Rent The Beatles: Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

The Beatles: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
7.8

1300 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review for the Beatles Rockband for the PS3

posted by progamer4 (VALLEJO, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The Beatles Rockband follows the tour of the Beatles from their first concert in the Cavern to their last at Apple Corps. Join John, Paul, George, and Ringo on a fantstic adventure playing such songs like:Yellow Submarine, Come Together, I am the Warrus, and Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band/What Would You Do? I had a great time rocking out in this game! Put this game on your gameque now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game even if your not a fan

posted by RedFable (WHITEVILLE, NC) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I am no fan of the beatles, honestly I didn't even know over half of the songs on the game. After playing the first few songs it was a pretty decent game; the graphics especially the note board were well done. You can see the difference between this game and Rock Band 2, gameplay is similar excpe tthe drummer doesn't have to do the long make up solo in order to activate the bonus multiplier, all you hit is a certain green note and it activates. This is better being that it doesn't get you off track from the song. For myself I'm putting a rating of 8 for the game, only con was that it does get rather boring after a short while; some of the songs do sound similar and its not really my genre of music. For any fan or collector I would give it a 10 all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's ok :)

posted by JoshBols (AUBURN, CA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

I will start by saying that i am not really that big of a beatles fan, nor am i so big or GH or Rock Band. They r fun to play if you are fans of the band's music. But this game is actullay not bad at all. ALL the songs in the game have been re-mastered to HD surround sound standards. The video is awesome, and last but not least, it is actullay fun to play. I wouldn't pay 350.00 bucks for the whole set like you see at best buy, but it is defenetly worth getting here on gamefly, or buying it singlely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beat the beatles on expert.....

posted by djyes2 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

very easy game, but hey its the beatles not metallica. Still give it a 10 just for that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beatles PS3

posted by Jumper (HAMPTON, VA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

As hard as I tried, I was not able to properly sync the PS3 guitar controller with the game. I usually hit all the notes at the easy level using Guitar Hero games, and this was my first experience using Rock Band using a Guitar Hero (supposedly compatible) controller. I was luck if I hit 25% of the notes, even after re-calibrating the controller 3 times. Glad I rented and didn't buy this game. Thank YOU Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles: Rock Band

posted by yungphaze (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Wow, this game was truly amazing. If you're looking for a break from the same visuals over and over that Guitar Hero presents with their games, then this is the music game from you. What I really found impressive was the visuals and the quality of some of the songs. I mean, for songs that were released about 3 decades ago, you would swear that they came out yesterday. I mean, I got this game a few days ago, and I keep saying to myself that I'm going to return this game, but I can't!

My only gripes with this game, the reasons that kept me from giving this game a 10, was for one, I beat this game in five hours. FIVE HOURS. I mean, the Beatles have an expansive collection of songs, but only about maybe 50 of them showed up. The other reason, I couldn't stop trying to watch the visuals for songs like Lucy in the sky with Diamonds, or I am the Walrus!

If you're a Beatles fan, get it. If you're not, YOU WILL BE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

playing the game

posted by cottton (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

It was a great game to play everyone should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth buying i mean it.

posted by rockers102 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I'm a huge Beatles fan and this game was terrific.The graphics very great.John Lennon,Paul McCartney,George Harrison,and Richard Starkley A.K.A Ringo Star are all in this game not like guitar hero with other characters.This game shows when th Beatles played in the Cavern in 63' till' they played on the Apple Corps Rooftop,they do change age and grow mustaches and beards.This game is so great you guys should figure out the rest of good parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for beatles fans

posted by Harper (COLUMBUS, GA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Game is a great title for die hard Beatles fans, if you are not one of them then read the second paragraph below. Venues are accurate, game sends you on an enjoyable ride through Beatles history. Pretty good selection of some of thier most popular songs, with many more on the way as promised via pay as you go downloads. The triple voacalist thing works well once you get used to it but for older players may be a bit difficult since things move pretty fast at times and the user interface for the vocals are colored bars that can be very hard to track visually. Did not try game with 3 mics only 2.
On the downside, if you are not a diehard fan of the fab 4, and even if you are you will be dissapointed that you cannot play the songs from this title on Rockband 2. So if you want to mix it up song artist wise you are out of luck short of swapping games every few songs. That in mind with a relative short song list comapared to Rockband 2's songlist, you may or may not find it worth buying. Considering you a rockband 2 player, you payed about 50 cents per song with that title, Beatles comes out at about a 1.40 or so per song.
So, something to consider when making a decision to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ladies and Gentleman....The Beatles

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

I was three when John Lennon was shot and my father got me into the Beatles. Rock Band and Guitar Hero has pros and cons....The biggest is that it really doesn't teach you how to play the guitar. There could be so much potiential if it did. The biggest dissapointment is that the game has a short list of songs from the albums. You just get a mix of tracks from Yellow Submarine, Sgt. Peppers (My Favorite Album), you get the idea. And I am kind of wondering why such a short list of songs, and down the months you download the full albums. Story mode is fun where you start out as one of the fab four in their humbling beggings to the famous rooftop concert. Multiplayer is fun, depending who will sign on and play with you. I felt awkward with 937,789 points playing with someone with three million playing expert while I'm still playing easy - medium. The diffculity settings help, because with easy you just have to press green, yellow and red buttons while wating to strum to expert where the colors come faster and now you have to hit the blue and orange buttons. I also liked the fact that while watching the screen you can play I am the Walrus while the Bealtes will treat you to a CGI music video. The graphics are really PS2 and I don't like they are cartooney and not PS3-esqe quaility. Still worth a buy for Beatles collectors and for fans old or new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really fun and easy game.

posted by Melvin14 (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game gives you good memories of The Beatles. the game has a good set list. The expert mode is really easy, not a big challenge. The story is not a big deal, but at least it has some animations. I recommend you to rent this game, you'll have a great time playing it with other people either online or offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HUGE Beatles fan... kinda disappointed

posted by DaGamer818 (CEDAR LAKE, IN) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I would consider myself a HUGE fan of The Beatles.. I must admit that I was kind of disappointed with the game though...
I thought the graphics were great!!!!!! I loved feeling like I was part of the band... but I got bored pretty quick with the game.. I figured that the game would be a lot more fun to play.. but I found it easier to play than the other rock band games.. and got bored rather quickly..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The gold standard for audio and visuals

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Somewhere everyone who is playing this is smiling(especially the vocalists), despite a somewhat small setlist with some GLARING omissions and odd inclusions THE BEATLES ROCKBAND is ultimately irresistible. The unlockable photos and video extras are informative and entertaing, the trophies are fun to shoot for and the challenging setlist adds replay once you have one throughed all the singles. The music is obviously some of if not the best you will find in the RHYTHM genre despite its apparent overall simplicity. Notes only really get hard to hit if you are drumming or crank up to expert but it is so much fun to play that it is hard to miss frustration. Besides the beauty of vocals Ringos drum trainer is an awesome inclusion and the DOLBY SURROUND STEREO sounds absolutely stunning in this game. The psychadelic dreamscapes only put icing on a terrific package. These songs are highly replayable but there really should have been like 5 more on offer with the initial disc. This game is an achievement for everyone involved and truly deserves a sequel featuring all the missing classics from this go round. NO WHAMMY ACTION is really my only legitimate gripe here besides Ringo singing Boys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's by FAR the Worst Rock Band.

posted by TrueYankee (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

With that said, however, there are many worse games out there. I didn't buy it but I have the $250 bundle at my house. We got a guitar, a stand, a microphone, and drums (as well as other useless acessories) The Beatles Rock Band contains NEARLY Half of the Mind-Blowing Rock Band 2's 84 songs. Not to mention the game itself isn't worth $60 dollars. Worth a try if you even remotely like the beatles; I don't. Only buy if you truely think the beatles are REALLY the best band ever (which they're not) I really just wanna say that this game sucks because I think the beatles are the most overrated band in existance, but I'm going to be fair. Even though around half of the songs in the game are less than 2 minutes long. I'd say this game is worth spending about $30 for, nothing more. In short, these are the key points:

CONS:
1. They took out around 5 features to add one. (i.e, No more drum fills, big rock endings, etc.)
2. The beatles drum logo is literally a whoopie cushion strapped to a drum set.
3. It is a major step back from rock band 1 and 2.
4. The story mode can be completed in 4 hours of gameplay (that's playing all the songs at least once)
5. The interface is really screwed up and I found it hard to stay focused on the music.
6. Various other little things I don't want to bother listing here.

PROS:
1. If you like the beatles, then this game hold about 2 albums of thier music.
2. It does feel more like a band, that is, almost as far as playing plastic instruments can go.
3. It's still a good game for parties.

Final Statement: GET ROCK BAND 2 OR EVEN 1 IF YOU WANT A BETTER GAME FOR ANYTHING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse