Awesome graphics, The Beatles don't look too cartoony.
Con: There's only 43 songs and it feels like the game is over too fast.

I bought the limited edition and I have been playing it nonstop for almost a week. The Beatles: Rock Band really delivers. Above all my favorite Beatles song on this game is "I Am The Walrus" simply for the background video that plays. The game sticks very closely to The Beatles career. If tyou play a song and get five stars then you get 2 photos and a discription about how the song idea came about and the recording of the song. All in all this is a great game. If you even remotely know about The Beatles then you should at least rent this game and try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All Around Brilliant

posted by Broon43 (NAPLES, FL) Sep 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game almost nonstop since it arrived in the mail.
From the visuals, to the story and chapter play, the song choice and layout of each song, Rock Band really nailed this one.
Each member of the Beatles is beautifully rendered with perfect detail. I love each of the venues that you get to play, and how they move in and out of dream-like sequences as you play through the songs. It's really well done.
The new feature of being able to plug in 3 mikes to get the famous Beatles harmonies while singing is another nice addition to the game.

The menu setup is easy to use, and there are tons of unlockables in the game as well. Lots of pictures of the Beatles that you can earn through play, and some very rare souvenir pieces and video that have not been seen before are really awesome bonuses for the true Beatles fan.
There are also some challenging, but not impossible, achievements to earn, such as nailing 100% on certain solos, or nailing long streaks on particular tracks. Very groovy.

If you are a fan of the Beatles, and you have yet to put this one in your queue, what are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the review for the new beatles rockband

posted by ptownguy (PUYALLUP, WA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the fact that this game was just about the beatles it self the game graphics where amazing the song list was awsome some songs i have not herd before but the story mode was too short but other then that worth the rent i dont think i will be buying this game hope everyone trys this game out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Needs more songs

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I love Beatles. They are an amazing band which deserves its own game. But a $60 game for 45 songs, i think not. A lot of people think the quality in this game outweighs the fact that it only has 45 songs. But Rock Band 2 had just about good quality and it came with 100 songs. For the same price. But as for the actual game, almost all the songs are really good. It is really nice that they basically made the whole theme of this game all beatles. And the background for a lot of the songs is the actual music video. Also all of the songs are unlocked right as soon as you start up the game, which is nice if you dont want to play the campaign. Besides that everything else is basically the same from Rock Band 2. If you were to chose from this or Guitar Hero 5, unless you love the beatles, i would say Guitar Hero 5 because it has new game modes and 85 songs. And with that game you can download every World Tour song onto it for free. And on a final note, may i say that the Band Kit for Beatles Rock Band is $250. The Band Kit for Rock Band 2 when it first came out was $180. And the only difference is that the guitar is different and the drums are slightly modified.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Rockband game

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It isnt the best I have played but it isnt the worst either. This game has its share of good songs and bad songs, easy songs and hard songs. The story will take you through the Beatles' career. From when they were innocent kids to well, you know, they changed alot from when they first started. But every song you play on here will be by the Beatles. I would just rent this, there really isnt any point in spending the money. It wont take you very long to beat it anyways. I flew through this game in one day so it shouldnt be a problem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...but a bit disapointing

posted by NikGamer (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I absolutely love the style and love that was put into this game. It defientely succeded in telling a visual story of the Beatles and the evolution of their sound through the years. However after completing the game I was hit with my first disappointment which was that 'Hey Jude' and 'Let it be' were not in the core game or available for DLC. Of all the tracks, why leave out those two? They were phenominal hits which is more that can be said for some of the other tracks. Overall the game felt kinda short, I did not expect it to end when it did. My second disappointment was when I found out that (unlike every other Rockband game) you cannot purchase a license to export the tracks for use in other rockband games. Why the heck not? All parties involved in the making of this game only stand to make profit from it and it would bring more satisfaction to the consumer. This attributes to the games mediocre success after its first week of launch. THis issue singles out the music within in a negative way. People playing Rock BAnd with there friends are not likely to put this game in over the other rockband games as it only focuses on one artist. THis also means there is less incentive to purchase more DLC for Beatles tracks.
Like I said already its a good game just missing some core elements and does not meet the expectations that would normally be set for a Rock Band game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet

posted by teddy21 (PILOT ROCK, OR) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

must have for fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

beatles not so rock

posted by steveg (ARCHBALD, PA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

well we could start with the gameplay which resembles all and every guitar games out there, except this one has a boring story line to follow. a story line for the run of the mill rockband (i just wanna wail on my clicky guitar, not watch a dumb story) there are 64 songs on this game 40 of which i would have removed and replaced with others. come to think of it i really dont like the beatles so the game was painful for me to play every step of the way. the one part of this game i did enjoy was stuffing it back in the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool walk down music history - but a short walk

posted by daboogha (TRUSSVILLE, AL) Aug 12, 2010

Member since May 2007

If this game would have incorporated interviews and other mixed media from the Beatles hay day then it would have received a 10 out of 10. My only real complaint is the story mode is so short and there's just not enough unlockables. The photos are great - but a little more would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good beetles Story Line, but pretty boring.

posted by Hotpepper (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I liked the fact that while playing story that it started with the beginning of the beetles career and progressed through the late 60's to the end of it. You can really see that change in them in the course of less than 10 years. But being kind of a "Expert" player (not saying im the best) I didn't really find any challenge in the game. It felt more like watching a documentary/concert, than a game. Not bashing the beetles, but personally I would just listen to them on my ipod than play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but...

posted by Gabriel3 (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I am a big fan of music games, and the beatles, so when i first saw the trailer for this game I had high expectations. The first thing i noticed about this game is the way the story mode goes i really liked the transitions in between the chapters. These transitions really help you feel closer to the journey of the beatles. I also liked the way you release overdrive while playing the drum set because unlike rockband 1 and 2 you are not given the chance to improvise, for me this is a plus because it does not interrupt the mood and rhythm of the song. Over all, the game play was good especially during some of the songs that have more creative animations like, yellow submarine, and i am the walrus. One more thing if you are looking for a challenge this game is not for you. However if you like the beatles then this is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great visuals and history

posted by 420MAN (NASHVILLE, TN) May 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

If you are a Beatles fan than you have no choice but to play this. The game its-self is pretty short and missing some of their best work, but in all this game is worth the time to play. Just don't expect to play it more than 7-10 hours. It gets extremely repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse