Rent Tenchu: Shadow Assassins for Wii
view large frontback

Tenchu: Shadow Assassins

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
5.1

670 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by 2181293 (LISBON, OH) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this one of the best games i haved played so far,it is very hard i woulden't recommend this for anyone under 13 the controls are very good i love using the wii remote for this except one part it woulden't work very, well but other then that this game is awesome they give you 10 level's to play and side quest, the first five level's you play as rikimaru and then ayame next 5 level's, this is very fun game i recommend it for any hardcore gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too Complicated!

posted by Curious (DUBLIN, CA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, now I'm not one of those gamers that likes to sit for hours and hours playing one game or trying to figure out a game...so if that's you just ignore this review.

I like games that have easy to understand controls. This game had so many that you had to remember that I kept failing during the tutorial part of the game! And sometimes they would have controls up on the screen that once you did them you would be discovered because you weren't supposed to use them yet but you weren't told what they were for or what they did unless you did them yourself.

While the graphics and the little story-line that I got where excellent (in my opinion at least), the complicated controls just totally made me lose any interest in this game.

Don't get if you don't like overlly complicated game controls!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I was expecting

posted by TheFilth (WATERTOWN, NY) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is absolutely terrible in comparison to it's predecessors. - It is rated mature but it still feels like i'm playing a childrens game. I guess this can be expected for most Wii titles but the gameplay is extremely repetitive and is questionable in all aspects.

The controls are not smooth by any means as with a lot of Wii adventure games. The worst of the Tenchu series by far. The storyline doesn't draw you in at all either

Basically unless you want to be called poo over and over by your enemies, whilst pursuing the same overused cliche plot - This isn't something you want to pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game for the wii ever!

posted by toolfan24 (Balsam, NC) Aug 3, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only have a few things to say about this game. 1st off it has bad graphics and the it has extreme lag when turning the camera. 2nd thing I found annoying was the horrible controls, they are so badly designed that it will sometimes at random times cause you to be seen and fail missions because of it. so if your a fan of tenchu z for the 360 don't waste your time on this poorly made game especially if your like me and have to wait 4-5 days just to receive another game from your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by BR1336 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is probably one of the worst games in the history of tenchu games theres virtually no fighting and you have to hide the entire time im sick of these stealth games i mean i like a challenge but lets not get too ridiculous about the whole stealth thing this game sucks my advice let someone else get and take it out of your Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like ninjas?

posted by adame530 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never thought sneaking up on some one and snuffing them out would feel so good. At first I was not feeling the slow game play but, soon the waiting became intense. Great veiws all around you can see everything and every one. Bad day at work? come home and talk smack to Samuri throw stars at other ninjas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tenchu is Tenpoo

posted by DfromSTB (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found Shadow Assassins boring and confusing. I don't want to spend 48 hours trying to figure out how a game functions. I want to insert the disc and start playing. I understand there's a learning curve, and that it takes a while to make any real progress in an adventure game, and I do like a challenge. But this game is just plain hard to figure out.
There is no tutorial or instructions to speak of. You have to guess what you should be doing and learn as you go. Room after room you confront one or two boring challengers - always from behind or by sneaking up on them. The "attacks" are not actually even executed by you yourself - you just get a prompt to "Press A" to initiate the sequence, which is then executed by autopilot. I felt like I was in the arcade back in the 80's playing Dragon's Lair. No, wait - Dragon's Lair was actually innovative for its time.
Overall, I hated this game. I was sorry I'd wasted a rental on it. I sent it back to Gamefly within 24 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting at first, but then quickly boring

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay... cool graphics (ABOUT TIME for the Wii!). But although interesting in concept, the execution is repetitive and mind-numbingly boring.

Sound is great... concept is very good, but I felt like I was on rails. Why couldn't we get something like Thief here? You can barely move in the right way, movements are hard to pull off and non-intutive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stealth action for dummies

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Splinter Cell, Thief, Metal Gear, Deus Ex, Hitman. These are just some of the names you may think of when considering great stealth action gaming. Tenchu: Shadow Assassins is not like these games.
Tenchu casts you as Rikimaru, a ninja with spiky white hair who flees at the sight of a sword and likes to hide in barrels. He goes through a bunch of missions that don't appear to have a logical relationship with each other, but are simply there so you have missions to play.
So what makes Tenchu so sub-par? The gameplay. The controls are pretty rigid and awkward. Your controls over the camera is minimal, which is bad because it gives you bad angles to begin with. The quicktime motion sequences for finishing opponents are unnecessary.
But the big thing is how the game works in absolutes. At any one time, you are either completely exposed or completely hidden. Move a little toward the light and suddenly you're lit up like Time Square. And unlike other, more dynamic games, if the enemy sees you, you'll suddenly poof out of the field and back to the starting point. Sure, your progress is saved, but you have to retread your steps all over again. And to make a kill, the enemy cannot be aware of you at all. Again, too many absolutes for a good stealth game.
The presentation leaves plenty to be desired. Graphics are alright, but not great. Lighting effects are misleading, because seemingly dark areas are actually registered as light. The music is just ridiculous, because techno-rock has no place in a stealth game. And the story... don't even bother trying to comprehend it.
It can be fun to hide in shadows to kill a passing guard with his own sword or drown him in a pond. It can be fun to throw stars at enemy ninjas, blind enemies with smoke bombs or poison a warlord's sake. But these are fleeting moments in an otherwise lackluster game. With so many better options available, you can skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tenchu, Reborn?

posted by Nicodemus (YONKERS, NY) May 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story is typical Tenchu variety. Kill the evil merchant, rescue damsel in distress. The new combat moves and ninjitsu gameplay is innovative and fun. However the game lacks a true combat system. The battles you have one on one need PLENTY of improvement. The controls during those sequences are lacking and almost impossible. THe game is strictyly based on stealth so don't get caught and you won't have to fight. Otherwise You're in a world of hurt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Controls, Bad Camera, Bad Game Could Be Better

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Apr 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I read a review that said to rent it; this is such a waste that you get more use out of it as a coaster. Everything does not work in this game, the movement, the over simplified movements, the camera, the controls, the music, all of it is adds up to a big fat AVOID!!! I gave it a 5 because I want other developers to see that it could work if done right; because it would be a great title for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Bother With This One: Hold Out for Tenchu 2

posted by jgamerev (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has potential but it looks it was rushed to production. It's fun initially, but the tedium of the game sets in pretty quickly. The Wii Controls are not set up to allow the dueling feature to work at all.

The game format is literally flat. You enter a small room and have to figure out how to kill everyone in that room, when in real Ninja life you'd just exit out the back door.

The graphics are odd as is hearing Japanese characters inexplicably speak English in both American and British accents.

If I had to do it again, I'd pass on this version of the game and wait for Wii to release a Tenchu game that is interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

coulda been a contender

posted by yourself (Battle Creek, MI) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wait, a ninja game - for the Wii? Rated M? Awesome... Right?

nope

The other reviews on here are spot on, unfortunately the game lacks any background on the characters, the controls are sloppy (your first 100 sword battles will end with you dying), and the bugs in the graphics are silly and should have been a non-issue. Seriously, you stealth kill a guy by stealing his sword, but while you're ripping it off of him your entire arm goes through his robes and sticks out through his back. Not cool.

On the other hand, the graphics ARE visually pleasing, in fact the cut scenes will make you drool a little, truly next gen quality. Then you start the gameplay again and you realize that you're playing with GameCube graphics. Good, but not as awesome as I hoped.

Positives: Story is good, music is great and fits the mood, the 'pulse' in the Wiimote is a nice touch. Tricky little puzzles and some good voice acting (despite the obvious "Um, why are you British?" question).

Worth the rental, and heck, GF is selling this one at $29 if you wanted to keep it. You'll need to buy it to beat it, or blow a month's rental time. It'll keep you aggravated beyond belief starting every level over just because the controls suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What did they do to my precious Tenchu?

posted by GhostSong (FERNDALE, MI) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved most of the other Tenchu games going back to play station days. Back in high school my friends and I would play the original Tenchu all the time sneaking around corners, hiding on buildings tops, flying around on that zip cord grappling hook thing, murdering unsuspecting guards. It was a good time.

The best part was the large levels, the free-roam kind of feel, and the option you had to complete an objective several different ways.

At some point, the developers got rid of all that turned the game into a linear puzzle game with short stages. Several stage creates a level. You have to get from point a to point b dispatching x amount of guards along the way.

While the graphics, soundtrack and controls were fun the game play wasn't. The biggest flaw was when you were spotted, you had no chance to run away (not that you could, the characters moved sluggish) instead you either immediately threw a smoke bomb and restarted at the beginning of the level or had to fight in a very difficult duel where if you're hit...you throw a smoke bomb and restart the stage.

Also, I think the couple of Japanese characters had British accents while everyone else had American accents. That was weird.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

from a die-hard tenchu-fan

posted by lightmaat (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright, so this game had the potential to be awesome, but it seemed like they released it too soon. This review will be helpful if you have played past tenchu titles, as i relate back and fourth.

First off, i like how they move the camera on killing blows, kind of a max-payne feel too it. really cool. I like some of the new items they added and thier new added usefulness, but i don't like how you can only carry 3 different items at a time, and where did the ninja wire go?

There is a new 'shadow' system that was introduced, which is really cool imo. but they needed to add more places where you were 'in the shadows'

There are obvious graphical errors in kill scenes, and very repetitive kill moves. both kill moves are the same for each character, which was a bummer... on top of that, you don't use your own weapons for any of the kill moves. it's always you taking thier sword and killing them or something like that. which can be cool once or twice, but it lacks the old luster that made the older titles shine. The way the game plays out is also slower then past games. Even swinging from tree branch to tree branch was awefully slow.

Also, what i disliked the most about this game is you have to kill everyone, in order to get the grandmaster title. This was annoying to me. This doesn't make you a ninja, it makes you a tank. You may as well make a new ninja gaiden if they are planning on sticking to this format.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

half of what I wanted, but whats there is good

posted by lennox80 (COTTONWOOD, CA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The new elements work well, like shadow mode and multiple checkpoints throughout the levels. However, the game-play takes a backward step from Tenchu 3, and is closer to the tank-like character movement from Tenchu 1 + 2 on ps1. No suprise, considering the original developers were back on board for this entry. What is a suprise is the lack of a decent story, considering that was a major strong point for the first couple. That was the one element that I was hoping would make a return to the series with Shadow Assassins, but it looks like I will have to stick with the same old Tenchu fan mantra "they'll get it right next time for sure". Oh, and the lack of a grapple and no unlockable 3rd playable character knock off even more points. Overall, it's still fun, and worth a rent for stealth fans or Tenchu die-hards (sigh), but don't get your hopes up to high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sneaky Ninja

posted by SSRGohan (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I had some good hopes for this game, even with the cheezy opening and not half-bad soundtrack but the first second i as allowed to move I notice the camera control sucks, it feels like im controlling some crazy sneaky ninja on drugs; the enemy AI is also on drugs, they're so dumb that it feels like childplay, you could be right next to them and kill them so easily with minigames, which is kind of fun. The looks of the game are pretty good, i expected to go in and not be able to even look at the screen (I'm a proud owner of HDTV/PS3) but the game is rendered pretty good it gave more good hopes for the Wii. This game is definetly a weekend rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The First Entry

posted by zorba1994 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 9 our of 10 wiimotes
Gameplay: 7 out of 10 wiimotes
Storyline: 8 out of 10 wiimotes
Overall: 8

The first game in Nintendo's campaign to bring hardcore gamers to the wii, it is a fairly good start. In the game, you take the roll of the ninja Rikimaru (later Ayame when you unlock her after level 4), who is a master of stealth. Unfortunately, that's the only thing he is a master at. One of the main features (some may say drawbacks) of this game is that it is 99% stealth action (if you are holding a sword you can do a melee minigame, but it isn't very fun, and is not meant in any way to be your main form of combat). Focusing on shadows, the game's graphics are good for a wii title, failing only when characters are talking (their mouths still move like they are speaking the original japanese, with the exception of the cutscenes) and when people catch on fire (ironically, these were some of the things in COD 5 that looked the best). You also get a giant arsenal of items and weapons, from shuriken to swords to bombs to even a cat and a fishing rod! Unfortunately, you can only carry 3 at a time, limiting the fun you could possibly have with them. The plot line is fairly good, revolving around a member of daimyo Toda's (the lord whom you serve) being kidnapped, and you having to retaliate, but with several twists along the way. The main drawback of the game however, is that it can be very frustrating, and you will have to repeat a level several times before you can beat it, let alone master it and get a higher score on it. The game also allows a second form of playing in the form of missions, which play like short term goal oriented fast levels for when you are short on time, and you can unlock more by progressing in the single player.

Overall, this game is not a must have, but it is certainly worth a rent until you can beat it.

This review brought to you by Game Center: RPG, PC, and Console Podcast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Only Time I'm Glad I'm Not a Ninja

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The objective here is to creep around as silently as possible to make your way to the goal. You’ll need to dodge the gaze of watchmen roaming about by hiding in shadowy areas. It sounds pretty fun but because the game moves so slowly, it can take several seconds to position your character correctly. Even if you’re standing right next to an interactive point in the level, you may need to adjust your footing before you can execute the function.

Speaking of the guards, they’re not exactly intelligent. As this is a stealth game, you’d think you’d need to drag the dead bodies away from prying eyes. Well, no worries here; if you leave one in the middle of a brightly lit room, it’s all good. The guards will go about their business, unmoved by the limp remains of their impaled co-worker. I guess they’re more concerned with yawning and repeating the same phrases over and over again to take heed.

Aiming is also pretty lame, especially since this is on the Wii and everything. Rather than using the Wii Remote’s motion sensitiveness to adjust the cursor, you instead use the Nunchuck’s joystick. So instead of pointing at the screen to target a candle that needs put out or a guard that could use a shuriken in the back, you go into an over the shoulder view by pressing the down button and will have to adjust the cursor with the joystick. It’s a slow, tedious layout, that’s for sure.

Let’s not forget to mention the excessively long mini cut scenes when you get spotted. If you find yourself getting stuck on a certain level, be prepared to see these annoying clips repeatedly. If I have to hear some Japanese brawny man say “Yeah, you’d better run!” or “I hate ninja!” one more time, I’m going to take a samurai sword and ram it up someone’s… oh… "ahem" ’scuse me…

Long story short, Tenchu is just too slow, clunky, and repetitive to keep me engaged. There are a lot of great features to be found here, but I can't stand playing a game for hours on end and not get anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Satisfying moments trapped in occasional tedium

posted by schoitz (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The reviewer who called this a puzzle game masquerading as a ninja actioner is mostly right. Most levels go something like this:

-- Stealthily make your way toward the cottage/bridge/temple
-- Sneak up on and kill some hapless sod
-- Miss the second hapless sod, who spots you and either a) chases you back to the level's start point, or b) initiates a sword fight.
-- If it's b--the sword fight--you're treated to a brief but almost guaranteed frustrating defeat. The sword combat is just absurdly touchy and difficult. You'll lose and be sent back to the beginning of the level, again.
-- REPEAT the above, slowly iterating your way through the level and determining which course of action will get you where you need to go There is usually only one, but achieving it is rarely obvious.
-- Every once in a while, you'll fall in a well/canyon/pit and be killed for good. In that case you can restart the level, but with all your accomplishments on that level reset.

It's very satisfying to pull of several successful maneuvers in a row: The kill animations are nice (if precipitated by an often confusing shake/shimmy of wiimote and nunchuk), especially the successful shuriken attacks (which verge on exhilirating). When you can perceive the right way to proceed through a level AND execute the right maneuvers successfully, the game is a lot of fun. But it takes a lot of cycles of the above to get to those moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Idea, poor execution

posted by sed5150 (MORGAN HILL, CA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This not the same tenchu as previous games, and that is both good and bad. The stealth gameplay and stealth kills are far improved over previous versions. The gameplay is good, except the slow speed of the ninjas walking and running, which tends to feel sluggish. Despite the speed issue, the game is fun and satisfying to play...until you are spotted. The sword fighting mechanics are a great addition, utilizing the Wii remote's motion features. Unfortunately, the execution of these mechanics is poor, and you'll often find yourself frustrated over the non-responsiveness of the motions you perform. MANY TIMES I EXECUTED THE CORRECT MOVE, ONLY TO STILL GET STRUCK DOWN! I would love to see someone get sword-fighting right on the Wii, but so far, neither Red Steel nor Tenchu have gotten it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An "Assassin" that won't kill the competition

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is the first game this year I know of that's designed to bring back the hardcore gamers who Nintendo has ignored for about the last six months.
Well, I say it almost makes the grade. Almost.
Tenchu: Shadow Assassin is a 3D platforming game where you go from one point to the next, hiding in dark areas, blowing out candles, sneaking up bad guys and killing them.
The stealth part is the best part of Tenchu. I got a rush as I plotted a path so I can get close to a bad guy to kill him or to do something else.
The game also has great ideas, like blowing or dousing candles to create dark areas or to use a breathing tube while swimming in a lake.
But there are problems with game design.
First, this game could use a map that tells me where I'm supposed to go.
Then, there's sword fighting, which feels stiff and clunky. Positioning the Wiimote to block the enemy's attack is troublesome at best.
Some of the cut scenes where you kill a bad guy are good, but others are laughably bad. You drag a guy under water and he drowns in ten seconds or less. And when you stick a guy with a sword, the resulting gushing blood felt tacked on.
But the biggest problem is trying to figure out what the game designers want you to do. Which candle to blow out? Which guy to kill? Which direction do I go to? One wrong move and you're back to the start of the section. Tenchu can get really frustrating for some players.
Oh, there's also some story about a princess and some war, but I wasn't riveted by any of the story based cut scenes.
Still, if you're looking for a stealth game, you should give Tenchu: Shadow Assassins a try. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good concept, redundant execution.

posted by billyziege (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Tenchu: Shadow Assassins is essentially a puzzle game where the puzzle is how to effectively get by or kill multiple enemies scattered across a map without them discovering you. If you are discovered, you are either given a second chance to complete the map or (rarely) you enter a battle similar but somewhat simpler to the clunky sword mechanics of Red Steel. Occasionally there is a boss battle with that clunky sword mechanic.

Essentially each of 10 stages has multiple "maps" which have multiple opponents with different behaviors in fixed positions and patrols. You need to observe the behavior and exploit your environment to either get close and kill or get past your opponents to reach an exit from the map. The solving of the environmental puzzles is the most rewarding part of the game.

The are a couple of issues, though. First, you essentially replay each stage with two different characters, a powerful male ninja and a quick female shinobi. While having different opponents in each of the maps adds variety, this does not fully overcome the feeling of redundancy and at time tedium.

Also, there is a level where you need to swing from branches. The mechanics of this action break the goal of quickness and lightness of control that the developers set out to make by being extraordinary slow and somewhat choppy. The levels in which this occurs (once for each character) is thus rather frustrating.

Sometimes, there are issues with the camera and therefore important actions are hard to execute in these situations.

Finally, the story seems to be connected to earlier games in this series. There is no introduction to the characters and major enemies come in towards the end dues ex machina. Therefore, I found the story to lack emotional connection.

Despite these flaws, the game is still fun especially if you are a fan of 1980's ninja cinema which this recreates. Just don't expect a compelling story or fantastic variety of gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A good concept destroyed by unplayability.

posted by AnimeGamer (EUGENE, OR) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I, too am a longtime Tenchu veteran who`s been playing the series since its days on PS1 over a decade ago. Sadly this entry does not live up to expectations. All is well and good until you pickup the WiiMote, the graphics are very well done and detailed for a Wii game, the soundtrack is crisp and stirs up memories of Tenchu`s of old but after the first 2 hours into the game I realized the Wii controls are horribly wrong, destroying the entire experience. Controls are non-intuitive, clunky and slow, which made sneaking around baddies all the more frustrating. An optional GCube controller setup; as in Smash Bros Brawl would have helped GREATLY here. Another upsetting difference is how combat has been virtually removed from the game. In previous versions, after being spotted you would usually have to then fight your way past, but here you simply startle the guard, throw a smoke bomb and are forced to restart at the nearest checkpoint. Also sorely missing is Rikimaru`s ninja sword! Where did it go? The game is also VERY linear, forcing you through a rigid setup of rooms that can only be played how the developers intended, leaving very little creativity or freedom to the player himself. This unfortunately could be the nail in Tenchu`s coffin as the series has gotten progressively worse over time. Instead please pickup the PS2 gem- Tenchu: Wrath of Heaven, easily one of the best ones since the two originals on PS1... Again, shame on you Ubisoft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not just another fun Tenchu game

posted by gameaway (MOORHEAD, MN) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Looks like another Tenchu game, sneak up on guys and kill them, right? For the most part, yes. Unfortunately, the addition of what I will call "swordplay encounters" left a bitter taste in my mouth. I had some fun along the way but in the end these swordplay encounters completely ruined the game for me, much like they ruined Red Steel. You have to hold the Wii remote at specific positions to block your attackers blows untill you are given an opportunity to attack (during this you basically flail the remote frantically). The level of coordination required for the few unavoidable swordplay encounters is rediculous, SIMPLY TERRIBLE(that's right, all caps)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse