Rent The Amazing Spider-Man for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Amazing Spider-Man

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:DS, Wii U, 3DS, PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

3747 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, not great.

posted by KyleD_32 (JEFFERSON, OH) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Spiderman, and I loved the first 3 Spidey games but this one fell short for me. It was too easy, and I really didn't like how it told you what to do all the time. Like you always knew where to go and whatnot, I just would've preferred it if they didn't always give you hints, like I know how to do Web Rush after the first time I use it ya know? I give this game a 7.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Amazing Spider-Man in Crow Vision.

posted by DeadlyCrow33 (CHARLESTON, WV) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The game is short and sweet. The game is easy in most parts but was difficult in some parts. Swinging through Manhattan is a great way to blow off steam after a long day at work or school. All-in-all this game is great and I had a really good time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost, but not quite

posted by Gmoneywalker (MC COOK, NE) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Amazing Spiderman is without a doubt, better than it's latest predecessors, no doubt about that. We finally get a return to the open world fast paced web swinging of the older games.

But unfortunately, once you get passed the point of relishing in this return, you'll realize that the open world isn't quite all it's cracked up to be.

Now, the original Spiderman 2 - Web of Shadows had dynamic events and crimes that would appear randomly throughout the city, this gave the open world an 'alive' feeling, as well as providing you an opportunity to wale on some crooks to break up all the web slinging. But now these eventually dry up, leaving you with nothing else to do in the open world once completing all the crimes and challenges.

As for the story and characters, I reach a sort of 'eh' feeling. This is indeed a movie tie in, and unfortunately means that this game is shackled to the movies plot, despite taking quite a few liberties it still feels like on occasion things were shewhorned in to connect to the movie.

And another problem I have is Spiderman himself, the character has always been one to 'crak wise' while fighting crime, but I felt the writing in this game compared to others was lacking. Boiling down a good many of his responses to sloppy internet references and memes. The 'you tazzed me bro' was one such comment and it literally made me hang my head in shame for Spidey, at the very least the could use current internet jokes.

The gameplay is pretty solid however, Swinging around Manhattan is fun and fluid, and everything works pretty well despite an occasionally uncooperative camera. As for combat and stealth, have you played either of the Batman Arkham games? If so then you've fought and stealthed in this game, since it's an exact rip off of that. The biggest difference being that Spidey's wall crawling makes stealth way to easy, none of the enemies ever look up so just stick to the sealing.

It's decent but not as good as the ori

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY GOOD.

posted by SICKreviews (HIALEAH, FL) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Spider-man is at his best. Truly a great game. It has all you want from a Spider-man game. Web shooting, swinging from building to building, saving the world, and bad guys. Including a new stealth takedown. Somethings were bad such as the length of the story, to short,but the side missions made up for that. Also, the fact that must bad guys are defeated the same way dodge and punch. Game is good for getting achievements, but some are almost impossible to get. Overall this game is a good rent, not for sale. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tough one...

posted by SnackPackJack (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well... This is my first review, but I just wanted to put my input in this game. First of all, I love Spider-Man, and I think this game hit the mark with this character. Amazing voice acting, and the story actually kept my interest, which I can't say for most superhero games.
This game visually pays off when you're outside swinging through the city. This New York looks GREAT, but on the off hand the character models didn't live up to par...
Then there's the game play, I enjoyed this game very much when I had my first boss battle, plus swinging around collecting comic books got very addicting. This games strongest feats were by far outside in the sandboxed area. But then there's the mission based levels... This is where the game lost me. I found myself stuck in a corner trying to crawl onto the ceiling with the camera glitching back and forth, then fighting the same enemies with the same number of mobs only pressing X and occasionally Y... The maps all seemed a copy of each other also, there was no variety, and I beat the game in a day with no real interest in a second play through.
But the game still payed off with a visually astonishing New York, and addicting web swinging. I wanted to give this game a higher score, but it was just missing something with the missions... I give it a 7/10 For sure a renter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Amazing Spider-Man

posted by JonV (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I LOVED this game. The story was interesting, and the graphics were fantastic. There was most definitely not a shortage of missions. It kept me entertained, and I'm definitely going to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review Time!!

posted by coverboy9000 (EDWARDS, MS) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

30 out of 37 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Image- This Spiderman makes Manhattan look stunning. I loved looking at the city after the begining scene from the top of Oscorp building.

Gameplay- The Amazing Spider-Man has a solid battle idea. The fighting is like Batman, but not as polished. The web swinging is fun for one to two hours.

Story- So Peter gets snuck into Oscorp by a friend when he discovers that Osborn is continued cross-species breeding. They soon break out into the city and infect citizens.

What I Hated- Cluncky fighting, Can't hit citizens

What I Loved- Interesting story, Likable Spider-Man, Great bosses

Final thoughts- This game did justice to a long-time hero and is a hop in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Loved the graphics and fighting, story was short

posted by monkkie_jedi (NEW IBERIA, LA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

So for people who loved the old free-roam spider-man games, it's very similar. I loved the ability to pretty much go wherever you wanted while also being able to go back to your misssion when you wanted.
Also, the graphics were great. The city was brilliantly pictured from every skyscraper to every cross-species. Even when it went evil, dark, and chaotic, there was some beauty to it.

The only thing that I didn't like, however, was how short it was. I started the game as soon as I got it out of the mailbox and, even with all of the cinematics, finished it in less than 12 hours. I think I would've liked if it lasted a little longer storywise, because there's only so long that you can pick up infected and bring them to the hospitals or break up fights in alley ways. As soon as the main story ended I was pretty much lost.

All in all, a good game if you're interested in Spider-man and a continuation of the movie, with good graphics and a good storyline. There's even free roam, which is one of the first spider-man games to do so in quite a while. The only con is that the story line was quite short, cutting off your fun as soon as you're done with the main missions.
Would recommend it to quite a few of my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A Sad State of Affars...

posted by RainDragon (MUNFORD, TN) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

19 out of 28 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

When the best Spider-Man game came out an entire hardware generation ago, you know there's something wrong.

The Amazing Spider-Man is nothing more than a prettier and dumber version of The SM2 game. It literally took everything that was amazing in that game, and made it suck.

If you are making an open world game about Spider-Man there's ONE thing you have to get right. Web swinging. In SM2 it was an intricate and amazing skill that took practice and close observation of your surroundings. Once you got the hang of it... well... there's been nothing like that in a game since. I literally spent extra MONTHS playing that game just to swing around.

This game is like playing a racing game. You literally hold down the 'throttle' and steer. And that's it. That's as involved as it gets. If you want any sort of close control, you have to (ironically) give up all control of Spider-Man. Any advanced traversal at all is universally mapped to what might as well be called "The Cutscene Button." And that's what it is. You hold a button, point a cursor, let go... and watch.

Oh and by the way, you can web swing anywhere. You can web swing over the trees in central park. Presumably you are attaching webs to low flying pigeons...

The combat is a C-grade rip-off of the Batman Arkham system, only with fewer options.

There are roughly six side mission types. Five of which get tedious immediately, and one of which is tedious from the start (Picking up infected civilians and swinging them to a medical center... yay.).

The camera is ridiculously close to Spider-Man's back, it was marketed as a selling point, but I think it was to hide the terrible textures on everything BUT Spider-Man.

I mean... yeah. It's bad. It's some horrible executive's idea of ripping off Arkham as fast and as dirty as possible with a Spider-Man coating of paint, and rushing it out the door as soon as possible to get money from the gullible.

Unless you REALLY love Spider-Man. Leave this t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by log1ebear (LAKE MARY, FL) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Awesome game. Graphics rock, awesome story, this game is fun. I work a full time job and still beat the game in like 3 days. now im just trying to find all the extras to stay interested in it. awesome game to rent from GameFly..dont buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I really really wanted to like this game...

posted by Benhigg (RENTON, WA) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

... but unfortunately I didn't.
The swinging mechanics in Spiderman The Movie 2 were perfect. Why mess with perfection? Supposedly this game was going to return to the more free swinging Spidey we saw in that game, and that was true to a point, but they had to dumb it down for the lowest common denominator. What you end up with is a game that ruins the best part of some of the previous Spiderman games, while retaining the same repetitive, boring gameplay. Yeah, there's a new fighting style that tries a little too hard to be like Batman, without succeeding. Yeah, the graphics are prettier. But it's soooooo repetitive. I couldn't even finish the game. Incredibly disappointing.

OK, sorry, one more thing. Why can we swing from clouds?! That's just stupid and it feels stupid and whoever made the decision to allow it in the game is stupid.

I'm done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Missed the mark...

posted by DahaKa (MIAMI, FL) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

21 out of 45 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Well, I won't lie, this is my first review, but that doesn't mean you should listen!

I love the spidey series with Part 2 on the xbox/ps2 being my favorite, and thats the first problem right there, ITS NOTHING LIKE IT.... I'll put it like this, the game is made for 5 year olds!

Number 1 problem And MY MAIN PROBLEM...Really basic dumbed down swinging, you can literally hold the right trigger and swing all around town almost blindly, sometimes web sticks to thin air as you swing lol

Number 2. No cool air tricks, but I guess that's just part of the first problem and just me nit picking

Number 3. Starting to get repetitive already, but then again what games doesn't I guess -___-

Number 4. Story is kinda lame, don't believe the hype about having the game set after the movie and blah blah, its a movie tie in lol...

I know it doesn't sound like much problems but trust me they WILL bother you...

Now for some good, and it does do somethings well...

Number 1. Pretty nice graphics for a spidey game, looks clean, polished, very nice visuals during web rush, and fights.

Number 2. Web Rush, its getting old quick, but you can pull off some sweet moves with the Web Rush.

Number 3. The fighting is also pretty cool, I'm sure you heard already it's kinda like Arkham, but NO WHERE NEAR as smooth, animations can be rather choppy at times

Number 4. Some really cool moments during boss fights, but then again I guess that's just an extension on what I said about the clean graphics

The game doesn't do as much bad as previous Spideys with better AI, less bugs and a much more vibrant city. But it doesn't do much good either, THE SWINGING SUCKS, you can't even JUMP during swings or hold LT for a boost at the end of your swing which was a KEY ASPECT TO the swinging in previous games! I swear its like they made it for idiots to play! Fighting is cool but dumb down as well, not quiet Arkham...

It's pretty fun though, worth the rental IF you're a fan of the s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spider-Man, you're AMAZING!

posted by TheMartyr (BONNERS FERRY, ID) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't care what anyone says. The Spider-Man film reboots are a good thing. Why? We get new Spidey movies and GAMES. You know the free roaming games? I'll start off saying I am a huge Spider Man fan. He is my favorite super hero. I've played almost all of the Spider-Man games you can imagine.

This movie tie-in does several things right and only a few wrong. Unlike previous Beenox Spider-Man games this one is NOT linear. I still had a great time, like Spider-Man 2 on the Xbox, just web slinging around the city. The voice acting was solid and the story just as good. Combat was pretty good. The web rush was a nice touch just like the stealth take downs. Side missions were fun but did get repetitive. Length was pretty average but the ride was great while it lasted. This game shines at adding sweet little details. Such as collecting comic pages around the city to get actual comics to read, "New York City Thoughts" in the loading screen, innovative ways to unlock new Spidey suits, and people responding to your web-swinging.

Glitches were few and far between. Some of the boss battles were kind of annoying to me. Some were grand. What I don't get is how Spider Man can take NO damage free-falling from a skyscraper? Huh. I guess that it's a super hero thing, we wouldn't understand. This game wasn't exactly what its predecessors were such as "Spider Man 2" and "Spider Man 3". You didn't feel quite as free but the free-roam WAS there. Many people criticized how the web slinging controls were laid out. I'll admit it is different but if just play it like you played the games, "hold RT then press A then hold RT and THEN tap LT", then it doesn't feel that different, but if you just hold RT then it gets annoying as Spidey will do it all for you.

The Amazing Spider-Man was just a good "movie" game just as the one's based off Raimi's were. Great game to pass time and have fun. So, in my eyes, this Spidey game gets 9 out of 10 radioactive spiders.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spidey at his best!

posted by GhostSpider83 (FRANKLIN, IN) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What a great game this was to play. I really felt like Spider-Man when web-slinging, bouncing on baddies and cracking one-liners (the last Spidey games to make me feel like a, "True Believer," came in the form of Spider-Man 2 and Shattered Dimensions). The game is actually a sequel to the movie, (saw the movie last night, "Amazing, nuff said!") so do not play this game till you have watched the movie because of spoilers. The movie-style presentation of the game was great (voice-acting, story, I truly would watch this game in a theater for $13.00 etc...). The graphics are beautiful but not the best 360 has to offer, animation is pretty fluid and N.Y. City comes alive. The gameplay is a simple-button layout (you don't really buy, "moves," like in previous games, just power-up's) and Spidey just fights, flights and does what a spider can. I do kinda miss smashing several buttons to perform a awesome acrobatic feat into a villains face (like all the crazy-cool moves from Spider-Man 2) but this game does it justice without leading to carpel-tunnel. The basic missions are the typical kind from previous Spidey games; car chases, muggings, hostage, gunfights, carry civilian to hospital and photographer to name a few (pretty funny dialogue at times too!). Some great bonus material like; bio's, costumes, you have a gallery of the photo's you take, comic pages to collect in-game/read classic Silver-Modern Age issues. There's even a really cool character (I will not say who) you can play as but required a special order. I bet in the near future though, you could purchase the character on X-Box Live, fingers-crossed!

-Lance B.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No not this again

posted by Rvampfan (SPRING LAKE, NC) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All I have to say for this game is this title was suffering a mid-life crysis. Best way I could summarize it is this was a mash up of Prototype storyline ,Batman gameplay, with a splash of Spiderman in there. Its just said because this game suffered poor level design,lame enemys with a redundant combat system, and a short if not sorry excuse for a storyline. Trying not to be a spoiler but a sum point the seems less like an actual plot and more like a lame B movie with a total of about 5 bosses if you wouldnt even call them bosses. Its just kills me because Im a big spiderman fan. My advice dont buy this game infact dont even play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh...

posted by jus_mee (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was an entirely underwhelming game. The city looks great and the textures throughout are awesome from clothing to buildings. The game play itself leaves a little to be desired however. Waiting for the webstrike icon gets annoying and the stealth portions of the game are super repetitive and lack imagination. I played through it but mostly because I'm of fan of Peter Parker. Have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the amazing spider-man

posted by fatestcascade3 (CHATTAROY, WA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing it is action packed and has free roam. i could not stop playing it till i beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game

posted by jrozay (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

expected more from it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Amazing"

posted by TWSSOWNZU (LITTLEROCK, CA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The amazing spider-man is a game that i was very skeptical about especially as the last one i played was not so much fun. In this game however the controls do take a little getting used to but after doing so, the movement is so smooth and the graphics of the game are stunning.
If your an Achievement hunter then you can get 1000 in less than 20 hours without a guide.
The game is a lot of fun especially with the ability to replay missions.
This game is great for any spider-man fan. If you liked Batman then this will be a great add for you. Great rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic

posted by 2013 (BRONX, NY) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If the story was longer it would have got a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Spider-man fans STAY AWAY

posted by justdoingwork (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I am a faithful spider-man devotee; being that so, I have played every spider-man game since the side-view super-Nintendo years and can honestly say that this is one of the worst spider-man games they have ever developed (aside from spider-man edge of time....just eww)

If you play spider-man mostly for the fun, acrobatic, jumping from 100 story buildings webslinging free-roam; then you will be sadly disappointed by this game. Ok for starters, just like in the ps1 year games activision has brought back spider-mans supernatural power of sky-swinging. Yep thats right, you no longer need those buildings because you can attatch your webs to pure nothingness once again! Aside from that terrible aspect, web swinging itself has been simplified so that your newborns can take over when you start crying at the utter disappointment you feel for renting this game (may satan have mercy on your poor soul if you actually bought this game). To webswing in The Amazing Spiderman one must hold down the R Trigger......And thats it! dont worry about letting go of or jumping off of that line you just cast because spidey will do it for you! Theres a building in your way? no problem just continue holding the R trigger and you will run up the side of it and continue swinging once at the top.
I could go on and on about how terrible this game is but let me break it down for time's sake.

What The amazing spider-man doesn't have that Spidey 2, 3 and Ultimate Did:
Sprinting
Web Zipping (or any web swinging acrobatics)
Chargeable jumps
A good combat system ( the amazing spiderman has one attack button and no heavy or light attack variations)
Damage from falling (you can survive a leap from the tallest building in the game and take no damage)
A wall crawling button (just run into the wall hard enough)
A long or medium length story (Too short I thought)
ext.

It seems like the game was developed for small children with its simplicity and lack of challenge or variation in nearly eve

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alright, but not what I hoped for

posted by Generias (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Overall, this game is more, yet less, than I expected. How it does that is in a few areas, making this a little difficult to truly rate.

The parts that are more are mostly in the story. I like a game to have a good plot, with few, but well placed twists. While I've yet to beat the game, I decidedly like it on this merit.

Apart from the story though, my main source of enjoyment comes from the stealth takedown mechanics. Creeping along the ceiling before sliding down on a web and then zipping back up with a bad guy wrapped tightly in webbing is always a satisfying feeling, especially when my enemies aren't aware.

Having said that, the downsides are more numerous. The stealth, for the joy it brings, also highlights the AI's glaring weakness. In a room with several enemies patrolling, I know they'd remember that their friend was there a few seconds ago, and would thusly react by sounding an alarm. This is especially evident with the cross-species enemies, given their sort of pack mentality.

Next, combat. Simple isn't always best. Mash the attack button, hit the dodge now and then, and occasionally jump attack an enemy to go over the shield, or Web-Strike a far-off enemy. Sounds tougher than it is. The only snags come from the enemies with ranged attacks. More than eight feet away and you'll be dead before you can hit the retreat button.

Next, costumes. In Spidey's closet is a bunch of costumes. Or rather, hangers for them. It says to find hidden tokens or beat the game for more, but the hidden tokens are Live or PSN only, so if you don't have Live, like me, you get one costume from beating the game, unless all of them are there.

Last, no New Game+, meaning once you beat the game, any unfinished side stuff is all you've got left until DLC comes out.

It feels like they're following the Prototype series for some reason, if you ask me, and they missed a few important steps along the way. Overall, I'm glad I just rented it. 5/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worst Spiderman game yet

posted by r3gn4r (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

There are 4 really short chapters that make up the main story. The game spoils the end of the movie in the first 5 min.
Swing mechanics are clunky. Camera is pulled way too close. Lifeless city with nothing to do but chase down the same car over and over or stop the same mugging.
Indoor missions are a chore and there is nothing fluid about this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game not a 10 a 9.5

posted by FishingKing113 (TAMPA, FL) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about this game I thought oh no another movie game. When I started playing i found the combat to be incredibly fluent when fighting more than 4 enemies it tended to get increasingly more choppy according to the number of 'bad guys'. The way Manhattan is displayed is absolutely incredible. One aspect that would have made the game more pleasant would be if you could choose a certain form of stealth attack like instead of just rapping them up and lifting them to the ceiling you could sneak up and break their neck or using to hands into one big fist and smashing them down on top of the unaware enemies head.

Pros : Outstanding city scape ,amazing combat and melee combos, pretty good stories
Cons: Not a huge deal but it would be nice to have a few stealth takedown options

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gameplay

posted by xbox3601 (houston, al) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

awesome! the swinging can be from sxy is plus
free roam is back with alernate costumes and
manhatten look good but suggest web of shadows
better then this i give it an A it,s better then
shattered dimensions i think

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse