Rent Tekken 6 for PS3
view large frontback

Tekken 6

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

3805 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

These People don't know what they're talking about

posted by portality (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2004

29 out of 37 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Were to start... okay lets start in the past. I grew up from but a wee boy of six playing tekken with my older brother, he always beat me, but it was always fun, and always good practice. Fast forward fourteen years and I now have my hands on tekken 6. I have done everything with this game and I am not disappointed, for the most part.

Gameplay is great, controls are silky smooth, and they added newer, flashier moves to both even out the cast, and to make the game more fun to watch. The new characters are a welcome addition, and the refinement of the newer characters from Tekken 5 was also done perfectly.

For me online wasn't bad at all, you can choose the connection speed of the people your fighting against and if you have a good enough connection every game will be without lag.

Now to get to the bad part, which i retrospect should not be a surprise. The adventure mode is awful. They tried to make the 3-D game control like Tekken and failed miserably, while it is not unplayable, it isn't that much fun. They should have made an adventure mode like in tekken 3 which for those that don't know was a side scrolling game like Streets of rage, or final fight. It was great, and the only acceptable adventure mode in the entire game's series. a lot of games have showed us that side scrolling is not dead, and Namco should take the hint. Additionally they also moved the ending cut scenes that everyone loves to this lack luster adventure mode. I feel this was a bad idea, they should have kept it in arcade mode.

All in all if you have played tekken competitively, or grew up with it like i did you will feel right at home, and love this game until the next one comes out. If not, there is a 10% chance you will be disappointed because the learning curve is so steep, and most people have played it more then you. As I see it ,Tekken6 is like a delicious meal begging to be cooked, the more time you put into it, the greater the outcome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its king of iron fist for a reason

posted by hughffy88 (STEPHENVILLE, TX) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i lovvvvveeeee this game. hands down best fighting game out for the simple reason that if your a button basher, then you won`t get very far on this game when playing real human fighters online and may struggle against the AI fighters. So you can blow fighters like soul caliber and mk vs dc out of your purple circle because this, like all tekkens just annihilates them.

The story is fantastic with a few shocking surprises along the way (only a surprise if your a lifetime tekken fan). Game modes include the lengthy scenario mode which is the main game mode. Then you have your usual tekken modes like arcade,vs,team battle,survivor ect and a practice mode. Online is ok from what i have played. Character customization is back in force in a sense that the outfits you wear give you added stats like more health or elemental damage to your attacks but only in scenario mode (i think) if your into all that dress up nonsense but i don`t really care for it. To unlock character endings, you must, instead of just taking every person through arcade mode, go to a arena in scenario mode and fight 5 fights. same thing as arcade only shorter which is a plus i think.

Only thing i have noticed is that it seems slower than normal tekken games but i might be because i haven't played tekken in years. For me every tekken game is a keeper so chances are that if your a tekken fan, then you will buy this. To new tekken players who are interested, take my advise. GET THIS GAME! Buy it, rent it, lend from a friend whatever. Just get this game.

Visually it looks great, fighting system is classic tekken with new smash through floors and walls. That said i will admit that theres really nothing ground breaking about the game, feature wise, its just a great chapter in the tekken saga. Trophies are surprisingly simple and some are lengthy to get so if your a trophy hunter like me then its a good enough reason to get this for a nice, simple platinum. GET THIS GAME oh and it has 40+ roster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bleh.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

18 out of 36 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a kid I loved playing Tekken with my friends. Back then it was doing something new, and we couldn't really complain if the sequels didn't innovate much because the PS1 had its limits. Fast forward to today and I'm amazed just how much the series has stagnated.

It looks good enough but the gameplay is pure PS1. Aside from the graphics, the big difference between this and, say, Tekken 3, is that you can customize your characters (i.e., completely destroy their well thought out, original designs with mismatched cookie-cutter ones) and take them online where the gods of lag shall determine your ultimate fate.

To add insult to injury, if you want to customize your favorite characters you must play through a boring beat-em-up campaign mode that controls like doodoo, and you must do this for many hours because unlocking something as simple as a blonde hair can run you $100,000. Is the economy that bad in the Tekken universe?

Anyway there's really not much else to say here. If you're a huge Tekken nerd, nothing will stop you from feeling you HAVE to buy this game. If you're a little more sensible you've probably come to terms with the fact that Tekken has been long dead. Sadly the PS3's power can't make up for the developers' laziness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Commence frustration!

posted by Criggz (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So Tekken's back. Yaaaaay!(?) We all know what to expect. Flashy graphics, awesome fighting, neat combos, sexy women with jiggly appendages, the works. And on all of that, it delivers. But . . . that's about where my love for the game ends. Let me explain.

First of all, the good. There are A LOT of fighters to choose from. Pretty robust; From your mechanical beefheads all the way to some fat dude that moves faster than all the other characters in the game. Go figure. The presentation is good, as always, and the fights is seamless and stylish. I didn't have much of a problem with loads because I actually took five minutes to install the game to my HDD.

And so the praise ends. Here comes the reasoning for the 4 rating; It's just not that good. We've come to expect flash and great graphics, but that's all there is. The story mode is horrible and so drawn out you stop trying to complete it ten minutes into the mode. Sure it's the best way to get gold for customization, but even that's ridiculous. Why do a pair of sunglasses cost 80,000????!!!

My next gripe; Juggling. Okay, we all know about juggling and its history. Some like it, others don't. I, for one, didn't mind it. Added an element. But OH HO! Namco's stepped it up this year with the introduction of GROUND juggling. That's right, folks. GROUND juggling. Now you can essentially pick a character with quick combos and just juggle somebody to death, in the air, then on the ground. Woohoo! . . . no. It's horrible. It ruins games (offline and online).

What else? Oh. Pfft. Don't get me started on the Final Boss. What a pain in the rear. I'm sure you've heard of him (it), so I'll stop there.

All in all, not a good game. It's pure frustration and, despite my efforts, contains to real strategy. I'll just stick to Soul Calibur. At least you can stand up in that game . . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Game with potential gone down the drain.

posted by bigsam90 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

12 out of 25 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst Tekken game in the series. The scenario campaign is a joke and the arcade is nearly impossible to beat, especially when you get to the end boss. The customize character is really cool. Too bad that is the only good part of the game. Also when you play the arcade mode you don't unlock anybody new nor is there a final movie just really a thanks for playing here is the credits. If your a Tekken fan then you will be dissapointed with this game as it doesn't live up to previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tekken 5 was better...

posted by RockerBoi (NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now I'm a MAJOR Tekken Fan & even own the back games, and I have played EVERY Tekken game released for America & I must say as for as home consoles go. They are in this order IMO

Best to Worst Console Tekkens

Tekken 3 = BEST! 5/5
Tekken 4 = 5/5
Tekken Tag = 4.5/5
Tekken 5 = 4.5/5
Tekken 6 = The Worst on 4. BIG MISTAKES! 3/5

1. Expanison (they took the fighting game was true to sony.. and put it on the 360 what a big kick in the face)

2. Change In Development (NAMCO Always suppiled tekken games, now it's "BANDAI NAMCO" for those who don't know.. bandai makes action figures & the like and is linked to the POWER RANGERS... nuff said)

3. Now we're all thinking finally now we can go online & challenge others to see who's real tekken quality... Prep yourself for a great diasppointment... LAG, HUGE AMOUNTS OF IT, And the Worst DELAY. online matches can have up to 1.5 Seconds of Delayed Reaction Command Responses, Nearly Leaving 75% to 85% of all your Online Fighting up to "WHO CAN JUST PRESS THE MOST BUTTONS AND GET PUNCHES AND KICKS TO CONNECT FIRST TO SEE WHO WINS" instead of a good well placed fight. Narrowing it down to Local Fights to get the core concept of the game once again...

And 4. AIR JUGGLES AND GROUND JUGGLES!!! yes you're reading this correctly GROUND JUGGLES! now as a new feature in Tekken 6 they have almost re-done the entire fighting system with the new HEAVY EMPHASIS on Air Juggling somebody... (Juggling was introduced as it should have been but in the right amount as in tekken 4) Seriously over done in Tekken 6 & With the Introduction of GROUND JUGGLING fights are no longer like they used to be, in the other Tekken Games you learn how to fight with a few characters and you'll be good & I play on Ultra-Hard against the Cpu. but now even they use those "New" In-game Techniques The Ground and Air Juggles & if you JUST GET THE HANG OF IT you can take over 50% to 55% of the other players life in the 1st few seconds of a fight.. =\

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game but weak in online multiplayer.

posted by Sekki1202 (TACOMA, WA) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Pros - Improved Tekken Force mode, Great new characters, alot more characters to choose from with a lot more character customization tools. Online mode faster more efficient way of finding battles with players making the action almost nonstop.

Cons - Laggy Online play (Poor netcode like Tekken 5 DR), last boss not challenging if you understand the pattern can be beaten with one move. Long loading times if the game is not installed.

Tekken 6 is a great game to play with friends locally but due to its poor performance like Tekken 5 DR, online multiplayer fails greatly. I find myself wanting to throw my controller when I attempt to do my combos and watch them fail because my fingers go faster than the game can read them due to the lag. I would have thought that Namco would have fixed this issue from their previous installment for the PS3 but I have been proven wrong. Some would argue that you can get used to the lag of the online play but then I would become weaker at local play due to being used to the laggy play.

The good aspects of the online play though is the ease to find a match unlike the previous installment where finding a match was either hard or you would have to wait a good amount of time before it was your turn.

Character Customization is very well done in Tekken 6 compared to previous games with a lot more options to play around with and of course more items! For example, being able to tweak how the front, back, left, and right of the hair can look is an improvement of the previous Tekkens

Finally, the long loading times can be pretty harsh if you don't have the game installed. Only reason why I don't install the game is due to my low HDD space but I won't let that affect my game rating score.

Overall, the game is still a great hit if you play with friends at your household but if you wanted to vs someone on the other side of the world prepare for some nasty lag. I rate it 7 but if it wasn't for the lag I would easily rate this game a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uninteresting

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has to be one of the most uninteresting entry in the series. I actually didnt have the drive to finish it. I got a little far but like I said, I just felt like "who cares". I was going to send it back the second day I had it but I thought I was being to quick to judge so I didnt send it back and decided to play around with it more.

Nothing changed however. Got somewhat farther but I didnt play it for 2 days so I just sent it back. Im going to keep this reveiw short so I'll just some this game up in one word...boring.

Unless your a true DIE HARD fan of Tekken then dont waste your time with this game. Youll regret not getting something else, and just to think I could be playing Uncharted 2 right now...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had high hopes, but WAY disappointed...

posted by Bierbauer (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played all the Tekkens except for 5, and maybe that's why this one left me so flat.

The Tekken I remember, and expect, is a great, hard-hitting fighter game with moves and fighting styles that are based on the way people really move and an expansive story-line that may not always make sense, but still creates characters you care about and keeps you hanging on for more.

That stuff is still, here, I guess, but it's in gameplay that is so tediously old-school and just plain boring that I just can't get through it anymore. Maybe Tekken 5 was like this, and if so, I'm glad I missed it.

This tekken still has some great head to head fighting, but the story mode is old-style, static camera, linear street fighting against multiple enemies. I mean, really, it's like playing a PS one again. Tedious and boring are the only words that keep coming to mind. The story unfolds as you progress, but even it's gotten out of hand: It's so complex and bloated that it's hard to really care about the characters anymore.

The graphics are solid, I guess, but they hardly push the envelope for a PS3. Tekken has always had a very strong Asian influence, and that's part of it's charm, but the stilted dialog and cardboard character interaction just don't cut it for a modern video game.

I guess if you're an ultra-hard core Tekken fan that really appreciates the old school style of gameplay and the Manga-esque dialouge and pacing, then this might be your thing. But for me, I was wildly disappointed and couldn't even care about it long enough to finish it on the easiest setting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyed the game, but just mediocre.

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First things first...The game was beautiful. Great selection of characters and options. Several gameplay modes offer replayabilty. However, in the end, I guess I must just be spoiled by SF4. This game still has the Virtua fighter feel it's known for, which some people like, but I feel like the game hasn't changed. This game, to me, was no different than Tekken3, 4, or 5. Good but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good and Bad

posted by stlredd (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only 2 draw backs to this game are the excessive loading times. And that everything comes unlocked at the beginning. Usually I wouldnt have a problem with that but that was always one of the best parts, unlocking characters gave you a little more to play for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it's ok

posted by ipod08 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am a big fan of tekken but this one is the same old thing i am happy i have gamefly at a times like this!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid Fighter but no new ground broken

posted by Turiel (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the Tekken series then this game will be fun for you. It keeps the best of the Tekken series with some character customization features that you unlock with G dollars that you earn by winning matches. I liked the game overall however If your looking for something new and fresh this game is not it. It is essentially the same game as tekken 3 which I played 8 years ago but with streamlined graphics. Many of the features seemed like they were ripped straight out of virtual fighter.

It has a story/campaign mode but It seemed very much like metal gear solid in that you spend 90% watching cinemats and 10% playing the game. I literally watched a 30+minute cinemat to play for about 12 seconds that it took me to kill the jacks.

The arcade mode is fun but it gets old quick as you play many of the same characters over and over again.

Also if you care about balance some of the characters seem like they are much easier to play and potentially more powerful than other toons

All In all it was a solid game but I think I liked soul calibur better honestly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tekken is not supposed to be DOA!!

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the Tekken series... until this one.

I think Tekken 3 was the pinnacle of the series: very enjoyable, great, smooth gameplay, and great use of the 4-limb fight system. One of the great things about Tekken generally has been the fact that you didn't need to know all the special moves or combos to pose a threat, unlike Street Fighter, Killer Instinct, and DOA. This was particularly true because of the 3-D sidestep or dodge. If someone proficient in Tekken's combos decided to come at you, all you had to do was sidestep, and then deal back the punishment instead of taking it all the time. Tekken 4 experimented with the 3-D motion more, and, in spite of the public, I think there were some good merits to what was accomplished. However, responding to popular demand, Tekken 5 ended up being a little of a throwback, though with less of the 3-D element, and the introduction of the thing that makes Tekken 6 so awful: the JUGGLE. (And, while we're at it NAMCO, can you explain how someone breaks a grab from behind in the middle of a combo?)

Part of Tekken's appeal as a fighter was an element of realism. Other games, like Killer Instinct, Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, and DOA abused the juggle, allowing those with the know how to continue on meaningless tirades causing other players to give up in frustration. Tekken was that all important sanctuary for those of us who wanted a game that actually didn't require you to spend inordinate amounts of time mastering esoteric combos and juggles. Well, no more.

In a seeming appeal to the DOA, et. al. lovers out there, NAMCO has decidedly ignored its base of Tekken enthusiasts. Instead of expanding on the things that made Tekken a standout among fighting games, NAMCO managed to make it more ordinary like the rest of the pack with this version, and frustratingly so.

I ended up giving a 3, because graphics were good.

I am willing to give Tekken 7 a shot, but it will be the last. Fix it NAMCO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

tekken 6 ... ended a great franchize

posted by squirlley (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

tekken was without a doubt one of the most fun games to ever hit playstation. with this new installment that is no longer true. the basic arcade mode is ridiculous and really not that much fun and this campaign mode they threw into the mix ruined it all. terrible camera angles, character controls that make you insane, a story that seems it was wrote by a 2nd grader, with awful voice overs and subtitles so discreat you can barley read what they say. just say no and take this game off any wish list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What can I say

posted by Preacha (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I love the Tekken. When I loaded it up and delivered a crisp straight right with my main man Bryan Fury I felt as if I were saying hi to an od friend. I expected more from this game but hey, it is what it is. I don't know what they were thinking with scenario campaign mode. It sucks. Camera sucks, controls suck. Loading every 5minutes also ruins it.

Arcade mode is the same as always really. The final boss is a jerk but not as bad as seth.He basically spams the same moves but once you get the timing down of his moves its a piece of cake. Then again I'm still a low rank so I'm sure it will get harder. And I will let you know he is cheap at times. Arcade mode is prety fun though.

Tekken isnt bad, just nothing to write home about.

Main thing that pisses me off though is the final boss. If he is in the middle of a sequence you cant hit him to stop it. You HAVE to block. This sucks because well......you'll see...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tekken 6

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Tekken 6 could have been a lot better for it's time and may disappoint even the biggest Tekken fans.

+ Nice graphics/textures here and there.
+ Offers and handles multiplayer fights.
+ Fairly large character selection.

- If you don't know or can't memorize most combat button combinations, it may be ridiculously hard to win a match online.
- Campaign mode is both unrealistic and very outdated, leaving the majority of next-gen gamers pretty disappointed and disgusted.
- Graphics/Textures are more poor than good.

Overall Rating: 2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tekken 6

posted by Gamerjock (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

What happen??? To this wonderful game even with the limited graphics of tekken on playstation was more enjoyable then this last boss is just to over the top im a tekken lord with a couple of characters but that seems to not even matter because i cant even get close enough to him with seeing a outrageous move just way to frustrating only thing sick about the game is the graphics but to add another bad review loads very slow takes about 30 seconds after u pick character to actually get to the stage to fight probably the worst tekken i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its a Great Game but don't get sucked into DA Hype

posted by BigCNash (RIALTO, CA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Now Tekken 6 will delver....its on Playstation 3 I will speak on its Strengths...

1. Great Graphics
2. Great Gameplay
3. Great selection of players 40 i believe it is (including New Characters)
4. Pretty easy (for even a casual gamer)to pick up and be good at!
5. New Enviroment Interactions that make for great action sequences.
6. If your looking for a great Linear fighting game...then here it is...BECAUSE ONCE YOU MASTER THE MOVES OR COME CLOSE TOO AND BEAT ALL THE STORYLINES AND PLAYED IT ONLINE OR AGAINST A FRIEND OR TWO ....yOU'LL DO WHAT YOU DO WITH ALL OTHER TEKKEN RELEASES....YOU'LL SELL IT OR TRADE IT IN.....Its Not a keeper But Its Worth Playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Are you kidding me?

posted by Swerve (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

All things aside the game is awesome and fun but because of the sheer difficulty of the final boss, I am going with a 5. Way to ruin a perfectly good game with an impossible end boss fight. I expect more from the makers of Tekken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken 5

posted by NappyTom (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Very awkward game. Tekken Force mode to unlock arcade? Whats up with that. Nothing new from the last game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken 6

posted by tellthat (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is bad on every level, it says 720 but it looks like last gen graphics. This is going right back to gamefly on monday. Give virtua fighter 5 a try if you are looking for a good fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHAT?

posted by wickwack (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was sick i played it at a homies and i liked it love playing as eddy is is my character but yeah i thought it was good but i still am going to have to by the 3 for pack at wal mart wich includes tekken tag tekken 4 and soul calibur 2 so i will have to get both

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Great but not bad

posted by Volcanpep (BOZEMAN, MT) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

So i bought the game because i love tekken, but i found out they changed the story telling a bit. instead of doing the one on one fighting with your favorite character you do tekken force mode for the story. i was okay with it at first but it does get old fast! but once you beat it you get the arena mode which is pick your character, you hear their back story beat about five guys and you see a 20 second ending kinda pathetic but hey online mode is cool...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!!!!!!

posted by iFrank603 (Meriden, CT) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Wow, I've never played a more boring game than this. I remember when Tekken first came out and it was pretty entertaining because it was new and at the time, innovative. But, now, it's all the same thing and there's really nothing much that has improved other than better physics and graphics (not by much, 720? Really?) Anyway, I just got it today and it's going out in the mail tomorrow.

Boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse