Rent Tetris DS for DS
view large frontback

Tetris DS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

665 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A nice new Tetris

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 22, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

You probably already know how to play Tetris. Everybody does. In fact, when I play this game in public I am a little self-conscious because it's entirely possible that the people around me know how to play Tetris better than me.

This is a new rendition of Tetris, and it's very polished and fun to look at. While you play the main mode, you can watch old Nintendo games being played out on the top screen. The better you do at Tetris, the quicker the games on the top screen go.

The new modes are really what hold your attention, though, if you're already good at Tetris (and you probably are). Catch mode is a great new way to play Tetris and I am considering buying the cartridge just for that mode. The other modes are also pretty entertaining.

The biggest complaint is that they really could have added some surprises. I mean, watching those old games go by reminds you how fun it was to play them back in the day. I would have loved if it was possible to unlock one or two of those old games. How hard could it have been to emulate Mario Bros. 1, or one of the other NES original games? There are no secrets to unlock at all except for some music tracks, which is just a shame.

This is a fun renter. You'll quickly remember why you enjoyed Tetris back in the day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TETRIS LIVES ON!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Marioman (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After the release of tetris in the late 1980s, we have a high expection from puzzle games(not poke'mon trozei!) Anyway, TEtris is the greatest reincarnation of the classic puzzler.
As you can tell by the box art, there are old school Nintendo characters in the tetris mix. THAT IS AWESOME!!! For example, in the classic tetris mode, the old school Super Mario Bros. is being played in the top screen while you tetris action is on the bottom screen. The action on top starts going to the legend of zelda to balloon fight to metroid to donkey kong. There are also 5 other modes.
Puzzle mode has you try to clear line with only 3 or 4 or 5 peices. It is easy at first, but then it makes a puzzle out of a puzzle games. However, it is very addicting.
Push mode is a mode i do not understand to the fullest, but you clear lines on a Donkey kong game backround and the lines go up or down. Its not fun.
Mission mode is hard because link keeps asking you to clear 3 lines with an L or clear two lines with a Z thing. It is hard, but fun.
Catch mode... you will hate it at first, but love it after 5 or so plays. You catch tetris blocks to make a square with Samus from metroid and blow stuff up.
Touch mode is tetris with all the blocks already fallen. You touch them to flip them, and drag them to move tham to a slot. It is very easy, so expect no pressure from it.
The greatest thing about tetris DS is WIFI support. You think your great and want to show of your skills? Well, prepare to fail because some people on WIFI Are perfect at the game.
My verdict is you should buy this game if you absolutly love tetris. For everyone else, it is a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tetris DS back in Multi-Player Form

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I spent so much time with Tetris in my younger days that I am not a shamed to say I consider it a childhood friend. We spent time alone (NES version) and as part of a group (Gameboy version). We also had our share of rough times (Tetris World). Luckily Tetris is finally back in playable form.

Tetris DS uses old themes for its presentation. This is a special treat for those who played Zelda, Super Mario, Balloon Fight, Donkey Kong or Metroid. Another thing the game got right is the way the tetriminos looks. They are brightly colored and it is a pleasure to look at as you stack the different colored tetriminos.

The games single player mode is good but it isn’t the highlight of this package. There is the standard mode which is great since you can play infinitely long which was not doable in Tetris World. Of course the problem is that you can still spin your piece forever so a lot of the challenge is removed. The challenge mode and push mode is more interesting because the infinite spin move will still punish players because they are either verses or time based challenges. The touch and grab mode are kind of bad and the puzzle mode is somewhere in the middle in the fun level.

The game really shines as a multi-player game. The Nintendo Wi-Fi service matches does lack options but gives you enough variety and its ease of use to find random opponents makes it a great service. The four player mode, push mode and 1 on 1 modes are all fun to play. The fact that you can play up to 10 people on a single card also makes it easy to find opponents if you don’t have wi-fi but Nintendo Wi-Fi is really the way to go for this game. Luckily since speed is also important in multi-player, infinite spin really isn’t a viable tactic.

The single player game can help you train you for the multi-player game that is waiting for you in Tetris DS. So as a single player game this it is just good but the multi-player experience makes this game a whole lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

was alright

posted by pandorarose3 (BERWYN, IL) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

it wasn't that great. i mean it does have some neat stuff but for the most part boring, you can't clear the old information from the last payer which stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally!!

posted by GOOMOMMA03 (FREE SOIL, MI) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is awesome!! I love tetris on any system, but on DS is great I have it at my fingertips anytime I wanna play. The graphics are great, it has all your favorite music from the Mario and Yoshi games. The only downfall was that it didn't have just regular Tetris. The clearly 200 lines is the closes it came, but to be able to just play until you are done was not available. Still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what i think

posted by 9lives (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

its a decent game but they take the cascade mode out and that my favorite other then that its ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nintendo-fied Tetris

posted by FFSamurai (OVIEDO, FL) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

It's the same game as you'll find on every game-related device known to man with a Nintendo theme. If you haven't rented this game yet then kudos to you for not jumping the gun just because it's Nintendo-Tetris, because this game is lacking a bit. Certainly is fun playing the same old game you've played before to the Mario theme or the Zelda theme, seeing someone else playing Mario while you play Tetris, and having a variety of modes like Touch and Push to satisfy your puzzle-gaming needs. After the initial novelty of the theme and trying out the five modes you'll quickly find that this game is severely lacking in options. Probably the most prominent loss is the lack of choice in music when you play any of the modes. I mean I know that eventually in standard mode a new song will be playing as you progress but I'd like to play an entire game listening to whatever tune I want; be it the original Super Mario Bros. theme or the Legend of Zelda theme. Another hamper is the lack of unlockables too, I mean it's cool you can play a variety of modes and everything but why can't I unlock something other than an Endless Tetris Mode or another sound track I may never listen to in game (I'm looking at you, Ancient Tetris theme.) Another problem is the lack of touch functionality, with it only as either a tacked-on extra mode (the "D-Pad works just as well if not better" Touch mode) or as a useless alternative to the D-Pad (touch-puzzle and normal puzzle where the differences in game play are negligible.) Granted, you'll probably have fun playing this game if you like Tetris. But, seeing as the same experience (and better) exist online for free in so many fashions you'll probably wind up not enjoying this cash-cow as more than a rental (even touch mode can be easily done using a D-Pad too.) A decent rental but a severely restricted version of one of the most exceptional games in the world. In short, get Meteos instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DUMB!

posted by KLS62576 (ROSLINDALE, MA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

OMG! Am I the only one who thinks this game is DUMB!? They merged Super Mario Brothers, Adventures of Zelda and other Nintendo games into one?????? Are you kidding me? I thought I was going to play the original Tetris, but instead Mario is playing his own game on the above screen. I can't believe they ruined this game. It may be OK for the younger generation, but those who actually REMEMBER Tetris when it first came out are going to be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dear gamefly, why can't i buy this from you?

posted by fernypants (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

i have fond memories of playing tetris against my older brother with two gameboys and a wire between the two. this just goes to show how technology has moved on and how awesome things are. this game is great, too bad it doesn't have a "keep it" button, this is deffinately a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's TETRIS people!!!!

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Apr 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

it's one of the best selling games and most copied games of all time and for a good reason. This version however has been my favorite version of all time for sure! It's mario themed along with zelda, metroid and some others just as background and sound as well as the other types of games. Several different game modes to choose from. The classic Marathon mode is awesome! it's the smoothest its ever played on any system, you can store one Item at a time like say a Line for instance so you can drop your Tetris when you get it built with ease. I've yet to get the 200 line goal on marathon and I catch myself breathing harder and harder as the levels progress and by level 19 im sweating bullets!!!! Multiplayer rocks with a wireless connect only needing one game cartridge you'll spend hours competing against that friend of yours that keeps saying "I was the Tetris master back in my day" yadda yadda yadda. I've heard that so many times and then spanked em' haha. Don't just rent this, BUY it from gamefly!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tetris DS A Winner!

posted by Pinocchio (ALPHARETTA, GA) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Tetris DS is an entertaining take on the classic falling-blocks challenger. Updated music, and an upper-screen storyboard serves to add an additional element of distraction that kind of evens the odds of the game enough to make it challenging in a slightly different way than classic Tetris. In a nut shell: die-hard classic Tetris afficionados won't be disappointed, and those who are developing a newfound appreciation for the contest will also be entertained and challenged. I spent about nine whole days playing this game in my spare moments before it started to get routine. As always, your mileage may vary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More gimicky than revolutionary

posted by Jetaron (Seattle, CA) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

I played this one for a couple days but didn't find it to be all that exciting. It lacked some of the tetris versions that I liked and included several new versions that weren't all that fun. The reviews for this game have been good but I don't agree. It seems more like they were just trying to get a version of tetris on the DS rather than really polishing it out.

I suppose the game might hold up better in multiplayer, but as I don't have friends with a DS I didn't get to test that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like a Phoenix Rising from Arizona

posted by SmartBombs (DECATUR, AL) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

See more reviews, previews, and a comic strip at the smart-bombs website!

Beating the computer on a game doesn't make you good at it. Keeping this in mind, I began to play Tetris DS online.

I’m not doing well.

I used to not like Tetris all that much, but this little handheld beauty changed it all. Never have I seen so much creativity put into a rebirth of a classic game. As a matter of fact, this may be one of the best uses of the DS hardware I've seen yet. It uses all of the DS's functions except for the microphone, and it does so without feeling gimmicky or tacked-on. Classic Nintendo themes accompany several different modes. My favorite was "Push" mode, a new Donkey Kong themed, competitive spin on classic Tetris. Your blocks fall from the top of the screen as normal, but now there is an opponent sending blocks upward from the bottom, coming to rest on your blocks. The objective is to "push" your opponent downward by clearing two or more lines at once until they cross their line on the bottom. Likewise, they can push you upward across your line. It is the absolute best online mode.
There is also a touch-screen puzzle-like version in which you must guide a cage of Balloon Fight balloons down from the top of a tetrimino (you know, the little tetris blocks) tower. Players use the stylus to drag tetriminos left or right, causing them to fall into gaps and create lines. The take-your-time-and-plan- ahead approach is a nice change of pace from the frantic pace usually associated with the series.
Of course, there's good old fashioned Tetris in there, too, although even this mode has had a few tweaks. You can now press "R" to hold a piece and subsequently press "R" again to summon it back when you need it. Classic mode is great online, too, although only four people can play as opposed to eight locally.
Most revamps of classic games aren't really worth it, but Tetris DS feels like a whole new game. You won't be able to put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even if you don't like tetris

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Sep 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

Blocks you stack. Sounds boring, right? WRONG. I really have never been a fan of tetris. But when you have so many competitive ways of playing. And so many opponents to take on online. Tetris, is beyond compare to other puzzle games.

Online is rely fun. With push mode, 2 player VS, and 4 player VS. You will not get tired of stacking blocks to perform combos. The lasting appeal of this game is large.

If you like Tetris, you will love this. If you don't like Tetris, try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best.. Tetris.. Ever.

posted by thedave (VOORHEES, NJ) Sep 1, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Omigod. When I saw mario connecting me to the world to play tetris against them, I jumped up and down like a battletoad on a pogo stick. Hands down the most addictive game i own, period. Great for a quick play, every day.. gets the juices flowing. Great online support from nintendo as well on their website.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Tetris!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

Okay, you have to know what Tetris is. Everybody does! If you don't, then I suggest you go pick up a copy right now. This game is a blast to play. There are 6 modes, and all 6 are fun. Push Mode is my favorite aside Standard Mode. In one player, you can choose from Standard Mode, Push Mode, Touch, Puzzle, Catch, and Mission. All 6 are fun to play.

Standard Mode - I don't even have to say anything about Standard mode. Just get all the original Tetris action you crave with this mode. This is the Mario-themed mode. As you clear away lines, Mario will run through classic Super Mario Bros. levels on the top screen. You have an option to make this mode endless... This mode is available on multiplayer (with up to 10 people at once) as well as Wi-fi (2 people at once or 4 people) You can choose to turn items on or off in multiplayer, and in Wi-fi, there are items in 4 players.

Push Mode - It's a Donkey Kong themed game of Tetris "tug-o-war" style. Clear two or more lines at a time to push your opponent down to the pit of defeat. This mode is available on multiplayer as well as Wi-fi.

Touch Mode - Conquer a massive stack of blocks using your stylus. Just grab Tetriminos on the touch screen and drag them into lines to win this Balloon Fight-themed challenge. This one is fun, but probably the worst one.

Puzzle - Solve fiendish Tetris puzzles at your own pace. You only have a few Tetriminos to clear away all of the lines. This one is a lot tougher than it sounds!

Catch - Fuse a flying core with falling Tetriminos in a Metroid-themed challenge. Spin and maneuver your core to create a solid 4x4 block -- then detonate it to rock up points and blast away Metroids.

Mission - Join Link in a quest to complete Tetris missions! Check the top screen to find out what your challenge is, then rush to complete your mission before Link's hearts run out. This one is a lot of fun and is available on multiplayer.

Buy this game. It's good. Wi-fi is the best part ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not What i Expected

posted by 6787834 (MURRIETA, CA) May 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

First Things First It Is Truly Fun But TO ME I Think it Gets Old Like After A Day TO ME!If U WFC Its A Lil Better But If Not :( Lol!Not A Buy Prolly Just a Rent.Hope That helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

really good!!!!!1

posted by metroidmas (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

the game is fun for about 10 days then it gets kinda old
THIS GAMES HIGH LEVLS ARE HARD!

still rent it if your going on a trip or something long-term then it is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by theJman (ATHENS, GA) May 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

If you've played Tetris, you've played this game. It the same old tetris, just on a new system. If you haven't played Tetris before you should rent this game, but for people that have already played Tetris before(which is probably all of you who are reading this)you shouldn't rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Predictable

posted by eazyeray (PAWTUCKET, RI) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Tetris DS was fun, but it was entirely predictable. There were some different game modes, i.e. puzzle mode, classic mode, etc, but it is Tetris... If you're looking for excitement, this is not the game for you. WiFi connection is a nice addition, but you cannot leave a game or pause it :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tetris DS

posted by NerdyGirl (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

I like Tetris and mario both because they both remind me of the old school days. That is sweet that they combine the old school games together i really truly enjoy both games alot. I like the demo i that played at the store i like that it alot. Yup, as gamer i was truly pleased with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Tetris With Shiny Retro Wrapping

posted by Wendigo17 (EASLEY, SC) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

I never was a huge fan of Tetris, but the retroactive elements of Tetris DS seem to constitute an entirely different gaming experience. The added modes in Tetris DS offer much more variety to keep you interested for a while (although standard mode is my fave). After you get tired of playing (or getting beat at) standard mode you can try the other modes of play. They create a nice diversion until you're ready face off against the real monster. I did enjoy playing "Touch" and "Mission" quite a bit, although I found some to be overly annoying or generally uninteresting. The variety is incredible and each game has its own various modes of play. Meteos is certainly weak in contrast to the sheer variety Tetris DS has to offer, but some Meteos style unlockables would have been welcome. The most that really changes is my icon in the "Records" section depending on your high score of course. The truly magnificent thing about this game is that there's a little something for everyone, whether you're a Nintendo fan or a puzzler. The concept is brilliant to at least merit a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Yet

posted by TrUsTmE (Fort Lauderdale, FL) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

Tetris DS......the memories of my little B&W GB to plunking hundreds of quartes to get the high score....so many memories. And now I can re-live those memories once more on a handheld. (Tetris Worlds for GBA doesn't count....you couldn't save)
First of all,every mode is decked out with retro nintendo backgrounds and music. This also a downside,since you may not like a song, you may not play that mode. There's Normal Tetris, we all know that. Puzzle mode, you must pick a piece to go in the pre-sellected spot, no spining or guiding. Mission Mode,adds more heat with goals like clearing lines with a L or things like that. In push mode(my fav) you play CPU or another player in a reverse tug-of-war.On-line mode is a little of,ranking is confusing and hardly any customization,and only three types of modde for on-line. Single-card for 10 players,and thorw in crazy weapons, and you have the best game on the DS for puzzle fans so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

puzzle madness

posted by gameguy91 (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

this game is really good. 6 different single player game modes, 3 multi-player game modes, at least 10 players at a time, and wi-fi. you would think that mult-player for a puzzle game would be boring but well.......... think again. wi-fi will never get boring, and i play everyone i see with a DS. there are a few problems but barely noticable,like the wi-fi ranking. you start at 5000 pts, you may end up at 4000 in 1 hour, then you'll be fighting someone at 6500 pts, which is over half of your ranking. also the copy i have makes sure im within 15 feet to play online, it should be 60. that's about it, no big deal really, the range one might just be mine, and the ranking one is probably because its new so not many people may have it on at a time. if you you say im criticizing the game in my review text, then look at the rating again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »