Rent Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii U
GF Rating
7.4

685 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by osorealg (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a Tekken fan you will enjoy this game. Outside of the $10 Online pass that more and more games are starting to require, the games online capabilities are alot of fun. There is a serious level of competition so I suggest if you rent the game play offline for a while to harnest your skills if you are new to the franchise.

The offline mode sets you up against the Computer; however, the computer is on a ranking system. Depending on the rank you have earned with the character you select, determines the skill level of the opponent you face regardless of the difficulty setting.

If you enjoyed Tekken 6 you will love this game. I understand that people are upset about the online pass, but there are plenty other things to do in this game. By the time you get good enough to need the pass, you should have been able to save $10 to buy the pass.

The graphics and overall preformance of the game spawn amazing visuals and beautiful combos. The fight mechanics are smooth and it is easy to transition from one move to the next.

Great to have another Tekken game added to the series. I rate this game a 7 out of 10.

This is my first of many reviews here on gamefly. I hope you guys found this to be helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

still my favorite fighting game

posted by iDontWannaName (ODESSA, TX) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

besides having to pay 10$ to play online -_- the game was classic tekken goodness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Get it for the PS3

posted by bball89 (SHELDON, IA) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It's just not the same as Tekken tag 1 on ps2. It has amped up graphics, and the controls stink on xbox. Also I'm going to have to give gamefly a 1 on this because you can't get online with the game. You need an authentication key to play online so your only hope is to buy the new game brand new.

I guess people also don't age in the game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not play if you have anger issues!!!

posted by larsbm306 (OLYMPIA, WA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my boyfriend lars got so mad while playing this game that he first threw the controller at the wall then went and smoked a cigarette then came back and picked up the controller and proceeded to walk out to the street and smashed it into pieces........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tekken's Pay to Play Online is a RIPOFF!!

posted by TexasPete (FRISCO, TX) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Don't bother renting this game unless you are ready to pay the 800 MS Points ($9.99) Namco Renter Extortion Fee or as they call it, the 'Online Access Pass' to get onto X-Box Live.

For anyone , like me, who didn't know, here's how the scam works: Before you can play online mode you have to input a special access pass that ships with each copy of the game. Since we are renters, we do not get the code. But it wouldn't matter if we did, because only one code can ever be used per XBox ISP. Namco is more than willing, however to charge 800 points for you to buy an online pass; essentially a pay to play. What a RIPOFF. Why Gamefly would even agree to carry this game knowing this is a function is beyond me.

I am a lifelong Tekken fan and longtime renter of games and it makes me sick to think that the overall quality of the game is compromised because the corporate suits would rather spend the money to develop new ways to bilk us than on things like better game play or excruciatingly long load times between matches.

And since were talking about game play, it is very tedious if you do not own an arcade stick. The game does not let you use the LS and you are forced to use the D-Pad for every move, making some of the combos all but impossible.

RENTERS BE WARNED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not even the new characters can redeem this game

posted by jbrizzy (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Talk about a one trick pony, this is the same game we gamers have been playing since the first tekken. I mean yea there are some new characters, but majority of them are just carbon copies of the older characters. I was surprised at how disappointed I was with this game, and I only played it for one day for 2 hrs straight, and I cant find one thing to keep me from shipping this back to gamefly. This game is just basically tekken 6 with the tag mode and extra new and old characters thrown in. And the story mode is basically a tutorial on how to master (the somewhat increasingly difficult/clunky) controls. This game needs to be a wake up call to Namco so they can do something different with this franchise.The change for The tekken franchise is LONG overdue. Nothing to see here folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a good game to get from gamefly.

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

First, this game requires an online pass to play online with other people. This pass costs 10$ and is most of the reason for the bad score. As I believe we should send a message to game developers that this type of thing is not acceptable.

Second, even when playing single player this game has slowdown issues and lag. The lag is very similar to Soul Calibur internet multiplayer lag, but happens even when yer offline. Totally unacceptable for a fighting game.

Otherwise, this is a Tekken game, it looks nice and is not that different than other Tekken games. It is good that the characters have a variety of fully animated, typically CG endings to the arcade mode, but not enough to forgive these other transgressions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tekken tag 2

posted by paranzino7 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Aug 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2006

Everything is great in this game except that its missing campaign mode like in tekken 6 which is my favorite of all tekken games!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Meant to be played on playstation?

posted by Rory_Breaker (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Yeah yeah, I know. Many (all) fighters are meant to be played on the ps3. I've found some kind of new kindled relationship with the 360 and how this particular fighter plays. There's no x2 full circle motions to be had thus far that I've seen and the transition just with the regular controller is awesome. The blur motion effects, sounds, and other enhancements they've done have been amazing as well. Online is smooth, single player which I use because my king and armor king are in the rut is just as great. You can practice some moves in the game que while you wait for online matches. Helps those fine tuned people get their kinks out while waiting for a match. The game, you couldn't ask for more really. Fighters never really get high ratings, but the true fighters, the ones who don't mind the blisters and anguish that comes with practice will give this game high marks all across. Haven't seen any flaws thus far, and this is on the 360. I still suggest either a joy stick or one of the fighter pads which I will be obtaining in the near future. But even still, you can manage with this controller. This doesn't mean I can say the same for ssf arcade or soul calibur, blaz blue, mk, and so on. Great game though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok game

posted by Valleyboy_B513 (CINCINNATI, OH) May 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

its a ok game. it needs an adventure mode like the old tekken games. i give it a 7 jus becuz it looks good and plays good. it made me wanna play MVC3. . . so i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tekken tag

posted by zedzombie (COLBERT, OK) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Game was pretty good smooth gameplay online. My only major gripe is that you can play in 3d against computer but no 3d in online mode. Also you cant team with a buddy and fight other people online.....two things that would have made the game much better. Besides that not a bad tekken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great but HARD

posted by CryonicJROK (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

If you can get passed throwing your stick across the room a definite buy if you cant just rent if you took classes to control your anger leave it alone trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Joystick Control

posted by Michael13339 (FORT PLAIN, NY) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I thought the game was great,it does have some flaws though.The D-Pad is horrible,why can we not change the movements to Joystick Controls. It is so much easier to control anything with a joystick than it is with the D-pad.The Online feature of paying to use,not a problem as I would rather play the arcade version or against someone offline.Would I buy it or keep it,not really as like others have said It gets Boring real quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just like the old one!

posted by fire5idedata (CRESCO, PA) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

i love this game it is just like teeken tag 1 but with so many more characters. if you have xbox live you get 9 bonus characters for free! this game plays like tekken 6 with some characters almost have identical move lists

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by Chefsetlich (CHINO, CA) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This was a good game, but I think it's missing a story mode. It got boring really fast, fighting the same thing over and over again.
If your a fan of Tekken it's cool because it has all the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

posted by TEARIZONE (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is my first time writing a game review, so please excuse my bad writing. first off the game is beautiful personally i love it. i'n a huge fighting fanatic so if you love fighting games check this game out their is a massive line up of characters 50 plus, new stages. solo play & pair play which means you & a friend can pair up & play online against two other people. tekken tag tournament 2 is not a button masher so you better learn the gameplay before getting online this game requires skill. but dont get me wrong anybody can pick it up just dont expect to win with an opponent that knows what hes doing. anyways the music is great the graphics are beautiful the combos flow nicely its just a complete game and a character customization that even the clothes can be customized with unique decals of your liking. so i dont know what else to say, if you like fighting games like me tekken tag tournament 2 is the game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK but ...

posted by deadR2 (GILBERTSVILLE, PA) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

Tekken Tag 2 is ok but isn't worth 63$ the gameplay is ok but at times when you want to do a move u will jump for no reason theres a huge roster up to 59 playable fighters i just use Nina and Kazuya the move list is to big for anyone 1 to remember but Tekken is known for that i hate the tag system for tag grab u press LB+Y half the time u switch partners offline modes are ok but not that fun just arcade mode is worth playing customize was a let down to me i thought you could give yourself health increase rage mode last long stuff like that the endings suck only Nina's was good just stick with Tekken 6 or Street Fighter X Tekken

the good
lot's of fighters
arcade mode is still fun
fighting engine still fun
combos feel the same

the bad
online pass
customize is boring
the ending are lame
fight lab is half done
combo's are too long to remember
offline modes are lame

Tekken Tag 2 6.7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but you should rent it.

posted by SuperSaiyanXbox (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I really like this game but it's really not worth buying. Why? It's simple, they have characters that are the same as the other. Like Slim bob/Bob, Tiger/Eddy etc. And the similar characters really have the same moves and attacks so it really made no sense adding those extra characters.

Dr. Bosconovitch is a ridiculous character and players really play as him to spam over and over again with one of his moves where he sits on the floor and charges at you or whatever he does. Overall this game is not that bad but you'll do better renting then buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tekken Tag Tournament

posted by mwschoonover (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

very great game back to the original gameplay unlike like the previous tekken which bombed this game has all kinds of new people to play as the return of jun kazama which is great i love Tekken always have i recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing great.

posted by Cptkalgar (MARTINSVILLE, OH) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Game gets boring FAST. Versus is dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

online pass

posted by IcBlUsCrN (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

needs online pass to play multiplayer, not sure if this is normal as i dont remember kof13 but online passes suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not the best

posted by TheOne616 (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

it's cartoonish.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Tekken yet other than the code.

posted by jbkorn02 (OAK LAWN, IL) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

I was very exited to play this game after being a big fan of the first and recently playing Tekken 6 a lot to get back into it. The arcade mode was great and adding so many characters and special combos to do with them together is something I love. I was excited to get online and play but when I tried to go online there was not even a trial access for it. You can only play online if you buy the game or pay extra. I didn't expect this sice it was never on a tekken before but I sent it back the next morning disapointed hoping DOA5 will not have a code.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »