Rent The Amazing Spider-Man 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Rent

Keep for: $34.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox One, Wii U, 3DS, PS4, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.3

247 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by cprisco13 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) May 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a Spiderman fan then you should get this game. Its fun swinging around the city and fighting guys. You can get different costumes as well. Its basically the same as the first Amazing Spiderman game but with a new story and some other features. Its pretty simple and easy to play. I dont know why people give this game bad reviews. Its not supposed to be Assassins Creed or Arkham City or some epic game. Its just a fun spiderman game with a good story. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by Alpha0007 (GRAIN VALLEY, MO) May 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am in no way a critic. If the game is fun then I rate it good if it's bad then I rate it bad. Simple. But in this case i must say Spider-Man games are normally at least good for one play through. But this is in my opinion the best Spider-Man game to date. Second place belonging to Web Of Shadows. I think this one is better because it's combat style is completely new to Spider-Man games. Which is what makes it better than all the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!

posted by MadStacks (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all I didn't have high hopes for this sequel considering the problems with the first game but this absolutely blew my mind, the cinematics and gameplay are phenomenal. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the amazing spiderman 3

posted by fisherfam (METAIRIE, LA) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game is awesome it has electro and it makes the living room light up. Spiderman has some sweet moves when you are fighting. Its just that this game does not have the rhino, but in the beginning of the game you need to run to uncle ben to see him laying down and then peter starts to cry. Then you turn into spidey then jump off the fat mans building. You can swing around the city even fighting electro.You are going to like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

far from perfect, but still a pleasant surprise

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

i really enjoyed this game. i really don't understand what all the negativity is all about. i think the people who gave it bad reviews were expecting way too many things from the producers solely based on the fact that it is a movie based game. people don't understand that the creators of these types of games are working with an incredibly short deadline BECAUSE it's a movie tie-in game. this is one of the reasons why i was surprised at how good this game was.

for starters, i loved the fact that the mood of the game was a good balance of light humor type moments, with peter parker making his stupid little jokes and quips to the other characters during the boss battles, but then gets serious during the cut scenes when he is trying to get his points across. one prime example is when he is talking to harry osbourne about harry's disease and tells him that he needs to wait a little longer and not give up hope. or when he's trying to talk to electro and tell him to stop destroying new york. sure these moments get corny, but they stay consistent don't stray from the story's main purpose.

Another aspect of the game i liked was the acting. solid, very solid. i mean, sure, i think that the actual actors of the movie would have been better, but the actors that were in the game were believable enough to get the job done. unlike in some games (like fantastic four, rise of the silver surfer, which, incidentally, had all four of the real actors of the movie itself ), none of the voice acting in this game was too bland or put me to sleep at any point. well done!

My only real complaint were the camera angles. way to frantic and loose. especially when climbing on walls. did not know where the heck i was half the time. need to fix that folks.

graphics were okay. a little robotic, but the colors were bold and clear.

overall, i felt that this game is very engaging and worth a rent. i was pleasantly surprised at how good it actually was. give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game at all

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Had loads of fun with this game as a rental not real sure I'd buy it but it isn't a bad game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Such a disappointment.

posted by circa5509 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I have long been a fan of the Spider-Man games but since the days of the PS2 games the quality has slowly been dropping. This game in particular however was just absolutely horrible to play. The controls are by far my biggest complaint. They are so imprecise that it makes many tasks unbearably complicated. The story line is boring and generic and the side missions are extremely repetitive and offer no challenge whatsoever. I have always loved Spider-Man so it is hard for me to write such a scathing review like this but this game was truly a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by EricL94 (GLASSBORO, NJ) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is such absolutely amazing in every way possible. Huge fan of the Spider-Man series, everything about this game is superb. The combat/webbing/web slinging. Love it, it's a must try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE

posted by 0309 (BRUNSWICK, GA) May 21, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

This game was horrible if I were u I wouldn't waste my time on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Playable

posted by inFAMOUS_VECS (NEWBORN, GA) May 18, 2014

Member since May 2014

The game is Enjoyable once you get past the learning curb with the Webing system. Cool unlockables/suits but not much in replay value. Definitely worth playing if your looking to pass time or your into the whole superhero/comic thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worst yet.

posted by Ritchey87 (HUNTSVILLE, TX) May 10, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

This game is the worst spiderman yet. Webslinging is a chore now and choppy. Graphics are unimpressive for a 360 title and there is no depth to the combat. Not even worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but not Amazing

posted by Mordwraith (CINCINNATI, OH) May 9, 2014

Member since May 2014

After enjoying the first Amazing Spider-Man game I was looking forward to this one. Beenox said they were working on fixing the web slinging problems from the first game, and they did. However, in some parts the webs don't connect and you are essentially swinging from the moon.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Pros:
Great variety of costumes to unlock and wear

New York feels more alive than in past iterations

The animations are nice

Interesting story and use of characters

Stan Lee used nicely

Cons:

The Hero and Menace system is a great idea, but horribly implemented

Side-Missions often disappear before they are able to be completed

Strange bugs occur often like falling through the map and not being able to punch or defend against enemies
----------------------------------------------------------------
All in all I'd give this game a solid 7. It's not horrible, but it's short of Amazing. If you're a fan of Spider-Man you'll probably enjoy this game, but to people just looking for something to play Id recommend a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Amazing Mess

posted by DeadBite (BRONX, NY) May 5, 2014

Member since Apr 2005

Beenox has been making Spider-Man games for the past few years and sadly they seem to be getting worse. Shattered Dimensions was there first hit with Spidey and even though it pretty much copied Batman Arkham Asylum’s format. It was a great game, after that it just seemed they suffered from Activisions yearly-recycled releases. Even their first foray into the open world with the Amazing Spider-Man game was okay at best. Now the sequel has come out and it’s a repetive mess. It’s obvious they were forced to release the game along side the movie but why do companies still do this? When we have things like Gamefly, Red Box or even the Internet to warn us if something is going to suck.

ASM2 suffers wonky camera, graphical glitches, repetive side missions and one-liners. Not to mention the worst voice actor for Spider-Man to date. Swinging around the city is still fun but it’s a shame the crime fighting side missions get old quick. The boss fights this time around are mostly locked into little Arenas were you just figure out their patterns and beat them. The only exception is when you fight Electro out in the city and it’s pretty epic. Don’t expect a really deep story here either, the game gives you the illusion that it’s trying to be but honestly it falls apart mid way through. The combat is easy and somewhat satisfying and unlocking new costumes that all have different attributes is a cool idea. There really aren’t much positive things to say about this game, it’s short, messy and just far from amazing. It’s a shame that the last great open world Spider-Man game was Spider-Man 2. With next gen finally here maybe we can get a great open world Spider-Man game the kind that is on par to Rockstar’s worlds. Sadly I don’t think this will ever happen with Activision in charge of things. All they care is about pumping out the same thing over and over again till it stops making money. They really should remember with great power comes great responsibility.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really? You can do better

posted by Stagray (WALDORF, MD) May 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

This game is far from being good. Its avg at best. The controls are clunky and is far to easy, even on Superhero difficulty. The game is basically a step back from the last iteration of Spidey games.

If you dont have much to do right but play this, its OK. There are over 400 collectibles in it and the missions suck. So it will pass the time but you wont be overcome with joy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This was made for the newest systems?

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) May 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2003

I had an xbox one version of this game on my list first then changed It to the 360 when they canceled release of the xbox one version. I am a fan of most games but this whole SpiderMan game franchise is complete trash especially this last one. This games been dumbed down for an age group of 8 through 15. The game is repetitive and poorly made with almost a non existent storyline. In truth It is the worse one yet. As a new owner of an xbox one system I would have been furious to have purchased such a trashy game.Thank God for Gamefly!
I had this game freeze on me several times during gameplay.There is nothing good about this game period. It's not even worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No no no.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 1, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

This game is not good but on last gen it is even worse. The graphics are choppy as a low budget title and the gameplay is so simple a 3 year old could beat this game on the hardest difficulty. I would say just skip this game unless you want a higher gamerscore. Horrid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »