Rent Tecmo Bowl Kickoff for DS
view large frontback

Tecmo Bowl Kickoff

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.8

139 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

like the NES Tecmo Bowl or Tecmo Super Bowl.

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would have to say that this game is really cool. Kinda reminds me of the old version of Tecmo Bowl and Tecmo Super Bowl. It was very cool. If you like the old ones, you will love this one and I would say get it. I have to give it a 10 out of 10 because it is a remake of the old ones. But the only weakness on the game is the graphics (looks too old). But over than that it is good.

P.S.
Maybe you can get
the Detroit Lions to go
0-16. Good Luck
hahaha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TECMO BLOW!!!!!!!

posted by eltena (GILBERT, AZ) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

yes it is very basic. although its archaic design is memorable(reliving childhood tecmo bowl) the game could have benefitted from a modernization. come on guys we are in the '00 going on '10 you can do much better than copy and pasting an old NES port to the DS. the technology is better so step it up. do it again!!! only better!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by moores (RAPID CITY, SD) May 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Its not like the original but its still fun to play brings back lots of memories from playing the original though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So Basic There Is No Pause or Timeout!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

The teams are college and controls are intuitive and it is a fun port of the NES title. However it is too basic and it would be nice to have NFL and ability to have timeouts and maybe reviews; worth a rent but at most a short term buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Checking Out

posted by Solidbrix (AMERICAN FORK, UT) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

Quite simply, if you've played the old Tecmo Bowls for NES, you'll know what's going on right away. If you haven't, well...read some of the other reviews. Mostly everything the same here, except for some minor game play tweaks, such as a slightly more intelligent (and much speedier) defense, touch control options, and a very basic RPG-type player leveling. The game suffers from not having the NFL license, but if you have about 8-10 hours free you can change all teams names and rosters to reflect their real NFL counterparts and you can somewhat approximate most of the teams' colors. Overall, the game is worth a look. The old Tecmo Bowl gameplay is still as fun as ever, even without Bo Jackson.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Retro With a Modern Fix

posted by Sobaer (HITCHCOCK, TX) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

I'm not going to repeat the other three reviews to a T, however, this game is as basic as basic gets. It is exactly like the Tecmo Bowl lineage and even the graphics are on the same caliber. However, if you have Wi-Fi, you do not NEED friends to play and enjoy it. Sure there's no voice chat, which in my opinion MAKES online gaming, so if you DO have friends it will be more enjoyable, but with random match making, it's nice to know you can find a challenge.

Also, the game has been updated with stylus controls. I was horrible with normal controls, and fiddled with the stylus controls. After a little getting used to (a quarter, maybe), they work fantastically. You tap your play, tap the screen to hike the ball, and tap your receiver, while moving with the D-Pad. If you get in a "scuffle", just tap the screen repeatedly.

My BIGGEST complaint about the game is the interceptions. There seems to be WAY to many. I didn't play the originals a lot, but my friend did, it's one of his favorite games, and even he complained about it.

That aside, if you are looking for a solid football game that's good on the go, with online play, and a very retro feel, here's your chance to pick up a memory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back to your Pixelated Past.

posted by Superfly98 (ASHLAND, OR) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

So i was like many of Tecmo Bowl fans upon figuring out that finally after all this time we get to feast on the simple factors of a football game. Throwing ball, Catching the ball, Running the ball, and hitting the guy with the ball. I jumped out of my seat and scrounged all the money i could and put it toward getting Tecmo Bowl: Kickoff. Now for those of you who are new to the Tecmo Bowl franchise i'll give you the basic rundown. Back in the golden age of gaming, there once was a football game called Super Tecmo Bowl. Which was loved for it's fast paced gameplay and its awesome mini anime-esque cutscenes. Many insults and cheers were yelled at people sitting next to people who played eachother were shouted. People played to be the best they can be. But upon the 64 bit dawn of gaming Tecmo Bowl and its simple gameplay was lost. Now the basic selling point of Tecmo Bowl: Kickoff was that it had still maintained its simple gameplay. Which made me and a few other of my friends go back into Sports games simply because we all were intimidated by the memorization and complication involved with Madden. Gameplay is simple hit up down left or right and then A or B to select a play. Hit Y and X to select your receiver. and B to throw. I'd say the only minorly complicated part about the game is the Team Creation. Now if your like me. You like a challenge and rather than just beefing up your team you beef up every team in the game. Which takes quite a while. Whilst that might not be a trait of some of you, it shouldn't stop you from enjoying the full customization of your playbook. (You don't make your own plays but you can put what ever you wish in them though) And player perks are quite easy to set up. There are only a couple things that bug me. 1. The ref is still missing. 2. It gets pretty old if you just play it by yourself all the time. But if you play with a friend have your insult arsenal ready. All in all its a fun game. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

1990 Retro Game

posted by trystero (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

This is so much like the NES Tecmo Bowl or Tecmo Super Bowl. It stresses quality nostalgic gameplay over graphics. The fatal flaw is that its multiplayer is multi-cart only, not single cart. This game is NOT good enough to just play 1 player. Playing 1 on 1 with your friends is fun, but not good enough to convince your friends to get it or to waste two gamefly slots on it.

If it were single cart 2-player, I could give it an 8 or 9. But it isn't good enough to play by yourself and not good enough to beg your friends to get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »