Rent Tekken 6 for PS3
view large frontback

Tekken 6

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

3791 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by 1520JR (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

man it was so bad it only took me once to play it and send it back that's how much it sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage, plain and simple.

posted by gunsmack (BOWMANSTOWN, PA) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Adds absolutely nothing to the franchise except for endless cut-scenes and mind-numbing load times. Save your time/money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh Boring!

posted by Taya1129 (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Ugh this game was boring, there's nothing more to say about it. I thought the graphic were chessy, the controllers were simple, heck my 4 year old niece Abbie could play this game and finally BORING, did I mention this was a boring game? Good hope ya got it. Thank God for Gamefly for boring games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by Dox (ELLINGTON, CT) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

In my time playing video games disc based systems have always had loading screens but with this game that will be 50% of the time playing this game. Throw that in with the oddlove child of a platformer and a side scrolling fighter that is "scenario mode" and we have a disc that would be great for target shooting. All this however is nothing compared to the games biggest issue... he may be a robot but really Jack find some underwear. It's only saving grace is PANDA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by dferggy88 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Last time I checked, we were using next gen consoles. I should not have to wait 20seconds between each battle when playing teams. I can pop in my PS2 and wait half a second. The campaign feels like I'm playing fricken clay fighter on Super Nintendo, flow doesn't even exist in this mode beyond a punch and kick. If the developers spent half as much time on the game play as they did on the cinema graphics it might have been alright. All in all, if you feel like wasting moments of your life and money go ahead and play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sigh...Dissapointment In A Box

posted by BassLove (KNIGHTDALE, NC) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I am a huge Tekken fan and have always been. When I heard there was a tekken 6 coming out I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Well to make a long story short I was extremely dissapointed in the game. For one, they completely killed the reward of advancing and being able to unlock a character because they give you the whole shabang off gate. Its like when you were young, your mom saying, "Oh, no need to do the chores honey, here is your allowance in advance" They completely lost something here.

Second, I was expecting more new moves, and more new characters. I was not impressed with the "fat guy" or the "pimp". Did we lose all sense of creativity here when we created these characters? I would have been happier with no new characters if they would have taken the time to perfect the existing ones.

If you are looking for classic Tekken, sure get this. If you are looking for the new breed of Tekken that will wow and dazzle you... it has yet to be created. THIS IS NOT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst fighting game..

posted by Rudy83 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

story mode or whatever is called is stupid, and beating it is so difficult!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I expected!

posted by dSilanskas (FALMOUTH, MA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Well the game was so so. I wasn't happy with how fast the reaction time was after you would hit a button. It wasn't anything like the past Tekken games. I wouldn't rent it again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst tekken ever

posted by ichigo125 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this tekke was the worst game i have played in the tekken series. im glad i rented it before buying. thank god we have gamefly. the game was packed & back in the mailbox within 15 mins. horrible capcon should be ashamed that they ruined this game series with this game. they should have stop at 5 if this is the future of tekken. won't be checking out tekken 7. who worked on this game the designers should give they money back for making a bad game like this in the recession we are in. i felt like the gamefly comercial. game sucked so bad i told the postal guy next time u given a game wait ten mins it might go back with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken 5

posted by NappyTom (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Very awkward game. Tekken Force mode to unlock arcade? Whats up with that. Nothing new from the last game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

thumbs down

posted by Futureal (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

these game basically same like Tekken 5 its just that annoying splash screen that comes up and loads every 30 seconds, I turned the game off and sent it back, what a waste! Tekken 5 is way better not by graphics but speed of load and game itself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken 6

posted by tellthat (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is bad on every level, it says 720 but it looks like last gen graphics. This is going right back to gamefly on monday. Give virtua fighter 5 a try if you are looking for a good fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!!!!!!

posted by iFrank603 (Meriden, CT) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Wow, I've never played a more boring game than this. I remember when Tekken first came out and it was pretty entertaining because it was new and at the time, innovative. But, now, it's all the same thing and there's really nothing much that has improved other than better physics and graphics (not by much, 720? Really?) Anyway, I just got it today and it's going out in the mail tomorrow.

Boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tekken 6 is Tekken 5 Dark Ressurection+

posted by Crispyange (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Basically the same game for more money and way longer load screens. Plus the story mode sucks. Unless you sperm at words Tekken, stay far away!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beyond convoluted

posted by gldnboy81 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

All flash and no substance, the miasma of cliche through which this piece trudges is irrevocably thick. Don't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by jophat (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

same old game just a different package.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't get it.

posted by natalie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

This game was a big disappointment. It keeps switching from 740 to a few full HD scenes. I was a big fan of Tekken 5. This game sucked. It feels like its a kids game. The story and the graphics seemed halfassed, a lazy job. At the beggining there is a super long movie explanation, all in black and white poor graphics. It all has japanese subtitles, with a boring story line and black and white pictures in the background that are already bad, with the subtitles that are hard to read, it just makes it worse. It could have been high quality or a comic strip. Very disappointing. When you are actually playing the game, it feels like it is a game for the wii instead of playstation, mechanic wise and character wise. Also, playing on line the character quality is like 740, and after each match you have to go to the main menu and find another match which takes quite a few minutes. Then it only saves the wins or losses sometimes. I think Tekken should have done a better job since they did so good on play station. Now that x box bought it, it seems like the game was rushed along, and made just so they could release it. They are too full of themselves. Paying $60 for this game is not fair. For that much money they should have applied more effort. This is not a $60 game, this is a $10 game....if that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tekken 6

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Tekken 6 could have been a lot better for it's time and may disappoint even the biggest Tekken fans.

+ Nice graphics/textures here and there.
+ Offers and handles multiplayer fights.
+ Fairly large character selection.

- If you don't know or can't memorize most combat button combinations, it may be ridiculously hard to win a match online.
- Campaign mode is both unrealistic and very outdated, leaving the majority of next-gen gamers pretty disappointed and disgusted.
- Graphics/Textures are more poor than good.

Overall Rating: 2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game was terrible

posted by cjairpro (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I am a huge Tekken fan, all of the games have been great, so i was very excited to play this game. Unfortunately I thought it stunk, maybe i was expecting too much, but they changed some things and I didnt like it at all, I played for a few hours trying to get into it, but its a huge flop.

Thumbs down :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pass....

posted by Fl4w3d (WATERTOWN, NY) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Wow really!? First off the story mode....... O.O W7F!!! it makes ZERO since and if you get it you played this stupid game way to long by the time i could figure out who i was exactly and how the holy he|| i this was gonna play out i ended up in a room full of jack robots then as if the cutscenes werent bad enough graphically THE GAMEPLAY IS EVEN WORSE (btw i havent seen that many cutscenes that didnt make sense since metal gear solid 2 for the PS2 once you got to Raiden Part) second of all the AI system is complete bull you use this ranking system that THEY CREATED and fight AI on accounts that THEY CREATED and once you get to 7KYU (or your 5th win in a row) it starts to get riddiculously impossible i mean W7F?! i ranked up and all the sudden the compter knows when to block high and low and when to grab me? com'on man i really had high hopes for this title cuz im not a real street fighter fan i just started playing that in AIT and it just makes me crave the action and combos from classics like mortal kombat 2 and tekken tag but geeze now it looks like they've pretty much handed the market over to capcom i guess o well still on the lookout for marvel vs capcom 3 and the NEW and Classicaly rejuvenated Mortal kombat (thats it no tagline just mortal kombat GI latest issue from reports at E3) but the only reason it got a 2 is because it stayed true to the game as far as characters and combos go i was still able to do the 10 hit combos from Jin, Law, King, and pauls collection the rest are there but kinda iffy to pull off, also b4 you start the story mode (god help your soul) they explain (though not throughly) what has happend in each tekken game from one to 6 (not like it really mattered it still made no sense) but all and all glad gamefly was there for me on this one total pass!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Poomaster (DESTREHAN, LA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

If you are a kung fu master mind,, then this is the right game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Highly dissapointing

posted by Bradodude (VISTA, CA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if youre looking for a good waste of time play tekken 6. the fighting was nothing but confusing as i found the timing was very sketchy and lacked the control that the previous tekkens had mastered so well. that and the campaign mode was so boring and repetitive it literaly consisted of running and kicking your way to the end of each level. the only positive thing i have to say about namcos latest installment is that the ghost mode was actually enjoyable, you would move up the ranks fighting custom characters that possessed a level of ai that made most fights unique to the standard arcade system. overall i think that tekken 6 bombed and wouldnt be surprised if this would catalyst their franchises downfall...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not it's best entry

posted by gsreaperwolf72 (INDIAN ORCHARD, MA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

The story to each character is interesting, some are even a tad bit funny.
The good thing is that some tekenists may find it has a lot of replayability but that all goes down the toilet cause playing matches online always seems to be a lagfest. It does not matter how good your connection may be, it can be very laggy making it difficult to win any match for both players.
The new cheesy bound system is the worst thing implemented into what could have been a decent game. I had my doubts when I first heard about the whole bound system in magazines on on the web. If you master your launchers(juggle starters), the bound juggles along with 10,hitters like Lars, you can easily troll online Tekkenists. I have been a fan since I played it at the arcades as a teen, I'm 30 now and the series was good all the way up to Tekken Tag. Now they're giving cheesy players more of a reason to play with cheap tactics.
Customization is weak and the story is OK but gets old already and there could have been better characters introduced into the series. Save your money and rent instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bleh!

posted by Magna2xlc (DAYTON, OH) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I got bored after 30min sending it back and glad I never bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tekken 6 and X-Blades - the worst PS3 has to offer

posted by paethos (KIRKLAND, WA) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had heard Tekken 6 was bad, but I didn't really realize what a train wreck filled with aids this game was until I tried it.

For this alone, i recommend this game - just to see how a developer can take a beloved franchise and utterly destroy it.

In a nutshell:
-the scenario mode (game type) is the worst thing you've ever played
-the offline component is forgettable, tired and useless
-the online component involves being by human players.

The trophies themselves mostly involve the scenario mode, which means playing the worst game you've ever played - for a very, very long time. Once you're done, you must play an easy stint for the next set of trophies through OFFLINE mode, then play a boring stint of 30 matches online.

I cannot exaggerated how poor this game is in every fashion. This is why I subscribe to gamefly - so that i don't spend 60 bucks on a horrible, horrible mess; but instead laugh it up and send it back happily once my fun has been had.

-end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse