Rent Test Drive Unlimited for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Test Drive Unlimited

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
7.1

3305 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not better, just different

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 7, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

79 out of 87 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Test Drive Unlimited is not the best racing game out there, nor is it even the best on the 360 right now; HOWEVER, it IS a good racing game and is definitely worth your time if racers are your thing. The biggest draw to this game is the Massively Open Online Racing, which is the name Atari is giving the online play in this game. Essentially, if you have an Xbox Live Gold account, you can drive around seamlessly with other real people from all over the world, flash your lights for a quick race, or just talk to them as you drive by. You're free to roam the entire island of Oahu (part of Hawaii), which offers up quite a large setting. The cars look nice, but not as nice as some other games (like PGR3), and they all handle differently, so that's a plus. I personally think they crapped out with the motorcycles, though. Also, there's no damage to cars, so scraping walls or even hitting another car head-on doesn't really do anything except slow you down. Also on the graphics end are the actual people. Man, talk about ugly. It's pretty obvious that not much time was spent there, but in the long run, who really cares when this is a game about cars?

After you select your character model from a line of people at the airport, you're in the game. You basically can now drive around and just sight-see or do whatever. You can pull up your map to find race locations, rent or buy new cars with your earnings, and buy another house if you want. Again, if you're hooked up on Live, you can see other players driving around with you. It's a blast to race strangers, set up your own waypoints for races, place bets, etc. You can even find friends and warp to their location. Sometimes I'd be right next to a friend on the map and not see them, but warping to them always fixes that. A minor annoyance, I guess. Without online play, though, this game seems a little bit thin. I honestly don't think you could get more than a week or two's worth of fun out of this. If you ARE online, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unexpectedly deep, beautiful, and addicting!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Oct 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I wasn't so sure about this after I tried the demo a month before launch. But I took a chance and shelled out the $39.99 and brought this gem home. I was half expecting it to be a competent, but limited racer with a budget price, well considering the usual absurd price tags for new 360 games. I put the disc in and found that TDU is a nearly perfect arcade racer with incredible depth, eye popping graphical displays, and insanely addicting. This is the first real racing title that allows one to completely free roam the perfectly rendered Hawaiian island looking for instant race challenges from NPC roaming cars, giving rides much like crazy taxi to super models, delivering questionable packages for big bucks, picking up hitchhikers and actually doing some real sightseeing. That's all just the beside the point aspects of the real game built in here. You race through various classes of situations from the easy to painfully challenging to earn cash for your ever increasing lust for hot cars of all kinds to store at your increasing places of residence. Yes, you can buy houses all over the place too ranging from quaint, to stunning mansions with views to die for. The customization of your avatar is fairly robust as well, however not terribly exciting, but still fun, and you earn coupons to exotic shops where you can play dress up. You earn these coupons by successfully driving fickle modles from point A to Point B and the faster and cleaner the ride (don't crash!) the more she offers. You can rent cars to get a taste of some you may want to own later, and if you don't like that, you can test drive any car you might purchase. This is all just the single player life. Go online (assuming the TDU servers are not bugging out) and you get much of the same but filled with live players zipping about flashing their lights at you and race with friends or strangers. Sell, or trade cars. Holy cow man this game is truly amazing. Absolutely the deepest racer on the market and a bargain!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game!

posted by XboXplyr (COLUMBIA, TN) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved it, it has LOADS of cars to buy, (I had a 67' Camaro with bumblebee paint job) Lhambroghinis, Ferraris, ect, lots of room to drive,
and good multiplayer gaming setup. 10/10 from me! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

test drive unlimited

posted by garrett51 (SPRING GROVE, PA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! Being able to freely drive around Hawaii in a cool car or bike from well known companies is relaxing, while being able to street race is even cooler! The only reasons I rat this as a 8 is because you can't completely customize your ride, there isn't any decals or vinyls you can use. The second reason is that there is no Porsches in this game.Other than that, rock on test drive!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Fun but not for hardcore racers`

posted by Hdizle (kirkland, WA) May 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If your into just raceing 100% of the time im not gonna lie to you, you will not like this game. Now if your like me and you wanna go cruisin with some friends this game excelles. The online cruising is fantastic. Its fun to see 5 black cars traveling down the hawaiin coastline or drivin around the race track. The cars are amazing theres lots and they just keep adding more(the newest one was a lexus pack that was kinda lame) but most of them are great. The racing isnt bad its just not comparable to what forza 2 is gonna be. The challanges range from transporting cars (you drive the car to a destination) to transporting models. overall this game is worth buying. i give it a 10 out of 10 on freedom but a 8 out 10 on racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, People aren't giving it enough time...

posted by PwioReview (BEVERLY, MA) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The first time I grabbed the wheel (okay, controller), my first thought was "physics." I wasn't quite sure if I liked them or not. I find video driving physics in general, for the most part (ie, Full Auto.. which was just terrible), to be in the eye of the beholder. These are great. Similar to a Gran Turismo (with a little extra responsiveness) or a Need for Speed (with a little less arcade assistance). Somewhere in the middle. After playing the game for a few hours and getting used to how everything works.. you will love this game. Another issue some people have been complaining about is the fact that you spend a lot of time "driving" to destinations and not necessarily "racing." Like I said, this game takes some time to get into. But it is completely worth it. The graphics are an 11. They're amazing. The overall size of the environment is awesome. Very realistic in terms of simulation driving senarios and speed of the vehicles... when it says you're going 125mph.. it actually feels like you're going 125mph. Another feature that I've been waiting and waiting for (ever since NFS put it into "Hot Pursuit", either 1 or 2, but only in a single one-time race) is the "driver seat" camera view. This is one of the best, and most realistic features of the game. It puts you, literally, into the driver seat of whatever car you're driving, making the experience unlike any other driving game out there.

So, 1. get this game.. 2. give it some time to get rolling.. 3. you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Test Drive Unlimited Is Near Perfect But Flawed

posted by Codyz360 (CALLAWAY, MD) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have had TDU since its release on the 5th of September. Through a month of racing with friends and others, it has convinced me to buy this game.

The best things about this game are its rather extensive number of vehicles. It has roughly 90 on disc and two for download. This may seem like a small number when compared to Forza or Gran Turismo but those 90 cars are the best and fastest out there. The one other thing that definitely convinced me are the game's great online features. Being able to cruise with anybody in the world is very amusing even if no one is a friend to you.

The two specific things that keep this game from being my all time favorite racer are: it freezes much to often when it's loading a shop or by you hitting the guide button during a loading screen and that the "massively" part in the game's motto M.O.O.R. (Massively Open Online Racing), should be taken out. Games in the future like Forza 2 for example will support more than 8 players on screen at once. Now these two things may hit you like they did me but they're not big problems unless you expect nothing less than perfection.

All in all TDU is one of the best games out right now for Xbox 360 in terms of online features. My warning is that if you do not have Xbox Live, do NOT buy this game unless you really love racing games. You may get bored quicker than online users and say this game got repetitive quickly. Test Drive Unlimited is like I said, is near perfect but rather "mindless" flaws keep it from retaining the highest score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!

posted by Fry220 (CAMPBELL, CA) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This is Xbox 360 gaming at it's finest. By far the best game I've played on the system yet and I'm not really even into driving games.

I love the fact that the game is open world based. Set on an Island 10 times bigger than the whole world of Morrowind, only drivable.

The graphics are astounding, the detail level of the cars is incredible, at times it was hard do determine if the cars were in the game or were actually there sitting in front of me.

Online gameplay is constant with a connection to xbox live. You see other drivers zipping around with their own agenda's maybe stopping every once and a while for a challenge.

Bottom line, I feel this is a must have for any 360 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

High replay value

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Dec 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Lots of cars, lots of roads, and the ability to race anyone, anywhere. That is incredible. The graphics are great, but the physics at times are horrible. I prefer sim physics and this is arcade. For 40 bucks, you really can't go wrong with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect....

posted by jarazmek (GIG HARBOR, WA) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Well almost, no game IMO is ever perfect but this game has massive replay and it is very versatile. I think it is great the way you can see other live members on line driving and you have the chose to challenge them and race against one or many live members. when you go slow it feels slow and fast feels fast, great use of graphics. this is my top pick as of now. buy it YES for 39 bucks at least rent it. new cars are going to be added every month. One word GREAT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun but NOT a 10 Star

posted by xNeoZ34x (DOVER, DE) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved this game and kept it but I do feel that it could be better. The graphics are lower then they should be but thats what you get for a $40 game. I love the free Roam in this game and the GPS is sweat. (Without it I would get lost) Try and play the game like its real life and its more fun. I cant wait for microsoft racing wheel. This game should be a 10 with that extra.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Test Drive Unlimited

posted by ZRob72 (SPRING HILL, TN) Sep 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Not bad. The free ride mode alone makes this game worth the rental. However, the car handling just doesn't feel as good as PGR3. Some might disagree with me but that's how I feel.

The island is huge, it takes quite a while to go even half way across it. That in itself is cool too. There is definitely enough to keep you busy for a while. I played it for about 4 hrs now and I think that the concept behind the MOOR is novel but I would predict that the novelty wears off in a week or two. That's what keeps this game from being a purchase worthy title.

The engine sounds in the upper cars are nice. Especially the Lambo's. Very pleasing in the higher revs indeed.

I just cant get past the crazy handling of the cars. It's not totally arcade yet the cars just don't right. I can't put my finger on it. A good rental, but I am now counting down to Forza.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ho-hum boring

posted by eviltrance (STAFFORD, TX) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will give them this, the details on the vehicles are amazing. While not the smoothest graphics, the fact that pretty much every button and knob on the real life car is on the vehicles in the game, even down to the actual way the tachometer looks. That being said, here is the bad. The handling is NOT realistic from a stats standpoint. As much as I love the Pontiac GTO, it will NOT out handle a Lotus Elise S stock vs. stock. Somehow the stats show the GTO to outhandle it. That is very unreal. Then the whole running from the police. I was going along smashing into cars, running from police, just to have something pop up on my screen saying I got a ticket. Now, if I am getting a ticket anyway, that defeats the purpose of running. LAME LAME LAME. Add to the fact there is a lot of NOTHING between points on the island makes for a boring game. I do like the fact you can adjust the driving position of the in-car view. Basically, its a nice try, but well worth the wait to see if a second, more refined one comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

People ruin everything

posted by Blasphamy (SURPRISE, AZ) Sep 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

People ruin the online aspect of this game. they will only race you if they know they can beat you so out of 100 challenges you get 2 races. Everyone should check this out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Motor Tourist Unlimited

posted by Nachos (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is not a game for car enthusiasts. It's billed as having 150+ vehicles, but it sure doesn't seem like very many. And it's not so much for racing as driving enthusiasts. There is a lot of just driving around. The cars aren't customizable nor adjustable, just change the color (come on, there are 50 different things you can change about your driver's appearance!) Gameplay is good though. Not at all glitchy. There are a few bugs with the GPS (saying the wrong direction and even sending you in circles). The only really poor aspect of this game are the motorcycles. A good first effort for MOOR, or MOOD, or whatever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good

posted by gatefold (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game, while having beautiful scenery, is one of the worst racing games I have ever played. The character models are ugly, the cars physics are finicky at best, the side challenges are boring and redundant, and in the entirety of the time I had rented the game, the online portion of the game never worked (apparently the servers were down.) This game was built upon a very good idea of having all online players in a MMO setting free to race each other at will. But when the very idea that sets it apart from any other racing game doesn't work, it hardly seems worth it to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THis is AWESOMW

posted by TestDrive7 (BENSON, AZ) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the greatest games that i have ever played and by far the best racing game if you are into need for speed and the like this is definately the kind of game 4 you because it is basically that with motorcycles(awesome) and way way way way better cars so if you like racers this is your kinda game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Aaaarrrggghhh

posted by Spinster (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well I did not like the physics of this game. I also was not expecting a Sims style race game. So maybe I didn't look at the game description thoroughly enough. But either way this game was like a Dyson vacuum cause it really sucked. I returned it the next day after I had received it. If you really looking for a pick-up and race game look elsewhere(e.g. Burnout Revenge or PGR).

Also on a side note the character renderings were archaic for what is supposed to be HD gaming. All in all I'm glad it was only a rental.

As a final thought look around you can find a better way to waste your time : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Test Drive Unlimited

posted by taz2006 (TULARE, CA) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Hey first of all I just want to say that this game is AWESOME!!!The xbox live mode is awesome,you can have like seriously hundreds of people in one server which is awesome cuz it has the most people n one game ever!If I were to hate games then come play this I'd be in love with games.Second is that this is the best graphics ever!It will be worth the money and hassle to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

shoulda woulda coulda

posted by dmingle (LIBERTY HILL, TX) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This could have been a much better game than it is.
The location looks great and the feel is all good but, you quickly find yourself driving to much to get anywhere and not racing.
If they would have equipped the game with a series of races to promote up to instead of just buying more cars that cost more and having the same type races with them. This should have been something you would spend a lot of time at.
This could have been a much better game if the racing was as good as the settings, cars, and roads, here is where I was most disappointed.
If you like driving around for fun and racing different cars basically the same type of race over and over then you'll like it if not you will get bored quickly. So much more could have would have and should have been given to this game to improve it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Umm...

posted by Dunnizzle (BROADLANDS, VA) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Wow...this game sucks. I returned it the very next day after I got it. Love me some Gamefly :)

First off, horrible physics, I'm not even gonna elaborate on that, they are just bad. The sound of the cars is reminiscent of something from the 16 bit era. No car customization at all, which is something I really like in a racing game (aside from choosing color and rim style when you buy, hardly customized). While the car and scenery graphics are good, the character and house graphics are horrible. I know what you are thinking "Umm...its a racing game, you never need to see your character or spend time in your house." However, if they are gonna give you a house and have you choose a character, why not make them look as good as the cars?

To be fair, I am not a big Xbox Live player, I tend to stick to console games that I can just play alone or with someone else in the room. For the most part I leave the online gaming for my PC. That being said, some may argue that the best factor of this game is the online play. However, I don't think it's enough to redeem the game from its flaws.

I am a fan of racing "games" not racing "sims" this is more of a sim than I was expecting. This again may be another reason I didn't like it. I did like the Gran Tourismo series which was very much a racing sim and this game has nothing on that series.

Overall, this game has some good factors but not nearly enough to keep itself from finding its way back into my mailbox.

Sorry TDU...you're fired!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not worth the time

posted by rambohack (BEAVERTON, OR) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

After waiting for a long time for this game to become available I was severely disappointed. The only good thing about the game that I could find was the huge map upon which you can drive anywhere. The graphics where not that impressive(not 360 quality just a little better than regular xbox quality), the driving didn't have a realistic feel and there was not even a storyline or anything to keep you interested. To me this game was basically like playing Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas and missing everything that made that game great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

test drive unlimited

posted by ray1231 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

i love car games but not this one its all good with the cars and houses and upgrades but the driving part sucks so bad handling is horrible to the third power think im lying rent it yourself and find out like i did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Buy It

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

this a great game. You start at an airport, choose your character and get on the plane. Then you wind up in Hawaii and do the objectives. I think this game should be bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by ReviewerZ (LIVINGSTON, NJ) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

I remember when I rented this back when it came out. It was a good game. I'm not big on racing games, but this one is a good game to get back on just for the fun of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse