Rent Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for Wii U
view large frontback

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.6

131 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The definitive version for any Tekken fan!

posted by DonJuggalo (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for the Xbox 360, but returned it because I knew we'd be getting the Wii U. I'm glad that I did that, because this is the version I would rather have - the port is great, and the extras are worth having!

The graphics and sound are just what you would expect, seeing as how Nintendo has joined the HD gaming world now. All the combos, characters, cut scenes, etc. are also here. Now that some time has passed, all the DLC characters are already unlocked as well, including the Snoop Dogg stage. Then there are the exclusive extras...

Any gamer, especially an old-schooler like me, has been a Nintendo fanboy at some point. The Nintendo themed costumes are very cool and make for some exciting themed fights. The mushroom battle is mostly silly, but is fun for a little side action. The return of Tekken Ball is the best addition though! Just like when they had bowling, it gives you something to do when taking a break from fighting. No matter how cool you think it is, it definitely adds to the replay value. The online fighting is FREE on the Wii U, so then there's that as well. Props to Nintendo for adding wireless internet to their console STANDARD (no pricey wireless adapter to buy), and for having a FREE network.

A purist like me wouldn't use it, but you can also now perform combos with simple button or touch-screen inputs. This game doesn't use the gamepad for too much, but this game doesn't really need it.

Bonus - you can use your Classic Controllers for the game, so you don't have to buy new $50 controllers to have the same fighting experience as on the 360 or PS3. Much love to the big N for that!

To sum it all up, almost every single fighter ever is included here, and their move sets have been improved so there's less borrowing other fighters' moves. Extra modes, bonus costumes, new options, it's all here - and in the best 3D fighting game ever. Street Fighter is alright, but this is REAL martial arts action. And this is the version to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tag Me In

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the first fighting games on the WiiU, and I say it’s one of the best looking games I’ve ever seen. The fighters look like they’re ready to put the beat down on the opposition.
But this game does use the WiiU Game Pad. On the pad, you can put up to four commands (the game has preset four commands to start off with which you can change) This may irritate fighting purists who love the challenge of putting in the proper commands to pull off the combo – but they can choose not to use it. Those of us who are not as good at fighting games will love it and use it – a lot.
There are 60 characters in the game, and everyone has a great looking full motion movie ending to the arcade mode (something unheard of before this game came out).
There are plenty of modes to play outside the arcade version. There’s survival mode to see how long you last against a large wave of opponents, a time mode to see how fast you can bet a set number of opponents, go thorough a tutorial to learn the basics. There are also special modes for the WiiU where you use the mushrooms to get really big or small during a fight (sort of fun), or play volleyball (I really didn’t like this particular mode as it was very slow and confusing)
And you can go online to fight it out in a two on two match with up to three other players.
And there’s a few more things to do outside of fighting. You can customize the look of your character with a multitude of outfits or paint a new look on any character.
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is pricy at $60, but the sheer content, amazing graphics and use of the Game Pad make this one game that fighting fans ought to get. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do the software update!

posted by Greg_Dog (IRETON, IA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game required a software update and since the update the game locks up the Wii U whenI launch the game. Pretty sweet. Called Nintendo no ideas, sent game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quite the Fun New Yet Familiar Experience

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Sure, this game is available on the PS3 and 360, however the Wii U version has some extra content that really add to the replay value. Such examples include an extra costume for literally every character based on Mario, Luigi, Peach, Toad, Bowser, Link, Zelda, Fox McCloud, and Captain Falcon. Not only that, but a game mode know as Tekken Ball that hasn't been seen since Tekken 3 makes its return exclusively for the Wii U version, which has you damaging your opponent via hitting a beach ball as hard as possible into your opponent. There's also a Nintendo exclusive mode called Mushroom Battle, requiring you to use Super Mario Bros. based powerups to strengthen your fighter and crush your opponent, from Super Mushrooms and Giga Mushrooms, power stars to give you invincibility, and poison mushrooms that power you or your opponent down. Finally, the gamepad has the ability to make doing combos easier by making each one playable with either a touch or a specific button press for inexperienced players. If you're loyal to Nintendo, this will be a new experience for you since there's little to no chance of ever playing one before. If you're loyal to other systems, give this a try with the additional content added to this version. I highly recommend it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's back!

posted by Bobbaganoosh (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Been playing Tekken since the very first one ons ps1. Know that feeling that you used to get from Tekken but has been missing the past few games? It's back in this one for me in a big way. Love it. There's also nothing like seeing Panda dressed up as Princess Peach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frozen Wii U

posted by EvilRyan (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game froze my Wii U at the title screen. I read about a few tricks online to keep it from doing that but none worked. I've also heard to both updating or not updating the game to get it to work. I ended up getting frustrated and sending it back. If anyone has a concrete way of making it work, let me know. I hate to rate what I'm sure is a great game so low. If there is ever a fix on it, I may rent again and rate it higher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game for the Wii U.

posted by Fradp_king (SALEM, MA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The graphics are smooth and the gameplay is very fun. I enjoyed the large character selection, there were plenty to choose from. Online is fun even during the sometimes long wait times but you can at least practice. Definetely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »