Rent Test Drive Unlimited 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Test Drive Unlimited 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.3

1310 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good arcade bad driving sim

posted by erico (MARLBOROUGH, MA) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Good things about the game
> Fun and addicting.
> No waiting for online play
> Drive in a free open world with different things to do.
> Off roading and trying to scale that Highs Mountains is quite fun. But pointless.

Things I dislike
> The Driving has a very arcade feel car control is snappy and no precise.
> Too easy to spin. Left foot braking will almost always send you into a spin.
> Some cars pull to the right when full speed is reached. Example Audi TT annoying but manageable.
> Online play is fun but only once you are further in the game.
> Very hard trees

Things I would like to see in updates
> The ability to sell/trash cars for quick cash and/or trade with online friends.
> Why do all racing games have titanium trees? Not a big problem but WHY?
> Difference in sound when windows are down and difference on interface when signals are turned on.
> Ability to turn on cruse control would be sic and the only game to ever have it. Think about it. Would make 55mph challenges much better. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TDU2 10 of 10

posted by Sonic211 (CONROE, TX) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! The graphics are way better than they look in the trailer, the driving is not as good as GT5 or Forza(duh),but it does hav a simulator feeling to it. Also, theres 100+ miles of open road! The story is:

You start the game in a dream where it's your birthday and Tess(your boss in the game) gets you a Ferrari. You drive it for a few minutes until Tess wakes you up outta your dream. Then she gets mad and fires you, but then gets you into a competion named Solar Crown and shes the host. After that, a guy named Adam takes you to get a car and then shows you your house, which is a Caravan(LOL). But don't worry, as you earn money you'll buy and earn new cars, as well as homes.

Basically, the goal of the game is to become the most popular racer on the island. Good Luck!

Game Rating: 10 outta 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK game

posted by brian395 (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

the cars in this game are very realistic not a realistic as gran turismo but very acceptable. i like the idea of having an open world racing game but there not quite there yet. the actual driving isnt that good cars slide off the road way to easy. the two islands are very big and offer very little to do. i thought i was going to get to gamble in the casino but i found out that DLC cost $10. i wasnt going to pay that to gamble fake money. overall OK. but i wouldnt pay $50 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Real Disappointment

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Feb 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to playing this game for months but it has proven to be a major letdown at this point. As most other reviews have stated the concept and hype were just not executed in this one. The car mechanics are awful, and there is just too much empty space with lack of activities to want to explore. I've been struggling trying to give this game a chance as I purchase new cars but just doing the simple things seems to take an eternity. I put NFS Hot Pursuit back in to download the update and it helped me realize the flaws in TDU2. In my opinion this is worth a rental but I would say pick up NFS HP or even Split Second for fast paced arcade action or GT5 for simulator. TDU2 just doesn't get it done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TDU2 in 20 minutes....

posted by Ram (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Bear in mind that 10 minutes of this review consisted of downloading and installing ~350MB of updates!

Graphics are ashamedly poor for this day and age. All circular objects are made distinctly of polygons.

Gameplay is tedious; you're not given the option of skipping title sequences.

Driveability of the one car I did "Test Drive:; the Ferrari California is poor. Steering control is very "digital" and non-linear. The car seems sluggish to pull and the dynamics of the software seem pale in comparison to that of Gran Turismo 5 or even the Need for Speed series.

I'm definitely glad I didn't buy this game in the stores for $60.

Another plus for the benefits of a GameFly subscription!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

playable at best

posted by Boxdgm (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Online racing mmo...great idea if only the servers werent down almost every day since launch. TDU2 tries to add realistic physics but falls flat on its face. If youve never driven a real car you may like it.

Get GT5 if you want a good racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Bad Game!!!!!!!!

posted by bbahavati (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first got TDU 2 I thought it was going to be like the car show Top Gear. The moment I put it in my PS3, the game was revolting! It was just full of rubbish nonsense racing. I am a racing game fan, but Test Drive ruined it for me. You would be better off playing Grand Theft Auto. So if you wand a good racing game, just get Gran Turismo 5 or Forza Motorsport 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Driving to the Mail Box

posted by Raphokon (PALMDALE, CA) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just feel awful for taking GT5 out of my playstation to play this game. I mean really the handling is horrible its a MMO but you still feel like you just by urself. You have more human interaction in a GT5 online game lobby. Plus the way they set up vibration I think it was about to break my wheel its just didnt feel or sound right. However the game as differnt for about 50 mins after I drove around trying to find stuff come to find out that even if you drive 100 miles you really only discover things through playing the championships. Its a good rent and thats it. GT5 is the only car game I'll be playing for a long long time back to my z06 super GT corvette I hope GT5 doesnt know i was cheating!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for the casual driver

posted by grinsn2007 (KILLEN, AL) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game succeeds were some other racing games fail. It does not get repetative. You feel a sense of accomplishment whe you buy a house win a race and buy a car. Fun game, ok graphics, and a decent plot. If you want to explore and drive for fun this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible game!

posted by bobsigny (BIG RAPIDS, MI) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When I started to play this game I realized that it was a mistake to rent. The story and voice acting is horrible, the graphics makes the game look like a ps2 game, and the control of the cars are just bad. I would rather play NFS or GT5. I feel like this game was put together quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a Racing Game... A Driving Game

posted by 800stealth (NEW IPSWICH, NH) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is by no means a serious simulater... even with a G25 wheel the handleing is vauge at best. But it does do one thing extremely well... it kills time, just driving around the island looking for stuff and discovering the roads makes me want to keep playing it. I think its a nice change of pace from a dedicated sim like GT5 where you don't realy get to play with the cars, TDU2 lets you do whatever you want with the car... see a giant hill in the woods and want to jump off it? no problem, just boondock through the woods and launch off it. Just a fun casual driving game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad

posted by thedoctotr (FARMINGDALE, ME) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a racing game this may look good but its not. That have driving schools...sounds fun and they are. But the game wants you to drive like that. With time races (races where you race the clock) if you slide off the road just a lil the game gives you a penalty. If you are going fast a just bump a pole or fence you spin out of control. I call it the game cheating but the computer drivers change a lil bit every time. When a race start you start in Neutral, when you hit the gas it takes 3secs b4 you can go. so every race you miss 3secs and with a game like this it really counts. And the money is ridiculous. There are car washes through out the city and every car wash costs $1,500. When you go to a sticker shop the lowest price sticker is like $2,000. Over all the game is bad. I thought that Atari would have made a good racing game but they tried to hard. The best part of the game is the Open World!

I advise not to get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TDU2

posted by mantisjr (ELLENWOOD, GA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Ok this is an excellent game because:
there is realistic weather
you can just drive around
you dont have to do the championships
you can buy the most luxarirous cars in the world including the bugatti 16.4 supersport

Now bad stuff :(
the damage lvl is very weak
you must be a lvl 10 to go to hawaii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Test Drive 2

posted by surfer7 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Feb 14, 2011

Member since May 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

It is amazing that in the midst of some great driving games like Gran Turismo and Dirt 2 leaders in the video game industry will still put out garbage like Test Drive 2. If I had the poor luck of owning this game I would use it as a frisbee. That would be more fun than playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Test drive me off a cliff please!

posted by SUPERSKEEZ (BELLFLOWER, CA) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst driving game I've ever played. I played this game for an entire hour before deciding to send it right back. Usually I give games a chance, but whats the point with a driving game in which you can't even control the freakin cars. The handling was so unbelievably bad, especially after playing NFS Hot Pursuit! No matter how fast you go it seems like you are going 25mph, then don't bother trying to turn because you just keep going straight anyway. The graphics were sub-par for a PS3 game, and I had more fun with PS2 racing games. When are they coming out with another Midnight Club. JEEZ!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waist of time

posted by Rwb003 (GAINESVILLE, GA) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Awful graphics. Awful car handling. 'nuff said...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by XxbasherzZ (SPARKS, NV) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i give this a ten because there are so many cars you can own and there all cars people cant afford in real life and the gameplay is so cool because your driving around one world with everyone online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not that good

posted by ozzman1102000 (HARPURSVILLE, NY) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

need for speed games r better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for driving, Good for racing, Glitchy

posted by The_Music_Man (TACOMA, WA) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Absolutly good for just driving 10/10. the racing is pretty good too probably 8/10. But it is glitchy, like when you side swipe a guardrail a good amount of the time it throws you in random directions, or if you use H-shifter with clutch. it'll die when you stop if you don't hold down the clutch. along with a few other glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horid

posted by budderman (BOWERSTON, OH) May 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

worst game ever trust me ive played some bad games like that new rambo game :( i mean there is no damage shown and there is horribel voice acting its like ther no deatil in the modils of anything so just dont rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why change a good thing?

posted by 07civsi (BUFFALO, NY) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I loved the first game but this one is copying grand turismo the driving school cars suck why do I need a special liscense to race? Plus why in the world can't I get a nice car because I can't pass the liscenses so to sum up this game is terrible and a ripoff of gran turismo wish it had more free driving feel like the first but nope. so I wouldn't buy it don't rent either i'm glad I didn't go and buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

unplayable

posted by catgirlgames (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

the controls were completely busted for the ps3. i had to dampen and kill the sensitivity on the steering and kill the speed factor but still all i could ever manage was spinning out on the wet roads trying to get my first license.

i'm absolutely stunned by how poor this game was. maybe if i try it on xbox the controls might actually be usable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not live up to the Hype

posted by knine86 (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

As a huge fanboy of the first game and the mechanics used from the first TDU my expectations i admit were very high. How ever as a realist i did lower them once i got the game keeping in mind that sequals are never as good as the original. How ever the devloper tried to make this a cross between need for speed and TDU. Test Drive Unlimited never emphasized the drifting technique though being available was only an addition to the game. The driving controls where very unstable and turns even on the easiest difficulty were nearly impossible even at the lowest of speeds. Im sorry but in a driving/racing game 12 miles an hour should not spin my car into a fish tail causing me to slam into an oposing car and loose my "Drift Points". Horrible sequal and a disgrace to the the first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good attempt but fell short...

posted by Domrok (EMMAUS, PA) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I enjoyed TDU1 a lot, logged more hours on it than I would like to admit..so I had high hopes for this one. After 20 minutes of DL/Installs I spent another 30 giving it a go and then another 2 putting it back out for the mailman. Maybe Driver Sanfrancisco's graphics and physics spoiled me having rented that last but the cars looked cheesy and handled...idk awkward. Not the fun feel of an arcade racer nor precise and mechanical feel of a sim...on hardcore driving mode it was like driving a ford ranger with 2 bald tires in the snow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best

posted by GenaroRodriguez (AURORA, IL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I've played it in ps3and 360 and it's a great game I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse