Rent Tekken 6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tekken 6

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
6.0

5557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tekken 6

posted by NAGGERS (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

First off everybody needs to stop complaining about the final boss. Last night I beat him 38 times to get the gallery completionist achievement so obviously its not too hard. Everyone writing negative reviews have no valid argument EXCEPT for scenario campaign camera angle. I thoroughly enjoyed this start to finish. It has an easy 1000 gamerscore and entertains you the whole way through. Let me verify that ive played over 200 online matches and have only experienced 3 laggy matches. Scenario campaign was entertaining and was a good addition. Plus it has a very interesting story that keeps you going. The fighting is very unique and fairly easy to pick up on. For beating Azazel all you have to do is continually kick him and then alternate punches and then repeat.

Go to youtube and watch Rooster teeths guide and see how easy it is.

This game is a must rent so for those of you having doubts on it please listen and rent it. You wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what is used to be...

posted by DauberOx (Wymore, NE) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Tekken since the second installment came out. I have loved playing the 4th and 5th installments, and the storylines in each were great. The gameplay was well thought out, in the 4th and 5th; something that is lacking in this Tekken. Those of you who have played Tekken 5 should remember one of the most significant additions, which was "The Devil Within" mini- (or sub-) game where you played as Jin. Imagine a whole game system built on that gameplay. It's as if "The Devil Within" met "Dragon Ball Z Budokai 2" and one of the worst games in Tekken history has ever been made. The online gameplay is lagging so bad, I could not keep up with anything that was going on. I read a simlar review that said the online was lagging, but I thought they were making excuses; it is no lie. The great things about this game is the roster of characters, and the fact that it's the first Tekken game to hit the new generation consoles...but I would have preffered to wait for a year or two more for them to make it into what it used to be. The standard Arcade mode (that presented each characters story) is no longer fully present, until it is unlocked by playing through the main storyline on the map system. The controls were very touchy, until I tried the arcade mode, and a calming sense of familiarity swept over me, until I found out I have to unlock every character by beating them as a boss in the main storyline. If you are a diehard Tekken fan, then try your luck, otherwise stay away...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Avoid at all Costs!

posted by LEthalxbox (REEDSVILLE, PA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game i rented from GF and i got to say it is a ok game. The game would be great if the scenario mode was not so horrible. i mean the scenario mode goes through spurts or incredibly dumb ai. horrible camera angles. terrible beat em up fighting, then to extreme spikes in boss difficulty. the Arcade and Online are awesome. But there is little to do in them. The achivements are horrible. 75% pertain to the scenario mode which is virtually unplayable! Unless you plan on being frustrated or just fighting people online... avoid this game. Tekken 5 Is better and Soulcaliber IV will be the current heavyweight champion of next gen fighters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of good, but some annoying things too.

posted by Takimoto (WEST HILLS, CA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

the fighting it self is still really fun just like the previous tekken games, i was happy it was like that. improved graphics and nothing that's going to ruin the fight mode. BUT i really really hated the Scenario Campaign. It really had no use in the game. for anyone who s played tekken 5, its somewhat like Devil within mini game. Except they didnt do much to try to make it any better. its really hard to block, the tutorial tells you to back away from the opponent to block, but your character ends up running away, showing your back to the enemy. and the whole targeting system is garbage as well. The only way for you to unlock the tekken fighters ending movie is to do this mode. So that was this games greatest flaw, but the arcade mode made up for most of that. The last boss is really hard and kinda cheap. He s alot harder then the previous bosses in the tekken games (ie. Jinpachi, Ogre.) i love tekken, and as much as the Scenario Campaign was a pain, the rest of the game was fun. It's at least worth a rent for people who aren't a fan of tekken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING GAME, A CLASSIC! Pros And Cons

posted by PAKiSTAN19 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

26 out of 33 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

AMAZING GAME, MUCH IMPROVED GRAPHICS, PEOPLE GIVING THIS GAME A LOW RATING BECAUSE EITHER THEY NEVER LIKED THE ORIGINALS AND JUST WANTED TO RENT IT, Or Trying To Compare It To Other Fighting Games...

Pros: !!!EASY ACHIEVEMENTS To Get!!! amazing graphics, story mode is great, the character customizing is awsome, experience no lagg, During offline mode, the whole arenas are destroyable, knock them down and they fall through the map, knock them through the other side to a new arena, story line is great, watching the endings of each character brings you back to playing tekken 3 and 4

Cons: sometimes the online lags, and this game is all about timing, in story mode the camera view is kinda of weird at times, the story mode is really easy to beat through, NANCY the robot is one of the hardest characters to beat, luck has to be on your side. The final boss azazel just spams his moves so you'll be able to count when he is going to attack. EASY GAME to beat throughout. They Made this Game way to easy to beat even on Hard! =\

This Game IS At least a Rent But For Those Die Hard Tekken Fans (like Myself) Its A Must BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tekken...Good and Bad?

posted by Dubctown (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

25 out of 36 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

So Tekken 6 is finally out after how long now? Doesn't matter. It's what you would expect on the fighting side of a Tekken game. There are tons of characters with tons of move and a simplistic control scheme. It's very accessible to newbies but also very deep for advanced players. Then there is the Campaign Scenario, which is garbage. It controls like an old school beat-em-up with the same controls as the game's fighting engine. Unfortunately, it doesn't transcend well. With terrible controls, camera, and a very idiotic A.I. teammate it's very lackluster. But, it is one of the modes that should be played. Not for the story, but for the amount of money you earn towards customization. Customization is very neat, as you can get several things for any of the 40+ characters. Now I know your thinking, "Hey, doesn't this have online?" Yes, yes it does. Is it good? No, no it is not. Although its your standard affair when it comes to online fighting games, it suffers from a serious amount of lag. Lag is something that hold this game from being a contender online. Especially since a game such as this requires precise timing. Overall, it's not horrible if your a die hard Tekken fanatic. But, as a gamer looking for a fighting game to play seriously, it's not gonna be this one. For the casual player, i would definitely avoid this one, unless frustration is something you enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game!

posted by market596 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First off, I'm not sure why all of these players talk trash about the Tekken games. If you don't like the series, don't play the games just to write a negative review. I personally couldn't find anything majorly negative in this game. Scenario Campaign could be more free-flow style and realistic, I'll admit. The game's cinematics have insanely realistic graphics, but the actual in-game graphics could be just a little better. The storyline is awesome, and long-time Tekken players will see a surprise to the official ending through Scenario Campaign. The characters look better than ever! The game still brings back fan favorites like Jin Kazama, Kazuya Mishima and Heihachi Mishima along with cool new characters like Lars Alexandersson. All in all, this game is a must-rent for fighting enthusiasts and a must-have for Tekken fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EPIC

posted by Devilgin77 (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

AWESOMLY EPIC GAME PLAY AS BOB!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tekken 6

posted by robby617 (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

amazing game as far as the multiplayer and quickplay go, but the storymode could use some work. i understand that they dont want it to be like every other tekken game but its to different. but the quickp;ay is so good that i still give it a 10out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is excellent

posted by dauggette (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know what other people are complaining about.Especially, if they are Tekken series fan.This is the best 3D fighting game out there as compared to any popular fighting games out there.Mortal Kombat,Street Fighter. It beats all of those games because Tekken has the best 3D fighting game mechanics than any other game except for Soul Calibur.The reason I said Street Fighter is because the game has a 3D environment but fighting style is still 2D same concept for the new Mortal Kombat VS DC Universe.I am a big fighting games' fan.And honestly the fighting game mechanics is annoying in some 3D fighting games such as you are trying to grab the other player but you cannot because of certain angle is applied on 3D games.Even the other character is right next to you.Such as some wrestling games and even some 3D Mortal Kombat games.Believe me I love my all 2D Mortal Kombats but 3D fighting style doesn"t do a good job.
Now, I will agree with some folks here about how Tekken has chaged the story mode option to scenario mode option.I would love them to get the Tekken tag option back.Because it was the most highly anticipated option used on Tekken.Now the Scenario story is just like a scenario which means if something happens then another thing will happen.BUt online game play and beautifull graphics makes A+++ for this game.So if you like fighting game then try this game because you can practice on your favorite characters & learn their combos & have fun beating people online or may be learn new lessons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

coulda shoulda woulda but isnt

posted by madvenom11 (FISHKILL, NY) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First the games graphics are top notch. All the characters is deff an upgrade. not too hard to pick controls. when playing the arcade or online play it has that old school tekken feel we loved growing up. i went right into the arcade thinking that if i beat it i will unlock the endings and was prob ganna just ignore the scenario mode. FAIL FAIL FAIL. I was so mad when i had to do this scenario mode. I like the one on one play not the 7 on 1 impossible battles. ( Devil Jin's Nightmare Train). the normal 1 on 1 is amazing. the battle in story sucks. deff rent NO BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect Fighting Game

posted by jmills287 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I believe this to be an extreme improvement over all Tekken games in the past. The characters have more frames per animation, so it look realistic, but it also keeps all attacks as quick as before. I'm ok with the Campaign Scenario, even though the targeting is off and I don't like having to switch from analog to d-pad. But other than that, the game is flawless. Oh, and the online takes some getting used to. Some fights, everything is fluid, but then there are some fights where the lag is nowhere near ignorable and some games where I just press one button and and literally takes a second for my character to attack. But when you whoop someone online, it makes it worth it. THe character models are more solid, the graphics are better, the new characters are awesome! I see little that's wrong with this game. There's nothing wrong with improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tekken 6

posted by ArMeDGaM3r (MESQUITE, TX) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is hot.....the graphic's have been improved and the game play is much smoother also the levels are Destoryable!!!!!!!!!! the only thing that I i dis liked about this game was that its Story based side was slow and hard to hit people you had targeted and that made me wonder did they just make this to make some people happy.... But all in all the game rules like always and I recommend to Lot of people...!! Just give it a try..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not exactly the fighting GOTY but worth a rent

posted by Range13 (BOZEMAN, MT) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I had played Tekken maybe 3 times in the arcade so I was quite new this gaming universe when I rented Tekken 6. There are a ton of fighters to pick from many of whom are very different (Kangaroo, Panda Bear etc.) the modes range from a Scenario Campaign where you collect cash etc, to survival to basic arcade mode. The controls feel smooth and graphics are just good enough. Scenario mode feels like an add on just for those of us who want a story mode and it fills that slot but it isn't exactly next gen gaming feeling more like old school Sega in the way it controls. Switch your fightstick to LSTICk from DPAD when you play this mode or you will be jumping everywhere. The arcade battles are just challenging enough and offers unlockable KYU levels 9th 8th etc..
This game is slower than SFIV and less flashy than SCIV but if you like simple smooth controls and a nice variety of fighters then this is a perfect rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An effort worth renting.

posted by jeisenlee (BRANDON, FL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tekken 6 is the last fighting game I believe to be released this year, and it has a lot of competition out there. Tekken 6 makes an effort to correct some problems that have plagued the series for years. Namely the story, which is too abstract for anyone to follow, and is a common problem with fighting games as a whole. Tekken 6 places you in the role of discovering these elements to cobble together the story in their slightly revamped Tekken Force mode. They changed the name to Story mode, but it's pretty much the same Tekken Force. The fighting engine doesn't lend itself very well to this mode since you are fighting multiple targets in a 3d space. As you progress through this part of the game, I found myself not caring as much for the story as I would have. I can forgive the controls, the XBox quality graphics for that mode, and that you have to "unlock" characters as you play this mode, if the story were told in a way that makes you want to continue to play. Unfortunately, story mode is the only place to get an ending for any of the characters that have been "unlocked" in the arena that is only in Story mode. So if you are looking forward to beating the game with a specific character to view their ending video, you have to play completely through story mode. The other modes are standard fare for fighting games. Like Virtua Fighter 5, Tekken 6 has incorporated a ranking system that takes you up "Belt Ranks" with you starting as a 10th kyu. You'll get promotional matches to move up as you continue to rack up the wins. There are several modes to improve your techniques with any character and without "unlocking". There is also an online mode available, but currently has lag issues. You can also use ghosts of other players to practice against so that you can improve to meet the challenges online. Tekken 6 borrows from other fighters as well, but doesn't really improve the genre. It's not a winner, but worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by Paladin000 (HOT SPRINGS NATIONAL PARK, AR) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is great it does have a few control problums in the new mode but for the most part it old tekken great job gies keep them comeing

the enging boss can be hard but you set the rounds down it over shots that get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game my friends actually play too!

posted by juicebeast (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A lot of my friends don't really get into games, so when they come over and want to fire up the XBox and shout "Tekken!", it catches me a bit off-guard.

What it comes down to is that Tekken is a classic, and Namco-Bandai have not diluted the formula that made the series famous. The combos are fluid and fast, the moves are flashy and visceral, the graphics are cutting edge, and the story makes no sense. Why fix it, if it ain't broke?

The new features are satisfying for a player like me - someone who enjoys solo game time and customizing the heck out of my toons - though some may be put off by the deviation from pure fighting.

Solo "story campaign" mode offers a linear platform mechanic, where Lars and Alisa (and the others, once you unlock them for Campaign play) fight endless hordes of goons and a familiar boss character at the end of each stage. The directional control is fine, so long as you remember to switch to standard fighting control once an enemy is targeted.

Customization is much more expansive than Dark Resurrection, and yet it's easier to unlock customization items in this installment. Successfully completing a story level nets you large chunks of cash in the 100k+ category, and you find unlockable items within the stage, as well.

My favorite upgrade in Tekken 6 is the new characters- Lars, the Japanese-speaking Swedish battle general; Alisa, the chainsaw-fairy android crafted by Dr. Boskonovitch; Leo, the androgynous... kid?; Miguel, the heartthrob Spaniard with revenge in his corazon; Bob, the builder of combos and consumer of burgers; and Zafina, the sexy-sexiness. The characters have that trademark Tekken flavor, the X-factor, the je ne sais quois that makes people who don't play games want to give this one a go. The quality that makes you say "ooooh" and "aaaaah." They fit seamlessly into the expected roster, and deliver in every way you hope.

Worth adding to your shelf, if this sounds good to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Exellent

posted by Sniperlawl (WINONA, MN) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The rating is not 6.3. This game is very fun i had it for a few days so far almost beat the scene campaign still looking forward to playing the multiplayer and offline mode. The game is hard if your first to tekken games. You get full custimize on your character and your self very nice game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not for me

posted by chrislyons (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

im sure many people enjoy tekken, and trust me... i tried them all... but i just can never get into it..... for those of u that can... enjoy... but not for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game...

posted by YourKaos (GRANTS PASS, OR) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am not too much into fighting games, but I can tell you that the online play in this game changed my attitude. First off, you do not have to beat the game to play the characters online which I really liked. Also you get to customize you chracter to your likeness with the money you get from online fights. Although I would've liked to build your own character and upgrade him with your money, but it was still done good. Everybody complained about Azazel the Demon at the end of the arcade levels, but I beat him after 3 tries. I truly don't know what they were talking about. I liked the exploration 3d campaign mode, although I think they made it too hard. Still online play really made it for me. They had so many moves it was unbelievable, but seriously who is really going to remember all those moves. I only remembered like 10 or something which let me to perform in my fights pretty well. Their online matching system is pretty good, but sometimes it puts the low levels with the high levels making it where the low levels get stomped on easily. Now allow me to break the game down in ratings...
Gameplay: 7/10
Graphics: 7/10
Combat System: 7/10
Camera: 6/10
Story: 6/10
Voice Acting: 6/10
Replayable Value: 7/10
Anti-Repetitveness: 4/10
The gameplay was alright all in all, but I wouldn't say amazing and I wouldn't even say very good since fighting games never have that good of Gameplay, the Graphics were better than previous games, but not stunning, Combat System which was excuted probably to the best of their abilities which were not that good since fighting games always have stiff combat. Camera for campaign mode wasn't that great, but pretty good and for regular play they were just like most fighting games which they could always make better. Voice Acting was not that good, kind of sad in fact, but they needed more of emotions and not sound as lame. Replayable Value is nicely done, especially in online play. Anti-Repetitiveness is bad as almost all fighting games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tekken 6 review

posted by Pjonesy30 (MEMPHIS, TN) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's all overall good game, the story mode of course makes it much better. Very long and intense, graphis are off the charts. if you have a good opponent, versus mode is as well awesome. I would suggest a rental before buying, evryone will not like this game, of course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best Tekken yet

posted by Varatex (FULLERTON, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great campaign.. and so far as I know the only campaign I know of for Tekken, and a great and unique fighting mode. Any Tekken fans should definitely buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A fighting game gone wrong

posted by MadMax760 (LA QUINTA, CA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok the fighting in this game is good that is not what holds it back.
What holds it back is the stupid scenario campaign mode. I played arcade mode hoping to unlock an ending for each character, but the only way is to go into scenario mode and unlock every character by beating it. The Tekken 6 fighting engine is fun but not when you have multiple targets attacking you and you have to lock on to one. This leads to spamming the same moves over and over to get the enemys down. And with such a large set of moves for each character who wants to do this all day? The online was broken when I played it too. I did get a few ok matches but overall it was a bad experience.
If they fix online or you have some buddies to play with at home then I can recommend this game for the multiplayer. If your getting it and going to play by yourself through campaign then good luck with that bore fest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Where am I?

posted by ManofTao (STURBRIDGE, MA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

12 out of 28 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Sometimes I have to tell myself that I still like fighting games. Street Fighter 4, hated it. Soul Calibur 4, loved it. MK vs DC, it was alright. King of Fighters 12, hated it. Dead or Alive 4, loved it. What do the games I have loved have in common? Speed. Speed is what they have in common. Tekken 6 does not have the speed I look for in a fighting game. During a fight, moves should be linked together fluidly and effortlessly. I did not find this in Tekken 6. I have always had a place on my shelf for Tekken, I stopped with 4 and haven't gone back till now. I will not be going back again.

Like every fighting game there is no real story to Tekken 6. There is no great compelling protagonist, no hatred-inspiring antagonist. Tekken Force mode is now the story mode, in full 3D. This could work but in this instance does not, the targeting system is weak, you have to unlock characters to use them, and the camera is frustrating. Note: Don't get trapped in corners, you will die. Team battle mode is here like always but characters don't seamlessly enter the battle after anothers defeat, no, you must wait through a loading screen. The story mode is full of loading screens, so if you skip the cutscenes, be prepared to wait around.

Most disappointing to me was the character customization. Sure you can outfit your characters from head to toe with a plethora of clothing options, but you can't create your own character. You can't fully immerse yourself in the game in a creative sense. Sports games have had create-a-character features for over 2 decades. Boxing has it (you can even have your own real face in Fight Night 4). WWE games have it. Soul Calibur 4 has it. Why doesn't Tekken have it?

This isn't necessarily a bad game, modern Tekken fans should it enjoy very much. The problem I encountered is that I've been spoiled by better dishes. I can no longer eat regular potatoes, they must be mashed with butter and bacon sprinkled on top. Worth a rent, but try before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Azazel

posted by Kr8dle (OXFORD, GA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I try to block him....but he wont let me block
I try to kick him....but he wont let me hit him
I try to grab him....but I get grabbed
So I sit there and let him pound my face in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse