Rent Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up for Wii
view large frontback

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Smash-Up

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
5.5

779 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

About as good as you could expect...

posted by CH4054NG3L (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

So, the main hype of this game is that it's a SSBB clone. It's a similar concept, much of the same development team, and presented in much the same way.

If all you're looking for is SSBB, go play that instead. Unless you love TMNT, as I do, you'll likely find yourself just wanting to play SSBB instead. That's not to say Smash Up isn't worth checking out tho. It's got a decent variety of stages that get more fun as you learn to use the elements in them to your advantage. The Ninja Powers are fun and can greatly change the tide of a four-player match. The abillity to cling to, climb, and attack from walls is fun and can quickly close large gaps between you and the enemy. The character list is sadly, less than I'd hoped. I am far from unlocking every bonus in the game, but for those of us hoping for Usagi, disappointment strikes hard.

The largest difference between Smash Up and SSBB, in my opinion is that SSBB is more fun to play solo than Smash Up is. Once you blow thru the Arcade and Survival Modes a few times, you're left wondering if that's all there is to it. The 4-player matches can be quite fun, however, and have kept me occupied for several hours at a time the last few days. If you don't have 3 friends, get some more. Check eBay...?

Aside from some other unlockables I havent gotten to yet, I think I have experienced most of what the game has to offer. The mini-games are neat for the first couple times, but lack a real fun factor that you'd expect to be there from the team that made SSBB.

Smash Up is a more or less SSBB lite. It's got less features, less mini-games, less characters, and is frankly, less fun. But if you like the Smash Bros. series (I've played since N64, back when Pikachu was OP) then you will find some enjoyment from this game as well. It won't pull you in and run your life for months until your girlfriend starts to get jealous, but I am glad I checked it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Turtle soup

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The Turtles are back in action, good graphics and easy to learn controls. Like Super smash bros brawl only this time with shells

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow...How..um..ZZZzzz.

posted by droolster (SOUTHBURY, CT) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Sure, we knew that it was a Super Smash Brothers Brawl redux. We LOVE SSBB! So, we figured that TMNT Smash-Up has to be somewhat fun. Wrong!

Bad visuals, minimal characters, no special moves or Super Attacks, limited levels to "smash-up" on and a small variety of dropped items added up to a big yawnfest for us (46, 14 and 7 years old). Noone complained when this one went back into the Gamefly envelope after a few hours.

I rate it a 4, because there were 4 turtles in it. We still believe in Turtle Power. I just wish that there was some mixed into this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Turtley Awesome

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect to like this game at all. I admit. I expected this game to instantly become a stinker. I was surprised. I really appreciated what was done with this game.

This game provides the challenge aspect provided in Smash Bros. Melee and none of the over the top item use that is spammed in Brawl.

If you've understood what I said in that last sentance and your with me now good.

First off this game has a very limited amount of characters. 16. Four of which nobody will care about and one who everyone thinks is Krang with a new outfit.

Where this game lacks in content makes up for in gameplay. Characters will bounce from one side of the screen to the other comboing in the air to the floor and then getting gobbled up by a shark.

This game is a frantic fest when played with friends and is an absolute blast.

Problem is that this fun stature isn't provided when played single player. Its a snooze. The arcade mode is the mode you unlock a large majority of the characters and the best part is that the cutscenes are done in the original comic book art style, other than that its pretty forgettable.

It's worth a weekend rent. If your a die hard turtles fan then your going to be wishing there was Bebop and Rocksteady, The Rat King, Baxter Stockman. Your classic villians aren't here and you'll be dissapointed that they are gone. On the other hand if you can look past all that you have a very solid game that can be picked and played easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Budget Title Smash Bro. Brawl

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

I knew this game with a Super Smash Bros. Brawl knock off before I even rented it, but I had to try it anyway. The game itself is not that bad, but lacking in content. I didn't keep it very long because of it. Only has a few characters to work with from the start, and while I didn't play much further into the game to see if there were more to unlock, it looked like there was only 1 more spot for an unlockable character. I mainly got it because it was Ninja Turtles and a fighting game, I loved the Ninja Turtles fighting game they had back on the Super Nintendo, so I just wanted to compare... and that one was still much better. Overall though, for a budget title, it is a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a disappointment

posted by JDawg27 (OAK LAWN, IL) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I was soo excited to play this game because I thought that it would be exactly like Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I was severely wrong. Well, it is a versus game the only mode you can play by yourself is story mode which is awful. Mission mode is ok. Otherwise I can't tell you how the other modes are because you need at least 3 people to play. There is really not much else to this game. I only gave it a 4 because A) I like teenage mutant ninja turtles. Always have. B) I like versus games. That's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

petnet1672yahoo,com

posted by penman (DELHI, CA) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

it is fun to play thiss games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by beilers (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

The controls were weird and the game was not challenging at all... We beat it in less than an hour....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty decent

posted by Turtle2010 (CARMEL, IN) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game is not perfect, the lack luster roster, the bad combos, the soundtrack, but it seems to still be a bid entertaining. It's alot like other smash bros. clones, offers a similar style of gameplay, co-op and team options etc.
This game may not be worth purchasing, but you should definately rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I was so dum

posted by OMIGOSH (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I though it was cool but I was so wrong they should not have invented teenage mutant ninja turtles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Teenage Smash bros..uh..super teenage mutant brawl

posted by yurishan (EDISON, NJ) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

lol, sorry. From way before this game even came out it smelled like a knock off of Super Smash Bros. Only thing holding it down I think is the character selection. 4 turtles, april, casey and splinter. Loses its appeal very quickly. other than that your basic button masher. its priced about right in stores at 19.99

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cowabunga? Far from it

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

A sub-par, slapdash clone of Super Smash Bros. The gameplay isn't particularly inspired, the story is incoherent and badly written, and the roster of playable characters is painfully undersized. Unfortunately, the game developers saw fit to include only characters from the 2003 TV series (and not very many, at that). No characters from the 1987 series appear here, and that's a crime. I mean, come on! How awesome would it have been to see Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady, or the Rat King mixing it up with Karai and the Fugitoid? If you're going to make a "Smash-Up" celebrating the 25th anniversary of the TMNT, do it right!

This isn't Super Smash Bros. This is weak sauce, plain and simple. Bummer, dude.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CowaDunga Dood!

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) May 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

This game feels very unfinished. Very few playable charachters and very limited gameplay, especially when compared to Smash. It felt like I was playing a demo. I kept waiting for something fun to happen, I played with other people, tried all of the modes, it just never got interesting.

This is a cash grab, not a fully realized title. Stay away, far far away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for younger kids

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

My 8 year old nephiew loved it. Very similar to Smash Bros. Maybe not very good for "hardcore gamers" or serious fans, but it is excellent for younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TMNT + Smash Bros = TERRBILE?

posted by PR13ST (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

What sounds like a recipe for success
TMNT + Mario Super Smash Bros
turns out to be a total flop
with poor graphics
mediocre controls
and far less characters and features
that Smash Bros
I couldn't take more than 15 minutes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An even more basic Smash Brothers clone

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I beat the game, from start to finish, in 20 minutes flat. That alone should tell you something.

The game isn't 'bad', but it's obviously aimed at young kids, and for any replay value, multiple players are a must. It's combat system is an even more bare bones version of Smash Brothers. Imagine SB only with far less items, a health meter, and characters going out when they run out of health, rather than when they're knocked off an edge, or into the distance. Oh, and instead of 50 or so characters, make it 7 to start, and about 5 more unlockable.

Overall, it's a very lazy game. It's too bad, as the voice acting is pretty good, but it's wasted here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad

posted by Gnutman (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Played for a total of 5 mins. It was so bad my kids did not like it either ages (5,11 &13)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

teenage mutant ninja turtles smash up

posted by johnny5 (Orlando, FL) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

holy easy great for multiplayer action one player not so great:( either way hope you enjoy it i did for the most part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A terrible waste of an awesome franchise

posted by KLSnow (APPLETON, WI) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

I spent about an hour on this game before sending it back. I love the TMNT franchise and will give anything with their name on it a shot. With that said, this is little more than a poorly explained, awkwardly controlled version of Super Smash Bros. I regret wasting an hour on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2 player is fun!!

posted by Gamrgirl13 (NEW MILFORD, CT) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

One player, "story mode" is okay on this game, but the most fun is going head to head with your friends in 2 player. The moves and combos are a blast. I recommend at least giving the game a try escpecially if you are a fan of TMNT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good Even for a Brawl clone...

posted by kuchiyose (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game is surprisingly good. It's basically SSBB but with improved animations. It plays the same but the strategy aspect is different. It also has environmental hazards and the like. The one thing it doesn't have is a super super move like a smash ball. There are mini games like race to the top that u can play to gain shells which u can then use to buy and create trophies for online tourneys. Overall it's a pretty good game. I recommend any SSBB players to at least try this game out. U may be surprised...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Major Disappointment

posted by kuromaru (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

First off i am a die hard turtles fan and have been since the turtles came out in the 80's. Second I loved all 3 video games of super smash bros and the thought of combining the two to make a video game got me really excited, but sad to say i was severely disappointed.

Gameplay: Where do i start with this? Well lets see, the character selections, too few. There are ONLY 11 and it has none of the classic villains except for shredder. All the characters for the most part have the same exact attacks except for like 1 or 2 different ones. They all have the same punches, kicks, throws, jump attacks and off the wall dive attacks. Splinter, donatello and casey jones even have the same weapon attacks. April and leonardo also have some of the same weapon attacks. It also bugs me that casey jones has a golf bag full of different weapons on his back and you only get to use the hockey stick. None of the characters have any SPECIAL attacks. The items are all useless, extremely weak, and unentertaining. The bomb is decent, the proximity mines blow up on there own after 5 secs if no one walks near it. shurikens do practically no damage and the stunning ones stun you for like 1 second, not nearly enough time for some one to run up and hit you since 90% of the characters have no ranged attacks. The levels are small and too few to choose from. The only decent level is the one where you can get eaten by a shark. The cutscenes look like demo story board sketches that the developers show their superiors. The mini games are boring and repetitive. This game is even boring when you play it with friends. I have played this game with 6 people other then myself, aging from 16-31 and we all hated it.

Final note: This game is a boring, repetitive, unprepared, low budget version of Super smash brothers. That puts the Turtles franchise to shame. The only reason i gave this game a 3 is because i would feel bad giving something that has the turtles in it anything lower then a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TMNT is pointless!

posted by game0o0o (POST FALLS, ID) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

OK,so I heard this game is like SSBB,wrong!I thought
this looked cool an rented it.The items are not useful,the fighting style
is messed up!Only 11 fighters,no special attacks,no nothing!After 15 minutes I was sick of it.I may not be a TMNT fan,but that sucked!
If you like the looks of this game you can get it,but I would not get it
if you hate TMNT or annoying battles!I liked TMNT on the NES better than this game. If they make another game like this one,or a second
one,don't get them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game but short.

posted by Turret (MIDWAY, UT) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was just like SSBB (Super Smash Brothers Brawl) but with less characters. I beat this game in two days and unlocked everything and got all of the action figures. This game has great replay value but I don't like to things about it. One is there isn't enough characters and the maps are really fun until you play them more that 3 times. I would give this a 6 out of 10 because it has more ups then downs.

(If you can go online then I would give this a 7)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lack of Substance

posted by Quarkius (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

The game lacked substance.

They should remake the Arcade Turtel game from the 90's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse