Rent Tekken Hybrid for PS3
view large frontback

Tekken Hybrid

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

499 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

For Hardcore Tekken Fans

posted by kidhero99 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll start off by saying I'm not a hardcore Tekken fan. It's one of my favorite fighting games and I do own Tekken 2 (PSone), Tekken: Dark Resurrection (PSN/PSP) and Tekken 6, but I'm not a hardcore fan - I don't know the complete movelist, play it for hours in the arcade or unlock every single item/play hundreds of hours at home. If that's you, the game may appeal to you more than it did to me.

Tekken Hybrid comes as a "bundle" - it includes an HD version of Tekken Tag Tournament, a 3D/HD version of Tekken: Blood Vengeance and a demo of Tekken Tag Tournament 2.

First thing you'll notice, this doesn't load like a normal game-disc. This is a "Hybrid" disc, mixing a standard Blu-Ray (meaning you can put this disc into your non-PS3 blu-ray player and watch the movie) and a game disc (with the game/demo). On a PS3, all 3 options are available (to watch the movie, move the XMB to "Video" and select "Tekken Blood Vengeance" - To play the games, move the XMB to GAME, select TEKKEN HYBRID and from the sub-menu, select TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT HD or TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT 2 PROLOGUE.

I will say I was disappointed that the 2 game options BOTH require you to install the content before being able to play. Total size is 2,443 MB (almost 2.5GB), and they DO require you to have the disc in to play.

Starting off with Tekken Tag Tournament:
The game looks surprisingly good! The CG sequences look decent (keep in mind they're 12 years old!) and the game itself looks good. The character models show age, but they really cleaned the game up nicely. If you were a fan of it, you'll really appreciate this upgrade. It also takes full advantage of widescreen on an HDTV. Note that all bonus content has been unlocked from the start (unlike the original game). Note that Tekken Tag is NOT presented in 3D.

The movie, Tekken: Blood Vengeance runs 92 minutes and features both a 2D and 3D version (3D version requires a 3DTV). Audio is in DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1ch (Japanese or English). S

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the movie was better

posted by Timbob (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall I was unimpressed by this game however I have to say that the movie Tekken: Blood Vengence that comes on the disc was really good and made it worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worth passing on....

posted by Indigo72 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed watching the film as it introduced those familiar with the series with the faces and names we all know and love/hate and giving those new to the series enough info to not be too lost in understanding.

But besides a movie, that really wasn't as stellar as it could have been and the game offerings weren't really good at all. The HD version of Tag Mode seemed out of place graphics wise and seemed to appear more robotic than usual. The prologue (both which you must install and have the Hybird Disc in order to play it) was a bare bones offering only tag matches between Devil Kazuya, Devil Jin, Elisa and her new best friend from the movie. Only able to pick out of those four and fight three stages and start over again.

But it's just a sneak peek at an unfinished product, a decent anime to watch and an old school version of the Tag Mode I would save my Q slots for something else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not get this game!

posted by scooby26 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is a horrible game, it dont make any sense the only good thing about this game the free movie that they put on the discs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

come on gamefly

posted by gagandeep (SANGER, CA) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

they keep sending me the bloody vengance movie. not the game. thought i joined gamefly not a movie site. avoid this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Platinum

posted by Exil (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Well for people trying to get more trophies this game is easy with lots of gold ones too. This game is pretty good a good warm up for Tekken Tag Tournament 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Must Have for Tekken Fans

posted by Francision (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Tekken Hybrid is not a game. Well, it is a game but it's also a movie. It basically contains the Tekken Blood Vengeance film and it has Tekken Tag Tournament HD & Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Prologue (Demo). You can use it in any Bluray player and you'll be able to watch the film but if you pop it into a PS3, you'll be able to play TTT HD and TTT2 Prologue. It's pretty neat considering all the content that you're getting in just one disc. The film which runs at about 1 hour and 30 minutes, is a pretty decent CG movie. It can get a bit dragging and the story is a bit of a mess but it's still very fun to watch, especially the fight scenes. Next is Tekken Tag HD which is an updated HD version of the game that came out over 10 years ago. Everything you expect from the original is intact and the game still looks pretty good. Tekken Tag 2 Prologue on the other hand, is a demo of the upcoming TTT2 which is already out in arcades in Japan. It's a nice little sampler that has 4 characters from the Blood Vengeance movie. TTT1 HD and TTT2 Prologue both contain trophies which is perfect for all you trophy hunters out there. All in all, this is a perfect title to add to your collection, especially if you're a Tekken fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by daultman (RENO, NV) Jun 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

this is just like the old arcade game. complete with the enter coin text. its not a good one to have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A classic with a prologue...

posted by Lucread (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Tekken Tag Tournament HD is an upgrade of a classic intallment ofthe Tekken franchise, and will always be well remembered. Tekken Tag 2 is a farce... first of all, it calls itself "Tekken Tag 2 Prologue," and second, it only has four characters to choose from. Basically, TT2P is an epic fail, so all you really have here is an HD remastering of the original Tekken Tag, which isn't bad, but its not really worth your time unless you're feeling nostalgic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Package!

posted by djthaiboxe (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

It makes me sick seeing some of these other reviews trashing this game. I dont think people realized what they were getting.

The movie, is ok, MUCH better than the previous tekken movies, especially the really old Anime version for us that have actually seen it.

The HD remaster of TTT was awesome! Its pure nostalgia on one of the best games of the series. Anyone that trashes TTT is NOT a true tekken fan or is to young to have not played it. I was part of the very first Tekken in texas tournie and this TTT marked the golden years for me.

The prologue demo, well, is exactly what it sounds like...a demo. You should know if you've played fighting game demo's before, the selection will be slim to none and not offer very much. But the glimpse given is enough to satisfy curiosity for the new TTT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A MOVIE

posted by logan9154 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

they didn't even send me a game they sent a dam movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been way better!

posted by ltvereen73 (COLUMBIA, MD) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

My kids love the fact that there is a movie to watch, however the transition of gameplay to the PS3 system could have been way better. The graphics still feel like PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't waste your money buying this

posted by asalewis (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So I was at BestBuy on Black Friday, and as you could obviously assume they were having BIG sales that day, especially on video games.

I had some money to burn, so I picked up AC Revelations (half-off!) and after a while of contemplating, picked up this game, although it wasn't on sale ($40). I wish I would have never bought this game, and would have bought Uncharted or FIFA or some other game that was on sale, that I would STILL be playing right now, and would have got my money's worth.

So for starters, this game doesn't last long. I spent about a week playing this game (the TTT2 demo & TTT) playing about mmm 2-3 hours a day and got a Platinum trophy out of it. It's fun nonetheless, especially if you're a hardcore Tekken fan like me, but it's not gonna be worth it in the long run. You're better off renting or not even bothering with it at all.

Now, the graphics are pretty solid on this game, but don't expect an entire remake of the original Tekken Tag like I did at first, it's just re-rendered in the HD and the framerates a little better.

Gameplay is pretty good too, although you'll ACTUALLY need the gamer's manual for this one (yes I said it) more likely for TTT2, as there is some new stuff added to the new Tekken Tag this time around.

Lastly, the movie. Well I'm not gonna spoil anything for you, but let's just say it's.. random. A lot of unexpected twists get thrown in this movie, and yes there is quite a bit of action but there's also some boring scenes too.

So yeah, don't waste your money on this game. Rent it if you really want to try it, but other than that it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible and useless

posted by ROYALTEEEE (LYNWOOD, CA) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

i would not recommend this game. just wait until tag tournament is released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth the time

posted by camaro95ss (BRADENTON, FL) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

the game feels dated and old i guess if you are into slow retro games or if you are a fan of tecken you may like it otherwise no comparison to the last mortal kombat or street fighter games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing remake

posted by Aaron512 (KILAUEA, HI) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I did not like the fact that this was a re-made game. I thought maybe an intermediate game between T6 and blood vengence.

The movie was alright but I dropped it in the mail soon after that... :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tekken hybrid is another poor attempt to recycle

posted by shammy (ELMONT, NY) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I'll make it simple; I was a huge Tekken fan back in the PSX days and enjoyed with all the flaws. For this generation the game falls extremely short. Best to wait for Tekken tag 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not all that

posted by robotron84 (OAKLAND PARK, FL) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

As a hardcore tekken fan I would think that the game would've had better features. The movie wasn't as interesting as I thought it would be. It just explains a story about the devil gene. I like the new look on Devil Kazuya and Devil Jin though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tekken Hopless

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

This game sucks.

I like the HD Collections, but this one is pretty awful.

Prologue has some nice graphics and interesting mechanics... but there's only 4 characters, so it doesn't last long.

Tag Tournament, while a decent game at best, has not aged well at all an didn't get much of a facelift either.

There's some easy trophies, but the graphics and controls are bland, even with the tweaks. Arcade Mode is relentlessly unforgiving and difficult. Not exactly "fun."

This may only be briefly enjoyable for HUGE Tekken fans or people who like the nostalgia of kicking arcade machines and/or smashing your controllers against hard surfaces while shouting expletives at your pets.

I've always enjoyed Tekken games, and played TT quite a bit on the PS2, but this was a miserable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It should be TEKKEN HIDE!

posted by chemoman (CAMARILLO, CA) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I've been playing TEKKEN since the very first one and I've got used to the game stepping it up every time. I didn't really think that this would be better than TEKKEN 6 but I did expect it to be close to it. It's no where near as smooth and fluid as T6 and the graphics don't look much better then T4 did. I'f you are playing T6 now than your used to playing a fighting game at it's highest standard and you're probably going to be as disappointed in it as much as I am. We'll just have to wait until TEKKEN 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

tekken hybrid

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

wheres jinpachi i want to fight as jinpachi? prologue has exelent graphics but the original tag is subpar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »