Rent Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U
GF Rating
7.6

600 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

tekken, but with restrictions on fun

posted by razwit (LOVELAND, CO) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you rent this title or get it used, don't expect to play online for free. A $10 online pass code is required to play with your online friends. Because I rented this game and live by myself, I had very little fun playing this game.
Other downloadable content includes movie clips from tekken 1, 2, and 3. And background music. Not in sets, just single songs. And no, none of that is free to download.
It takes 20-30 min to complete arcade mode with any given character or set of characters. You are rewarded with a 1-2 min clip of the first character's ending movie. This has been the case with all previous tekken titles, but there seems to be decidedly less effort and story placed into these. Some are animated through still framed sketched images that look like projects i did in community college animation class (they had 1 minute of audio but only 15 seconds of animation...they did their best to make it work without drawing more frames). And more frustrating still, some use clips from a previous Tekken. How fun is it to play through the same 20-30 min of gameplay for the 15th time to see a 2 minute movie clip that has the graphics of a PS2 title? it's not. So, if you're playing offline by yourself, I'd give this game a 3 out of 10. It's monotonous and doesn't reward enough.

I have to keep in mind that the point of this game is to play with others though. I was able to play through the game a couple times co-op and against friends. Being competitive with friends is a lot of fun, and tekken tag does a great job of making every match intense through the rage system. There's a massive gallery of characters to choose from as well. This is clearly where they spent most of their energy in development. Each character plays fairly unique from others, which is a big improvement from the previous tag where some characters were just alternate outfits.
As a game to be played with friends I'd probably rate it a 9.

Lastly, menus in the game are a headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online Pass!!!

posted by Slyash (CALDWELL, ID) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You can really enjoy the game if you don't have the online pass!!! Great game though!!! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tekken a step back

posted by Nugznj (NEWTON, NJ) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tekken Tag Tournament in my opinion was one of the best fighting games ever released. I have spent hours with groups fighting in 10 combatant team battles. Always fun and giving supreme bragging rights when you make it all the way around the room. I was very anxious for the sequel to finally be released. It was the first game I rented from GameFly.

First the GOOD: The graphics were great. There are numerous arena to fight in with some even allowing you to break through the floor into another. Practice mode was revamped and allowed for more options and quicker displays of moves and combos making learning them easier. Also all characters are available from the start and the double characters (i.e. Kuma/Panda, Eddy/Tiger, etc.) are now separate selections so you don't have to concern yourself with recalling which button to use to select them.

Now the BAD: Arcade mode plays like you would expect but you have to occasionally deal with an opponent wearing silly outfits and carrying arbitrary extras (i.e. baseball bats, machine guns, etc.). The team battle setting makes you wait for loading time between each fight and then extremely silly entry cuts of each team. Also unless you know where on the combatant select screen your fighter is your kinda in the dark because you don't get the enlarged picture when highlighting. Also the game was just more challenging, and therefore enjoyable, forcing you to use fighters your unfamiliar with to unlock the others. Then there is the comedic customize option where you can add numerous silly haircuts, outfits and the above mentioned baseball bat type items. Seemed to be a real waste of programmers time.

Finally: THEY TOOK AWAY TEKKEN BOWL! If your unfamiliar with the original then this is of little consequence. To the rest, you know what I mean.

If your 15 years or younger you may actually enjoy this. Otherwise, skip this one and get the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tekken This Game Back

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Sep 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

So, let me start by saying that despite the Title, this game actually does a lot of things right.

It has a huge roster, with more to come via free DLC. A ton of modes. The customization is more goofy than anything, but I guess it's nice that there's options.
Fight lab is pretty interesting for sure.

I've played Tekken since the very beginning, don't think I've missed any actually. They've always been relatively fun and good games. And although, I'll admit this one should arguably be the best Tekken, the Ultimate Tekken if you will. I just couldn't get into it. I found in unforgivingly difficult. Especially Arcade Mode.
Ghost Mode is always a great, quick way to pass time and you can unlock things that way.
But it doesn't take long to run through each mode and then be done with it. I guess because it's a fighting game, and there's simply not much to do in fighting games other than fight. And once you do that enough times... meh.

The Tag format is okay. People will always try to compare it to Marvel vs. Capcom and King of Fighters, but it's different in 3D and with throws. I like that they allow the option to fight Single Player too.

I'm not sure what's with the graphics. I remember Tekken 6 looking great and even the Prologue looking pretty nice but, I really didn't dig them here.

Tons of levels!!!

I don't really know what to say, this game has a ton of content and as die-hard Tekken fan couldn't ask for more, and yet, I honestly didn't enjoy playing it. =/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I really wanted this to be a 10 but

posted by Ngo (DALLAS, TX) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Gameplay is great
Graphics amazing
Music as usual fantastic
Can't rate Online play since I rented

But the issue I have is with the customization
The custom outfits are a joke. No literally its pretty difficult to make an outfit that actually matches. and Most characters don't even have a true 2nd costume. Just some mishmash created in the customization
Sure there's a lot of choices but not much creativity
this leads to the for some nothing bad but for others like me something very annoying.
The Arcade mode. Nobody you fight is in there Original outfits. So everyone is dressed like clowns and for a few people they won't care but its really annoying seeing every character you fight wear the same hat and Jun who is supposed to be a boss dressed like a knight playing baseball

Also For those who are happy Azazel isn't in the game. Unknown can kill you in a single juggle even on Easy mode so just as cheap

I don't like when game designers think a way of making a game more fun is to make a game more silly because it doesn't work. From the trailers it looked like the best tekken game ever released
but the game itself feels almost like a joke
I honestly wanted to knock out whoever decided to dress Jun like a Knight/Baseball Player when I got to fight her (in her boss stage)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tekken 6 was better a bit better.

posted by Maqui08 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I would like to say a few things that was good about this game first before bashing on it. The combat: I know it's the same; but the tag system was a good idea to bring back. Combos became longer and more cool looking, but at the same time it was also harder to execute. Some characters also have new moves or just different controls for the moves and some have identical combos with other characters.
The graphics:was just a bit better than its predesesor so no complaint there.
Online mode: Gives a new experience from playing offline. But you have to have an access code to use it. If you bought the game you get it, if not, you can get it on PSN for $9.99. Costumizing the panels was also a great touch on the game to. With new characters comming a DLC soon the rsoster is huge.
The ending movies great, using diffrent styles for diffrent characters and the endings always gor for either comedy, evil, good, or just plain "what the heck did i just watch"?

Now for its flaws.
Its arcade mode: In the previeous game arcade mode is where you fight diffrent characters in their normal attire, but time around its diffrent. You fight against the characters in customized attire. The story is also isn't as good as it's tekken 6. You get to fight more characters, but there is no prolouge of why your character is joining the fight/or what your fighting for. It's like Namco is expecting you to know the their story from tekken 6. Another issue is the final boss in arcade mode. She can beat you in as short as 3 moves if she get lucky. And that is on easy mode,
The customization sucks now, before you get 3 original attires, and 1 or more costumes, now it's only 1 original costume. Not to mantion the Shop only has a few costumes, and you have to unlock the other costumes in others in modes of the game, by beating characters with them and they are a rare thing to. You unlock everything if you preordered so yeah unfair. But the hidden characters will be available via DLC soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What are people talking about???

posted by Kenn7393 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finally got this game today, majority of the reviews made this game seem so bad. A lot of complaints about the customization, saying that it's too goofy, well from my experience they have both normal and goofy outfits for the characters. The final boss Unknown is nowhere near as hard as people make her out to be, I've also seen complaints about the arcade mode because the characters don't have there normal outfits on. The only reason is because arcade mode (Just like Ghost Mode) is the arcade port from 2011 when it first hit arcades, so whatever the people dressed their characters up like on their profile are what the character have on in arcade mode. Everything about this game was good, the graphics, the tag assaults, tag throws, etc. From what I've seen so far the customization has been upgraded nicely. It comes with every character already so you will have lots of choices to choose from and plenty of time to master their moves. My only complaint (which is very minor) is that they didn't install a TekkenBowl or TekkenBall, but hey who knows maybe they might do that in one of the updates. My rate for Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would have given it a 9, BUT

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

JUGGLING!!! I don't know who thought this was a good idea over at Namco/Bandai, but it makes what is one of the best fighting games of all time feel cheap. All of my complaints about Tekken 6 were cured, save for this one. Tekken Tag 2 is an improvement in every way, including 3D movement mechanics. However, the juggling makes it all frustrating and not worthwhile.

Instead of getting into battles of strategy and skill, you are, once again, thrown to people who like to use the cheap juggles, and attempting to guard yourself from these cheap shots. Why are juggles so incredibly cheap? Because they can chain together forever, and you have no way of breaking out of them! And, the stupidest thing is when you get juggled after finally hitting the ground, at which point you think you might be able to do something, only to have the cheapness juggle you off the ground.

Every other great fighting game has combos, but they all give players the opportunity to break out of what can become infinite bashings, and that is no fun for anyone.

Dumb juggling takes away EVERYTHING that is otherwise great about this game. Namco/Bandai, fix it for the next one, please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok....

posted by vlace11 (CEDAR HILL, TX) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is cool it feel like classic Tekken but with said it has one of the cheapest bosses i've come across!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Was expecting much better

posted by nickolas34 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

Shame on Namco for making this game this bad. do yourself a favor and play the first one and ignore this pos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost 10

posted by 33william (WALDORF, MD) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

If u rent this game u cnt play online other than that excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken

posted by hawk73sfv (WINNETKA, CA) Jul 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Never recieved game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tekken tag tournement

posted by Cajuste1 (VALLEY COTTAGE, NY) May 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

this game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funnest Tekken game ever!

posted by Triracer19 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Okay first of all I love Tekken Tag Tournament games they've always been very fun and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a great sequel. I will start off by saying the combat in this game is awesome! Smooth running and precise and also quick. The character collection was great and the customize your character option is very good with plenty of acessories to choose from. The return of Jun Kazama to the series was also really welcomed! Lastly, the ending movies in this game reminds me of Tekken 5 and the arcade mode as well and the fighting lab features was really neat and funny. Good points aside this game can get really hard. Fighting Jun Kazama and Unknown is a nightmare and the online fighter can be really cheap. At the end of the day this a good fighting game with plenty of humor and a solid online mode. I would go as far as saying this is probably one of the best Tekken games up there with Tekken 5 and TT1. Let's hope Tekken learned from it's mistakes of Tekken 6 and makes Tekken 7 a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same game as the others

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

While the game have lots of characters to play there isn't really anything else to do that haven't been done. It's reminds me of Soul Calibur 5 except majortiy of the characters have their own play styles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but no online code

posted by devildog3533 (DACULA, GA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

its even better than the first one. it has a ton of characters and the moves are the same. the kicker is you have to pay for a code to play online and gamefly doesnt give you one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Incomplete

posted by esiw02 (NORTHPORT, AL) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'm more into SSFIV and MK, so take that into consideration about this review:

The positive? The fighting is very smooth and each character has a bunch of moves. The graphics aren't bad for the most part. Fun to play with friends.

The negative: the game felt very incomplete. And several characters had the EXACT same move sets. And while i understand that several of those characters used to be alternate costumes in previous tekken releases, it still leaves me to wonder what the point is of bothering to have them at all. Customizing outfits has always been a great idea in my opinion, but in this game the options are so limited that it just seems like a complete waste of time. Worst of all the fighting is completely boring if you don't have someone to play with because the AI is REALLY cheap. Better luck next time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tekken

posted by dj83100 (LUBBOCK, TX) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i hated the game dont ever send me the game or i will quit paying you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tekken Review for New Players

posted by LonnieR (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Tekken Tag 2 is a game that requires you to know your opponent and their moves. The move list is incredibly in depth and requires knowledge of where they hit (High, Mid, Low) and also the timing associated with each attack. Another thing is the punishment in the game. If you get hit 2 times in this game there is a chance you will die. One hit will send you into a juggle.. another hit into a juggle and your done for. Juggles do not have to be launchers anymore.. you can get sweeped or tripped or even stunned. A stun happens when your opponent hits you with one move that incapacitates you and you fall the the ground very slowly giving them a chance to punish you hard. Also if your opponent knocks you on the ground they can usually bring you back up with specific moves. With all of the things this game does right there are a few things it does wrong. One of the things is the damage and the other is the frame rate. Damage is amplified in this game and its not so much a problem until the "Rage Mode" sets in. Rage is something you opponent gains because your beating their face in. Out of nowhere they can turn the tides and win. Its an unneeded function of the game that ruins it at times. Its a handicap function that you can't turn off. Frame rate is very crucial in this game it what makes some characters worth using and others not. A character who is slow will never win against a mediocre player using Kazuya, Devil Jin, or Heihachi. One more thing is the safe moves. There are quite a few moves that are safe on block that doesn't seem fair at times because not all characters have those moves. Heihachi and Nina have some of the most notable ones. If they hit you with this move and you block it, you get pushed really far back to the point where you can punish them. The action reverses if your against a wall. If your against the wall blocking they get pushed away from you into a safe zone. Completely unfair but that the game. Beware new players!! Learn each Character!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game of the tekken series

posted by tammie (WAYCROSS, GA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

tekken tag tornement 2 with great visuals a awesome combo system and with the most tekken characters since tekken tag tornement for ps2 the tekken series has redeemed themselves and best of all they know that an able for the game to be fun that they will have to think what would the people want and the delivered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tekken tag 2

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Jan 20, 2013

Member since May 2011

this game was fun i enjoyed there was alot of characters to choose and everthing looked really cool and loved the tag moves! plus random snoop dog, i would buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

slow

posted by sir_zuckie (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game is alot slower than the regular tekken

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A pretty good solid fighting game!

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2002

If you were a Tekken Fanatic then you will like this game! The story is ok, the plot, is great! the characters are huge try over 16 all the Tekken Characters are in this game! Now The bad game is some what confusing with using your own music, the game is jaggy at times, the game takes a long time to load and can freeze at times! I give this game a 4 out of-5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent entry in the TEKKEN franchise

posted by Kirutshu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is very good,i especially like the recent content update that automatically unlocked without having to download anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tekken Tag 2

posted by BabySaga (TACOMA, WA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This is a great game, alot of fun but it wouldn't let me play online:(...over all is fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse