Rent The Beatles: Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

The Beatles: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

1301 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I can play this game Eight Days A Week

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

But seriously I loveee this game. I heard of the Beatles before this came out, sure everyone has. But after I finished I was a Beatlemaniac. Their music is the best ever and I am in love. Graphics are very good and the setlist is awesome. I agree with people saying the story was too short, there could have been 25 or so more songs like other RB games. Easily my favorite RB game. Rock on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles Rock Band

posted by Bobby1970 (TOLEDO, OH) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I wanted to rent this game before I bought the set with the game microphone drums guitar. To check it out on the graphic and game play. I already knew I loved the music. If anyone wants a good rock band with great music I would recommend this one. I am so very pleased with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

beautiful job

posted by sjbboy (CANOGA PARK, CA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

i am a HUGE beatles nut and was always a big guitar hero/rock band fan. i remember one time sitting amongst friends playing either guitar hero 2 or 3 and saying "we need beatles songs on these things!" a few years later BAM! the best thing thats happened to rock star simulation games!

the music, the greatest music ever. period. some say this game is too easy. well, the beatles honestly have simple, memorable, lovable songs. i mean, most of there songs dont have much to them except simple chords and then a perfectly simple guitar lick from george. helter skelter and the end is a huge exception.

the only thing i can say thats bad about this is they stoped DLC with rubber soul. if they were to only do 3 albums, abbey road, sgt pepper and rubber soul is probably the best choice. but magical mystery tour? let it be? help? hard days night? we're missing opportunities to pretend to play amazing music!

great game. note to game designers: we need more songs!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review for the Beatles Rockband for the PS3

posted by progamer4 (VALLEJO, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The Beatles Rockband follows the tour of the Beatles from their first concert in the Cavern to their last at Apple Corps. Join John, Paul, George, and Ringo on a fantstic adventure playing such songs like:Yellow Submarine, Come Together, I am the Warrus, and Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band/What Would You Do? I had a great time rocking out in this game! Put this game on your gameque now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beat the beatles on expert.....

posted by djyes2 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

very easy game, but hey its the beatles not metallica. Still give it a 10 just for that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles: Rock Band

posted by yungphaze (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Wow, this game was truly amazing. If you're looking for a break from the same visuals over and over that Guitar Hero presents with their games, then this is the music game from you. What I really found impressive was the visuals and the quality of some of the songs. I mean, for songs that were released about 3 decades ago, you would swear that they came out yesterday. I mean, I got this game a few days ago, and I keep saying to myself that I'm going to return this game, but I can't!

My only gripes with this game, the reasons that kept me from giving this game a 10, was for one, I beat this game in five hours. FIVE HOURS. I mean, the Beatles have an expansive collection of songs, but only about maybe 50 of them showed up. The other reason, I couldn't stop trying to watch the visuals for songs like Lucy in the sky with Diamonds, or I am the Walrus!

If you're a Beatles fan, get it. If you're not, YOU WILL BE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth buying i mean it.

posted by rockers102 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I'm a huge Beatles fan and this game was terrific.The graphics very great.John Lennon,Paul McCartney,George Harrison,and Richard Starkley A.K.A Ringo Star are all in this game not like guitar hero with other characters.This game shows when th Beatles played in the Cavern in 63' till' they played on the Apple Corps Rooftop,they do change age and grow mustaches and beards.This game is so great you guys should figure out the rest of good parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The gold standard for audio and visuals

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Somewhere everyone who is playing this is smiling(especially the vocalists), despite a somewhat small setlist with some GLARING omissions and odd inclusions THE BEATLES ROCKBAND is ultimately irresistible. The unlockable photos and video extras are informative and entertaing, the trophies are fun to shoot for and the challenging setlist adds replay once you have one throughed all the singles. The music is obviously some of if not the best you will find in the RHYTHM genre despite its apparent overall simplicity. Notes only really get hard to hit if you are drumming or crank up to expert but it is so much fun to play that it is hard to miss frustration. Besides the beauty of vocals Ringos drum trainer is an awesome inclusion and the DOLBY SURROUND STEREO sounds absolutely stunning in this game. The psychadelic dreamscapes only put icing on a terrific package. These songs are highly replayable but there really should have been like 5 more on offer with the initial disc. This game is an achievement for everyone involved and truly deserves a sequel featuring all the missing classics from this go round. NO WHAMMY ACTION is really my only legitimate gripe here besides Ringo singing Boys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Than All Guitar Heroes Combined

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Sep 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game beats out every guitar hero game ever made. It doesnt beat out Rockband 2 but this is awesome. Its just plain fun. I had so much fun. Its hard not to like any Beatles song. Their vocals are awesome. Most of the songs are pretty easy but when they say its hard, its hard. Perfect 10/10 for Harmonix and Apple Corps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Beatles Are Back!!

posted by LBPRocks13 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off i am a really big fan of the beatles and there music.
This game is great game for all ages. There is great graphics. The beatles all look like themselves. The songs sound great and its all the favorite songs everyone likes. These songs include Come together, Hard Days Night, Get Back, Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, Eight Days a Week, Do you want to Know to know a Secret, and many more. The only song that I wish was on there was Help!! But I believe its going to be an add on to the game as a download. Other then that the game is great for everyone. It lets you be able to play guitar, drums, bass, and even sing or harmonize with each other. The game has no language or inappropriate things in it like other rockband games its just good clean fun. Hope you enjoy. This is definitely a buy if you like the Beatles. If you decide to buy it get the special edition pack its only 140 dollars and you get the game the drums the guitar and the mic. or just buy the game for 60 dollars if you already own the equipment. You may want to buy the drums and mic or guitar because all three together sounds really cool on the game. Just saying. Hope you like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Terrific

posted by Dwilder (ARLINGTON, VA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are a Beatles fan, and you have enjoyed any form of Rock band, you will love this game.

The only problem I have with this game, is when you stop playing, and realize you are NOT one of the Beatles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

attention is in the details

posted by thamuffins (PAWLING, NY) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

in many ways this is just yet another rock band game, but harmonix has added details that really make this game a classic.

for beatles fans, it's a treasure trove of audio and visual nuggets beyond the game play. the characterization of the fab 4 is warm and friendly, even though there's not a wide range of movement to them. when you reach the studio, each song has it's own 'dreamscape' and they have promised that future DLC will be just as unique. before and after each song, you're treated to studio outtakes related to the what you're playing. the band warming up, chatter.... i restarted a song 5 times and heard "alright, take 5"..... it makes the game worth exploring just to hear what they're going to give you in the bumpers.

of course the beatles are famous for their harmonies and it's a bonus to not just sing the lead, but have a go at other parts as well.

RB virtuosos will be disappointed. there's no insane shredding or double peddling here. but there's a real sense of the musical evolution that WAS the beatles ..... it makes for a great storyline for players truly interested in music history.

solo players get their own scoreboard, which RB 2 was sorely lacking.

overall... just fab!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Longlive the boys from liverpool

posted by therocket (GRAHAM, TX) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This week i got both the beatles rock band and guitar hero 5. The beatles walked all over gh5. sure it had more songs the the beatles rock band, but only 20 of them are even worth playing...play that funkymusic white boy i mean com on. At least with the beatles i got what I wanted a fun game with every song worthy of playing.

Some people are just like they where in th 60's and 70's when it come to the beatles they just can ever get enough, and all they want is more more more. So i see the main thing people wont like is that it is a short run, but come on you try picking out the best of the beatles.

Gh5 fpr me was a waiting game, you had to sing about 5 of the dumbest song on earth before you can play on good one. I think they could have done alot better picking song. All I had to do was hum my way throw most of the songs. And hey I like Flavor Flav as much as the next guy buy does he need to be on Guitar Hero? Heck no.

Im glad to i bought the beatles game and only rented gh5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A digital Beatle Music Masterpieze

posted by jp123fp123 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game is awsome, aside from how rockband 1 and 2 fun can be, the beatles rockband not only brings the feeling of beeing a beatles itself, but also is like adding to your music library 45 of their best classic songs remastered into 5.1 sorrung sound. the graphics are great too. but one of the best thing is the story mode. the story mode takes you to their intire carrere in order. recreating the history making performences and their recording session in abbey road studios with its amezing dreamscapes. also the extra content, videos, pictures etc. are really interesting. harmaonix sure did a great job in this game. evryone should get it even if not to familiar with the beatles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really fun and easy game.

posted by Melvin14 (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game gives you good memories of The Beatles. the game has a good set list. The expert mode is really easy, not a big challenge. The story is not a big deal, but at least it has some animations. I recommend you to rent this game, you'll have a great time playing it with other people either online or offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbelivable!!!!

posted by ConnPT11 (KENNETH CITY, FL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! It is the best Rock Band yet!!! Me and my son were badgering my wife for the game. It looks so realistic! Though I do think that the storyline is to short. Some of my favs are I Saw Her Standing There, Octupus's Garden, Yellow Submarine, Can't Buy Me Love, Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds, and Here Comes The Sun. The dreamscapes are awesome, the venues are amazingly accurate, and they have a great songlist. I would advise any beatles fan to buy this game, even if you aren't, BUY IT!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Once again Rock band does it right!

posted by Spideyman2 (EASTLAKE WEIR, FL) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well first off I wanna say that i hated the Beatles so much that I just never listened to them. Well ever since I played some of the game I love them.
Anyways, Graphics are very nice, Charactor models are very very nice!
I didnt know any of the songs so Im guessing the setlist is Really good.
There is also a few new features to the RB franchise. There is the Pause countdown(Like in Guitar hero), you can use up to 3 mics for harmonizing with singing, and improved story mode.
There are many famous Venues that you play at that made The Beatles famous, like the Rooftop.
So I would seriously get this game because its fun and you will be surprised at how challenging the songs can be sometimes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth playing

posted by guyhouser (OXFORD, GA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game was very entertaining. I liked the storyline along with the psycadelic videos that played in the background of the game. it was so entertaining that my 2 sons and I were up till 3:30 in the morning to finish the game and earn the finish in 24 hours trophy. the setlist has alot of the more popular songs as well as some of wich i had not heard prior to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A way to get my wife to game with me

posted by RPGjunkie (OXNARD, CA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

As the review title says, Rock Band and their sequels appeals to my wife and allows us to play video games together. The Beatles Rock Band has some good features. The 1st and most obvious is the content: you get to perform Beatles songs. some other additions is the ability to use other mics/headsets to harmonize. The screen also seems easier to follow making the instruments easier to play. Draw backs, it would seem that a good number of songs you know and love are being with held from us. Some you can buy for about 2 bucks a song and some are not available at all. It would seem that they would try to give you some more of the good songs we all want and spare us some of their early cover songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Beatles Rock Band

posted by Linq212 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Music - I really enjoyed the music and didn't realize how many songs The Beatles actually recorded. I found myself saying "oh! I like this song! I didn't know they sang this." I was not a Beatles fan prior to this release, but I didn't know that much about them to begin with.

Style - The style is very similar to the traditional Rock Band. What changed is unlockables you receive upon completion of the songs as you go through the story mode. Gives neat little pieces of info, photos and vids that you can enjoy - even if you're not a Beatles fan. during the gameplay, the fans really shout out as they did back in the day. And don't expect to use the whammy bar to change the sound... they didn't have the whammy bar back then, so it's only to increase your overdrive.

Graphics - Very nice if I do say so myself. The characters look very similar to the actual members of the band. The psychodelic images were "far out man." Reallly captures the essence of the era. The only downside is the color scheme made it difficult to see the color coded buttons on the screen when in overdrive.

Playability - I wish you could import the songs, but can understand why they didn't. It's an enitrely NEW game eventhough it uses the same basic platform and model. One thing that sets this apart from the traditional Rock Band and other music games is the 3-part harmony. I myself love to sing, and really enjoyed the singing harmony with my friends. However, not so much when by myself. Many people didn't want to sing, so keep that in mind.

Overall - I gave this a 8 out of 10. Keep in mind I Platinumed Rock Band 2 and I really enjoy ALL instruments and singing so this was right up my ally. If you liked Rock Band - this is a definite must try!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game rocks for a Beatles fan...

posted by wttiger19 (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Excellent game for a Beatles fan, Great Graphics and I liked the unlock-able content. The story mode is sadly too short. Wish it covered more Beatles history and maybe some bio's on each band member. Overall I give this game an 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game even if your not a fan

posted by RedFable (WHITEVILLE, NC) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I am no fan of the beatles, honestly I didn't even know over half of the songs on the game. After playing the first few songs it was a pretty decent game; the graphics especially the note board were well done. You can see the difference between this game and Rock Band 2, gameplay is similar excpe tthe drummer doesn't have to do the long make up solo in order to activate the bonus multiplier, all you hit is a certain green note and it activates. This is better being that it doesn't get you off track from the song. For myself I'm putting a rating of 8 for the game, only con was that it does get rather boring after a short while; some of the songs do sound similar and its not really my genre of music. For any fan or collector I would give it a 10 all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

playing the game

posted by cottton (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

It was a great game to play everyone should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good for beatles fans

posted by Harper (COLUMBUS, GA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Game is a great title for die hard Beatles fans, if you are not one of them then read the second paragraph below. Venues are accurate, game sends you on an enjoyable ride through Beatles history. Pretty good selection of some of thier most popular songs, with many more on the way as promised via pay as you go downloads. The triple voacalist thing works well once you get used to it but for older players may be a bit difficult since things move pretty fast at times and the user interface for the vocals are colored bars that can be very hard to track visually. Did not try game with 3 mics only 2.
On the downside, if you are not a diehard fan of the fab 4, and even if you are you will be dissapointed that you cannot play the songs from this title on Rockband 2. So if you want to mix it up song artist wise you are out of luck short of swapping games every few songs. That in mind with a relative short song list comapared to Rockband 2's songlist, you may or may not find it worth buying. Considering you a rockband 2 player, you payed about 50 cents per song with that title, Beatles comes out at about a 1.40 or so per song.
So, something to consider when making a decision to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ladies and Gentleman....The Beatles

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

I was three when John Lennon was shot and my father got me into the Beatles. Rock Band and Guitar Hero has pros and cons....The biggest is that it really doesn't teach you how to play the guitar. There could be so much potiential if it did. The biggest dissapointment is that the game has a short list of songs from the albums. You just get a mix of tracks from Yellow Submarine, Sgt. Peppers (My Favorite Album), you get the idea. And I am kind of wondering why such a short list of songs, and down the months you download the full albums. Story mode is fun where you start out as one of the fab four in their humbling beggings to the famous rooftop concert. Multiplayer is fun, depending who will sign on and play with you. I felt awkward with 937,789 points playing with someone with three million playing expert while I'm still playing easy - medium. The diffculity settings help, because with easy you just have to press green, yellow and red buttons while wating to strum to expert where the colors come faster and now you have to hit the blue and orange buttons. I also liked the fact that while watching the screen you can play I am the Walrus while the Bealtes will treat you to a CGI music video. The graphics are really PS2 and I don't like they are cartooney and not PS3-esqe quaility. Still worth a buy for Beatles collectors and for fans old or new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse