Rent Test Drive Ferrari Racing Legends for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Test Drive Ferrari Racing Legends

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.4

222 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

A good idea gone really wrong

posted by synracing33 (NORFOLK, VA) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Ferrari fan and I must admit i was excited to give this game a shot. Unfortunately that was the end of the fun. Trying to drive the cars is impossible, just aim for the corner and pray you make it. GT3 had driving physics that make this game look like a child made it.

Sadly, a great idea has been wasted. The car select is amazing, mixing road cars and F1 cars of all era's. The bad news is that almost every car must be unlocked in career mode, which becomes incredibly difficult in the higher levels, making the game frustrating.
The track select is also very good. I love the idea of redesigning classic versions of tracks that F1 still visits, such as Monza and Silverstone. The bad news is that the graphics and renderings of the tracks while playing the game are poor. These graphics are not even close to 2012 standards.

It is clear that this game was designed and built by people who do not design and build games. That being said, the designers did have some great idea's. Sadly these went to waste. For every good point there's three bad ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was unplayable

posted by lindizzle (BRUNSWICK, OH) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Could not play this game. The controls were awful. After an hour of trying, put it back in the package to send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth a rental.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jul 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this game unless you have played forza 4 so much that you need to play a bad racing game to see why you should stick with it. Test Drive: FRL fails at everything. I couldn't even play it for more than 30 minutes before deciding to send it back. I knew it wouldn't be awesome but it is not even playable for me. The graphics look like old xbox games, if even that good. The ferraris don't even look good. ughhhhhhhhh! This is why I love Gamefly so I don't have to waste my money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Enzo Ferrari would be ashamed

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If Enzo Ferrari knew about this game, he would roll in his grave, then come to life, and then find the developers of this game and B-slap the heck out of them.

I have been playing videogames for about 13 years, and most of those years spent playing videogames were playing some sort of racing game. Test Drive Ferrari Racing Legends is by far one of the top 5 worst racing games I have ever played in my life. I can easily say this is the WORST racing game available on the Xbox 360 right now. The fact that retailers are making you pay $50+ for this game is INSANE. Anyone who made the mistake of buying this game deserves to get a full REFUND.

Presentation- 2
A nice multi-era campaign spins out with no flair, cheating AI, and dull story delivery.

Graphics- 2
The authentic cars and tracks look great.......for a PS2/Xbox game. Too bad this is the year 2012.

Sound- 1
Lots of engine revving and tire screeching with no musical accompaniment to complement the the sleep-enducing action.

Gameplay- 1
The Cars handle terrible like steel blocks on ice, The tracks are so dull and uninspriring, and the AI cheats so badly it is impossible to make it past the 3rd area of Golden Era without stopping and having the urge to find and falcon punch the developers.

Online- 0
DEAD. There is no one online playing this game, but I'm pretty sure you can figure out why.

Lasting Appeal- 0
There is NONE. Do NOT Buy/Rent this game, it is a complete waste of your time. The only thing you will get out of this game is the confusing question as to why people like the devlopers of this game even got jobs as developers in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shift 1 & 2 fans won't be disappointed

posted by GadsDad (KING GEORGE, VA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

TD Ferrari Racing Legends is made by the same team that made "Need for Speed:Shift," and "Shift 2 Unleashed," which is Slightly Mad Studios. The engine and car handling is very similar. I don't why people are hating on this game. I'm not fond of the menu layout, but the tracks, cars and handling are on par with the previously mentioned games. I'm also not as fond of the strict career path, but even then it has it's options, with 40-50's, 60-70's and modern era's available to race in. There are also some extremely difficult races even on the easiest difficulty.

There's also some sim-style elements that some sim fans have called for in GT5 and Forza, like race qualifications. But alas, NO upgrades/modifications, Ferrari would not allow it.

Also the comparisons to Forza, though inevitable, are hardly neccessary. Though they are certainly both racing games, with TD:FRL a little more on the arcade style racing, but it's got a significantly different feel, which I'm okay with. I bounce between Forza 4, GT5 and Shift 2, and I like TD:FRL in the same vein as Shift 2.

Hope this helps, God bless

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

They didn't make this game as good as need for speed or gran tourismo. It starts you off with the worst type of racing cars. Which is the first Ferrari race car that a drunk would drive since the steering is horrible. Then if you choose a newer car it doesn't change except for a slight difference in speed. In my opinion this is a horrible remake of need for speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't even bother renting it

posted by blubeast (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

title says it all, this game sucks BAD!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by swfan1963 (LA GRANGE PARK, IL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited about the chance to take some classic and new Ferraris and F1 cars for a spin. Problem is, the controls are so terrible it's impossible to actually enjoy the game....maybe I should have adjusted the sensitivity. I decided the game just wasn't worth the effort after about 30 minutes. The graphics were very unimpressive. Yuck. I've never been a big fan of the Test Drive series anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pass....

posted by yig (SOUTH SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the car and track selection is good.
The game itself is garbage.
TERRIBLE controls.......

Next.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont rent

posted by Gamerg1rl (SOLEDAD, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i love racing games i played every racing game and i gotta say this is gotta be 1 of the worst racing games ever the handling is super bad,cars look bad n im not 1 who cares for graphics but not even that so save a waste of a rental and pass on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's pretty good!!

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all I don't know why people continue to compare this game to Forza. It was not created to emulate or compete against Forza in the first place. The graphics are the typical type from past TD installments with no pop-up and no lag. The control is great and the perameters are adjustable in the options menu. Each car handles different from the next if you turn off the driving aids. The older cars feel old in terms of handling and performance for example no ABS or other performance aids. As you begin to move up to the newer models the cars begin to handle better and performance is heightened. I like that there is a Campaign mode with a story line that follows a chronological timeline of Ferrari from the 1950's to the present. I can't really find anything that I dislike about the game outside of some of the goals being semi-difficult to achieve for each race. If you are into cars,or just into Ferrari's in general pick this one up. IMO its a $30 game,not $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is a good game.

posted by Bhazulle (FERRON, UT) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

As for the fellow who played for a nickle and sent it back. You missed out. Graphics are clean and fast. No pop in. Cars behave like cars, physics are spot on. The storyline is a bit tangled but doable. Races are well thought out if a bit short. If you like a nice racing game and have an attention span longer then a gnat, the learning curve is short enough and you will likely end up pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game.

posted by Digitaljake1 (FARMINGTON, MO) Aug 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a cool game because it lets you experience and drive all the legendary Cars that Enzo Ferrarri has built. This is about Ferrarri cars not about need for speed because it is not. Great because not very many racing games focus on true Legendary Cars like the Ferrarri.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good for a couple hours

posted by TimeRacer (YATESVILLE, GA) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

For context, I am primarily a racing game player and have played just about ever racing game available. Including ones previously made by the developer Slightly Mad Studios.

Physics - Not bad. Feel like straight port of the physics from their previous NFS Shift releases. They're not on the level of some of the better racing sims out there, but not awful either.

Graphics - Again, not bad, but not great either. It runs at 30 fps, so it's never going to look as good as Forza or GT5. That being said, it looks better than many other 30fps competitors on the market now.

Gameplay - This is where this title goes from a 7.5 to a 3. As others have said, the career is at times impossibly tough, even for a very experienced online racer such as myself even with the settings on easy. Other times (mainly in the beginning) the AI is so slow and bad it makes the game incredibly easy even on the hardest setting. The game also forces you to go through these events in a pretty linear fashion to unlock tracks and cars for use in other modes. Which will make it all but impossible for most people to ever fully unlock all the content.

Overall - The game is close to being very good, but unfortunately the negatives so far outweigh the positives that it makes the game almost pointless. I really liked the game for the first couple hours, then the career got in the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »