Rent The Beatles: Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

The Beatles: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
7.8

1300 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wasn't Good

posted by Poomaster (DESTREHAN, LA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

There is only 3 good songs on here, the story line is way too easy, the credits are way too long, the notes dont flow right, it just sucked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beatle Fans only

posted by 10001gamer (NAPLES, FL) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

If you like the Beatles, this game is OK - otherwise this game is horrible. The new controls and look do NOT work as well as other Rock Band games and all the new little window dressings do nothing to improve the experience.. pass...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beatles PS3

posted by Jumper (HAMPTON, VA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

As hard as I tried, I was not able to properly sync the PS3 guitar controller with the game. I usually hit all the notes at the easy level using Guitar Hero games, and this was my first experience using Rock Band using a Guitar Hero (supposedly compatible) controller. I was luck if I hit 25% of the notes, even after re-calibrating the controller 3 times. Glad I rented and didn't buy this game. Thank YOU Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Gameplay

posted by HBRobTC (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

My fiance and I are Rock Band and Guitar Hero. On top of that we are huge Beatles fans, when we heard about Rock Band Beatles last year we went crazy. It finally came and it was high disappointment. The graphics and the detail of the game are done very well, but the thing in it that sucks is the game play. I mean there is no game curve on it, it is either Really easy or really hard. Believe me we don't mind the challenge. But Guitar Hero Metallica had a better layout of game then this did...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Beatles: Rock Band

posted by Res5fan (WILMINGTON, OH) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Perfect 10!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beatles Cover Band

posted by SouthFresh (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I am really glad I didn't shell out the full price for this game when it came out. It took 3 sessions of play to beat the story mode and the rest of the game is just playing the story mode over again to get "photos" whoopy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beatles RB

posted by ScottyDog (PALM HARBOR, FL) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Software is well put together great films. The songs are too easy to play. If they did this good of a job on a different band that would be great. I stiil play RB2 because of the DLC. Beatles RB doesn't allow you to play RB2 songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok

posted by GPCL22 (LA CROSSE, WI) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

beatles rock band is just too easy. i got at least a 95% on every song playing on expert (my first try).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so good!

posted by Unclee67 (San Antonio, TX) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The game looks great, but i think the developers forgot you cant see it when you play. Graphics are great but the game play is boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's by FAR the Worst Rock Band.

posted by TrueYankee (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

With that said, however, there are many worse games out there. I didn't buy it but I have the $250 bundle at my house. We got a guitar, a stand, a microphone, and drums (as well as other useless acessories) The Beatles Rock Band contains NEARLY Half of the Mind-Blowing Rock Band 2's 84 songs. Not to mention the game itself isn't worth $60 dollars. Worth a try if you even remotely like the beatles; I don't. Only buy if you truely think the beatles are REALLY the best band ever (which they're not) I really just wanna say that this game sucks because I think the beatles are the most overrated band in existance, but I'm going to be fair. Even though around half of the songs in the game are less than 2 minutes long. I'd say this game is worth spending about $30 for, nothing more. In short, these are the key points:

CONS:
1. They took out around 5 features to add one. (i.e, No more drum fills, big rock endings, etc.)
2. The beatles drum logo is literally a whoopie cushion strapped to a drum set.
3. It is a major step back from rock band 1 and 2.
4. The story mode can be completed in 4 hours of gameplay (that's playing all the songs at least once)
5. The interface is really screwed up and I found it hard to stay focused on the music.
6. Various other little things I don't want to bother listing here.

PROS:
1. If you like the beatles, then this game hold about 2 albums of thier music.
2. It does feel more like a band, that is, almost as far as playing plastic instruments can go.
3. It's still a good game for parties.

Final Statement: GET ROCK BAND 2 OR EVEN 1 IF YOU WANT A BETTER GAME FOR ANYTHING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

all iwanted to was to hear the sound track. its no different than guitar hero and rock band. sorry beatles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's ok :)

posted by JoshBols (AUBURN, CA) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

I will start by saying that i am not really that big of a beatles fan, nor am i so big or GH or Rock Band. They r fun to play if you are fans of the band's music. But this game is actullay not bad at all. ALL the songs in the game have been re-mastered to HD surround sound standards. The video is awesome, and last but not least, it is actullay fun to play. I wouldn't pay 350.00 bucks for the whole set like you see at best buy, but it is defenetly worth getting here on gamefly, or buying it singlely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A way to get my wife to game with me

posted by RPGjunkie (OXNARD, CA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

As the review title says, Rock Band and their sequels appeals to my wife and allows us to play video games together. The Beatles Rock Band has some good features. The 1st and most obvious is the content: you get to perform Beatles songs. some other additions is the ability to use other mics/headsets to harmonize. The screen also seems easier to follow making the instruments easier to play. Draw backs, it would seem that a good number of songs you know and love are being with held from us. Some you can buy for about 2 bucks a song and some are not available at all. It would seem that they would try to give you some more of the good songs we all want and spare us some of their early cover songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Beatles Rock Band

posted by Linq212 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Music - I really enjoyed the music and didn't realize how many songs The Beatles actually recorded. I found myself saying "oh! I like this song! I didn't know they sang this." I was not a Beatles fan prior to this release, but I didn't know that much about them to begin with.

Style - The style is very similar to the traditional Rock Band. What changed is unlockables you receive upon completion of the songs as you go through the story mode. Gives neat little pieces of info, photos and vids that you can enjoy - even if you're not a Beatles fan. during the gameplay, the fans really shout out as they did back in the day. And don't expect to use the whammy bar to change the sound... they didn't have the whammy bar back then, so it's only to increase your overdrive.

Graphics - Very nice if I do say so myself. The characters look very similar to the actual members of the band. The psychodelic images were "far out man." Reallly captures the essence of the era. The only downside is the color scheme made it difficult to see the color coded buttons on the screen when in overdrive.

Playability - I wish you could import the songs, but can understand why they didn't. It's an enitrely NEW game eventhough it uses the same basic platform and model. One thing that sets this apart from the traditional Rock Band and other music games is the 3-part harmony. I myself love to sing, and really enjoyed the singing harmony with my friends. However, not so much when by myself. Many people didn't want to sing, so keep that in mind.

Overall - I gave this a 8 out of 10. Keep in mind I Platinumed Rock Band 2 and I really enjoy ALL instruments and singing so this was right up my ally. If you liked Rock Band - this is a definite must try!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game rocks for a Beatles fan...

posted by wttiger19 (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Excellent game for a Beatles fan, Great Graphics and I liked the unlock-able content. The story mode is sadly too short. Wish it covered more Beatles history and maybe some bio's on each band member. Overall I give this game an 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game even if your not a fan

posted by RedFable (WHITEVILLE, NC) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I am no fan of the beatles, honestly I didn't even know over half of the songs on the game. After playing the first few songs it was a pretty decent game; the graphics especially the note board were well done. You can see the difference between this game and Rock Band 2, gameplay is similar excpe tthe drummer doesn't have to do the long make up solo in order to activate the bonus multiplier, all you hit is a certain green note and it activates. This is better being that it doesn't get you off track from the song. For myself I'm putting a rating of 8 for the game, only con was that it does get rather boring after a short while; some of the songs do sound similar and its not really my genre of music. For any fan or collector I would give it a 10 all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

playing the game

posted by cottton (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

It was a great game to play everyone should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for beatles fans

posted by Harper (COLUMBUS, GA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Game is a great title for die hard Beatles fans, if you are not one of them then read the second paragraph below. Venues are accurate, game sends you on an enjoyable ride through Beatles history. Pretty good selection of some of thier most popular songs, with many more on the way as promised via pay as you go downloads. The triple voacalist thing works well once you get used to it but for older players may be a bit difficult since things move pretty fast at times and the user interface for the vocals are colored bars that can be very hard to track visually. Did not try game with 3 mics only 2.
On the downside, if you are not a diehard fan of the fab 4, and even if you are you will be dissapointed that you cannot play the songs from this title on Rockband 2. So if you want to mix it up song artist wise you are out of luck short of swapping games every few songs. That in mind with a relative short song list comapared to Rockband 2's songlist, you may or may not find it worth buying. Considering you a rockband 2 player, you payed about 50 cents per song with that title, Beatles comes out at about a 1.40 or so per song.
So, something to consider when making a decision to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ladies and Gentleman....The Beatles

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

I was three when John Lennon was shot and my father got me into the Beatles. Rock Band and Guitar Hero has pros and cons....The biggest is that it really doesn't teach you how to play the guitar. There could be so much potiential if it did. The biggest dissapointment is that the game has a short list of songs from the albums. You just get a mix of tracks from Yellow Submarine, Sgt. Peppers (My Favorite Album), you get the idea. And I am kind of wondering why such a short list of songs, and down the months you download the full albums. Story mode is fun where you start out as one of the fab four in their humbling beggings to the famous rooftop concert. Multiplayer is fun, depending who will sign on and play with you. I felt awkward with 937,789 points playing with someone with three million playing expert while I'm still playing easy - medium. The diffculity settings help, because with easy you just have to press green, yellow and red buttons while wating to strum to expert where the colors come faster and now you have to hit the blue and orange buttons. I also liked the fact that while watching the screen you can play I am the Walrus while the Bealtes will treat you to a CGI music video. The graphics are really PS2 and I don't like they are cartooney and not PS3-esqe quaility. Still worth a buy for Beatles collectors and for fans old or new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HUGE Beatles fan... kinda disappointed

posted by DaGamer818 (CEDAR LAKE, IN) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I would consider myself a HUGE fan of The Beatles.. I must admit that I was kind of disappointed with the game though...
I thought the graphics were great!!!!!! I loved feeling like I was part of the band... but I got bored pretty quick with the game.. I figured that the game would be a lot more fun to play.. but I found it easier to play than the other rock band games.. and got bored rather quickly..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Classy title from Harmonix

posted by SSgtSeuss (TAMPA, FL) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Disclaimer: I am NOT a fan of Beatles music, but recognize their place in history as one of the greatest bands of all time.

With that out of the way, I still gave this game an 8 review. Why? The game was done with class, which is something you don't see too often anymore... Most games are out to exploit the artists and rake in as much money as possible with a poor product... Take... ANY Disney or Hollywood licensed title, for example. While I'm sure Harmonix is raking in the cash with the game, it was done well and does The Beatles proud.

For starters, The Beatles: Rock Band is basically the same game as any other RB title, with few exceptions. Instead of letting maniacs pound away on drum fills, for example, they were taken out of the game to preserve the music as originally played. It is also a stand-alone title... Any future Beatles songs released will ONLY be available for this game, and any future non-Beatles songs will ONLY be available for RB 1 & 2... No importing songs or mixing and matching bands. Unlike Guitar Hero 5 where playing Bon Jovi titles with Kurt Cobain singing is allowed, The Beatles are placed on the pedestal they deserve.

So why not a 10? First off, the game is incredibly short... About half the length of other similar titles (Only 45 tracks for $60).

The game is also way too easy... It's at least one difficulty level easier than any other GH or RB title made to date. It's not the game's fault, really... Beatles music was at the start of musical evolution and wasn't about shredding solos. On the other hand, if you're one of those players that feels like they're "stuck" on medium difficulty and unable to make the jump to hard, this game may bridge the gap.

Finally, pastel color schemes for the game just suck, IMO. The highway is way too bright, colors don't stand out... it just makes normal play a little more irritating.

In closing, this is the way games SHOULD be made... With fans and artists in mind, not profit margins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A digital Beatle Music Masterpieze

posted by jp123fp123 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game is awsome, aside from how rockband 1 and 2 fun can be, the beatles rockband not only brings the feeling of beeing a beatles itself, but also is like adding to your music library 45 of their best classic songs remastered into 5.1 sorrung sound. the graphics are great too. but one of the best thing is the story mode. the story mode takes you to their intire carrere in order. recreating the history making performences and their recording session in abbey road studios with its amezing dreamscapes. also the extra content, videos, pictures etc. are really interesting. harmaonix sure did a great job in this game. evryone should get it even if not to familiar with the beatles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really fun and easy game.

posted by Melvin14 (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game gives you good memories of The Beatles. the game has a good set list. The expert mode is really easy, not a big challenge. The story is not a big deal, but at least it has some animations. I recommend you to rent this game, you'll have a great time playing it with other people either online or offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbelivable!!!!

posted by ConnPT11 (KENNETH CITY, FL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! It is the best Rock Band yet!!! Me and my son were badgering my wife for the game. It looks so realistic! Though I do think that the storyline is to short. Some of my favs are I Saw Her Standing There, Octupus's Garden, Yellow Submarine, Can't Buy Me Love, Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds, and Here Comes The Sun. The dreamscapes are awesome, the venues are amazingly accurate, and they have a great songlist. I would advise any beatles fan to buy this game, even if you aren't, BUY IT!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Once again Rock band does it right!

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well first off I wanna say that i hated the Beatles so much that I just never listened to them. Well ever since I played some of the game I love them.
Anyways, Graphics are very nice, Charactor models are very very nice!
I didnt know any of the songs so Im guessing the setlist is Really good.
There is also a few new features to the RB franchise. There is the Pause countdown(Like in Guitar hero), you can use up to 3 mics for harmonizing with singing, and improved story mode.
There are many famous Venues that you play at that made The Beatles famous, like the Rooftop.
So I would seriously get this game because its fun and you will be surprised at how challenging the songs can be sometimes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse