Rent Terminator: Salvation for PS3
view large frontback

Terminator: Salvation

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.3

3098 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terminator...Not That Bad...Spare Me

posted by AdidasBoi (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

50 out of 53 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The first reason i rented this game was for the 11 gold trophies which lead to the easy platinum. Overall the story was kinda quick (too short to comprehend anything) and not much of a challenge. This was just another developer producing a quick game to go along with the movie... i mean come on i'd rather play harry potter than this game...If you want a quick platinum rent it...play it on hard and complete the story in one night and return the next day simple as that...otherwise dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better.

posted by VandalHart (BRONX, NY) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty bad, until I played G.I. JOE. This game had a system similar to Gears of War. With the acception that you can't duck, run, or maneuver away from gunfire. It was only the same pace he ran, even when you desperately needed to get out of there. The levels are too short and the game can be platinumed in about 5 hours. I did it in 4 1/2 hours. Plus the games story had nothing to do with the movie itself. This could have had some fun Gears of War potential, but sadly was speed up to meet simultaneous movie/game release. An easy 11 golds and 1 platinum if you're a trophy hunter like me. Other than that, I wouldn't play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

terminator salvation

posted by johnnyvisc (VACAVILLE, CA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I would only rent this game for the 11 gold trophies and the quick platinum. You should have a partner help you beat hard on co-op mode since this will help get the platinum quicker. It took my son and I about 3 hours to do it in co-op mode but it would have been alot longer for just me to beat it on single player on hard. This game would have been great on PS1 but its not a ps3 game. Last but not least the aiming is really strange.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

least it has one reason for some....trophies

posted by hughffy88 (STEPHENVILLE, TX) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i only got this game for the 11 gold trophies and the platinum as i will recommend anyone who hunts trophies to do. if your not arsed about trophies then just don't bother with this game. i did it on hard right away and finished it in about 5 hours give or take an hour. easily done in eight hours by a long way. story's ok, enemy's are, well there's only about 5 different enemy s through the hole game and 2 of them are only in certain places. your main machines that you will fight are terminators (sometimes half skinned, mostly skinless) and they can be a (cant say the b word on here) when they attack in numbers, little flying......fly's or wasps i guess they are and spider things. not long, not exciting, not enough.

if they tweaked this game well, a lot then it could be great because the setting is great, a post apocalyptic not-to-distant future. if it had a free roam element and more of a war feeling which terminator is about, then it would be awesome

if you really love terminator then rent this but don't buy because it has no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT FOR THE TROPHIES :)

posted by bloodsmash25 (MIRAMAR, FL) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game pimps trophies

posted by george06 (OOLTEWAH, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you want to get a quick platinum then just take 5 hours out of your busy day and you will have the easiest patinum ever.
This game is ok but could have been better.
i gave it a 5 because i love terminator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

worth a platinum trophy...but not much else...

posted by VSwho (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

terminator salvation is not a good game in any way...but it's also not a completely horrible game either.

the graphics are really good for PS2 graphics...not so much for a PS3 game. the controls are extremely simple and not glitchy at all so they got that right. the level design is extremely linear (i.e. go from this spot shoot some stuff - go to this spot & shoot some more stuff - cut scene - repeat) but there are one or two times you'll have to look around & figure out where to go next since there aren't really any checkpoints to run to for most of the game.

the game is fairly short and all you have to do to get a platinum trophy is beat the game on hard. yes that's it. all the trophies are story based so they can't possibly be missed and the other two are for beating the game on medium and easy so beating it on hard satisfies all of the above. there's no collectibles or specific amount of kills you have to get or anything like that.

it's a game that's interesting for all of an hour or so but also a game you will get tired of rather quickly so it's a good thing that you can beat it in about 4-6 hours depending on your skill level with about 1 or two tough spots based on the fact that the T600s (the terminators everyone knows & will recognize) are almost invulnerable to regular weapons (try pipe bombs, grenades & rocket launchers).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Trophys

posted by Dustin84 (SEFFNER, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game if you are a Trophy hunter, play it all the way through on hard and you will get a platinum. It took me like 9hrs to beat it could have been 7hrs but you got to eat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Platinum

posted by JASPER (FAIRFAX, CA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not great, actually hard in some areas but, as the title says, easy platinum. Oh, weird but, no run , jump, or roll button...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as bad as I had feared

posted by Kenny007 (WALLINGFORD, CT) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game certainly is a rent only title; I'd of been quite upset had I paid for this game. That said, it's not as bad a ride as some might make it out to be.

The biggest allure to the game is certainly the trophies. All gold, and a plat to cap them off. The average runtime for anyone competent with console shooters (and I barely fall into that category, as a PC gamer) is 5 hours, and I managed it in about 4.5. It's really not that hard. Keep mindful of cover (can't be harmed while in cover as long as you're not flanked [or rushed by a T-600...though that's a bit sketchy]) and let your AI teammates do some of the heavy lifting, and you'll have this in no time.

Some small qualms with the title though. While in cover, you can't pick up weapons on the ground; quite a pain when in a firefight and need ammo. Was killed a time or two while sitting on a weapon that would have saved me...solely because I had to stand straight up, hope that it would equip, and get back down (a somewhat slow process). Also, some areas that should be cover wouldn't let you 'attach' to it because I guess that angle the devs didn't have in mind...ok then. Dying (and you'll likely die some) sucks because you've got to watch the someone long loading screen while the checkpoint loads, and sometimes you've got to watch the same cutscenes over and over. Lastly, the game froze once on me, but it saves often enough that that's not a problem.

A game you could skip if you're not trophy minded, but if you're out to get them, there are far worse games you could chug through. I enjoyed the short ride to another platinum, myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

disappointed

posted by djcnj43 (WHITEHALL, PA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The story was pretty good, but the story line was completely different from the movie. It had nothing to do with the actual movie. There were no bosses to fight in the game. The game was somewhat hard at times, so there was no real challenge in the game. The game was good, but it had no ending at all. This game is worth renting, not buying. I would be highly upset if I wasted $60 on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by KratosRvng (POMONA, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is completely broken. Don't get me started on the bad design aspects like animation and aiming, the real problem is the constant freezing and crashing, anywhere from loading to mid-cinematic. I had read the bad reviews and figured it couldn't be too terrible, plus some easy trophies.... no way--anyone who gets a Platinum trophy on this bad-boy worked hard for it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth the rent, but lacks.

posted by CombatJew6 (SODUS, NY) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game solely for the trophy hunters. 5 hours of story on hard more= Platinum trophy. The story is "okay." It lacks in anything interesting, and a few of the fights are extremely stupid. The game becoems a grind after the first hour or two of fighting the same 5 enemies. There are very few guns, so it gets old. "Variety is the spice of death." Rent, plat, return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but coulda been better

posted by EDGEofMAG (SHEFFIELD, AL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok this game was very good much better than the 4.6 it was rated
i rated it a 7 because it had the grounds to be very very good if only they had given the story from Marcus's view(as in movie) rather than from John Conner(as in the game)
THIS GAME IS NOT BASED ON THE STORY LINE OF THE MOVIE
i do want to add it has only 5 guns...
but it was still very fun it has only 9 levels which are fairly long and will recive you a gold trophy(PS3) the 1st time you beat them and will most likely be your first platinum trophy it also has a good co-op campaign(split screen)
it makes you use tactics ALOT
its a 3rd person shooter but feels almost like a 1st person shooter
so it easy for the beginners on easy and when you switch over to medium and hard it can get pretty challenging for the more experienced players
i give it a good thumbs up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun while it lasts

posted by Lordzz (CANTON, OH) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game isn't a bad game at all, it's actually a lot of fun to play. The extreme terror and difficulty of one terminator was captured well and the cover system was very fluent. The main problem, however, is the lack of diversity among the weapon selection and enemy class. But because the game is so darn short, by the time you're really sick of the same ol' things it's over.

Worth one playthrough if you're a Terminator fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible? Yes

posted by powderedto (HICKORY, NC) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can I say, this is one of the most boring games I've every played. The missions are too short, too linear, and not challenging (even on the hardest setting). I kept playing it, expecting it to get good, I mean, come on, it's a game where you get to fight terminator's post-judgement day, how can that be bad? Well, the developer's found a way. Unless you're going for an easy platinum trophy on the PS3, I'd skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my 360 and ps3 are now cursed

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the curse shall never be lifted because every time i turn them on they will beg me to never have to run a game for me because they have gone through the horrors that is this game. just because you make a liscenced game dosent mean it has to be garbage some liscenced games are great but this right here is the worst liscenced game i have played since "THE THING". the game says on the rental envelope that you are John Conner, but this is odd because he has a lousy voice actor and cant acomplish the most basic gameplay commands, such as picking up weapons while taking cover, throwing grenades in the CORRECT direction, reloading in time, shooting accurately and so on. the envelope brags about being in a war against hyper intellegent robots, yeah robots who sit there and shoot at you with infinite clip size and ammo and never move or flank they just sit there and shoot, sometimes the enemys just shoot at the ground for no reason, the only strength they have is being able to take 7 clips worth of heavy machine gun ammo to destroy even if you shoot their weak spot. your allies are worse, just poping out of cover and dont even fire they're guns. there are only three enemy types in the game and they all suck, the scripted events are short and boring, the cover mechanics are almost broken at times, and the blu ray ps3 version even the ps3 version has frozen 3 times, every time you die you watch a long loading screen that will make most want to stop playing all together, the cutscenes are short, badly written and have no substance what so ever. the only good thing is that you can get a platinum trophy in this game without any effort, but trophys and achievements suck and cheaply add replay value anyway so who cares? a game should be fun and replayable out of the freaking box, not an excuse to brag about achievements and trophys that wont make your life any better. in case you didnt notice, i hate this game and i hope that the developers shall experience judgement day soon.0/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by Gamer6282 (RENO, NV) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game wasnt that bad. Trophies were really easy but I couldnt seem to get the platinum trophy.Aiming looked kind of weird but everything else was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gameplay versus Storyline

posted by Scotty619 (HILTON, NY) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Third person shooters have not always been my favorite. But I'd have admit this is definitly a good one. I bought it for the trophies, but I found myself actually enjoying the storyline, which from what I have heard from others, absolutely stunk! I disagree with that statement, the storyline couldn't have been much better. I could find a few kinks to work out, but it's over all a game worth playing. The gameplay however. It's more than just the impossible 'bots to destroy using just your Assault rifle, it's the poor job of trying to find a way to flank these 'bots. You could stand behind cover, shoot blindfully at the target for 40 rounds, and never kill them. However stand next to your partner and you'll never run out of ammunation. Gameplay needs some work. Rated 7/10. If you enjoy story related games, give this a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Good Rental Game But A Bad One To Own

posted by OBESIGMA (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I received the game today and I completed it in less then 3hrs on hard. This story line was great but it was too short. The only other complaint but I guess it's because it's a short game. Not enough weapons. Once again a good game to rent if you have nothing to do but a bad game to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You Cannot Self-terminate

posted by sin2sin (HENDERSON, NV) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not great but hardly horrid. Two glaring areas of concern are all the glitches that freeze the game up and the lackluster plot. Th glitches are a minor annoyance. The plot is what really keeps this game from even being a bargain buy. There's really no point and you're not missing any expanded insights into the Terminator mythology. A massive misstep as the game could have served to flesh out some details bridging the 1st three films with the new one or touched on some elements brought up in the new film or....something. Completely wasted potential. With only 3 real recurring enemy types the game is kept fresh by on-rail shooting segments that work to move things along. The in-game graphics are sufficient but the cut scenes need improvement.

The upswing is it's still fun to kill terminators. The menace of an "endo" bursting through a wall is amplified by the way the game design has you running from them at the onset. It conveys the same sinister threat the agents in the first matrix films possessed. "You see an agent, you do what we do, run."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its all about war

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

is there an easy way to kill them darn robots. i really like the strategy to this game, you half to find ways around to the back of them to kill them. but if they are terminators run run run, if you stand tow to tow with them they will terminate you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trophies

posted by SacredCows (RACINE, WI) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Horrible game. Buggy as all get out. Most of you renting for trophies. Took me one day so you should do fine. When in doubt midway through playthrough dont worry. Last few arent painful. Game is easy just buggy and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by psnchagy (INDIAN ORCHARD, MA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its actually a good game but it crashes alot and its short other than that its an ok game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rent.....

posted by MarielitaM (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at least once... not a buy! got stuck on a few spots(on hard) but was done with the game in a day..... game looks awsome but VERY short...... they have to make a follow up or something..... was fun tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse