Rent The Amazing Spider-Man for Wii
view large frontback

The Amazing Spider-Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii U, DS, 3DS, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.3

245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

It’s good, but not Amazing

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

When they made the movie, The Amazing Spider-Man, they just had to make the game based on that movie.
This game takes place after the movie and its plotline has to deal with the cross species virus that threatens to overtake the city by turning people into mutated animals.
As Spider-Man, it’s your job to find a way to stop the spread of the virus.
There are thirteen stages in the main part of the game with two side quest stages and four really short challenges. It took me about eight hours to get through the main game and about another hour or two to get through the side quests and challenges. This game has quite a bit of content in it.
And it has some innovation with the Web Rush. Everything slows down to a crawl when you activate it, letting you take out enemies with stealth by aiming at them, leap over to far away walls by aiming at them, and defeat bad guys by (you guess it) aiming at them. When it works, it’s great.
But when it goes wrong, it goes horribly wrong. Fighting off bosses is aggravating because I swear I had the aiming down right, but instead of attacking the boss, nothing happens. This would drag out boss fights for far too long.
Another problem I have with the game is the level design; the game makers have a mean streak in them.
In one level, they ask me to turn three large faucet handles, but put in five large faucet handles. Which ones to go for? You’re on your own with that.
With the problematic Web Rush, that puzzle becomes a major headache.
The Amazing Spiderman is a good game with a lot of potential, but the devious level design and the unreliable Web Rush takes too much fun out of the game for me to hand $50 over for. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's AWESOME!

posted by dav13789 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I would recommend this game. Even though it doesn't have free roam, it's still great. Graphics are good and no glitches at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games I have every played.

posted by glendonray (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Honestly, did the developers for this game even try? This game should not belong in 2012. Terrible graphics, terrible game play, terrible everything! (besides Spider-Man, I love Spider-Man) I had the same game in my queue for all three systems but the Wii became available first. I'm gonna see if it's different for the PS3 or 360 and I'm hoping it is a lot better. I wasn't really expecting much anyways since it was for the Wii. But, seriously, this game would be impressive MAYBE in 2000-2002.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

totally discusting

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is wierd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst wii game since ninjabreadman

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I'm tired of amazing spiderman for having no free roam unlike the xbox360/PS3/PC because it's no more powerful than the gamcube witch had free roam for spiderman 1-2 and spiderman 3 for WII WITCH HAD FREE ROAM HINT HINT NINTENDO THANKS FOR RIPPING US OFF AGAIN. Thats the tip of the iceberg the visuals were hoorid for once i mistook cross-speicies infected humans for zombies, HUMANS. Thank you nintendo, sega realy does what nintendon't. Yep nintendo fanboys get ready to have your hearts ripped from your soul because this game came to the wii and 3ds not knowing what it was getting into and got the ninendo cold beenox is suffering horribly for it. I was expecting to swing from building to building at high speeds and feel the virtual wind in my mask covered face but was sadly dissapointed by no free roam and will regret the day my wii had to eat the game for breakfast.>:(

from, sonic1991

P.S. trust me this game sucks spiderman turned on new york and commited suicide after the creation of the wii ver. of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What is going on here?

posted by cpina2 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I don't get the controls of the game, i think that its more of a throwback to when they made the fantastic 4 game for the gamecube, it's EXACTLY LIKE THE MOVIE. So while there is exciting cinema and a familiar storyline, the controls are awful, the missions aren't that great and gameplay... don't get me started: especially when it comes to boss fights?? they go on and on and on because you're doing what the console says but nothing happens, and i may be the only one who thinks this but why is it when you're losing health and in a, pardon the pun, sticky situation; would they cloud the screen with this red web-ish mess. like the one thing you need to see when you're dying and needing to either kick someone's butt or get to safety is a completely red screen? maybe these tribulations are only for the wii but if i were you i would not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i played

posted by theimpossible (OMAHA, NE) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

okay this is the deal all the other platforms are amazing but for the wii it just sucks its horrible on the other platforms u can swing around in the city and get new suits on the wii you can't do any of those dont get this game for the wii get it for other platforms!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its ok

posted by jvkruler (FOND DU LAC, WI) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Its an ok game but I hate the point and play with the controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't hold their attention

posted by AngelBeth76 (LEFT HAND, WV) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

My boys are huge Superhero fans and they saw The Amazing Spiderman movie. They played this game on the X-box at their dad's and liked it, so they thought they would try it on our wii since we don't have an xbox. My 9 year old couldn't control it and so lost interest. My 12 year old got bored really really fast. We've had it two days and its going back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you got bit agen what hapend

posted by mushyman29 (MARICOPA, AZ) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

not that good of a game. I thoht there was 1 game now im lick just crouch. Well I still like spiderman.SOOO................ I played it. And that first one was in a city so I thot this xone will be amasing! cuse I have wached spiderman but I dint now the first one and it was for xbox enywas. listen up ather and rite ather you bring the loser liserd guy home send the game back i dont want to tell you if you dont

I hope youlove my mesage and im a little kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not That Amazing

posted by haroldmatt (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

This game has a good story and good graphics for a Wii game. The only problem is the fights are not that difficult, it felt too easy. The Boss battles weren't very clear on how to defeat them or even how to avoid dying. The controls are very hard to manage, because of the different combinations you have to use it's just complicated. Good story, good idea, but bad gameplay. All around decent game not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Shows Error Screen

posted by problem99 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game disc keeps stopping and showing disc error..i checked the the disc and saw 2 knicks on out edge of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »