Rent The Amazing Spider-Man 2 for PS4
view large frontback

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

764 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Missed the mark on so many levels

posted by ravenx25 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a sad day for us Spider-Man Fans, this game falls short in almost every situation. I was so excited waiting for this game to come out I am so glad I did not buy it and rented it instead. The new console is the PS4 but the developers of this game were developing it for the Atari.

Graphics: about 3-4 years behind current.

Gameplay: Simple mash buttons repetitive and a little boring.

Pros: Cool Costumes.

Cons: Spider-Man 2 the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is bad.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is playable but feels like a playstation 2 game from a small company with very little budget. Graphics are not really that good. Gameplay is super easy even on hard. it has 14 missions. yes, only 14. very very short and disappointing. easy gamerscore though on both systems so that is why I gave it a 2 instead of a 1. If they had just made a sequel to the first one which wasn't that great but was very pretty graphics wise. this one is a pile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the worse Spider-Man in the world.

posted by mykingdom4bacon (CHARLESTON, WV) Dec 9, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

The game is not all as bad as some reviews make it out to be. I enjoyed the story which even though vague was still a lot more enjoyable than some games I have played lately. The combat system is reminiscent of a watered down batman arkham series, which means that while it does have quite a few moves it still gets repetitive pretty fast. Enemy types do have a small variety but once again falls in the repetitive state. There are plenty of suits to unlock all with different stat bonuses.

All in all this game has a decent amount on enjoyment with a big heavy load of ... Repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for Gamefly!

posted by Resjon1 (COLLEGE PARK, MD) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

This is a great game to rent, play it for a few days, complete the main story and a few side missions then move on. Great for Gamefly!

It's fun swinging through the city, its fun fighting bad guys. The only thing is it just seems like its a ps3 game on ps4. Same lame game play and that shocker special move....lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Game considering other PS4 titles

posted by Debo85 (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Looks rushed out. But still playing and swinging is fun. Some of the boss fights are interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beenox failed again

posted by gaffdecks (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

The reason I rented this game bcuz the upgrade of the swing the rest was boring. I wouldn't recommend this game to no body.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tras

posted by threelittlezs (TROY, NY) Oct 31, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun

posted by BigSwollz (INDIANA, PA) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

My nephew is 6 and the only reason he likes it is because he can swing around. Everything else is horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supper hero? More like super boring

posted by MLJMLB (SEASIDE, OR) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Had it for one day (the night that it came in the mail) and then it was back in the mail the next morning. The original spider man on the original Xbox was more fun then this one. Horrible acting in the game way to childish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good

posted by DrakanIDG (CHERRY TREE, PA) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I only got about an hour into it, I just lost interest. I'll add it on sometime next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by bundlesny (NORTH BELLMORE, NY) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

The first was definitely better dont waste ur time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I really tried to like this

posted by Hindenbag (MARYVILLE, TN) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I really wanted this to be decent. I read the other reviews and concur entirely, but I want to mention a few things. The story gameplay isn't terrible. It could've been better, but was ok enough to get through and be entertained. Everything else about it sucks. The biggest gripe I have is that the side missions are not worth doing at all. There is no steak in getting 100% as all the small time crime missions don't even count towards it, and the bulk of the game is spent doing those. There are like 5 different types you can do, over and over, and doing them raises your Hero rating, but there is NO END to them, like with most open world games. And they expire, so if you're running around trying to get hidden packages, then the time runs out on these and your rating drops. If it drops into the negative, you get attacked by security forces. It just feels like work, there was nothing fun at all about it. Visually, the city looked great, but I don't think I would consider this to be a next gen game at all. I've seen better looking PS3 games. I wouldn't bother even renting, definitely don't buy. Let this one go and hope for a better one in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worth a rent, maybe

posted by Signal20 (SPRING HILL, FL) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

I am writing this as I am nearing the Platinum (max level all suits), which has made it obvious to me why no one should ever buy this game. It may be worth a rent, if you are a fan or like a fairly easy Platinum trophy. My review will focus on the trophy hunting influence as well. Pros: -Works very well on Remote Play with the Vita. This title is constantly prompting you with button tips to perform actions such as Stealth Takedown, Evade etc. And when used with Remote Play, it is one of the few titles I've come across that change the buttons for the Vita. For instance, when playing on the PS4 you use L1 for Stealth Takedown. When playing on the Vita, it changes the prompt to tell you to touch the left rear touch pad. Pretty nifty. -I appreciate a game that I only have to playthrough once to unlock all the difficulty trophies. Playing on Super-Hero was not that difficult. -Load times are good and quick. Cons: -Voice acting is repetitive and annoying. -Gets old quick. Anytime you try to do a bomb mission, one of the three same pedestrians always seem to be the ones scared by it. -Web slinging controls are horrible. After doing a wall web run to the top of a sky scraper Spider-Man has a need to do an acrobatic flip which usually ends up with him falling backwards and having to run up again.. -Camera view is atrocious near obstacles and walls. You'll need to constantly be rotating the camera or move away so you can actually see what you are doing. -Leveling up multiple suits is the only reason to keep playing (if you want the trophy). Sadly, this is where the game becomes so repetitive and you see the blatant flaws. Notes: -Others have complained about the graphics. They don't bother me as much (I thought they were acceptable), as I find the gameplay and story more interesting then polish. However, this game fails in my opinion. Story line goes too quick, voice acting horrible, and gameplay controls make it annoying and frustrating. Verdict: Don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Not Good

posted by WhytKiD (GAINESBORO, TN) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Really did miss the mark with this game. Graphics are disappointing to be on a next-gen system. Web controls are god awful. Fighting is brainless. And the story is just meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't buy this game

posted by sfgamer (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

Ps3 graphics at best, bad controls, no online multiplayer or campaign, very annoying voice actors and dialogue, seems like a short game because when I beat the first mission I was already 3% done with the game... It would've been cool to see online multiplayer in this game. A game where you run around and interact with other spidermen would've been cool. Don't buy this, even if you are a die hard spider man fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How can you make an unfun Spidey game?!

posted by blackgallagher (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 24, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Wow. Just wow. This game is atrocious. It smells of a terrible port rushed to coincide with the release of the film. The graphics barely tap into the power of the PS4(this game should have been gorgeous) and the game mechanics are worse. Web slinging is clunky at best and combat is a breeze. The whole Spider-Sense=Detective Mode from the Arkham series failed to come off as well.

TL;DR: Activision somehow takes the mechanics of the Arkham series and a Spider-man game and instead of making it fun, they make a farce of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nope

posted by tduke (MURFREESBORO, TN) Jul 23, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game was sad. The fact that I even put it into my PS4 is shameful. looks like a ps2 game. controls very poorly. don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Amazing is a slight exaggeration

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

Spider-Man spends a lot of time fighting enemies, and much of it is blandly enjoyable. It's easy enough to latch on to faraway enemies, pulling yourself toward them in a frenetic burst of violence as you teach them the follies of their ways with your fists. Dodging enemy attacks and retaliating with incredible force makes you feel like the purveyor of justice Spider-Man wants to be. It is very simple, and after a while it becomes too predictable for its own good. Combat is closer to an elaborate quick-time event than a test of skill. Attack when your foe's guard is down, dodge when he flashes red, and repeat until everyone is squirming at your feet.The biggest failing of The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is how familiar it feels. In fact, there have been other open-world games starring Spider-Man that walk a remarkably similar path. There's nothing majorly wrong with The Amazing Spider-Man 2, after all. There's just not a lot right with it, either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

spider flunk

posted by cujo4844 (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

the story of the game was good but the graphics were kinda bad when the characters talked their months were not with the words and the punching was the same as the first one not much different and it could have been blood coming out or something when you punched crimnails the only upside was the different costumes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's okay

posted by DaveH (RUTHERFORD, NJ) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Ok, so aside from a couple shots here and there, it largely looks like a last gen game. It's not great by any means, but it's entertaining enough that it's worth a rental. Web swinging is fun and the story is enjoyable to at least some extent. The side missions are obnoxious, as every time you complete one you have to sit through an extra 15 seconds of loading and a news clip saying you're a hero or a menace.

It's pretty easy, even on the hardest mode. My favorite part was definitely the costume variety in game, which grows as you progress. Costumes have added buffs, but none really are necessary to advance.

Overall, it's a fun romp if you're in to Spidey, but you won't be overly impressed at any point. The voice acting is good enough to not take you out of the moment and Stan has a couple memorable quips. It's a clear rental or bargain bin purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome addicting game

posted by ChrisKringle (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I started this hoping for a descent game having not played amazing 1. It was great you can swing all over the city do what u want. It is hard though even on easy mode. Which makes it even more enjoyable. Worth the rental for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rush Job

posted by oki08 (OLMSTED TWP, OH) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

Less then 10 minutes into playing, I had enough. I seriously thought I was still playing a game from two systems ago. Graphics looked rushed, the city looked like building blocks, distant buildings were blocked by an ever present wall of "fog like" stuff that leads it look like Spider-Man lived in a bubble. Animations for cut scenes had Spider-Man talking while dancing around on what looked like an 18 second loop. You also get about a 15 second crash course with some of the most complicated controls I've ever seen in a game. It's rarely ever I can call a game trash. This is trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spider-Man, Spider-Man does whatever a spider can!

posted by Light47 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I must say this game is fun. You can swing from building to building, a down side is you need to get used to the swinging once you do its fun as heck. This is a continuation of the first game and not the movie. You get to see some new villains that are just great if your a Spider Fan. The fighting system is simple but sometimes repetitive and easy but still fun if you crank up the difficulty to Super Hero. The story is very enjoyable except for when it tries to tie into the movie which just makes it weird. If you are a fan play it! Kraven / Black Cat / Kingpin / and a few more which I won't spoil now go do some web design on some foes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Next Gen Spiderman Falls Short

posted by BendWebs (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game could hardly be called anything but a failure. It has been released it several years ago, it would have been okay, but given todays standards in gaming this feels like a modern day ET. Graphics are reminiscent of PS2/Early PS3 days, there are no new features to the day simply rehashes of old Spiderman games from days before. Skip it and hold hope that one day we will have a great Spiderman game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the rental

posted by NARs (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

If you want a short, glitchy pain of a game go right ahead and rent this poor excuse of one. Multiple instances with screen tears and jumpy frames, far to easy even on its hardest difficulty. Nowhere near as immersive as I would've like it to be and a horror to control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse