Rent Test Drive Unlimited 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Test Drive Unlimited 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

2268 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

TDU2 - Room for Improvement, NOT a horrible game

posted by Cipher8 (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First the game is not trying to beat Gran Turismo or Forza for best racing game. It's not strictly about racing like other racing genre games are. I like to think of it as a driving game. A MMO Driving game. Sure there are races in the game but it's just as fun to explore the islands and go cruising around.

If your a hardcore racing game fan you might as well stick to Forza or w/e you prefer. If your a gamer like me who enjoyed the first TDU then you'll probably like this one as well.

- The cars graphics are actually not that bad considering how much there is going on with the huge open world islands, Ibiza and Oahu. Plus to me graphics never make a game. They can make it better but they never ruin a game totally because of bad graphics.

- The amount of cars is not as much as other racing game but in TDU2 each car really does feel different. There's Asphalt, Offroad, and Classic cars and each have a license you need to obtain before doing the race series. By far the most annoying part of the gameplay is obtaining these licenses. I think they wanted to give each car a category and eventually you'll be only driving Asphalt cars but the lower you go from A7 to A1 the better and more luxurious the cars get.

- Handling seems to be a complaint by many but I don't see a problem in it. To me they wanted a mix between realistic and arcade and that's what the games cars drive like.

- Customization was clearly a major focus for this sequel. Customize your in game avatar, your houses, and lastly your cars. I wish it was your cars first because I feel like they gave us more options to customize character stuff then car stuff. Still it's a pretty nice system overall and there's a lot there to unlock and work with. (Though Forza's car customization still stands as king)

- Online. This game had some massive server issues and after following the forums and posts by GMDestra they are working hard on fixing these issues.

All in all i give this a generous 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Satisfied

posted by rice117 (MANTI, UT) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Yes the servers being messed up is a set back but if you loved the first one like i did, you'll love this one. the handling is new and takes a bit to get used to and the graphics have been pumped up. You get a new island (Ibiza) and at level 10 you get a revamped Oahu. You start with three cars to choose from and they aren't rentals like in the first one. The game has a story line which is kinda corny and they revamped the cops too. the 9 hits and your busted is gone and now you have a more free "busted bar" that fills up after alot of hits but running red lights and stop signs count. (this is only when cops are around) All together, corny story line, fun cars, new handling, new island and revamped graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disapointed is an understament

posted by SinisterC (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Serious let down ,the game had been out for two weeks and I still can't play wit friends but thanks to gamefly I only rented this over hyped disappointment of a game. Great idea,free roam racer with customizing and a deep multiplayer, ride with friends show off your mansion ect. BUT none off that works ,so we are left a bad racing game with poor physics ,little actual racing and the worst voice acting ever.but bad games make u appreciate good ones. This is the worst game I have played all year without a question.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very Impressive...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Probably, looked better on paper... Test Drive is an Old title and this one isn't beating any other driving games out there. The cool thing about this game is the Size of area to drive around in...
The game plays like that game FUEL, but not as good as graphics, nor driving elements. You are able to free roam in the game, and are able to "customise" your driving character -- How that becomes relevant when you are in the car--is beyond me.

The story goes -- You start out as a Valet driver just dreaming of having fancy cars and one day you are given the ability to compete in a variety of races.

There is three type of driving classes.
Asphalt - street...
Classic - street with no real differences from Asphalt
Offroad - Off road

The game a lot of cool features -- As long as you are not playing for the driving simulation - You will be happy.
Driving physics are clunky; I had a curb knock me back when driving slowly; I had a bush knock me back into the street when I was flooring it... Not just a gently shove--as in knock--a violent hurl back...
There is no positrak concept -- You peel out easily, it is like driving on ice, there is this annoying high pitched sound at high speeds that makes you think your speaker is damaged(sounds like rustling paper)....
You are able to, buy hair-styles... Different clothes... Differnt homes... Customise your home, with furniture and other doodads... You can also go to dealerships.
The multiplayer is neat -- Right away they throw you into a free roam with other online players... Yes--just like the racing game FUEL... With a lot of exotic cars... But not much driving functionality... You might not find the driving simulator fun... But you might like to deck-out your home or like to play with random people, in the MASSIVE online world of Test Drive Unlimited....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would have been good!

posted by midwestjester (CARPENTERSVILLE, IL) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This started out as a promising game that Would have been good if you have hours upon end trying to complete the same trivial yet incredibly impossible at times tasks to just get a fricking license so you can enjoy the game. If you have hours on end to dedicate to doing the same task just to get a license that will allow you to play a game and enjoy it than this is your game. I however when I buy a game prefer to be able to play it with some challenge not almost impossible.

Here is a hint for the game designer people will actually buy your game after they try it if it is playable and they can enjoy the efforts you spent in designing it. However you made the license portion of the game way too challengng and I like many lost interest and will NEVER BUY!

Overall Good idea for a game GARBAGE license feature.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TDU 2 Review

posted by graffitixx94 (MILLERSVILLE, PA) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To be honest, don't waste your money BUYING this game. It is not worth buying...with that being said though, its worth trying.

Bad:
1. The graphics are not very good. The characters look like mannequins and the cars aren't as crisp as they could look (for example Forza Motorsport 3)
2. The voice acting is bad.
3. The car handling is not that realistic. Most of the cars drive the exact same, the only diffrence being how fast they go. I could buy a Lancia Delta and it would drive the same as an H3...come on. This is a RACING game and the driving dynamics are terrible.
4. The exploring gets repetitive but its something you must do if you want to be able to tune up your car.
5. You can not sell your car. Are you serious? That is a major flaw.

There are some good points about this game, such as the IDEA of the game. A free-roam, rpg style, racing games sounds like alot of fun to me! This was just not executed well and the bad parts about this game out weight the good (by alot). Try to stay away from this game. Stick with Forza Motorsport if you want a real racing experience. If you're looking for a good free-roam racing game, get Midnight Club.

Test Drive Unlimited 2?...not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointment

posted by bnorth (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only thing cool about this game is being in an online world all the time. Other than that...its not good at all. Graphics look bad at best. Driving feels so arcadeish. The story is just stupid. Voice acting is one of the worst ive heard in a game ever. Dont waste your time with this one. I was excited for it too but its so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TDU2

posted by The_Cheese (SCOTT TOWNSHIP, PA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of realistic racing games, this game is...not for you.

Good:
-Beautiful Scenery
-Some nice, fun cars
-House customization
-Multiple exotic locations
-Off-Road events
-A lot of different kinds of events
-Obtaining drivers licenses was fun
-New F.R.I.M. system lets you earn money during free roam

Bad:
-Horrible controls
-Shifting into and out of reverse takes too long
-Shifting in general takes too long
-Steering feels sticky and bulky
-Physics aren't very good; gravity exists...sometimes
-AI drivers suck. They have no awareness of player or other drivers. They will literally drive head on into you during events.
-Too many stupid, useless events
-No rewind feature. Cars are difficult to drive, physics aren't realistic, and opponents are, at times, unrealistically difficult. Longer events can be frustrating when you get mostly through it and make a little mistake that costs you the race.
-Compared to the first TDU, this game has a very limited soundtrack.
-Rear view mirrors don't work 99% of the time.
-The world around you materializes and dematerializes as it loads.
-Graphical glitches are part of the TDU2 world
-The sound randomly cuts out, forcing me to restart my 360

Overall, this game isn't horrible. It's far from good, but if you're looking for a free roam racing game, this will do. You'll just have to get past all the bad to appreciate the good.

If you're looking for a realistic racing game with actual customization and all the perks that come along with it, get Forza 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A WHOLE LOT OF NOTHING

posted by bigfreaky (TULSA, OK) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Initially I was overwhelmed by TDU2’s content. Not only do you get this massive island that’s like 30 miles across where you can drive anywhere, they threw in the entire massive island from the first game as well. There are tons of races, both online and offline, and over a hundred cars that can be customized. You can customize your character and decorate your homes and participate in asphalt and off-road racing in online competitions and offline championships. There’s definitely no shortage of content.

You might be thinking that sounds really awesome, so they had to make some compromises right? Oh heck yes. The obvious thing is that the graphics are bad, especially on the older Hawaiian island. I haven’t seen draw-in like this in a racing game in many years. The physics are also awful in ways that also remind me of racing games from many years ago. If you are using any setting besides full assist, all A3 class and higher cars will spin in a circle from a start without even touching the wheel. And this isn’t just a wheel problem; it does that on the stick too. The wheel support is actually pretty good but since all of the shops and other menus are controlled from FPS-style with dual stick controls, it is awful to control your character with the wheel so you will be stuck switching back and forth.

I tried the online a little but the servers kept going offline and since I hadn’t acquired any vehicles, I decided to focus on the single player. After investing a huge amount of time into the license tests and championships, I was awarded with… money. Not even an achievement. 90% of the single player game takes place on the uglier Hawaii island, which must be especially disappointing for anyone who wore out the first game. I then tried for several nights in a row to get my multiplayer on. Servers are up now, but it’s a ghost town. Some people cruising around, but never any ranked matches going down. I spent a lot of time with this game, but it was time wasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are You Serious

posted by DefiantAR15 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is easily one of the worst driving games out today. The rendering is not up to snuff with current next gen console driving games. The game-play is horrible, the driving mechanics are very unrealistic. I played this gave for a total of 40 minutes. It might have had a really well written story line but I will never know because it just was to horrible to sit through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heres a Novel Idea

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Aug 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Here is what is probably a Never heard of Idea,how about when a game company makes a driving or racing game they have someone that has actually driven a car work on it then there wouldnt be as many "bad" Driving and racing games, this one falls into that Bad catagory bigtime. The driving physics in this game are really bad. I am sorry to tell the programers of this game This but "you can brake and turn a car without the tires spinning even in the snow. Riding in a car and on the bus does not mean you know how a car drives. It actually takes some skill to get a car driving on pavement to spin out but in this game you have to come to almost a complete stop to get a car to around a easy curve. The ball was not only dropped on this game it was dropped picked up by the other team and ran for a touchdown. Only rent this game if you have no other choices which is why i rented it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TDU 2 - Some flaws but give it a chance

posted by rumic03 (HORNELL, NY) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying, if you're expecting the following DON'T RENT THIS GAME:

1. GT5 Simulation
2. NFS hot pursuit Simulation
3. Forza 3 simulation controls

This game is not a racing simulation game!!! This is a MOOR (Mass online racing) game with old school NFS part 1 controls.

However, this game is a great follow up to TDU. I own this game for both the PS-3 and Xbox360 and personally i love this game. If you want a game where you can cruise around two big islands and just play a good racing game, this is the game to rent. The graphics are good on the 360, great on the Ps-3; the car line up is good but i think they need more selection like in TDU 1. the controls are great on the 360, weird on the ps-3. true this game has some flaws but the plus out weights the minus. give this game a chance and i promise you'll grow to like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a racing game

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 12, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

If you played the first one you might expect to find racing in this game. There's not really racing to be found, mostly it's just driving around. Earn your first license by doing little test tracks, very simple. Then you can move on to trying to earn the first championship, there are two races where you actually race cars. the rest of the time it's stupid little go to here in time, you lose time by hitting something or going off the road.

The cars handle more like they are sleds than cars. The handbrake is basically worthless. Graphically this game is about on the same bar as the first Test Drive Unlimited. Overall the control is loose, unrealistic, and more annoying than anything. Driving down the road you can find yourself sideslipping for no particular reason.

Voice acting isn't, it's all more like people reading stereo manuals aloud than well acting. The music is really not very good, and quite loud. If there is a map feature I can't find it, you can select the tasks you have to do yet and follow the GPS to it, the GPS is imprecise, tells you to turn maybe 200 feet before the intersection. You get told to go straight at a Y intersection.

Overall not rentable, not fun. Multiplayer might be fun, though I seriously doubt it, unless they improved the control system for the cars in multiplayer. The game basically tells you we released it before it was done, we don't care buy our game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TDU2

posted by Nemesis72 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Don't waist ur time on this game.The online casino doesn't work MOST of the time.You can't cruise with ur freinds bcus they dissapear.The car clubs are offline (Bcus they don't work right)They have promising a patch to fix all this but never come up with the patch.They said a patch would be done today (3/14/2011) that would take care of the problems and now they are saying the patch will come out tomorrow (3/15/2011) but the car clubs will still be offline.To make a long story short.The game was released before it was finished and that is why they are having so many problems.This game isn't even a game that should be rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game as well as aggravating

posted by Tormenter_of_Pa (BOGART, GA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The whole concept for this game looked good on paper, in fact it is quite a good game. Except the people who created the game obviously did not know how to create the games difficulties. Im not sure but they must have had mental breakdowns when creating the difficulties. Beginner has everything on to help the drivers, then sporty which is so called "intermediate" and then hardcore. Well its fine when you are just driving around and are playing it on beginner. Except when you have to get licenses to actually play the game and do its races, the game changes from whatever you were on to "Sporty". So if you like racing games, and are bad, or if anyone is bad then this will be the most irritating, most aggravating, most incredible frustrating moment of your life. I am a good driver for games, yet i had an awful lot of trouble trying to get the 1ST LICENCE!!!! The developers obviously did not think that if you put it on beginner, those people might need to do the licences on beginner. Otherwise you will have much trouble trying to have fun. Thank god I did not buy this game, and only got it off gamefly. If you are not a great driver, do not even bother with this game at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened???

posted by sworth1407 (CANTON, GA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this game because I really enjoyed the first one. Wow was this game horrible!!! I dont know how they managed to screw it up this bad, but they did. It is cool that they have a story and you can build on it by buying houses and stuff like that. But I cannot get over how bad the game plays. The driving is horrendous and it has way too much pointless driving. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Very very bad game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very Good

posted by snoopyspy007 (TAMPA, FL) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Graphics are not that great, getting a lot of screen tearing. Cars are hard to drive and float all over the road. Glad I just rented it and didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

"Test Drive".....Before you buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SteelGeek55 (Lilburn, GA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes but just like Aliens vs Predator...a waste. I'll give you the bad first: 1) The character selection is laughable & can't create one either. 2) Can't import my own music and only 2 radio stations on the dial. 3) The story begins with bad writing and was a turnoff 4) I thought I was in 2001 because the gameplay felt like 10yrs ago. 5) Should have been a $20 DLC for the first Test Drive. Now the good: 1) I didn't buy but rented it & dropping it in the mail tomorrow. Thank You again GameFly for saving me from this future "Test" Trade-in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what a waste

posted by kingimbus (ALGONA, IA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

i did not rent this game i bought it 2 days ago after its been out for about a week i like the gameplay but the online is stupid right now the servers or down caus eso many people are playin it u cant get a club workin cause someone found a glitch allready and they are tryin to fix that the hint it aint workin u buy the $10 casino dlc and u cant use that either cause the servers are down so if u want it rent it or wait about a month to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just bad..

posted by S4mWitch (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This would be awesome for a little kid... who knows nothing about cars... or video games. This game is insulting and offensive to an adult, however. Insulting in the fact that its game design is horrible, and offensive, because of the incredibly low quality of work, namely voice acting and graphics, being presented. Over the top would be putting it mildly. This IS the worst voice acting ever. Why try to put a story in your game if it is completely detracting from the point of the game. It is all just very bad, and the physics don't seem improved from the first game. I remember enjoying the first one, but I can't get past the cheesy exterior. The racing is pathetic too. They've had a long time to work on this game, and it is a complete disappointment. Waste of time..... In my defense, the game made me mad enough to write this...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its not forza

posted by trollkill (JACKSON, MS) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not forza and they shouldn't be compared. TDU2 has some problems but overall is an ok game. The graphics are passable but far from great. Glitches are common. The cars feel somewhat detached from the roads you are driving on. Buying houses is tedious and offers no sense of accomplishment other then getting more parking spots. Control out of the cars is horrid. But I still like the game when it comes down to it. The free roaming miles and miles of road are nice when compared to driving around the same dozen tracks over and over again.
The fifty dollar price tag is nice too. Especially when compared to some companies(EA cough,cough) trying to suck every possible penny from our pockets.
In the end its a decent game and when you are done with forza and gt5 its worth a go. As a side note somebody bring back Road Rash as a MMO. Please and quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by SIDEKICKMAN (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game comes of at a great start - You drive an expensive ferrari through California. Too bad they killed it by making it a dream, and then forcing you to drive junky cars. When you play a racing game, you want to be able to have huge garages, fancy cars, and cool racing venues. This game allows two cars, no money, and the venues are nothing new. When you have enough money to buy that really cool sports car, guess what? Your garage is full and you either buy a new house or sell the OTHER car you really liked. So, on top of that, you need to get a drivers license. Yes, a license. This game is not a simulation at all, but it starts to feel like a Sims game with a little racing. So, if you want a luxurious life style, loads of cash, and sweet cars that the advertisements and cover of the game clearly illustrate. Too bad none of that really happens until the very end, when you really are just thinking, "Wow, I can believe I wasted time on this." The driving mechanics are O.K., but there that is no reason if you only drive cars you could buy for the money you spent on the game. If your looking to drive cool cars in awesome reacetracks, get a game like Forza or Grand Turismo where they don't tangle the experience with a terrible story and the attempt at making the game "Realistic." What's the point of doing that in a game if you can do that in real life (To some extent - You can't survive a deadly car crash)? Not only is the game more involved with cosmetic shops - Yes, you actually have to pay obscene amounts of cash to edit your character - it also seems to be a real estate game more than a racing game. There are a few good mechanics, like being allowed to drive cars before you buy them, but you can't actually use them. I spent more time doing that than I did playing in my real cars. The game is by no means good, and has too many negatives to make it worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

read before renting or buying

posted by toofast311 (SPRINGDALE, PA) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is so aweful it is a shame it was released with this many flaws. I played it for like a week(only because there was nothing else that interested me to rent currently)but the graphics where aweful and the gameplay was exactly the same as the previous TDU so the only difference was the cars which where ok. this game had so many visual glitches it was sad I maen how can you get a game wrong when it is exactly the same game over again really??? anyway so i gave it more time than what it deserved till the final straw when I was playing and wanted to move to another area to explore and as soon as I spawned in to the area fell through the road and then respawned over and over. so i figured ok i will just reload my save and be all good again but no it saved like that so I would have to start the game all over and that was it finally had it with this poor excuse of a game and shame on the people who made this half made aweful excuse for a sequel to a possible ok game trust me I am not exaggerating. Oh and almost forgot the first sign that something is off with this game was to be able to play the game if online is you have to unhook the ethernet off your xbox play for a whil eoffline and then try it or be stuck on the loading screen at the beginning forever talk about a real flaw only found the answer to that big problem on the xbox forums thank you and hope you heed my warnings or try it at your own risk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Test Drive unlimited 2

posted by madfins (BONNER SPRINGS, KS) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game should be in the range of a rating of pg 3-10 years old not recommended for adult play unless you want to amuse yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A total strikeout!!

posted by weath67 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited about this title because the first game I played for days and hours. This one was such a disapointment, the driving of the cars, control, handbrake, were just rediculous. Finding places on map was bad also, you came upon places by chance the first game you could see dim waypoints on the map, not this one. Majority of the races different classes I could never get too always said" road was blocked" very annoying. Cars looked cool but didn't handle at all, no power slide , just slide off the road and penalize your time. Nothing like the first one, not alot of milestones, not a lot of challenges. The license stuff was just stupid, most annoying. The cars just sit there and spin, turn around and touch the white line WHOOPS! there goes a penalty. It was just pathetic I recieved it on a thursday from gamefly and it was back in the mail friday morning.Thank god I just rented it I would have been so mad if If I had bought it.........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse