Rent The Amazing Spider-Man for PS3
view large frontback

The Amazing Spider-Man

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Wii, DS, 3DS, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

2823 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleasantly surprised

posted by p_robberts (EAST WENATCHEE, WA) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't know what to expect from this one, given the tie to the new reboot movie. I was excited to find that it didn't make the mistake of playing us through a poorly-constructed imitation of the namesake movie. Instead, I found a story that was an extension to the movie itself! What a welcome change to the simultaneous game/movie formula.

The other element that surprised me was the ease and fun I had with the open-world travel, which is quite well done. The combat is also another area that exceeded my expectations and spidy had enough abilities to keep things interesting.

The only thing I'd knock is that the majority of the mini tasks around the city, while initially entertaining, became fairly monotonous after the first few times. At times I found myself completing events just for the sake of getting a the achievement although I did stubbornly finish everything along the way (even the comic books).

Overall a fun game that kept me going to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty spot on

posted by ghines1279 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty fun, only real complaint was that sometimes it took a long time to load and would keep you from hitting start or getting to some game menu's. Like after a side mission, you take out some bad guys mugging a random person and after you take them out it would take like 30 seconds before you could pull up the map to see where you should be heading. Overall it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This isn't simply a game, its a masterpiece.

posted by Iamtyler1235 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

26 out of 33 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Awesome, fun, exciting, just a few words to describe this game. This game combines everything we know and love from previous spiderman games such as free roam (1-3) and stealth missions (shattered dimensions) while adding some new exciting features (web rush) into the mix. Web rush is a new ability that allows you to freeze time momentarily and carefully choose your next action, this is very helpful to me (running into walls does not a good spider man game make). The fighting system is good too (besides the fact you only jam down the square button and once in a while the circle) it never gets old. During th beginning of the game, your camera is fixed at a first-person view, the things that interact with you during that scene was utterly terrifying, very cool. This game is a full immersion into the life of spiderman, playing this I felt like spiderman myself! The Graphics are top notch (up to arkham city level). Im very impressed with how much detail is put into this game, for instance, if you happen to take too much damage your suit actually gets ripped! It finally nice to see a good game since the recent........... flops....... 'cough'edge of time'cough'
The storyline was decent in and of itself. I would recommend to DEFINITELY buy this game ASAP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Excellent Game

posted by ElectricHero (SEYMOUR, TN) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I'll give you some advice, just buy the game... It's great, keeps you interested and there's a lot to do if your into doing side quests, but they stay fresh. It reminds me a lot of a cross between the Infamous series and the Batman Arkham series. All in all, good graphics, great combat, and awesome story. Pick it up or your going to be waiting 2 months for Gamefly to send it to you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by bmgoff (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. The best spiderman game to date IMO. If ur a fan of spidey u must play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Spidey Game

posted by FarticusTraci (SOUTH GATE, CA) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of the best Spider Man game I've played. Doesn't beat the 90's Spider Man for the PS1 but it still good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Chanticlear (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

An amazing game for all of you superhero nerds like me. You get to become spiderman and experience what its like to be a superhero. But one complaint, You NEED to see the movie before you play this. Its very fun and action packed and you never will get bored :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not quite amazing but still a lot of fun

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 6, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Much like the movie that its story serves an epilogue to, "The Amazing Spider-man" does plenty right, and yet falls just short of being the amazing game it could have been. The story picks up not long after the movie ends, so if you want to avoid spoilers (and there are some major ones at the beginning of the game) see the movie first. The story is decently written, and while the movie cast doesn't appear (save for a cameo from everyone's fave Stan Lee) the voice cast for the game is very good. The dialogue is nicely done, varying between some more serious moments to Spidey's trademark quips. The lines do repeat during the game's many side missions, but as long as you space those out they're not too annoying. There are occasional camera/control issues, but they don't detract from the overall fun. Combat is Arkham City inspired, and while not quite as good it still works decently. Web slinging through the city is easily accomplished by holding the R2 button, and you can pinpoint specific locations by using the web rush feature. Once you get a hang of the mechanics, moving around Manhattan is both a breeze and a lot of fun, making you truly feel like Spider-man. Boss fights are okay, and usually consist of stages until you finally defeat the boss. They are a bit repetitive and mostly not too much of a challenge, but some fights through the city offer a sense of motion which makes them more exciting than they really are. Your side missions are varied, but even they begin to repeat. Space them out between the story's 12 chapters and they're not too bad. There is a scene after the credits and a 13th chapter in which you can tie up any side missions and continue collecting. The most notable collectibles are the 700 comic book pages found scattered across the city, enabling you to read full comics connected to the game's story. It can take anywhere from 8-10 hours to complete the story mode, but there's plenty to do after. A buy if you're a fan, a good rental for others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet game

posted by gerardoeva001 (OGDEN, UT) Jul 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really like this game the story is good and the trophies are so easy (I'm a platinum hunter) but after a while it gets boring because you do the same thing over and over again, I personally wouldn't buy this game because i already did everything you can in the game other than that great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

REEKS OF AWESOMENESS

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jul 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was totally surprised just how good this game was. I was expecting it to suck like the Captain America and Green Lantern games. I have been playing for about 8 hours now and the only thing i am not a fan of is the crime missions being exactly the same. Other then that i LOVE this game.
The graphics are awesome and i love that you can free roam in the city and not have to follow the story lines all the time.
The gameplay is smooth and i found a few glitches when i would land on top of a building and i would look down and the city landscape would load kinda slowly. But every game has flaws and i can overlook these because the game is fun to play.
I will buy this game once the price comes down.
Rent this game, you wont be disappionted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blown Away 8/10

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First, let me just say I've always avoided Spiderman titles because they have always been awful. I read somewhere that this one was going to resemble Arkham City and I just had to see for myself. I can understand why someone would say it's like Arkham but it's not. The only similarity is the combat system. Open world but yet very linear. Graphics were great. Voice acting was good. Story gets a little stale though. Not much in the way of difficulty in this one. Spiderman fans definitely have something to look forward to now that they're re-energized the Game Franchise.

Pros- Graphics, Combat System, Multiple Suits

Cons- Web slinging animation, Amount of collectibles, Repetitive tasks

8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetitive

posted by great_gamer (WARREN, MI) Jul 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Overall, this isn't a bad game but it gets boring very quickly. The game feels an awful lot like Batman A.C. but not as good. There isn't much variety in the side missions as you literally do the same thing over and over and over again with no type of variation. If you're a completionist, there are tons of side missions, but as I said before, you end up doing the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game earns its title

posted by lilbrother (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Amazing Spider-Man is quite amazing actually the gameplay is amazing. I absolutely love the free roam where you can do anything that this character can do from streets of New York to the Empire State building this game will give you side missions that can be used after finishing the campaign so the game just doesn't end. I can't wait until I get my copy so that I can enjoy my copy of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutly Astonishing!

posted by progamer23 (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I normally never write reviews, but i just had to with this work of art (which is a definite buy!)

This was by far the best spider-man game i've ever played...and i've tried them all! I hate to admit that this game actually surpassed spidey web of shadows by a long shot. The game has a unique fighting system which I would most likely compare to batman arkam ayslum or batman arkam city...and the camera was also a great touch, it made it seem like you were actually spidey himself!
All and all this was a very amazing game. I have yet to watch the movie,but if its anything like this game.....the film will truely be Amazing!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spider man

posted by philadelphiamic (POTTSTOWN, PA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was good the characters was good spider man was great it's combat is like batman how once your sense kick in u doge or counter i like this game and the movie was even better so i would recommend if u liked spider man 3 and all of the movies get this game it's great like i said for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best not the worst

posted by delatorjose17 (HILLSBORO, OR) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I had the first ever Spider-Man game that came out. You know the one were spidey shoots his web at the sky and some how it magically it sticks, and most of the levels being in a close room were you have to defeat a boss or complete a level inside a small building. Yeah that was a good game for its time. But about 15 year have passed and the same idea and mechanics are implemented in this game. Shooting web above the Empire State Building and still being able to swing and having to play the game almost always inside some building, lab, or sewer not allowing you to enjoy the Freeroam and web slinging that all the spider man games have to offer. But it is fun the way the controller vibrate when your falling free fall, and the combat is fun even when you have no idea what sidey is doing to the enemy. So overall it was a fun game had some really annoying camera angles at time, and just didn't push the bar to another level. 7 it's the rating I would give it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great all around title

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played numerous incarnations of our favorite web crawler. But this one is great BEENOX has gotten wide exploration with Spidey down great, no real complaints here. RENT THIS IF YOUR A FAN DO NOT LET THE LAST TITLE SCARE YOU OFF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWSOME

posted by matthew22 (BETHLEHEM, KY) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok first off I thought that the amazing spider-man was by far the best game out of all of the other spider-man games. It just had the right amount of action. where the other's didn't. It had good graphics and great missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Sep 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

"The Amazing Spider-Man" boasts nice graphics, a decent story, and a few clever nods to the Spider-Man mythos, but, at the end of the day, it's just not quite up to snuff. It tries desperately and transparently to mimic the recent Batman games, but its missions are repetitive, its combat system is simplistic and lacking in variety, and the camera is way too close to the action. It's a shame, because you can plainly see there's a better Spider-Man game underneath all this, struggling to get out. One can only hope Beenox puts a little more effort into their next Spidey venture, and delivers a game truly worthy of the license.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Major Spoiler Game.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're like myself and havent seen the movie then I urge you not to play this game due to the level of spoilers this game delivers. This is set directly after the movie version (for those who havent played this yet) and will probably be the best Spiderman game you'll see on the market for a long time. The game will hook you right in from the beginning with it's huge open world design and tight camera and control work. Graphically though this is a well designed game but some more detail could have been worked through and I'm sure it would have if not for the studio rushing this to be out before the movie. All in all this is a fantastic addition to the Marvel universe and while sometimes the side missions grow to be a bit repetitive and collecting all 700 comic book pages are tedious, it makes up for it by introducing a wide number of villians to fight. This game captures what it's like to be Spiderman and how it feels to websling through the streets of NYC on any given day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by TEAMBRINGIT21 (JAMUL, CA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

When i first saw the gameplay demo at E3 it looked great but now i can say that this game is simply amazing has a good story and great graphics finally a Game based on a movie that is actually good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT A GAME!!!!

posted by Chase16 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

What a game this is the best spider-man game every great grapics and great action!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hmm

posted by ViperLFC10 (OREGON CITY, OR) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

so the swinging is incredible and that's all that is good

the combat is a very bad Arkham game wanna be

and the camera is very awkward..... spiderman 2 on the PS2 is way better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Amazing Spider Man

posted by xxmartinez18xx (IRVING, TX) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

wow i had high hopes for this game it is not very good or very bad but its nothing to get excited for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure Awesomness

posted by KingGaming33333 (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Duuhuude

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse